CTNF 19/245,108 CTNF 101652 DETAILED ACTION The following claims are pending in this office action: 1-20 Claims 1, 10 and 16 are independent claims. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings filed on 06/20/2025 are accepted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”] . As per claim 1, Jayasena discloses an integrated circuit (Jayasena, [0050]” the apparatus and techniques described above are implemented in a system comprising one or more integrated circuit (IC) devices (also referred to as integrated circuit packages or microchips), such as the modules 102, 104 ”) comprising: an access control enforcer circuit for granting access to the first key stored in the key storage circuit (Jayasena, [0025], [0026]” the memory interfaces 112, 128 access the appropriate key set from the key stores 114, 130 respectively” and “The corresponding keys (described below) are accessed from the respective key stores 114, 130 and temporarily stored in a corresponding buffer or register of the cryptologic engines 110, 124, 132.”) in response to receiving a first request (Jayasena, [0025]” the processor 108 may issue a key request 142 (FIG. 1) to the key store 114”) based on a first hardware identifier (Jayasena, [0025]” the key request 142 may include a representation of the pertinent memory access attribute, such as the ID of the core, thread, process requesting the memory access operation ”) that identifies a hardware system (Jayasena, [0016]” The processor 108 may comprise, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU), or combination thereof, and may include one or more processor cores, such as processor cores 116, 118”) and a subcomponent of the hardware system that is an owner of the first key. (Jayasena, [0024]” different key sets may be implemented on a per-physical-requestor (e.g., per-core) basis, a per-thread basis, a per-process basis, a per-address-space basis, and the like…the different key sets are indexed within the key stores 114, 130 based on a requestor identifier (ID) or other memory access attribute, such as a core ID, thread ID, process ID, or address space ID”). Jayasena does not disclose a key storage circuit for storing a first key; However, AUNE in the same field of endeavor discloses a key storage circuit ( AUNE, [0061]” The key storage system 12 also comprises a key management unit 12 b ”) for storing a first key; ( AUNE, [0056]” A secret key… is stored in the key storage system 12. ”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating AUNE’s dedicated hardware key-storage system into Jayasena would have provided a known and predictable hardware structure for securely storing and managing the cryptographic keys used by Jayasena, while allowing Jayasena’s existing requester-identifier-based mechanism to select and access the appropriate key when needed. As per claim 3, the references as combined above disclose the integrated circuit of claim 1. Jayasena further discloses wherein the subcomponent of the hardware system is at least one of hardware, ( Jayasena, [0024]” different key sets may be implemented on a per-physical-requestor (e.g., per-core) basis, a per-thread basis, a per-process basis, a per-address-space basis, ”) firmware, or software in the hardware system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”] as applied to claim 1 and in view of EL-MOUSSA et al . (US 20170237563 A1) [hereinafter “EL-MOUSSA”]. As per claim 2, the references as combined above disclose the integrated circuit of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose the integrated circuit further comprising: an access control attributes circuit for storing a second hardware identifier for the first key, wherein the access control enforcer circuit grants access to the first key if the first hardware identifier matches the second hardware identifier accessed from the access control attributes circuit. However, EL-MOUSSA in the same field of endeavor discloses an access control attributes circuit (EL-MOUSSA, [0049]” The authorisation system 440 includes an identifier validator 442 as a software or hardware component…”) for storing a second hardware identifier (EL-MOUSSA, [0049]”… for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452”) for the first key, (EL-MOUSSA, [0053]” the sender retrieves a data key 216 from a data key store 458 for the hardware storage device 420 (preferably based on the hardware identifier 422). ”) wherein the access control enforcer circuit grants access to the first key (EL-MOUSSA, [0053]” At step 7 the authenticator 408 accesses the metadata part 424 a of the data storage component 424 using the metadata key and determines a response to the challenge”) if the first hardware identifier matches the second hardware identifier (EL-MOUSSA, [0053]” The authenticator 408 communicates a response to the challenge at step 8 which is validated by the challenge validator 444. The challenge validator 444 provides an indication to the sender 446 at step 9 if the response to the challenge is correct.”) accessed from the access control attributes circuit (EL-MOUSSA, [0049]” The authorisation system 440 provides authentication facilities for the agent 406 such that the authenticator 408 of the agent 406 cooperates with functions of the authentication system 440 to prompt, undertake and act on authentication of the hardware storage device 420. The authorisation system 440 includes an identifier validator 442 as a software or hardware component for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452. In one embodiment, the store of hardware identifiers 452”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to include an access control attributes circuit for storing a second hardware identifier for the first key, wherein the access control enforcer circuit grants access to the first key if the first hardware identifier matches the second hardware identifier accessed from the access control attributes circuit as taught by EL-MOUSSA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating EL-MOUSSA’ s hardware-identifier-based authentication mechanism would have provided a predictable and reliable means for restricting access to the first key to an authorized hardware requester by validating the requester’s hardware identifier against stored hardware identifier information before granting access, thereby improving security and preventing unauthorized access to the cryptographic key . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] in view of AUNE et al (US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”] as applied to claim 1 and in view of Gupta et al.(US 20210399880 A1) [hereinafter “Gupta”] and further in view of Osorio et al.(US 20220108018 A1) [hereinafter “Osorio”] . As per claim 4, the references as combined above discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose the integrated circuit further comprising: a hardware sequencer circuit that ensures that a second key derived from the first key inherits a security property and a key ownership of the first key. However, Gupta in the same field of endeavor discloses a hardware sequencer circuit (Gupta, [0039]” The key derivation operation 300 includes a derivation step 304 that takes a root key 302 as an input… wherein said derivation data are tweaked in hardware to reflect the configuration of the key and the state of the system.”) that ensures that a second key derived from the first key (Gupta, [0039]” The key derivation operation 300 includes a derivation step 304 that takes a root key 302 as an input” and “to generate a derived key” ) inherits a security property (Gupta, [0032]” the configurable properties are assigned to the cryptographic key when said cryptographic key is derived from a root key, and said configurable properties are used to adjust derivation data…This results in a practical implementation, which ensures that the derived cryptographic key is tied to its properties.”) and a key ownership of the first key. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to include a hardware sequencer circuit that ensures that a second key derived from the first key inherits a security property as taught by Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Gupta’s key-derivation mechanism, in which configurable security properties associated with a root key are used during derivation of a derived key, would predictably preserve the desired security characteristics in the derived key and provide controlled and secure generation of cryptographics keys. The combination of Jayasena, AUNE and Gupta fails to disclose a second key derived from the first key inherits [a key ownership of the first key] However, Osorio in the same field of endeavor discloses a second key derived from the first key inherits ( Osorio, [0068]” a SiliconSpecificRootKey may be derived in the ROM 116 stage from the RootKey…”) [a key ownership of the first key] ( Osorio, [0069], [0073]” transfer of ownership from the silicon creator to the silicon owner, an Owner Root Secret may be provisioned” and “This may require the transfer of ownership to support a Certificate Signing Request (CSR) command to be able to endorse the identity by the Owner Public Key Infrastructure (PM). Alternatively, the techniques may implement a DeviceSpecificRootSecret provisioned at Ownership ”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to include a hardware sequencer circuit that ensures that a second key derived from the first key inherits a security property as taught by Gupta to further include a second key derived from the first key inherits [a key ownership of the first key] as suggested by Osorio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Osorio’s ownership-based root-key provisioning and derivation scheme would predictably associate subsequently derived key material with the established owner-specific root secret, thereby maintaining the ownership association throughout the key hierarchy and improving control of cryptographic keys following an ownership transfer . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”] as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Osorio et al.(US 20220108018 A1) [hereinafter “Osorio”] and Dekker et al.( US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] . As per claim 5, the references as combined above discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose the integrated circuit further comprising: hardware sequencer circuit that only performs a key derivation on the first key defined as high security with the first hardware identifier as a label for the key derivation, wherein the first hardware identifier is different from an attribute used for a second key defined as low security However, Osorio in the same field of endeavor discloses a hardware sequencer circuit that only performs a key derivation (Osorio, [0018]” a key manager of the SoC may implement separate key domains when deriving identity and root keys for the embedded system”) on the first key defined as high security [with the first hardware identifier as a label for the key derivation, wherein the first hardware identifier is different from an attribute used for a second key] (Osorio, [0056]” DeviceSpecificRootKey = KM_DERIVE(DeviceSpecificIntermediateKey, SoftwareBindingValue) Key0 = KM_DERIVE(DeviceSpecificRootKey, KeyVersion) Key1 = KM_DERIVE(Key0, KeyID) Key2 = KM_DERIVE(Key1, Salt) VersionedKey = KM_DERIVE(Key2, SoftwareExportConstant) CLEAR_AFTER_USE(VersionedKey)””)”) defined as low security. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to include a hardware sequencer circuit that only performs a key derivation; with the first hardware identifier as a label for the key derivation, wherein the first hardware identifier is different from an attribute used for a second key as suggested by Osorio . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Osorio’s teaching of separate key domains and device-specific key derivation would improve key isolation by generating keys bound to different device and software contexts. The combination of Jayasena, AUNE, and Osorio fails to disclose the first key defined as high security; a second key defined as low security. However, Dekker in the same field of endeavor discloses the first key defined as high security; a second key defined as low security. (Dekker, [0040]” each element of the array includes the respective key identifier and key value. Each element of the array may further include a respective security flag for the key (e.g. low security for programmable keys in the first key storage submodule 321, and high security for pre-programed keys in the second key storage submodule 322). ”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to include a hardware sequencer circuit that only performs a key derivation; with the first hardware identifier as a label for the key derivation, wherein the first hardware identifier is different from an attribute used for a second key as suggested by Osorio to also include the first key defined as high security; a second key defined as low security as taught by Dekker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Dekker’s security flags would allow different classes of keys to be distinguished and handled according to their respective security requirements . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”] as applied to claim 1, and in view of Dekker et al.( US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] . As per claim 6, the references as combined above disclose the integrated circuit of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose the integrated circuit further comprising: a hardware sequencer circuit that only allows key derivations on second keys defined as low security with attributes that are hardware defined. However, Dekker in the same field of endeavor discloses a hardware sequencer circuit that only allows key derivations on second keys (Dekker, [0039]” the chip 300 is configured to load a new key K.sub.new into the first key storage submodule 321 by executing a key-derivation rule R.sub.KD of the one or more rules R.”) defined as low security (Dekker, [0040]” Each element of the array may further include a respective security flag for the key (e.g. low security for programmable keys in the first key storage submodule 321”) with attributes that are hardware defined (Dekker, [0040]” Advantageously, each security flag bit is hardwired to provide additional security”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to further include a hardware sequencer circuit that only allows key derivations on second keys defined as low security with attributes that are hardware defined as suggested by Dekker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Dekker’s . As per claim 8, the references as combined above disclose the integrated circuit of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose wherein the access control enforcer circuit ensures that the first key is prevented from being transmitted to the subcomponent of the hardware system if the first key is associated with a high security label. However, DEKKER in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the access control enforcer circuit ensures that the first key is prevented from being transmitted to the subcomponent of the hardware system (DEKKER, [0007]” The keys are stored and used entirely within the secured processor module 210. There is no component in the application processor module 220 that can directly access the internal data within the secured processor module 210. ”) if the first key is associated with a high security label. (DEKKER, [0040]” Each element of the array may further include a respective security flag for the key (e.g. low security for programmable keys in the first key storage submodule 321, and high security for pre-programed keys in the second key storage submodule 322)”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to include a hardware sequencer circuit that ensures that a second key derived from the first key inherits a security property as taught by Gupta to further include wherein the access control enforcer circuit ensures that the first key is prevented from being transmitted to the subcomponent of the hardware system if the first key is associated with a high security label as taught by Dekker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Dekker’s secure processor module that stores and uses high-security keys internally and prevents components outside the secured processor module from accessing those keys would prevent a high-security key from being transmitted to a subcomponent of the hardware system, thereby protecting the key from unauthorized access or exposure . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”] as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Dekker et al.( US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] and Peeters et al.( US 20180063100 A1) [hereinafter “Peeters”] . As per claim 7, the references as combined above disclose the integrated circuit of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose wherein the access control enforcer circuit ensures that a second key defined as low security is allowed to be accessed by the subcomponent of the hardware system from the key storage circuit if ownership of the second key matches a second hardware identifier in a second request. However, Dekker in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the access control enforcer circuit ensures that a second key defined as low security (Dekker, [0040]” Each element of the array may further include a respective security flag for the key (e.g. low security for programmable keys in the first key storage submodule 321”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Jayasena and AUNE to include wherein the access control enforcer circuit ensures that a second key defined as low security as suggested by Dekker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Dekker’s key-specific security flag would have predictably enabled the existing access-control mechanism to distinguish keys according to their assigned security level and apply corresponding access treatment to keys designated as low security. The combination of Jayasena, AUNE and Dekker fails to disclose is allowed to be accessed by the subcomponent of the hardware system from the key storage circuit if ownership of the second key matches a second hardware identifier in a second request. However, Peeters in the same field of endeavor discloses is allowed to be accessed by the subcomponent of the hardware system from the key storage circuit if ownership of the second key matches a second hardware identifier in a second request. (Peeters, [0046]” decision 49 compares the thread ID of the current execution thread issuing the call to use a particular key 40.sub.x with the thread ID of the execution thread that originally provisioned co-processor 15 with that key 40.sub.x, i.e., the thread that is the “owner” of that key 40.sub.x.” and “If the thread ID communicated over side-band path SC to state machine 34 matches the contents of the thread owner field 30.sub.x in the key entry 25.sub.x retrieved from secure memory block 16 in process 48… co-processor 15… In process 54, state machine 34 retrieves the actual key 40.sub.x by accessing the memory address in secure memory block 16 stored in the key address pointer field 38.sub.x”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Jayasena and AUNE to include wherein the access control enforcer circuit ensures that a second key defined as low security as suggested by Dekker to further include a second key defined as low security [is allowed to be accessed by the subcomponent of the hardware system from the key storage circuit if ownership of the second key matches a second hardware identifier in a second request] as taught by Peeters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Peeters’s owner-identifier comparison and conditional key retrieval would have predictably restricted retrieval of a stored key to a requesting execution context whose identifier matches the stored owner identifier , thereby preventing unauthorized access to the key . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”] as applied to claim 1 and in view of Adams et al.( US 9191200 B1) [hereinafter “Adams”] . As per claim 9, the references as combined above disclose the integrated circuit of claim 1. The combination fails to disclose the integrated circuit further comprising: a hardware sequencer circuit that allows the first key to be used to perform key wrap and key unwrap functions if the first key is defined as high security. However, Adams in the same field of endeavor discloses a hardware sequencer circuit that allows the first key to be used to perform key wrap and key unwrap functions (Adams, [col.7 ln15-28]” The KEK can be at the third security level (e.g., classified), and thus at a higher security level than the first security level…the KEK can be used to unwrap the wrapped keys (e.g., wK1) to obtain the keys (e.g., K1). ”) if the first key is defined as high security. (Adams, [col.7 ln15-20]” The KEK can be at the third security level (e.g., classified), and thus at a higher security level than the first security level”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jayasena to include a key storage circuit for storing a first key as suggested by AUNE to include a hardware sequencer circuit that ensures that a second key derived from the first key inherits a security property as taught by Gupta to further include a hardware sequencer circuit that allows the first key to be used to perform key wrap and key unwrap functions as taught by Adam. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Adam’s key wrapping and unwrapping functionality would provide a secure mechanism for protecting and managing cryptographic keys while maintaining the security level associated with the key . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EL-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] . As per claim 10, EL-MOUSSA discloses a method for controlling access to a key, the method comprising: accessing a first hardware identifier for the key from an access control attributes circuit (EL-MOUSSA, [0049]” The authorisation system 440 includes an identifier validator 442 as a software or hardware component… for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452. In one embodiment, the store of hardware identifiers 452”) comparing the first hardware identifier with the second hardware identifier using an access control enforcer circuit; (EL-MOUSSA, [0049], [0053]” The authorisation system 440 includes an identifier validator 442 as a software or hardware component for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452. In one embodiment, the store of hardware identifiers 452” and “The authenticator 408 communicates a response to the challenge at step 8 which is validated by the challenge validator 444. The challenge validator 444 provides an indication to the sender 446 at step 9 if the response to the challenge is correct. ”) and accessing the key from a key storage circuit using the access control enforcer circuit if the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the first hardware identifier matches the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the second hardware identifier. (EL-MOUSSA, [0053]” the sender retrieves a data key 216 from a data key store 458 for the hardware storage device 420 (preferably based on the hardware identifier 422)… for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452. In one embodiment, the store of hardware identifiers 452”). EL-MOUSSA does not disclose in response to receiving a request to access the key that comprises a second hardware identifier, wherein the first hardware identifier identifies a hardware system and a subcomponent of the hardware system that is an owner of the key; However, Jayasena in the same field of endeavor discloses in response to receiving a request to access the key that comprises a second hardware identifier, (Jayasena, [0025]” the processor 108 may issue a key request 142 (FIG. 1) to the key store 114,… the processor 108 may issue a key request 142 (FIG. 1) to the key store 114, where the key request 142 may include a representation of the pertinent memory access attribute, such as the ID of the core, thread, process requesting the memory access operation”) wherein the first hardware identifier identifies a hardware system and a subcomponent of the hardware system that is an owner of the key; (Jayasena, [0016],[0024]” The processor 108 may comprise, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU), or combination thereof, and may include one or more processor cores, such as processor cores 116, 118” and “ different key sets may be implemented on a per-physical-requestor (e.g., per-core) basis, a per-thread basis, a per-process basis, a per-address-space basis, and the like. In such instances, the different key sets are indexed within the key stores 114, 130 based on a requestor identifier (ID) or other memory access attribute, such as a core ID, thread ID, process ID, or address space ID”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify EL-MOUSSA to include in response to receiving a request to access the key that comprises a second hardware identifier, wherein the first hardware identifier identifies a hardware system and a subcomponent of the hardware system that is an owner of the key; as suggested by Jayasena. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Jayasena’s requestor-identifier-based key selection mechanism would have provided a predictable and reliable means for associating a key request with the particular hardware requestor and selecting the corresponding key set. As per claim 11, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 10. EL-MOUSSA further discloses the method comprising: transmitting the key accessed from the key storage circuit (EL-MOUSSA, [0053]” At step 10 the sender retrieves a data key 216 from a data key store 458 ”) to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit (EL-MOUSSA, [0053]” At step 11 the sender 446 securely communicates the data key 216 to the data accessor 410 of the agent 406 in order that the data accessor 410 can provide access to and storage of data in the data part 424 b of the data storage component”) only if the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the first hardware identifier matches the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the second hardware identifier. (EL-MOUSSA, [0049],[0053]”… for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452” and “The authenticator 408 communicates a response to the challenge at step 8 which is validated by the challenge validator 444. The challenge validator 444 provides an indication to the sender 446 at step 9 if the response to the challenge is correct”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EL-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] as applied to claim 10 and in view of Ferguson et al.( US 20150078550 A1) [hereinafter “Ferguson”] . As per claim 12, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 10. The combination fails to disclose the method comprising: denying the request to access the key using the access control enforcer circuit if the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the first hardware identifier does not match the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the second hardware identifier. However, Ferguson in the same field of endeavor discloses denying the request to access the key using the access control enforcer circuit if the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the first hardware identifier does not match the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the second hardware identifier. (Ferguson, [0031], [0066], [0067]-[0068]” An owner control parameter (sometimes referred to as "key owner") that identifies one or more components that may access a cryptographic key. In other words, the owner control parameter specifies an owner of the cryptographic key that has access rights to the cryptographic key (e.g., is authorized to access the cryptographic key)” and “At 414, the security processing unit 104 may receive a request from a component of the computing device 102 to access a cryptographic key”…” At 416, the security processing unit 104 may determine whether or not the component is authorized to access the cryptographic key based on the key data for that cryptographic key… In response to determining that the component is not authorized to access the cryptographic key, the process 400 may proceed to 406 (e.g., the NO path) and inform the component that it is not authorized to access the cryptographic key. Alternatively, in response to determining that the component is authorized, the process 400 may proceed to 418 (e.g., the YES path), where the cryptographic key is sent to the component as a response to the request.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA and Jayasena to further include denying the request to access the key using the access control enforcer circuit if the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the first hardware identifier does not match the subcomponent of the hardware system identified by the second hardware identifier as suggested by Ferguson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Ferguson’s component-based key access authorization would have improved security by ensuring that access to a cryptographic key is denied when the requested hardware component does not correspond to the component authorized to access the key, thereby preventing unauthorized components from obtaining the cryptographic key . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EL-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] as applied to claim 10 and in view of Gupta et al.( US 20210399880 A1) [hereinafter “Gupta”] and further in view of Dekker et al.( US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] . As per claim 13, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 10. The combination fails to disclose the method further comprising: performing a key derivation function on the key using a hardware sequencer circuit if the key is associated with a high security label stored in the access control attributes circuit; and preventing the key from being transmitting to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit if the key is associated with the high security label. However, Gupta in the same field of endeavor discloses performing a key derivation function on the key using a hardware sequencer circuit (Gupta, [0039]” The key derivation operation 300 includes a derivation step 304 that takes a root key 302 as an input… wherein said derivation data are tweaked in hardware to reflect the configuration of the key and the state of the system.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA and Jayasena to further include performing a key derivation function on the key using a hardware sequencer circuit as suggested by Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Gupta’s hardware-based key derivation would provide a predictable and more secure manner of deriving cryptographic keys within dedicated hardware, thereby limiting exposure of key material to less trusted software or external components while allowing the derived key to be used for its intended cryptographic operation. The combination of EL-MOUSSA, Jayasena and Gupta fails to disclose if the key is associated with a high security label stored in the access control attributes circuit; and preventing the key from being transmitting to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit if the key is associated with the high security label. However, Dekker in the same field of endeavor discloses if the key is associated with a high security label stored in the access control attributes circuit; (DEKKER, [0040]” Each element of the array may further include a respective security flag for the key (e.g. low security for programmable keys in the first key storage submodule 321, and high security for pre-programed keys in the second key storage submodule 322)”). and preventing the key from being transmitting to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit if the key is associated with the high security label. (DEKKER, [0007], [0040]” The keys are stored and used entirely within the secured processor module 210. There is no component in the application processor module 220 that can directly access the internal data within the secured processor module 210 ” and “Each element of the array may further include a respective security flag for the key (e.g. low security for programmable keys in the first key storage submodule 321, and high security for pre-programed keys in the second key storage submodule 322)”) Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA and Jayasena to include performing a key derivation function on the key using a hardware sequencer circuit as suggested by Gupta to further include if the key is associated with a high security label stored in the access control attributes circuit; and preventing the key from being transmitting to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit if the key is associated with the high security label as taught by Dekker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Dekker’s security-flag-based treatment of cryptographic keys would have predictably caused the existing key-processing and access-control functions to operate according to the security level assigned to the key, such that a key identified as high security would remain within the secured processor and would not be transmitted to an external requester, thereby protecting high-security key material from unauthorized access or disclosure . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EL-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] as applied to claim 10 and in view of Li et al.( US 20230208821 A1 ) [hereinafter “Li”] . As per claim 14, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 10. The combination fails to disclose the method further comprising: determining if the key is associated with a low security label stored in the access control attributes circuit; and transmitting the key accessed from the key storage circuit to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit only if the key is associated with the low security label. However, Li in the same field of endeavor discloses determining if the key is associated with a low security label stored in the access control attributes circuit; (Li, [0037],[0046]” The security-level attribute indicates a security level of a key, and, for example, can be classified into a secure level and a non-secure level” and “the key management device 170 updates the attribute fields and the storage location related to the key 02 in the key lookup table of the register 174”) and transmitting the key accessed from the key storage circuit to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit only if the key is associated with the low security label. (Li, [0050]” report the key and a read complete message, to the device which wants to read the key, and the operation of reading the key is completed. When any of these conditions is not met, the key management device 170 reports the key read failure message to the device which wants to read the key.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA and Jayasena to include determining if the key is associated with a low security label stored in the access control attributes circuit; and transmitting the key accessed from the key storage circuit to a requester that generated the request using the access control enforcer circuit only if the key is associated with the low security label as suggested by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Li’s metadata-based security-level checking would have predictably enabled key release decisions to be made according to the security attribute stored with each key, thereby allowing a key to be provided only when the applicable security-level conditions are satisfied and reducing unauthorized exposure of cryptographic key material . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1 5 is r ejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over E L-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] as applied to claim 10 and in view of Adams et al.(US 9191200 B1) [hereinafter “Adams”] and further in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”]. A s per claim 15, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 10. The combination fails to disclose the method further comprising: allowing the key to be used to perform key wrap and key unwrap functions if the key is associated with a hardware attribute using a hardware sequencer circuit. However, Adams in the same field of endeavor discloses allowing the key to be used to perform key wrap and key unwrap functions (Adams, [col.7 ln15-28]” The KEK can be at the third security level (e.g., classified), and thus at a higher security level than the first security level…the KEK can be used to unwrap the wrapped keys (e.g., wK1) to obtain the keys (e.g., K1). ”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA and Jayasena to include allowing the key to be used to perform key wrap and key unwrap functions as suggested by Adams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Adams’s key wrap and key unwrap functionality would have provided a predictable mechanism for securely protecting cryptographic keys during storage or transfer while permitting the protected keys to be recovered for authorize cryptographic use. The combination of EL-MOUSSA and Jayasena fails to disclose if the key is associated with a hardware attribute using a hardware sequencer circuit. However, AUNE in the same field of endeavor discloses if the key is associated with a hardware attribute using a hardware sequencer circuit. (AUNE, [0065], [0072]” Each slot has a key header (DESTINATION, USAGE, STATUS) and an associated key value (KEY VALUE)” and “ Access control to the key storage memory 12 a is enforced by a hardware Finite State Machine (FSM)… and the read permissions and usage restrictions for the key value associated with the key slot can be set individually” and “The USAGE field contains a bit field used to store one of the following values: “Restricted”, “Always” and “Always—Secure”” ). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA and Jayasena to include allowing the key to be used to perform key wrap and key unwrap functions as suggested by Adams to further include if the key is associated with a hardware attribute using a hardware sequencer circuit as taught by AUNE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Adams’s hardware-enforced key attributes and usage restrictions would have predictably allowed key operations to be controlled according to attributes associated with each key, thereby preventing unauthorized key use while permitting approved cryptographic operations under hardware control . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EL-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”]and in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] and further in view of Dekker et al.(US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] and Osorio et al.(US 20220108018 A1) [hereinafter “Osorio”] . As per claim 16, EL-MOUSSA discloses a computing system comprising: an access control enforcer circuit for accessing the hardware property for the first key from the access control attributes circuit (EL-MOUSSA, [0053],[0049]” At step 7 the authenticator 408 accesses the metadata part 424 a of the data storage component 424 using the metadata key and determines a response to the challenge” and “…for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452”). an access control attributes circuit for storing a hardware property for the first key; (EL-MOUSSA, [0049], [0053]” The authorisation system 440 includes an identifier validator 442 as a software or hardware component… for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452. In one embodiment, the store of hardware identifiers 452” and “the sender retrieves a data key 216 from a data key store 458 for the hardware storage device 420 (preferably based on the hardware identifier 422)”) EL-MOUSSA does not disclose a key storage circuit for storing a first key; in response to a request to access the first key, wherein the access control enforcer circuit prevents the first key from being returned to an initiator of the request if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected, and wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected. However, AUNE in the same field of endeavor discloses a key storage circuit ( AUNE, [0061]” The key storage system 12 also comprises a key management unit 12 b ”) for storing a first key; ( AUNE, [0056]” A secret key… is stored in the key storage system 12. ”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify EL-MOUSSA to include a key storage circuit as suggested by AUNE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating AUNE’s key storage would have provided a secure and systematic structure for storing and managing the first key. The combination of EL-MOUSSA and AUNE fails to disclose in response to a request to access the first key, wherein the access control enforcer circuit prevents the first key from being returned to an initiator of the request if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected, and wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected. However, Jayasena in the same field of endeavor discloses in response to a request to access the first key, (Jayasena, [0025]” the processor 108 may issue a key request 142 (FIG. 1) to the key store 114”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify EL-MOUSSA to include a key storage circuit as suggested by AUNE to further include in response to a request to access the first key, as taught by Jayasena. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Jayasena’s request-based key access mechanism would have provided a controlled and predictable mechanism for initiating access to the stored first key in response to a key request. The combination of EL-MOUSSA, AUNE and Jayasena fails to disclose wherein the access control enforcer circuit prevents the first key from being returned to an initiator of the request if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected, and wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected. However, DEKKER in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the access control enforcer circuit prevents the first key from being returned to an initiator of the request (DEKKER, [0007]” The keys are stored and used entirely within the secured processor module 210. There is no component in the application processor module 220 that can directly access the internal data within the secured processor module 210. ”) if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected, (DEKKER, [0040]” Each element of the array may further include a respective security flag for the key (e.g. low security for programmable keys in the first key storage submodule 321, and high security for pre-programed keys in the second key storage submodule 322)”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify EL-MOUSSA to include a key storage circuit as suggested by AUNE to further include in response to a request to access the first key, as taught by Jayasena to also include wherein the access control enforcer circuit prevents the first key from being returned to an initiator of the request if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected, as suggested by DEKKER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating DEKKER’s security flags would allow different classes of keys to be distinguished and handled according to their respective security requirements. The combination of EL-MOUSSA, AUNE, Jayasena and DEKKER fails to disclose wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected. However, Osorio in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key (Osorio, [0018], [0056]” a key manager of the SoC may implement separate key domains when deriving identity and root keys for the embedded system” and “DeviceSpecificRootKey = KM_DERIVE(DeviceSpecificIntermediateKey, SoftwareBindingValue) Key0 = KM_DERIVE(DeviceSpecificRootKey, KeyVersion) Key1 = KM_DERIVE(Key0, KeyID) Key2 = KM_DERIVE(Key1, Salt) VersionedKey = KM_DERIVE(Key2, SoftwareExportConstant) CLEAR_AFTER_USE(VersionedKey)”) if the hardware property indicates that the first key is protected. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA, AUNE, Jayasena and DEKKER to include wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key as suggested by Osorio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Osorio’s key derivation mechanism would have provided a predictable mechanism for deriving a second key from the first key while maintaining separate key domains . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EL-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”]and in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] and further in view of Dekker et al.(US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] and Osorio et al.(US 20220108018 A1) [hereinafter “Osorio”] as applied to claim 16 and in view of Gupta et al.( US 20210399880 A1) [hereinafter “Gupta”] . As per claim 17, the references as combined above discloses the computing system of claim 16 . Osorio further discloses [a key ownership of the first key] ( Osorio, [0069], [0073]” transfer of ownership from the silicon creator to the silicon owner, an Owner Root Secret may be provisioned” and “This may require the transfer of ownership to support a Certificate Signing Request (CSR) command to be able to endorse the identity by the Owner Public Key Infrastructure (PM). Alternatively, the techniques may implement a DeviceSpecificRootSecret provisioned at Ownership ”). The combination fails to disclose However, Gupta in the same field of endeavor discloses a hardware sequencer circuit comprising a key derivation function that derives the second key from the first key, wherein the key derivation function ensures that the second key inherits a security property or a key ownership of the first key. [a hardware sequencer circuit] comprising (Gupta, [0039]” The key derivation operation 300 includes a derivation step 304 that takes a root key 302 as an input… wherein said derivation data are tweaked in hardware to reflect the configuration of the key and the state of the system.”) a key derivation function that derives the second key from the first key, wherein the key derivation function ensures that a second key (Gupta, [0039]” The key derivation operation 300 includes a derivation step 304 that takes a root key 302 as an input” and “to generate a derived key” ) inherits a security property (Gupta, [0032]” the configurable properties are assigned to the cryptographic key when said cryptographic key is derived from a root key, and said configurable properties are used to adjust derivation data…This results in a practical implementation, which ensures that the derived cryptographic key is tied to its properties.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA, AUNE, Jayasena and DEKKER to include a hardware sequencer circuit that ensures that a second key derived from the first key inherits a security property as taught by Gupta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Gupta’s key-derivation mechanism, in which configurable security properties associated with a root key are used during derivation of a derived key, would predictably preserve the desired security characteristics in the derived key and provide controlled and secure generation of cryptographics keys. As per claim 19, the references as combined above disclose the computing system of claim 16. EL-MOUSSA further discloses wherein the access control enforcer circuit only grants access to the first key to the initiator if a first hardware identifier for the first key stored in the access control attributes circuit matches a second hardware identifier that is associated with the request, (EL-MOUSSA, [0049],[0053]”… for validating the hardware identifier 422 of the storage device with reference to a store of hardware identifiers 452” and “The authenticator 408 communicates a response to the challenge at step 8 which is validated by the challenge validator 444. The challenge validator 444 provides an indication to the sender 446 at step 9 if the response to the challenge is correct”). EL-MOUSSA as modified fails to disclose wherein the first hardware identifier identifies a hardware system and a subcomponent of the hardware system that is an owner of the first key. However, Jayasena in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the first hardware identifier (Jayasena, [0025]” the key request 142 may include a representation of the pertinent memory access attribute, such as the ID of the core, thread, process requesting the memory access operation ”) identifies a hardware system (Jayasena, [0016]” The processor 108 may comprise, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU), or combination thereof, and may include one or more processor cores, such as processor cores 116, 118”) and a subcomponent of the hardware system that is an owner of the first key (Jayasena, [0024]” different key sets may be implemented on a per-physical-requestor (e.g., per-core) basis, a per-thread basis, a per-process basis, a per-address-space basis, and the like…the different key sets are indexed within the key stores 114, 130 based on a requestor identifier (ID) or other memory access attribute, such as a core ID, thread ID, process ID, or address space ID”). Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 16 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1 8 is r ejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over E L-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”]and in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] and further in view of Dekker et al.(US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] and Osorio et al.(US 20220108018 A1) [hereinafter “Osorio”] as applied to claim 16 and also in view of Adams et al.( US 9191200 B1) [hereinafter “Adams”]. A s per claim 18, the references as combined above disclose the computing system of claim 16. AUNE further disclose if a hardware attribute associated with the first key is stored in the access control attributes circuit. (AUNE, [0065], [0072]” Each slot has a key header (DESTINATION, USAGE, STATUS) and an associated key value (KEY VALUE)” and “ Access control to the key storage memory 12 a is enforced by a hardware Finite State Machine (FSM)… and the read permissions and usage restrictions for the key value associated with the key slot can be set individually” and “The USAGE field contains a bit field used to store one of the following values: “Restricted”, “Always” and “Always—Secure”” ). The combination fails to disclose wherein the access control enforcer circuit only allows the first key to be used as a wrapping and unwrapping key However, Adams in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the access control enforcer circuit only allows the first key to be used as a wrapping and unwrapping key (Adams, [col.7 ln15-28]” The KEK can be at the third security level (e.g., classified), and thus at a higher security level than the first security level…the KEK can be used to unwrap the wrapped keys (e.g., wK1) to obtain the keys (e.g., K1). ”) if the first key is defined as high security. (Adams, [col.7 ln15-20]” The KEK can be at the third security level (e.g., classified), and thus at a higher security level than the first security level”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA, AUNE, Jayasena and DEKKER to include wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key as suggested by Osorio to further include wherein the access control enforcer circuit only allows the first key to be used as a wrapping and unwrapping key as taught by Adams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Adams’s use of a KEK having a designated security level for wrapping and unwrapping would have predictably restricted use of the key to its authorized cryptographic function, thereby preventing unauthorized use of the key and improving protection of cryptographic key material . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over EL-MOUSSA et al.( US 20170237563 A1) in view of in view of AUNE et al.(US 20210240870 A1) [hereinafter “AUNE”]and in view of Jayasena et al.( US 20170201503 A1 )[hereinafter “Jayasena”] and further in view of Dekker et al.(US 20170118018 A1) [hereinafter “Dekker”] and Osorio et al.(US 20220108018 A1) [hereinafter “Osorio”] as applied to claim 16 and also in view of Dayka et al.(US 20120177202 A1) [hereinafter “Dayka”] . As per claim 20, the references as combined above discloses the computing system of claim 16. The combination fails to disclose the computing system further comprising: a cryptographic engine; and a hardware sequencer circuit that unwraps a third key using the first key and that provides the third key to the cryptographic engine if the first key is associated with a hardware attribute that limits the first key as a wrapping and unwrapping key, and wherein the cryptographic engine performs a cryptographic function using the third key. However, Dayka in the same field of endeavor discloses a cryptographic engine; ( Dayka, [0003], [0006]” DCSPs (domain-specific cryptographic service providers). DCSPs provide services for narrow fields, ” and “in DCSPs there may exist a tight binding between key attributes and key material, partially implied by the key hierarchy. Generally, a key object stores its encrypted key material”) and a hardware sequencer circuit that [unwraps a third key using the first key and [that provides the third key to the cryptographic engine ] ( Dayka, [0011]” providing the first functional key to a domain-specific cryptographic service provider on the computing device.”) if the first key is associated with a hardware attribute that limits the first key as a wrapping and unwrapping key, ( Dayka, [0053]” o restrict potential uses of a key, the PKCS#11 WRAP_TEMPLATE may be utilized. This attribute allows the KEK to process only certain kinds of keys. In this example, each KEK carries an UN/WRAP_TEMPLATE strictly restricting their use. For example, Table 1 illustrates limitations that may be applied to the KEKs in FIG. 4. TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 WRAP_TEM- Native Keytype Wrap Unwrap PLATE use? NOTES KEK0 + + KEK1 or template restricts KEK3 type, possibly also size, of transported key KEK1a + KEK4 KEK1b + KEK4 KEK3b + KEK2 KEK2b + OPK1 fKEK4 N/A ….”) and wherein the cryptographic engine performs a cryptographic function using the third key. ( Dayka, [0056]” In the example of FIG. 4, assuming fOPK1 428 is a native MAC-generation key…Accordingly, it is passed (as dOKPK1) to a DCSP”). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of EL-MOUSSA, AUNE, Jayasena and DEKKER to include wherein the access control enforcer circuit permits the first key to be used to derive a second key as suggested by Osorio to further include a cryptographic engine; and a hardware sequencer circuit that unwraps a third key using the first key and that provides the third key to the cryptographic engine if the first key is associated with a hardware attribute that limits the first key as a wrapping and unwrapping key, and wherein the cryptographic engine performs a cryptographic function using the third key as taught by Dayka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Dayka’s key-management scheme, which restricts a KEK to wrapping and unwrapping designated key types and provides the resulting unwrapped functional key to the DCSP, would have predictably improved key-use control by ensuring that the KEK is used only for authorized wrapping/unwrapping operations while allowing the recovered functional key to be used for its intended cryptographic operation. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bardou et al, (US 20160111025 A1) discloses “Method And Device For Automatic Development Of A Behavior Model Of An Apparatus Providing A Cryptographic Interface“. Hetzler et al, (US 20220239480 A1) discloses “encrypted storage with secure access”. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Komi N. AMEVIGBE whose telephone number is (571)272-3381. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 2pm-10pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Carl Colin can be reached at (571) 272-3862. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2493 /CARL G COLIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 2 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 4 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 5 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 6 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 7 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 8 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 9 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 10 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 11 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 12 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 13 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 14 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 15 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 16 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 17 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 18 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 19 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 20 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 21 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 22 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 23 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 24 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 25 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 26 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 27 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 28 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 29 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 30 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 31 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 32 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 33 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 34 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 35 Art Unit: 2493 Application/Control Number: 19/245,108 Page 36 Art Unit: 2493