DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Application
This final action on the merits is in response to the request for continued examination including remarks and amendments received by the office on 09 April 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11, 17 and 19 are amended. No claims are added or cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 20is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0246797 to Lambrecht et al. (‘797 hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, ‘797 teaches a modular reservoir assembly for use with a three- dimensional (3D) printing system, the modular reservoir assembly comprising: a cartridge including a bottom, an opening, and sidewalls extending from the bottom to the opening defining an inner volume (Fig 4 items 44, 41, 42); a build platform including a build surface and disposed entirely within the inner volume, the inner volume between the sidewalls and a vertical wall of the platform (Fig 4 item 60); an amount of photosensitive resin stored within the inner volume (paragraph 0024); and a releasable sealing member configured to seal the opening of the cartridge with the build platform and the amount of photosensitive resin entirely within the inner volume (Fig 4 item 43, paragraph 0116); wherein the build platform is adapted to seal the photosensitive resin inside the inner volume, and when the releasable sealing member is released, the build platform is configurable to a movement arm of the 3D printing system and adapted to release the photosensitive resin from the inner volume to a space between the bottom of the cartridge and a build surface of the build platform (paragraphs 0022, 0030, 0116 and 0125).
Regarding claim 2, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the bottom of the cartridge is adapted to allow curing light to pass into the inner volume (Fig 4 item 44, paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 3, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the bottom is transparent and/or semi- transparent (Fig 4 item 44, paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 4, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the 3D printing system includes a screen adapted to provide the curing light, the modular reservoir assembly further comprising: a cartridge holder configurable with the screen and adapted to releasably attach the cartridge to the screen (Fig 2 items 14, 15).
Regarding claim 5, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the screen includes a screen perimeter, and the cartridge holder attaches the cartridge to the screen within the screen perimeter (Fig 2 items 14, 15).
Regarding claim 6, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the cartridge holder includes a cavity adapted to receive at least a portion of the cartridge (Fig 2 items 14, 15).
Regarding claim 7. ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the cartridge includes at least one outer protrusion, and the cartridge holder includes at least one corresponding slot to receive the at least one outer protrusion (Fig 2 item 15).
Regarding claim 8, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein when the build platform is configured with the movement arm, the movement arm moves the build surface with respect to the bottom of the cartridge while the inner volume receives the curing light to perform 3D printing (Fig 4 items 51, 60).
Regarding claim 9, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the curing light cures a layer of the photosensitive resin to the build surface (paragraph 0065). Examiner’s note regarding claim interpretation: This claim is directed solely to a recitation of intended use of the claimed invention without reciting any structural limitation. This claim is not regarded as further limiting applicant’s claimed invention. (See MPEP 2114 (II) for more information)
Regarding claim 10, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein a surface area of the build surface is 2500mm2 or less (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 11, ‘797 teaches the wherein the amount of photosensitive resin is sufficient to 3D print a single dental restoration insofar as this is a recitation of intended use of the claimed apparatus (see also paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 12, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the modular reservoir assembly includes a first cartridge that is replaceable with a second cartridge (paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 13, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the first cartridge includes a first type of the photosensitive resin, and the second cartridge includes a second type of the photosensitive resin (paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 14, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the first type of the photosensitive resin is used to 3D print a first type of dental restoration and the second type of the photosensitive resin is used to 3D print a second type of dental restoration insofar as this is a recitation of intended use of the claimed apparatus. As disclosed, the prior art device is capable of being used in this manner.
Regarding claim 15, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein the cartridge is disposable insofar as the disposal of the assembly claimed is a recitation of intended use. Since the assembly of the prior art is fully detachable from the prior art additive manufacturing apparatus, it is capable of being disposed of.
Regarding claim 16, ‘797 teaches the assembly wherein when sealed within the inner volume, the build surface contacts a surface of the bottom of the cartridge (paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 17, ‘797 teaches a method of manufacturing a modular reservoir assembly for use with a three-dimensional (3D) printing system, the method comprising: providing a cartridge including a bottom, an opening opposite the bottom and along a top region of the cartridge, and sidewalls extending from the bottom to the opening defining an inner volume (Fig 4 items 44, 41 and 42); placing a build platform including a build surface entirely within the inner volume, the inner volume between the sidewalls and a vertical wall of the platform (Fig 4 item 60); placing an amount of photosensitive resin within the inner volume (paragraph 0022); adapting the build platform to seal the photosensitive resin inside the inner volume such that moving the build platform releases the photosensitive resin from the inner volume to a space between the bottom of the cartridge and a build surface of the build platform (paragraphs 0026, 0030 and 0125); and with the build platform and the amount of photosensitive resin within the inner volume, using a sealing member to seal the opening ( Fig 4 item 43).
Regarding claim 18, ‘797 teaches the method wherein the bottom is transparent and/or semi- transparent (Fig 4 item 44, paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 19, ‘797 teaches the method wherein the amount of photosensitive resin is sufficient to 3D print a single dental restoration insofar as this is a recitation of intended use of the claimed apparatus (see also paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 20, ‘797 teaches the method wherein placing the build platform including the build surface entirely within the inner volume includes placing the build surface in contact with a surface of the bottom of the cartridge (paragraph 0022).
Response to Arguments
In support of the patentability of the instantly present claims, applicant has argued that the amendments overcome the previously and above applied prior art because the previously and above applied prior art does not teach a platform which is adapted to seal resin in an inner volume as claimed. Examiner is not persuaded. The prior art platform is particularly adapted to cooperate in a sealing manner with the sealing cover (item 42, various figures of the ‘797 reference).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JPR/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743