Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11-13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Allen et al. US 2005/0138461 (hereinafter “Allen”).
Regarding claim 1, Allen teaches: A system comprising: a plurality of transaction processing servers coupled with each other via an electronic communications network, each of the plurality of transaction processing servers configured to: [FIG. 1: primary server 62 and backup server 70]
establish, upon initialization, which one of the plurality of transaction processing servers is designated as a primary instance, each of others of the plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance; and [0021: “the client is connected to a primary server coupled to a backup server in a normal state, during which the primary server processes messages from the client and maintains a transaction log respective to each message in random access memory.” The client is connected to a primary and backup server]
receive an incoming request for a transaction, [0021: “the client is connected to a primary server coupled to a backup server in a normal state, during which the primary server processes messages from the client and maintains a transaction log respective to each message in random access memory.” The primary server processes incoming messages]
process the incoming request to identify a previously received request for a transaction counter thereto in an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request, and [0021: “Meanwhile, the backup server is operable to maintain a mirror image of the transaction log and the transaction logs are periodically flushed to a non-volatile storage device respective to each and server.” The backup server maintains a mirror image of all transactions in a log.]
generate a result indicative thereof, the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance at least commencing processing of the incoming request prior to those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance, [0021: “the client is connected to a primary server coupled to a backup server in a normal state, during which the primary server processes messages from the client and maintains a transaction log respective to each message in random access memory.” The primary server processes transactions and the backup server maintains a mirror image of what the primary server processes.]
wherein the system further comprises a plurality of fault tolerance processors, each coupled with one of the plurality of transaction processing servers and configured to determine whether a failure has occurred in the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance, and [0021: “When the primary server is unavailable, on the other hand, the client is only connected to the backup server, during which said backup server initially recovers a last-known state of said primary server and then processes messages from said client and maintains said backup server transaction log respective to each said message in random access memory.” When the primary server is unavailable the backup server processes messages for the client.]
subsequent thereto, cause one of the others of the plurality of transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance to be designated as the primary instance. [0021: “When the primary server is unavailable, on the other hand, the client is only connected to the backup server, during which said backup server initially recovers a last-known state of said primary server and then processes messages from said client and maintains said backup server transaction log respective to each said message in random access memory.” The backup server acts as the primary server while the primary server is unavailable.]
Regarding claim 2, Allen teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein those transaction processing servers not designated as the primary instance receive the incoming request from the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance. [0021: “Meanwhile, the backup server is operable to maintain a mirror image of the transaction log and the transaction logs are periodically flushed to a non-volatile storage device respective to each and server.” The backup server maintains a mirror image of all transactions in a log.]
Regarding claim 3, Allen teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein only the transaction processing server designated as the primary instance is configured to transmit a data message indicative of the generated result of an attempt to satisfy one or both of the incoming request and the previously received request to a recipient external to the system. [0021: “the primary server transaction log is flushed to the primary server non-volatile storage device after each message is processed.” The non-volatile storage device 66 is external to the primary server 62. See FIG. 1.]
Claims 11-13 are rejected based on the same citations and rationale given to claims 1-3.
Claim 21 is rejected based on the same citations and rationale given to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen in view of Matena et al. US 2004/0158549 (hereinafter “Matena”).
Regarding claim 4, Allen teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein one or more of the plurality of transaction processing servers is located in a region different from a location of one or more others of the plurality of transaction processing servers. [FIG. 1: primary server 62 and backup server 70. The servers are separate and therefore are located in different regions.]
Allen does not expressively disclose servers located in a different geographic region. But does suggest “systems with servers and geographically distributed clients.” Allen at 0010.
Matena teaches: geographic regions [FIG. 1 and 0002: “systems are geographically distributed, heterogeneous (they involve equipment from many different vendors), continuously available (there is no scheduled down-time), and have stringent response time requirements."]
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined Allen’s primary and backup server that are located in different regions with Matena’s transaction processing system that is geographically distributed, thereby devising a primary and backup server that are located in different geographical regions. One would have been motivated to have combined the prior arts because Allen suggests that client systems can be geographically distributed while also teaching separate servers located in different regions. Matena’s transaction processing system is analogous to Allen’s server system and expressively teaches servers being located in different geographic regions.
Claim 14 is rejected based on the same citations and rationale given to claim 4.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 20, and 38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,487,894. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application are broader than the claims of the patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D GIBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113