CLAIMS 1-20 ARE PRESENTED FOR EXAMINATION
Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer and remarks filed October 28, 2025 have been received and entered into the application. Accordingly, the double patenting rejection as set forth in the previous Office action dated August 01, 2025 is withdrawn.
The following rejections are being newly introduced on the record.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha, (U.S. 2024/0474594, (effective 09/29/21 via Prov. Application 63/250,009) in view of Reynolds et al.,
"Investigation of the Effect of Tablet Surface Area/Volume on Drug Release from Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose Controlled-Release Matrix Tablets", Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy, 28(4), 457-466 (2002), (hereinafter “Reynolds”, cited by Applicant).
Sinha teaches a method of treating hair loss, comprising orally administering a dosage form to a human patient experiencing hair loss, wherein the dosage form comprises “about 5 mg to about 10 mg” of minoxidil, which would include the presently claimed “about 8.5 mg”, (see at least the abstract, [0013], [0012]-[0014], (claims 10 and 16). The dosage form may provide delayed, sustained or enteric release, [0043], and contain one or more diluents, carriers, excipients, fillers, disintegrants, solubilizing agents, dispersing agents, lubricants, binders and release aids, etc., [0046]-[0047].
The differences between the above and the claimed subject matter lie in that Sinha fails to teach (a) hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as being present in the oral dosage form; (b) a dosage frequency of once or twice daily, (c) the pharmacokinetic parameters of present claims; (d) lichen planopilaris as the type of hair loss; and (e) the lack of symptomology as in present claims or the cardiac condition status of the patients being treated for hair loss, (present claims 19-20).
However, the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains because (a) Sinha explicitly teaches; extended release dosage forms, [0043]; that among the auxiliary agents present, release aids, carriers/excipients may be used, (e.g., [0047]); that the compositions he teaches may be produced in accordance with general practice in the pharmaceutical industry, ([0045]); and that large macromolecules such as polysaccharides can be used as carrier compounds for the compositions, ([0049]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as an extended release carrier in the compositions of Sinha because Reynolds teaches that “hydrophilic polymers, such as hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), are commonly used as rate-controlling polymers for controlled drug release from matrix-type dosage forms”. It is further believed that, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the determination of the optimum dosage frequency to employ would have been a matter of concern and well within the skill of the art and the scope of the invention of Sinha. The optimization of the dosing of active agents in the pharmaceutical/medical arts is a primary concern when considering an effective therapeutic regimen for a given patient or patient group.
Regarding (c) and (e) above, the reference teaches a minoxidil dosage form that meets the physical requirements of the present claims. Thus, the pharmacokinetic parameters and lack of symptomology occurring after oral administration are deemed characteristics of the dosage form whether disclosed in the prior art or not.
Also, given the overwhelming prevalence of cardiac conditions in the general population and those being treated for such conditions, the patient population of Sinha, which is silent regarding this metric, would have necessarily included a small species of cardiac condition-suffering patients, i.e., those who were and were not being treated for the condition, thus placing the requirements of present claims 19-20 in the general scope of the invention of Sinha.
Finally, regarding (d), Sinha expressly teaches “[o]ral minoxidil is mainly used for male and female pattern hair loss. However, there can benefit with other types of hair loss too including telogen effluvium, traction alopecia and loose anagen syndrome”, ([0022]), and such would have readily suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art the specific types of hair loss known in the art at the time of the invention, including the presently claimed lichen planopilaris.
Accordingly, for the above reasons, the claims are deemed properly rejected.
Double Patenting
Provisional
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-20, (unless otherwise specified), of copending Application
Nos. (reference applications): 19/094,703; 19/422,011; 19/413,834; 19/242,858; 19/404,931;
19/241,304; 19/230,051; 19/236,933; 19/235,535; 19/250,029; 19/324,046; 19/234,212;
19/215,216, (claims 1-21); 19/303,300; 19/315,441; 19/230,007, (claims 1-21); 19/409,546; 19/414,251 or 19/397,854.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims in each application are directed to either treating hair loss in general or to specific types of hair loss as is presently claimed or else encompassed by present claim 1. The presently claimed dosage amount of “about 8.5 mg” of minoxidil, dosage frequency, other non-active agents and symptomology resulting from the administration are either recited in or else encompassed by the copending claims as are the pharmacokinetic parameters required by the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Accordingly, the claims are deemed properly rejected and none are currently in condition for allowance.
/RAYMOND J HENLEY III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629
February 20, 2026