DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figures 1-10 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
It would appear all of the figures correspond to previous contributions to the art, none of which encompass chroma mapping tables.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,298 B2, claims 1 and 4-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,917,155 B2 and claims 1, 2, 5, 11 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,453 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated as laid out in the following tables.
Instant Claim No.
Claim Limitation
‘298 Claim
Explanation
1
Obtaining image information including information related to a quantization parameter (QP) from a bitstream
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites obtaining image information including information related to QP from a bitstream.
1
The information related to the QP includes information related to chroma QPs
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites that the QP-related information includes chroma QPs.
1
Deriving the chroma QPs based on the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 1, 3
Parent claim 1 recites deriving chroma QPs; parent claim 3 clarifies that chroma QPs are derived based on luma QP.
1
The chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites separate chroma QPs for Cb and Cr.
1
Generating a reconstructed picture based on the chroma QPs
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites generating a reconstructed picture based on the luma QP and chroma QPs.
1
Deriving the first chroma QP based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites a first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
1
Deriving the second chroma QP based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites a second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
1
The first chroma QP mapping table is separate from the second chroma QP mapping table
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites that the first mapping table is separate from the second mapping table.
2
The first chroma QP for the Cb component is derived based on first chroma QP offset information for the Cb component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites that the first chroma QP for Cb is derived based on first chroma QP offset information.
3
The first chroma QP offset information includes a first picture level offset and a first slice level offset
Parent claim 5
Parent claim 5 expressly recites picture-level and slice-level offsets for the first chroma QP offset information.
4
The second chroma QP for the Cr component is derived based on second chroma QP offset information for the Cr component
Parent claim 6
Parent claim 6 expressly recites that the second chroma QP for Cr is derived based on second chroma QP offset information.
5
The second chroma QP offset information includes a second picture level offset and a second slice level offset
Parent claim 7
Parent claim 7 expressly recites picture-level and slice-level offsets for the second chroma QP offset information.
6
Deriving chroma QPs, including first chroma QP for Cb and second chroma QP for Cr
Parent claim 8
Parent claim 8 expressly recites deriving chroma QPs including separate Cb and Cr chroma QPs in the encoding context.
6
Generating information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 8
Parent claim 8 expressly recites generating information related to QP for the luma QP and chroma QPs.
6
Encoding image information including the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 8
Parent claim 8 expressly recites encoding image information including QP-related information.
6
Deriving the first chroma QP based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 8
Parent claim 8 expressly recites the first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
6
Deriving the second chroma QP based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 8
Parent claim 8 expressly recites the second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
6
The first chroma QP mapping table is separate from the second chroma QP mapping table
Parent claim 8
Parent claim 8 expressly recites that the two mapping tables are separate.
7
Obtaining the bitstream for image information
Parent claim 9
Parent claim 9 expressly recites obtaining the bitstream for image information.
7
The bitstream is generated by deriving chroma QPs, generating information related to chroma QPs, and encoding the image information
Parent claim 9
Parent claim 9 expressly recites the same generation pipeline for the bitstream.
7
Transmitting the data comprising the bitstream for the image information
Parent claim 9
Parent claim 9 expressly recites transmitting the data comprising the bitstream.
7
Deriving the first chroma QP based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 9
Parent claim 9 expressly recites the first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
7
Deriving the second chroma QP based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 9
Parent claim 9 expressly recites the second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
7
The first chroma QP mapping table is separate from the second chroma QP mapping table
Parent claim 9
Parent claim 9 expressly recites that the two mapping tables are separate.
Instant Claim No.
Claim Limitation
‘155 Claim
Explanation
1
A picture decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites a picture decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus.
1
Obtaining image information including information related to a quantization parameter (QP) from a bitstream
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites obtaining image information including information related to QP from a bitstream.
1
The information related to the QP includes information related to chroma QPs
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites that the QP-related information includes chroma QPs.
1
Deriving the chroma QPs based on the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 1, Parent claim 4
Parent claim 1 recites deriving chroma QPs, and parent claim 4 recites deriving chroma QPs based on a chroma QP mapping table.
1
The chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites separate chroma QPs for Cb and Cr.
1
Generating a reconstructed picture based on the chroma QPs
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites generating a reconstructed picture based on the luma QP and chroma QPs.
1
Deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites the first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
1
Deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites the second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
1
The first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites that the first mapping table is separate from the second mapping table.
2
The first chroma QP for the Cb component is derived based on first chroma QP offset information for the Cb component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites that the first chroma QP for Cb is derived based on first chroma QP offset information.
3
The first chroma QP offset information includes a first picture level offset and a first slice level offset
Parent claim 5
Parent claim 5 expressly recites picture-level and slice-level offsets for the first chroma QP offset information.
4
The second chroma QP for the Cr component is derived based on second chroma QP offset information for the Cr component
Parent claim 6
Parent claim 6 expressly recites that the second chroma QP for Cr is derived based on second chroma QP offset information.
5
The second chroma QP offset information includes a second picture level offset and a second slice level offset
Parent claim 7
Parent claim 7 expressly recites picture-level and slice-level offsets for the second chroma QP offset information.
6
A picture encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 is the encoding-method counterpart.
6
Deriving chroma QPs, wherein the chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites deriving chroma QPs including separate Cb and Cr QPs.
6
Generating information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites generating information related to QP.
6
Encoding image information including the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites encoding image information including the QP-related information.
6
Deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites the first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
6
Deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites the second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
6
The first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites that the tables are separate.
7
A transmission method for data comprising a bitstream for image information
Parent claim 1 or Parent claim 4
Parent claims 1 and 4 provide the underlying decoding/encoding pipeline that generates the bitstream, although they do not recite the transmission wrapper exactly.
7
Obtaining the bitstream for the image information
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites obtaining image information from a bitstream.
7
The bitstream is generated by deriving chroma QPs, generating information related to the chroma QPs, and encoding the image information including the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites deriving chroma QPs, generating QP-related information, and encoding image information.
7
Transmitting the data comprising the bitstream for the image information
Parent claim 1 or Parent claim 4
The parent claims support the generation of the bitstream, but do not expressly recite transmitting data in the same claim form.
7
Deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites the first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
7
Deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites the second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
7
The first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 4
Parent claim 4 expressly recites that the tables are separate.
Instant Claim No.
Claim Limitation
‘453 Claim
Explanation
1
A picture decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites a picture decoding method by a decoding apparatus.
1
Obtaining image information including information related to a quantization parameter (QP) from a bitstream
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites obtaining image information including information related to QP from a bitstream.
1
The information related to the QP includes information related to chroma QPs
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites chroma QPs as part of the QP-related information.
1
Deriving the chroma QPs based on the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites deriving chroma QPs, though it further ties them to luma QP.
1
The chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites a first chroma QP for Cb and a second chroma QP for Cr.
1
Generating a reconstructed picture based on the chroma QPs
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites generating a reconstructed picture including reconstructed samples based on the luma QP and chroma QPs.
1
Deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites deriving the first chroma QP for Cb based on a first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
1
Deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites deriving the second chroma QP for Cr based on a second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
1
The first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 1
Parent claim 1 expressly recites that the first table is separate from the second table.
2
The first chroma QP for the Cb component is derived based on first chroma QP offset information for the Cb component
Parent claims 2, 5, 11, 14
The parent claims support the general chroma-QP derivation framework, but do not expressly recite a separate Cb offset structure.
3
Not Taught
4
The second chroma QP for the Cr component is derived based on second chroma QP offset information for the Cr component
Parent claims 2, 5, 11, 14
The parent claims support the general chroma-QP derivation framework, but do not expressly recite a separate Cr offset structure.
5
Not Taught
6
A picture encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus
Parent claim 11
Parent claim 11 expressly recites a picture encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus.
6
Deriving chroma QPs, wherein the chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component
Parent claim 11
Parent claim 11 expressly recites deriving chroma QPs including separate Cb and Cr QPs.
6
Generating information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 11
Parent claim 11 expressly recites generating information related to QP.
6
Encoding image information including the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 11
Parent claim 11 expressly recites encoding image information including the QP-related information.
6
Deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 11
Parent claim 11 expressly recites deriving the first chroma QP for Cb based on a first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
6
Deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 11
Parent claim 11 expressly recites deriving the second chroma QP for Cr based on a second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
6
The first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 11
Parent claim 11 expressly recites that the first table is separate from the second table.
7
A transmission method for data comprising a bitstream for image information
Parent claim 14
Parent claim 14 is a storage-medium claim, not a transmission-method claim, but it recites the same underlying encoded-image-information generation method.
7
Obtaining the bitstream for the image information
Parent claim 14
Parent claim 14 presupposes the same bitstream generation, though it does not expressly recite obtaining the bitstream in a transmission context.
7
The bitstream is generated by deriving chroma QPs, generating information related to the chroma QPs, and encoding the image information including the information related to the chroma QPs
Parent claim 14
Parent claim 14 expressly recites the same generation pipeline.
7
Transmitting the data comprising the bitstream for the image information
Parent claim 14
Parent claim 14 does not expressly recite transmission, only storage of encoded image information.
7
Deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component
Parent claim 14
Parent claim 14 expressly recites deriving the first chroma QP for Cb based on a first chroma QP mapping table for Cb.
7
Deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 14
Parent claim 14 expressly recites deriving the second chroma QP for Cr based on a second chroma QP mapping table for Cr.
7
The first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component
Parent claim 14
Parent claim 14 expressly recites that the first table is separate from the second table.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LU et al., (US 2018/0103253 A1) referred to as LU hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, LU shows a picture decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus (Paragraph [0021] and FIG. 4), comprising:
obtaining image information including information related to a quantization parameter (QP) from a bitstream (Paragraphs [0010], [0021], [0049], [0075] and [0078] all state that metadata is transmitted as part of the coded bitstream and that the decoder extracts a table identifier from the bitstream.), wherein the information related to the QP includes information related to chroma QPs (Paragraphs [0021] and [0034]-[0036] expressly discuss chroma QP values, Qp.sub.C, and chroma tables.);
deriving the chroma QPs based on the information related to the chroma QPs (Paragraphs [0021], [0023], and [0075]-[0078] decoder selects a Qp.sub.C table using the table identifier and uses the selected table to decode the bitstream.), wherein the chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component (Paragraphs [0034]-[0036] and Tables 3-5 expressly provide separate Cb and Cr values.);
and generating a reconstructed picture based on the chroma QPs (Paragraphs [0021] and [0078] generates decoded output using the selected chroma quantization table and the bitstream, which corresponds to picture reconstruction.), wherein deriving the chroma QPs comprises:
deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component (Generally paragraphs [0057]-[0061], [0065]-[0071] and tables 3-5 teach Qp.sub.C tables for multiple color formats and includes separate Cb rows / table entries.);
and deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component (Generally paragraphs [0057]-[0061], [0065]-[0071] and tables 3-5 likewise includes separate Cr rows / table entries.), and wherein the first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component (Paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and [0071]-[0076] states that distinct tables may be used for each of the chroma components.).
Regarding claim 2, LU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, wherein the first chroma QP for the Cb component is derived based on first chroma QP offset information for the Cb component (Paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0067]-[0070] expressly teach CbQpOffset used to derive qPiCb and then Qp.sub.C.).
Regarding claim 3, LU shows the limitations as per Claim 2 above, wherein the first chroma QP offset information includes a first picture level offset and a first slice level offset (Paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0067]-[0070] expressly recite picture/slice-level style offsets in the qPi derivation framework, including pps_cb_qp_offset and slice_cb_qp_offset.).
Regarding claim 4, LU shows the limitations as per Claim 1 above, wherein the second chroma QP for the Cr component is derived based on second chroma QP offset information for the Cr component (Paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0067]-[0070] expressly teach CrQpOffset used to derive qPiCr and then Qp.sub.C.).
Regarding claim 5, LU shows the limitations as per Claim 4 above, wherein the second chroma QP offset information includes a second picture level offset and a second slice level offset (Paragraphs [0034]-[0036], [0067]-[0070] expressly teach pps_cr_qp_offset and slice_cr_qp_offset.).
Regarding Claim 6, LU shows a picture encoding method performed by an encoding apparatus (Paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0062]-[0065] and [0083] expressly describe an encoder that encodes the input video signal using the selected chroma quantization table.), comprising:
deriving chroma QPs, wherein the chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component (Paragraphs [0023], [0034]-[0036] and Tables 3-5 expressly teach computing QP.sub.Cb and QP.sub.Cr.);
generating information related to the chroma QPs (Paragraphs [0049]-[0052], [0075]-[0076] signaling a table identifier, chroma_qp_table_idc, in the bitstream.);
and encoding image information including the information related to the chroma QPs (Paragraphs [0022], [0049]-[0053] and [0083] wherein encoder embeds the table ID into the coded bitstream and encodes the input signal using the selected table.), wherein deriving the chroma QPs comprises:
deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component (Generally paragraphs [0057]-[0061], [0065]-[0071] and tables 3-5 provides tables of Qp.sub.C values for Cb across multiple formats.);
and deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component (Generally paragraphs [0057]-[0061], [0065]-[0071] and tables 3-5 provides tables of Qp.sub.C values for Cr across multiple formats.), and wherein the first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component (Paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and [0071]-[0076] states that distinct tables may be used for each of the chroma components.).
Regarding Claim 7, LU shows a transmission method for data comprising a bitstream for image information (Paragraphs [0010], [0049], [0075 and [0083] expressly discusses a coded bitstream carrying metadata and table IDs that is transmitted and decoded.), comprising:
obtaining the bitstream for the image information (Paragraphs [0021], [0075] and [0078] wherein the decoder receives the coded bitstream and extracts the table identifier.), wherein the bitstream is generated by deriving chroma QPs, wherein the chroma QPs include a first chroma QP for a Cb component and a second chroma QP for a Cr component, generating information related to the chroma QPs, and encoding the image information including the information related to the chroma QPs (Paragraphs [0022]-[0023], [0049]-[0053], [0061]-[0065], [0083] wherein the encoder selects or generates the chroma table, encodes the image using it, and embeds the table ID into the bitstream.;
and transmitting the data comprising the bitstream for the image information (Paragraphs [0010] and [0083] discusses transmission.), wherein deriving the chroma QPs comprises:
deriving the first chroma QP for the Cb component based on a first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component (Paragraphs [0057]-[0061], [0065]-[0071] and tables 3-5 provides Cb-specific Qp.sub.C table values.);
and deriving the second chroma QP for the Cr component based on a second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component(Paragraphs [0057]-[0061], [0065]-[0071] and tables 3-5 provides Cr-specific Qp.sub.C table values.); and
wherein the first chroma QP mapping table for the Cb component is a separate mapping table from the second chroma QP mapping table for the Cr component (Paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and [0071]-[0076] states that distinct tables may be used for each of the chroma components.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892) for references discovered but determined not to be material to patentability at this time.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
JUSTIN W. RIDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/Justin W Rider/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486