DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 line 4, the term “of” is missing between “plurality “ and “sensed” in the limitation of “one or a plurality sensed gestures“.
Claim 13, line 4, the term “of” is missing between “plurality “ and “sensed” in the limitation of “one or a plurality sensed gestures“.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,340,027 because the instant application claims 1 and 8 are broader in every aspect than the patent claim 9 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.”
Current Application 19/245,339
Patent No. 12,340,027
1. A gesture interface device comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing one or a plurality gestures of a user of one or a plurality of users; and
9. A gesture and voice-controlled interface device comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing gestures of a user;
(it is understood that a user of one or a plurality of users, is the same as “a user”)
a processor configured to obtain an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors,
a processor configured to obtain one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors.
(the term input is not specifically written, only as “an input from the user “, however, it is understood that the one or a plurality of sensed gestures are input into the processor as it obtains those gestures)
to analyze the one or a plurality sensed gestures to identify a specific person based on comparing said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature of the specific person,
to analyze the sensed gesture and sensed sounds to identify an input from the user; verify, based on comparing said one or a plurality of sensed gestures, to a gesture signature of the specific person that the one or a plurality sensed gestures were performed by the specific person;
(based on the analysis the process is configured to identify a specific person)
and to generate an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device only if it was verified that said one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person.
to generate an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device, only if it was verified that the one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person.
8. A method comprising: using a gesture interface device comprising: one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing one or a plurality gestures of a user of one or a plurality of users;
9. A gesture and voice-controlled interface device comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing gestures of a user;
(it is understood that a user of one or a plurality of users, is the same as “a user”)
a processor, obtaining an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors;
a processor configured to obtain one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors.
(the term input is not specifically written, only as “an input from the user “, however, it is understood that the one or a plurality of sensed gestures are input into the processor as it obtains those gestures)
analyzing the one or a plurality sensed gestures to identify a specific person based on comparing said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature of the specific person;
to analyze the sensed gesture and sensed sounds to identify an input from the user; verify, based on comparing said one or a plurality of sensed gestures, to a gesture signature of the specific person that the one or a plurality sensed gestures were performed by the specific person;
(based on the analysis the process is configured to identify a specific person)
and generating an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device only if it was verified that said one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person.
to generate an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device, only if it was verified that the one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,340,029, in view of the prior art reference of Child (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0195636) because:
Current Application 19/245,339
U.S. Patent No. 12,340,029
1. A gesture interface device comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing one or a plurality gestures of a user of one or a plurality of users; and
1. A gesture-controlled interface device comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing gestures of a user;
(the term “or” allows the examiner to choose between one or a plurality terms, examiner has selected the term “one)
a processor configured to obtain an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors,
a processor configured to obtain one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors
(the term input is not specifically written, only as “an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device“, however, it is understood that the one or a plurality of sensed gestures are input into the processor as it obtains those gestures)
to analyze the one or a plurality sensed gestures to identify a specific person based on comparing said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature of the specific person,
analyzing the one or a plurality of sensed gestures
*1
to generate an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device only if it was verified that said one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person.
generating an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device,
*2
8. A method comprising: using a gesture interface device comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing one or a plurality gestures of a user of one or a plurality of users;
1. A gesture-controlled interface device comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors for sensing gestures of a user;
(the term “or” allows the examiner to choose between one or a plurality terms, examiner has selected the term “one)
a processor, obtaining an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors;
a processor configured to obtain one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors
(the term input is not specifically written, only as “an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device“, however, it is understood that the one or a plurality of sensed gestures are input into the processor as it obtains those gestures)
analyzing the one or a plurality sensed gestures to identify a specific person based on comparing said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature of the specific person;
analyzing the one or a plurality of sensed gestures
*1
and generating an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device only if it was verified that said one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person.
generating an output signal corresponding to the input to a controlled device,
*2
The U.S. Patent No. 12,340,029 does not teach all of the limitations of the current application’s claims 1 and 8, highlighted in bold, however, the prior art reference of Child (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0195636) teaches:
*1) analyze the one or a plurality sensed gestures (in step 1010 the gesture is identified, [0135], lines 1-5) to identify a specific person based on comparing (the gesture is compared to a predefined gesture stored in the memory, [0135], lines 1-4) said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature ([0082], lines 7-13) of the specific person (the gesture that was compared to a predefined gesture stored in the memory is used in step 1020 to determine a predefined contact associated with the gesture and the identity of the user, [0137], lines 1-6), and
*2) to generate an output signal (transmit a call request to the child’s father) corresponding to the input to a controlled device (gestural command, [0137], line 7 and camera is the controlled device, [0133], line 2) only if it was verified that said one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person (the child’s identity is determined based on the gesture and other physical characteristic, therefore the child can contact only the father rather than grandmother or any other contacts, [0137], lines 6-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the identify a specific person based on comparing said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature of the specific person of Child to the U.S. Patent No. 12,340,029 because a child may make a gestural command, detected by a video monitoring component of the home automation system, which indicates that the system should “Call dad.” The system may identify this gesture as indicating a desire to reach a parent, and may communicate a call request to the child's mom, simultaneously or serially, based on this identifying. [0012], lines 20-27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Child (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0195636) in view of Chen (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0025562).
As to claim 1, Child teaches a gesture interface device ([0005], lines 12, cell phones or personal computing devices) comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors (camera, the camera may receive one or a combination if inputs, wherein the inputs could be an indirect input such as a gesture, therefore the camera is interpreted as a gesture sensor, [0079], lines 2 and 7-9) for sensing one or a plurality gestures of a user of one or a plurality of users ([0079], lines 1-9, the camera receives an indirect input such as a gesture from a user); and
Child teaches a processor ([0014], lines 2-10 and device 115 or control panel 130 has a processor for receiving and display data from one or more sensor units 110, [0055], lines 14-23), to analyze the one or a plurality sensed gestures (in step 1010 the gesture is identified, [0135], lines 1-5) to identify a specific person based on comparing (the gesture is compared to a predefined gesture stored in the memory, [0135], lines 1-4) said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature ([0082], lines 7-13) of the specific person (the gesture that was compared to a predefined gesture stored in the memory is used in step 1020 to determine a predefined contact associated with the gesture and the identity of the user, [0137], lines 1-6), and
to generate an output signal (transmit a call request to the child’s father) corresponding to the input to a controlled device (gestural command, [0137], line 7 and camera is the controlled device, [0133], line 2) only if it was verified that said one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person (the child’s identity is determined based on the gesture and other physical characteristic, therefore the child can contact only the father rather than grandmother or any other contacts, [0137], lines 6-17).
Child does not mention a processor configured to obtain an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors,
Chen teaches a processor (204) configured to obtain an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors (gestures sensed via sensor circuit 202, [0032], lines 4-7 and 11-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the processor of Chen to the gesture interface device of Child because to provide the control signal to a user device, external to the device 200, based on the information associated with the control signal, [0032], 19-22.
As to claim 2, Child teaches said one or a plurality of gesture sensors comprises one or more sensors selected from the group of sensors consisting of: reflectometer sensor, biopotential sensor, electro-myography (EMG) sensor, surface nerve conductance (SNC) sensor, electro-oculogram (EOG) sensor, pressure sensor, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor, optical sensor and imaging sensor (the one sensor is a camera, which is considered as an imaging sensor, camera, the camera may receive one or a combination if inputs, wherein the inputs could be an indirect input such as a gesture, therefore the camera is interpreted as a gesture sensor, [0079], lines 2 and 7-9).
As to claim 8, Child teaches a method comprising:
using a gesture interface device ([0005], lines 12, cell phones or personal computing devices) comprising:
one or a plurality of gesture sensors (camera, the camera may receive one or a combination if inputs, wherein the inputs could be an indirect input such as a gesture, therefore the camera is interpreted as a gesture sensor, [0079], lines 2 and 7-9) for sensing one or a plurality gestures of a user of one or a plurality of users ([0079], lines 1-9, the camera receives an indirect input such as a gesture from a user);; and
a processor ([0014], lines 2-10 and device 115 or control panel 130 has a processor for receiving and display data from one or more sensor units 110, [0055], lines 14-23),
analyzing the one or a plurality sensed gestures (in step 1010 the gesture is identified, [0135], lines 1-5) to identify a specific person based on comparing (the gesture is compared to a predefined gesture stored in the memory, [0135], lines 1-4) said one or a plurality of sensed gestures to a gesture signature ([0082], lines 7-13) of the specific person (the gesture that was compared to a predefined gesture stored in the memory is used in step 1020 to determine a predefined contact associated with the gesture and the identity of the user, [0137], lines 1-6); and
generating an output signal (transmit a call request to the child’s father) corresponding to the input to a controlled device (gestural command, [0137], line 7 and camera is the controlled device, [0133], line 2) only if it was verified that said one or a plurality of sensed gestures were performed by the specific person (the child’s identity is determined based on the gesture and other physical characteristic, therefore the child can contact only the father rather than grandmother or any other contacts, [0137], lines 6-17).
Child does not mention a processor obtaining an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors,
Chen teaches a processor (204) configured to obtain an input of one or a plurality of sensed gestures from said one or a plurality of gesture sensors (gestures sensed via sensor circuit 202, [0032], lines 4-7 and 11-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the processor of Chen to the gesture interface device of Child because to provide the control signal to a user device, external to the device 200, based on the information associated with the control signal, [0032], 19-22.
As to claim 9, Child teaches said one or a plurality of gesture sensors comprises one or more sensors selected from the group of sensors consisting of: reflectometer sensor, biopotential sensor, electro-myography (EMG) sensor, surface nerve conductance (SNC) sensor, electro-oculogram (EOG) sensor, pressure sensor, inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor, optical sensor and imaging sensor (the one sensor is a camera, which is considered as an imaging sensor, camera, the camera may receive one or a combination if inputs, wherein the inputs could be an indirect input such as a gesture, therefore the camera is interpreted as a gesture sensor, [0079], lines 2 and 7-9).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Child in view of Chen, and further in view of Wu (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0121288).
As to claim 3, Child and Chen do not teach the device is worn by the user,
Wu teaches the device (600, Fig. 6, [0052], lines 1-2) is configured to be worn by the user (the watch is worn by the user, [0055], lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the device of Wu to the gesture interface of Child as modified by Chen because this implementation, a processor of the smart phone may be configured to analyze the gesture data to detect an AR initiation gesture, [0055], lines 13-14 and other variations to optimize resources may exist, [0055], lines 16-18.
As to claim 4, Child and Chen do not teach the device to be strapped to a hand of the user,
Wu teaches device is configured to be strapped to a hand of the user (watch 600 is strapped to a hand of the user, [0055], lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the device of Wu to the gesture interface of Child as modified by Chen because this implementation, a processor of the smart phone may be configured to analyze the gesture data to detect an AR initiation gesture, [0055], lines 13-14 and other variations to optimize resources may exist, [0055], lines 16-18.
As to claim 5, Child and Chen do not teach device is configured to be strapped to a wrist of the user,
Wu teaches device is configured to be strapped to a wrist of the user (watch 600 is strapped to a wrist of the user, [0055], lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the device of Wu to the gesture interface of Child as modified by Chen because this implementation, a processor of the smart phone may be configured to analyze the gesture data to detect an AR initiation gesture, [0055], lines 13-14 and other variations to optimize resources may exist, [0055], lines 16-18.
As to claim 10, Child and Chen do not teach the device is worn by the user,
Wu teaches the device (600, Fig. 6, [0052], lines 1-2) is configured to be worn by the user (the watch is worn by the user, [0055], lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the device of Wu to the gesture interface of Child as modified by Chen because this implementation, a processor of the smart phone may be configured to analyze the gesture data to detect an AR initiation gesture, [0055], lines 13-14 and other variations to optimize resources may exist, [0055], lines 16-18.
As to claim 11, Child and Chen do not teach strapping the device to a hand of the user,
Wu teaches strapping the device to a hand of the user (watch 600 is strapped to a hand of the user, [0055], lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the device of Wu to the gesture interface of Child as modified by Chen because this implementation, a processor of the smart phone may be configured to analyze the gesture data to detect an AR initiation gesture, [0055], lines 13-14 and other variations to optimize resources may exist, [0055], lines 16-18.
As to claim 12, Child and Chen do not teach strapping the device to a wrist of the user,
Wu teaches strapping the device to a wrist of the user (watch 600 is strapped to a wrist of the user, [0055], lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the device of Wu to the gesture interface of Child as modified by Chen because this implementation, a processor of the smart phone may be configured to analyze the gesture data to detect an AR initiation gesture, [0055], lines 13-14 and other variations to optimize resources may exist, [0055], lines 16-18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because the prior art references mentioned above and, in the conclusion, do not teach the biopotential sensors are used to identify the specific person in combination with the sensors mentioned in claim 1 based on the term “device further comprising one or a plurality of biopotential sensors.
Claims 7 is objected to because the prior art references mentioned above and, in the conclusion, do not teach having biopotential sensors to record the biopotentials using the one or a plurality of biopotential sensors, to build a gesture metric space for gestures configured such that samples from a plurality of users of said one or a plurality of users and different gestures will fall away from each other while gathering same gestures in clusters and gestures of a same user of a plurality of users in an internal cluster.
Claim 14 is objected to because the prior art references mentioned above and, in the conclusion, do not teach using one or a plurality of biopotential sensors, and recording the biopotentials using the one or a plurality of biopotential sensors, to build a gesture metric space for gestures configured such that samples from a plurality of users of said one or a plurality of users and different gestures will fall away from each other while gathering same gestures in clusters and gestures of a same user of a plurality of users in an internal cluster.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rodriguez Bravo (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0129964) teaches a gesture sensor to detect whether a user is making a gesture that is consistent with placing a card in a card insertion portion.
Inquiry
/PEGEMAN KARIMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623