DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over HOSHINO (US Pub. No. 2021/0034815 A1).
In respect to Claim 1, HOSHINO teaches:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to perform a process comprising: generating a query text instructing, in natural language, extraction of a first state transition from a data set indicating a series of transitions of states of a plurality of events, the first state transition satisfying a predetermined condition regarding meanings of states before and after a transition; (HOSHINO teaches [0030, FIG. 2, FIG. 3] extraction associated with a state transition model. HOSHINO further teaches [0071, FIG. 2, FIG. 3] conditions associated with state transitions.)
inputting the query text to a dialogue system, the dialogue system being configured to perform a dialogue in the natural language using a language model, the language model being configured to output a response using a sentence in the natural language in response to a query using a sentence in the natural language; (HOSHINO teaches [0049, FIG. 3, FIG. 10] a dialogue system for a query and response output.)
and determining that, for each event of the plurality of events, information based on whether the first state transition indicated in a response text output by the dialogue system is included in a series of transitions of states of said each event is set as a feature of said each event (HOSHINO teaches [FIG. 2, FIG. 3] state labels associated with transition is a the dialogue system corresponding to each event.)
As per Claim 2, HOSHINO teaches:
wherein the generating of the query text includes generating the query text instructing output of the response text including an explanation text of a reason for determining that the first state transition satisfies the predetermined condition, and the determining includes classifying, in response to the response text indicating the first state transition in plurality, the plurality of first state transitions into categories based on the explanation text, and determining that a unified feature is used for two or more second state transitions classified into a same category among the plurality of first state transitions (HOSHINO further teaches [0071, FIG. 2, FIG. 3] conditions associated with state transitions.)
As per Claim 3, HOSHINO teaches:
wherein the classifying includes inputting an instruction indicating category classification of the plurality of first state transitions to the dialogue system, and acquiring a classification result output by the dialogue system (HOSHINO teaches [FIG. 2] state transitions and classification such as query, diagnosis, and answer.)
As per Claim 4, HOSHINO teaches:
wherein the generating of the query text includes generating the query text including a statistical value related to the series of transitions of states of the plurality of events indicated in the data set (HOSHINO [0017, 0038])
As per Claim 5, HOSHINO teaches:
wherein the generating of the query text includes generating the query text instructing extraction of the first state transition that is semantically unreasonable as a normal series of transitions of states for the plurality of events (HOSHINO [0027, 0029, 0138] teaches extraction of arbitrary topics and extraction based on the state transition model.)
As per Claim 6, HOSHINO teaches:
wherein the process further includes generating feature information indicating the feature of said each event indicated in the data set, based on the information based on whether the first state transition indicated in the response text output by the dialogue system is included in the series of transitions of states of said each event (HOSHINO teaches [0030] adding labels to the data for the state transition model.)
Claim 7 is the method claim corresponding to media claim 1, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted above.
Claim 8 is the apparatus claim corresponding to media claim 1, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted above.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 April 4, 2026