DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10/17/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of patent # 12227400 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Nussbaum (US 9,376,296 B2), which qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1), in view of
Perlstein (US 2018/0339890 A1), which qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2), and
Perlstein-2 (US 20190100420), which qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 11, Nussbaum discloses, except for elements highlighted in italicized bold below,
an intelligent lift automation system (
) comprising:
a lift situated in a lift area (
);
a plurality of detectors operable to generate:
a first set of images useful in determining a position of a vehicle in the lift area (
) and
a second set of images useful by artificial intelligence software in determining a position of a set of lift points on the vehicle; wherein the plurality of detectors comprise a plurality of cameras, the second set of images are generated by the plurality of cameras, and at least two of the plurality of cameras have distinct viewpoints; and
a lift controller (
) configured to:
based on the first set of images, virtualize the position of the vehicle relative to the lift (
);
based on the second set of images, use artificial intelligence software to associate the virtualized position of the vehicle with a lift point map, wherein the lift point map describes the positions of the set of lift points on the vehicle (
);
generate a positive identification that comprises at least one image from the second set of images and a positive image descriptor associated with the at least one image, where the positive image descriptor indicates the presence of a valid lift point in the at least one image; and
control one or more movements of the lift to engage the valid lift point (
).
As noted above, Nussbaum does not discloses:
“a second set of images useful by artificial intelligence software in determining a position of a set of lift points on the vehicle”; “wherein the plurality of detectors comprise a plurality of cameras, the second set of images are generated by the plurality of cameras, and at least two of the plurality of cameras have distinct viewpoints”; and
“based on the second set of images, use artificial intelligence software to associate the virtualized position of the vehicle with a lift point map, wherein the lift point map describes the positions of the set of lift points on the vehicle;
generate a positive identification that comprises at least one image from the second set of images and a positive image descriptor associated with the at least one image, where the positive image descriptor indicates the presence of a valid lift point in the at least one image”.
Nussbaum does teach a computer database “associating the virtualized position of the vehicle with a lift point map, wherein the lift point map describes the positions of the set of lift points on the vehicle” (
).
Perlstein also discloses an automated vehicle lift, and teaches:
“a second set of images useful by artificial intelligence software in determining a position of a set of lift points on the vehicle”; wherein the plurality of detectors comprise a plurality of cameras, the second set of images are generated by the plurality of cameras, and at least two of the plurality of cameras have distinct viewpoints” and
“based on the second set of images, use artificial intelligence software to associate the virtualized position of the vehicle with a lift point map, wherein the lift point map describes the positions of the set of lift points on the vehicle;
generate a positive identification that comprises at least one image from the second set of images and a positive image descriptor associated with the at least one image, where the positive image descriptor indicates the presence of a valid lift point in the at least one image” (
).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to supplement the lift arms and computer of Nussbaum, to automate the attachment of the lift arm to the lift points based on image processing and machine learning as is taught by Perlstein above, with motivation coming from Perlstein:
.
Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Nussbaum, while the teaching of Perlstein continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result described in the previous paragraph above. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Nussbaum in view of Perlstein does not specifically teach that the distinct viewpoints comprising a plan view of the vehicle and a profile view of the side of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Perlstein-2 teaches: the distinct viewpoints comprising a plan view of the vehicle and a profile view of the side of the vehicle (¶ [0127] “…one or more camera(s) may be mounted on service bay 160. These camera(s) are directed at vehicle 140 from the top or the sides, or alternatively from the bottom.”; ¶ [0129] “…Guidance system 150 also determines the present location of rolling-jacks 104-5 based on sensor data or other image data, such as from cameras on the sides or below vehicle 140.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nussbaum in view of Perlstein to incorporate the teachings of Perlstein-2 by including: the distinct viewpoints comprising a plan view of the vehicle and a profile view of the side of the vehicle in order to determine the present location of rolling-jacks based on sensor data or other image data.
Regarding claim 1, a vehicle lift operable to lift a vehicle within a lift area, the vehicle lift comprising:
a lift post that is operable to raise and lower a lift arm assembly; a set of lift arms, wherein each arm of the set of lift arms is attached to the lift post by a post connection at a proximal end of the lift arm, and wherein the system is operable to automatically position a distal end of the lift arm (Nussbaum of the Nussbaum/Perlstein combination:
);
a set of lift area detectors operable to determine physical characteristics of objects in the lift area, the set of lift area detectors comprising a plurality of cameras configured to capture plurality of images of the vehicle, at least the plurality of cameras having distinct viewpoints (Nussbaum of the Nussbaum/Perlstein combination:
); and
a lift controller (Nussbaum of the Nussbaum/Perlstein combination:
) configured to:
access an identification dataset that comprises data usable by artificial intelligence software to perform image analysis to identify objects within the one or more images of the vehicle (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/Perlstein combination:
);
control the position of the distal end of each lift arm in the set of lift arms (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/Perlstein combination:
);
using information from the set of lift area detectors, determine a virtualized position of the vehicle within the lift area (Nussbaum of the Nussbaum/Perlstein combination:
);
using the set of lift area detectors, capture a set of one or more images of each lift point in a set of one or more lift points on the vehicle; using artificial intelligence software, perform an image analysis on the set of one or more images of each lift point using the identification dataset to produce a set of results; and automatically position the distal end of each lift arm of the set of lift arms at a different lift point of the set of lift points based on the virtualized position of the vehicle and the set of results (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ combination:
).
Nussbaum in view of Perlstein does not specifically teach that the distinct viewpoints comprising a plan view of the vehicle and a profile view of the side of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Perlstein-2 teaches: the distinct viewpoints comprising a plan view of the vehicle and a profile view of the side of the vehicle (¶ [0127] “…one or more camera(s) may be mounted on service bay 160. These camera(s) are directed at vehicle 140 from the top or the sides, or alternatively from the bottom.”; ¶ [0129] “…Guidance system 150 also determines the present location of rolling-jacks 104-5 based on sensor data or other image data, such as from cameras on the sides or below vehicle 140.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nussbaum in view of Perlstein to incorporate the teachings of Perlstein-2 by including: the distinct viewpoints comprising a plan view of the vehicle and a profile view of the side of the vehicle in order to determine the present location of rolling-jacks based on sensor data or other image data.
Regarding claim 3, the vehicle lift of claim 1, wherein the lift controller is further configured to provide an identification dataset update to an identification server, where the identification dataset update comprises information from the set of lift area detectors (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ combination:
).
Regarding claim 4, the vehicle lift of claim 3, wherein the lift controller is further configured to receive a new identification dataset from the identification server, wherein the new identification dataset is configured based at least in part upon the identification dataset update (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ combination:
).
Regarding claim 5, the vehicle lift of claim 1, wherein the lift controller is configured to, when performing the image analysis: capture a profile view image of the vehicle and perform a profile image analysis on the profile view image using the identification dataset to identify a lift point within the profile view image; determine whether the lift point within the profile view image is contained within a target envelope of the lift arm; and cause a lift monitor device to display the profile view image, the lift point, and the target envelope (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ combination:
).
Regarding claim 6, the vehicle lift of claim 5, wherein the lift controller is further configured to: receive a confirmation from the lift monitor device indicating that the lift point is positioned within the target envelope; create an identification dataset update comprising the profile view image and the lift point; and provide the identification dataset update to an identification server (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ combination:
).
Regarding claim 7, the vehicle lift of claim 1, wherein the lift controller is configured to, when performing the image analysis:
capture a plan view image of the vehicle and perform a plan view image analysis on the plan view image using the identification dataset to identify a lift point within the plan view image; determine whether the lift point within the plan view image is contained within a target envelope of the lift arm; and cause a lift monitor device to display the plan view image, the lift point, and the target envelope (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ combination:
).
Regarding claim 8, the vehicle lift of claim 7, wherein the lift controller is further configured to: receive a confirmation from the lift monitor device indicating that the lift point is positioned within the target envelope; create an identification dataset update comprising the plan view image and the lift point; and provide the identification dataset update to the identification server (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ Perlstein combination:
).
Regarding claim 9, the vehicle lift of claim 1, wherein the lift controller is further configured to: for each lift arm of the set of lift arms, cause a lift monitor device to display a plan view image of a lift point above an adapter of that lift point; receive a confirmation from the lift monitor device indicating that the set of lift arms is correctly positioned; create an identification dataset update comprising each plan view image and an identified lift point within each plan view image; and provide the identification dataset update to an identification server (Nussbaum of the Nussbaum/ Perlstein combination:
).
Regarding claim 10, the vehicle lift of claim 9, wherein the lift controller is further configured to receive a new identification dataset from the identification server, and wherein the new identification dataset is based at least in part upon the identification dataset update (Perlstein of the Nussbaum/ Perlstein combination:
).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Nussbaum (US 9,376,296 B2), which qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1), in view of
Perlstein (US 2018/0339890 A1), which qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2), and
Perlstein-2 (US 20190100420), which qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2); and
BERDELLE-HILGE (US 20110113609), which qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim 19:
Nussbaum, Perlstein, and Perlstein-2 teaches the limitations of claims 1 as applied above.
Nussbaum, Perlstein, and Perlstein-2 does not explicitly teach: wherein the plan view of the vehicle is from below the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, BERDELLE-HILGE teaches: wherein the plan view of the vehicle is from below the vehicle (¶ [0066] “At least one lift table camera 4a, 4b produces at least one vehicle image from below in an imaging direction that is perpendicular or obliquely upward.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nussbaum in view of Perlstein and Perlstein-2 to incorporate the teachings of BERDELLE-HILGE by including: wherein the plan view of the vehicle is from below the vehicle in order to evaluate the vehicle image(s) for each fastening element and each connection element.
Regarding claim 20: the claim limitations are similar to those of claim 19; therefore, rejected in the same manner as applied above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Nussbaum of the Nussbaum/Perlstein combination further teaches wherein the lift controller is configured to, when determining the virtualized position of the vehicle: capture an image of the vehicle using a camera in the set of lift area detectors (
). However, it is the examiner’s findings that in the context of the claim as a whole including the limitation of the parent claim, the prior of record as applied above and that having been searched does not teach or suggest, without reliance upon impermissible hindsight, the additional limitations of:
“perform an image analysis on the image using the identification dataset to identify a position of a first target point in the image;
determine a position of the vehicle in a first dimension and in a second dimension as a function of the location of the first target point within the image, a distance between the first target point on the vehicle and a first proximity sensor in the set of lift area detectors, and an angle of the proximity sensor relative to the first target point; and
determine an orientation of the vehicle within the lift area as a function of the position in the first dimension and output from a second proximity sensor of the set of lift area detectors.”
Claims 3-4 depend from claim 2.
Claims 12-18 are allowed.
Claim 12 is similar to claim 2 but in the independent form; therefore, allowed at least for similar reasons.
Claims 13-18 depend from claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WASSIM MAHROUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665