DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tiberghien et al. (US 2015/0001844 hereinafter “Tiberghien”).
In regards to claim 1, Tiberghien discloses a female fluid coupling (10), comprising:
a coupling body (150) defining a longitudinal axis and an internal space (central bore);
a valve stem (112) disposed within the internal space;
a valve stem head (110) attached at an end of the valve stem;
a seal member (122) coupled to the valve stem head; and
a valve sleeve (118) that is movable, along the valve stem, relative to the coupling body and the valve stem head between: (i) a closed position (shown in fig. 3) in which the valve sleeve is in contact with the seal member and (ii) an open position (shown in fig. 5) in which the valve sleeve is longitudinally spaced apart from the seal member to open a fluid flow path through the female fluid coupling,
wherein the coupling body defines a first slot (158) that is nonlinear and configured to slidingly receive a protrusion of a male fluid coupling while inserting the male fluid coupling into the coupling body of the female fluid coupling (shown in fig. 7).
In regards to claim 2, Tiberghien further discloses the first slot comprises:
a first portion (see at 160 in fig. 8) extending linearly parallel to the longitudinal axis; and
a second portion (see at 158 at fig. 8) extending around the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 3, Tiberghien further discloses the first slot further comprises a third portion (see at 162 in fig. 8) extending linearly parallel to the longitudinal axis, and wherein the second portion is disposed between the first portion and the third portion (shown in fig. 8).
In regards to claim 4, Tiberghien further discloses the second portion of the first slot is arcuate (shown in fig. 8).
In regards to claim 5, Tiberghien further discloses the coupling body further defines a second slot (see paragraph [0066] which discloses 3 slots) that is nonlinear and configured to slidingly receive a protrusion of the male fluid coupling while inserting the mate fluid coupling into the coupling body of the female fluid coupling.
In regards to claim 6, Tiberghien further discloses the second slot has the same shape as the first slot (see paragraph [0066]).
In regards to claims 7 and 12, Tiberghien further discloses the valve stem head comprises a protuberance (at 111) extending from a front face (see frontward facing face of groove that receives “154”) of the valve stem head along the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 8, Tiberghien further discloses the protuberance extends through an opening defined by the seal member (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 9, Tiberghien discloses a fluid coupling system, comprising:
a male coupling (20) comprising:
a male coupling body (202) defining a male longitudinal axis and a male coupling internal space (central bore); and
a male valve member (212) disposed within the male coupling internal space, wherein the male valve member is movable, along the male longitudinal axis, relative to the male coupling body to open and close a flow path through the male coupling (shown between figs. 3 and 5); and
a female coupling (10) comprising:
a female coupling body (150) defining a female longitudinal axis and a female coupling internal space (central bore);
a valve assembly disposed within the female coupling internal space and comprising a valve stem head (110) and a valve sleeve (118), wherein the valve sleeve is movable, along the female longitudinal axis, relative to the female coupling body and the valve stem head to open and close a flow path through the female coupling (shown between figs. 3 and 5),
wherein the male and female couplings are configured to require a two-step rotation process, relative to each other, to connect the male and female couplings (see fig. 8), and
wherein the two-step rotation process comprises an initial partial rotation that longitudinally latches the valve stem head to the male valve member (see paragraphs [0084] - [0092]).
In regards to claim 10, Tiberghien further discloses the two-step rotation process further comprises a final rotation that rotates the male valve member relative to the male coupling body (see from “158” to “162”).
In regards to claim 11, Tiberghien further discloses the male valve member is prevented from being moved along the male longitudinal axis until after the final rotation (see at least paragraph [0086]).
In regards to claim 16, Tiberghien discloses a male fluid coupling (20), comprising:
a male coupling body (202) defining a male longitudinal axis and a male coupling internal space (central bore); and
a male valve member (212) disposed within the male coupling internal space, wherein the male valve member is movable, along the male longitudinal axis, relative to the male coupling body to open and close a flow path through the male coupling (shown between figs. 3 and 5),
wherein the male coupling is spring-less (it is noted that no springs are being relied upon in the rejection of claim 16 and therefore the claimed coupling is springless. If applicant wishes to include additional elements, the preamble should be amended to recite "consisting of").
In regards to claim 17, Tiberghien further discloses the male valve member is positionable in:
a first closed position (fig. 3) in which the flow path through the male coupling is closed; and
a second closed position (fig. 1 shows the valve is free to rotate while in the closed position) in which the flow path through the male coupling is closed and in which the male valve member is rotated about the male longitudinal axis in comparison to the first closed position.
In regards to claim 18, Tiberghien further discloses the male valve member is further positionable in an open position (fig. 5) in which the flow path through the male coupling is open and in which the male valve member is moved longitudinally along the male longitudinal axis in comparison to the first and second closed positions.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,757 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 16-20 are generic to all that is recited in claims 10-19 of the reference patent. In other words, claims 10-19 of the reference patent fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 16-20. Thus, the invention of claims 10-19 of the reference patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 16-20. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 16-20 are anticipated by claims 10-19 of the reference patent, claims 16-20 are not patentably distinct from claims 10-19, regardless of any additional subject matter presented in claims 10-19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 03/11/2026