DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 16-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tiberghien et al. (US 2015/0001844 hereinafter "Tiberghien"). For clarity purposes, please see the annotated fig. of Tiberghien produced below:
In regards to claim 1, Tiberghien discloses a female fluid coupling (10), comprising:
a coupling body (150) defining a longitudinal axis and an internal space (central bore);
a valve stem (112) disposed within the internal space;
a valve stem head (110) attached at an end of the valve stem and the valve stem head
comprises a protuberance (at 111) extending from a front face of the valve stem head along the longitudinal axis (see annotated fig. above);
a seal member (122) coupled to the valve stem head; and
a valve sleeve (118) that is movable, along the valve stem, relative to the coupling body
and the valve stem head between: (i) a closed position (shown in fig. 3) in which the valve sleeve
is in contact with the seal member and (ii) an open position (shown in fig. 5) in which the valve
sleeve is longitudinally spaced apart from the seal member to open a fluid flow path through the
female fluid coupling,
wherein the coupling body defines a first slot (158) that is nonlinear and configured to
slidingly receive a protrusion of a male fluid coupling while inserting the male fluid coupling
into the coupling body of the female fluid coupling (shown in fig. 7).
In regards to claim 2, Tiberghien further discloses the first slot comprises:
a first portion (see at 160 in fig. 8) extending linearly parallel to the longitudinal axis; and
a second portion (see at 158 at fig. 8) extending around the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 3, Tiberghien further discloses the first slot further comprises a third
portion (see at 162 in fig. 8) extending linearly parallel to the longitudinal axis, and wherein the
second portion is disposed between the first portion and the third portion (shown in fig. 8).
In regards to claim 4, Tiberghien further discloses the second portion of the first slot is
arcuate (shown in fig. 8).
In regards to claim 5, Tiberghien further discloses the coupling body further defines a
second slot (see paragraph [0066] which discloses 3 slots) that is nonlinear and configured to
slidingly receive a protrusion of the male fluid coupling while inserting the mate fluid coupling
into the coupling body of the female fluid coupling.
In regards to claim 6, Tiberghien further discloses the second slot has the same shape as
the first slot (see paragraph [0066]).
In regards to claim 8, Tiberghien further discloses the protuberance extends through an
opening defined by the seal member (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 16, Tiberghien discloses a male fluid coupling (20), comprising:
a male coupling body (202) defining a male longitudinal axis and a male coupling internal space (central bore); and
a male valve member (212) disposed within the male coupling internal space, wherein the male valve member is movable, along the male longitudinal axis, relative to the male coupling body to open and close a flow path through the male coupling (shown between figs. 3 and 5),
wherein the male coupling is spring-less (it is noted that no springs are being relied upon in the rejection of claim 16 and therefore the claimed coupling is springless. If applicant wishes to exclude additional elements, the preamble should be amended to recite "consisting of").
In regards to claim 17, Tiberghien further discloses the male valve member is positionable in:
a first closed position (fig. 3) in which the flow path through the male coupling is closed; and
a second closed position (fig. 1 shows the valve is free to rotate while in the closed position) in which the flow path through the male coupling is closed and in which the male valve member is rotated about the male longitudinal axis in comparison to the first closed position.
In regards to claim 18, Tiberghien further discloses the male valve member is further positionable in an open position (fig. 5) in which the flow path through the male coupling is open and in which the male valve member is moved longitudinally along the male longitudinal axis in comparison to the first and second closed positions.
In regards to claim 21, Tiberghien further discloses the seal member is configured to be compressed between the front face of the valve stem head and a front face of the male fluid coupling when the male fluid coupling is inserted into the female fluid coupling (shown in annotated fig.).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 15 June 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,747 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, filed 15 June 2026, with respect to claim 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 15 June 2026 regarding claims 1 and 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1, see the newly added annotated figure above, which clarifies how the limitation is disclosed by Tiberghien.
Applicant argues that the male coupling of Tiberghien is not “springless” as required by claim 16. The examiner disagrees. The elements being relied upon to reject claim 16 do not include a spring. The presence of additional elements not being relied upon is of no consequence to a claim using an open-ended transitional phrase such as “comprising”. The functional language of “the male valve member is movable, along the male longitudinal axis, relative to the male coupling body to open and close a flow path through the male coupling” is capable of being performed without the spring by connection to a female member. The spring does not move the valve, but simply biases it in the forward position. Thus, the negative limitation has been met.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are allowed.
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 07/08/2026