DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are presented for examination.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable for examination purposes.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/23/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) listed in the disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2025, 1/16/2026 and 7/13/2026 have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yutaro Akahoshi - "Partially Fault-tolerant Quantum Computing Architecture with Error-corrected Clifford Gates and Space-time Efficient Analog Rotations" (from IDS), herein Akahoshi in view of Fowler (US 20220382626 A1) in further view of Higgott et al (US 20230071000 A1), herein Higgott.
As per claim 1, Akahoshi teaches
causing a quantum computer to perform a first gate operation in accordance with an ancilla state generation circuit representing a procedure of generating a code including a logical qubit and a gauge qubit (The first step of our injection protocol is to generate the ancilla state encoded in the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code [38]…The +1 eigenstate of these stabilizers defines a logical qubit with logical operators…LX =X0X1, LZ =Z0Z2, and gauge operators GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1. ; Akahoshi page 6), the logical qubit representing an ancilla state to be input to a gate teleportation circuit (A circuit for preparing the ancilla state; Akahoshi page 6)(The state that passes the second post-selection is clean in detectable O(p) error, and it can be consumed in the gate teleportation circuit of Fig. 7 or the multi-Pauli rotation of Fig. 8; page 7), the gauge qubit representing a redundant degree of freedom other than the ancilla state (GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1; page 6)(after the measurement circuit of Fig. 11, the gauge DOF are fixed to the eigenstate of GZ = Z0Z1; page 7), the gate teleportation circuit being configured to implement a phase rotation gate (FIG. 7. Quantum circuit for the analog Z rotation gate. MZ is a destructive ZL measurement on a logical patch…An output state is a correctly rotated state RZ(θ)|ψ if the measurement result in the circuit is +1; otherwise the output is an inversely rotated state, RZ(−θ)|ψ. Both outputs evenly occur. If the inversely rotated state is obtained, we apply a rotation gate with an angle 2θ on the output state to correct its angle. This correction is repeated until obtaining RZ(θ)|ψ; page 6);
causing the quantum computer to perform a second gate operation in accordance with an error detection circuit representing a procedure of detecting an error occurring in a plurality of physical qubits constituting the code generated by the first gate operation (The generated ancilla state may suffer from errors in practice; thus, we measure syndromes of the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code; page 6)(Syndrome measurement circuit of the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code using the gauge operators…To detect measurement errors, the measurement circuit is repeated twice; page 7);
and determining a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation, the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit (we discard the prepared state if the measured syndromes satisfy one of the following conditions (post selection): (i) one (or both) of the syndromes is equal to −1, or (ii) one (or both) of the bare (the XOR operation is not performed) syndromes of the first round takes −1, although the syndromes are equal to +1. The state injection circuit is repeated until passing this post-selection; page 7).
Akahoshi does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to perform a process; and the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit.
However, Fowler in an analogous art teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to perform a process (The L2 cache 124 stores data comprising instructions 128 for performing a quantum error correction algorithm…The control code 126 for accessing neighboring processing cores 112 is also stored in the L2 cache 124; Fowler p. 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Akahoshi with the teachings of Fowler by configuring a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to perform a process.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in the system of Akahoshi because Fowler teaches the use of the processor cache to store the algorithm instructions and measurement data can reduce or even remove the need for external memory, such as random access memory, when performing quantum error correction (Fowler p. 0055).
Higgott in an analogous art teaches determining a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation, the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit (outputting the result of at least one single gauge check operator measurement to a decoder…Treating a single gauge check operator measurement as a check that provides syndrome information used for decoding, includes treating that measurement result as a stabilizer. A decoder is a piece of classical software that uses these measurement outcomes to determine which error might have occurred, and provide a correction.; Higgott p. 0006-0008)(a decoder configured to receive the output of the control circuitry (this then provides an additional measurement teaching using individual gauge-check measurement as a check that provides syndrom information used for decoding); Higgott Claim 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Akahoshi in view of Fowler, as combined above, with the teachings of Higgott by configuring determining a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit in the system of Akahoshi in view of Fowler because Higgott teaches by changing the order in which check operators are measured, valuable additional information can be gained, and we introduce a new method for decoding which uses this information to improve performance (Higgot p. 0016).
As per claim 2, Akahoshi in view of Fowler in further view of Higgott, as combined, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1,
wherein the causing the quantum computer to perform the second gate operation includes causing the quantum computer to perform the second gate operation in accordance with the error detection circuit in which a second circuit for measuring an eigenvalue of an X stabilizer is arranged after a first circuit for measuring an eigenvalue of a Z stabilizer on the plurality of physical qubits, and the determining of the presence or absence of the error includes determining the presence or absence of the error, based on the measurement value obtained by executing the first circuit.
Akahoshi teaches both stabilizer measurements (we discard the prepared state if the measured syndromes satisfy one of the following conditions (post selection): (i) one (or both) of the syndromes is equal to −1, or (ii) one (or both) of the bare (the XOR operation is not performed) syndromes of the first round takes −1, although the syndromes are equal to +1. The state injection circuit is repeated until passing this post-selection; Akahoshi page 7). but does not explicitly teach the particular order. However, Higgot teaches alternating the order (For CSS subsystem codes, the most common measurement schedule consists of alternating between measuring all X-type and all Z-type check operator measurements in a repeating sequence; Higgott p. 0093)(When using the standard ZX schedule for the subsystem toric code, the stabiliser group is indeed constantly switching (up to signs) between the hexagonal toric code and its dual, both abelian subgroups of the gauge group G…For the ZX schedule used in the previous literature, gauge operators are never fixed and stabilisers are always the product of gauge operators, whereas for many of the schedules we use; Higgott p. 0098-0100).
As per claim 3, Akahoshi in view of Fowler in further view of Higgott, as combined, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 2,
wherein the causing the quantum computer to perform the first gate operation includes causing the quantum computer to perform the first gate operation in accordance with the ancilla state generation circuit including a two-qubit rotation gate that applies a phase rotation to a first physical qubit and a second physical qubit, the causing the quantum computer to perform the second gate operation includes causing the quantum computer to perform the second gate operation in accordance with the error detection circuit in which (Hadamard and CNOT operations encode the input state into |+L state first, and then the logical rotation gate RZ0Z2 (θ) ≡ e−iθ/2(Z0Z2) acts on |+L; Akahoshi page 6) the first circuit including a first CNOT gate and a second CNOT gate and the second circuit are arranged, the first CNOT gate using the first physical qubit as a control qubit and a measurement qubit as a target qubit, the second CNOT gate using the second physical qubit as a control qubit and the measurement qubit as a target qubit (FIG. 11. Syndrome measurement circuit of the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code using the gauge operators.The labels of phys ical and measurement qubits are the same in Fig. 10; Akahoshi page 7), and the determining of the presence or absence of the error includes determining the presence or absence of the error, based on the measurement value in a Z basis of the measurement qubit (Meter symbols indicate Z measurements. Gates grouped by dashed lines are simultaneously implemented…we discard the prepared state if the measured syndromes satisfy one of the following conditions (post selection): (i) one (or both) of the syndromes is equal to −1, or (ii) one (or both) of the bare (the XOR operation is not performed) syndromes of the first round takes −1, although the syndromes are equal to +1. The state injection circuit is repeated until passing this post-selection; Akahoshi page 7).
As per claim 4, Akahoshi in view of Fowler in further view of Higgott, as combined, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1,
wherein the determining of the presence or absence of the error includes determining the presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value indicating an eigenvalue of the degree of freedom represented by the gauge qubit (gauge operators GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1. Because of the gauge degrees of freedom (DOF), however, we can mea sure them as products of weight-2 gauge operators; Akahoshi page 6)(We note that after the measurement circuit of Fig. 11, the gauge DOF are fixed to the eigenstate of GZ = Z0Z1; Akahoshi page 7)(Treating a single gauge check operator measurement as a check that provides syndrome information used for decoding, includes treating that measurement result as a stabilizer; Higgott p. 0008).
As per claim 5, Akahoshi in view of Fowler in further view of Higgott, as combined, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1,
wherein the causing the quantum computer to perform the first gate operation includes causing the quantum computer to perform the first gate operation in accordance with the ancilla state generation circuit including a two-qubit rotation gate that applies a phase rotation to a first physical qubit and a second physical qubit, and the determining of the presence or absence of the error includes determining that the error is present, in response to the measurement value indicating the state of the gauge qubit changed due to a YY error occurring during a third gate operation of the two-qubit rotation gate (Hadamard and CNOT operations encode the input state into |+L state first, and then the logical rotation gate RZ0Z2 (θ) ≡ e−iθ/2(Z0Z2) acts on |+L; Akahoshi page 6)(Weight-2 errors that cause the logical Z error in the two qubit depolarizing channel are Z0Z2 and Y0Y2; Akahoshi page 18))(Treating a single gauge check operator measurement as a check that provides syndrome information used for decoding, includes treating that measurement result as a stabilizer; Higgott p. 0008)(The L2 cache 124 stores data comprising instructions 128 for performing a quantum error correction algorithm; Fowler p. 0053)(Akahoshi's FIG 9 prepares a known GZ = +1 eigenstate and that a Y0Y2 error flips that eigenvalue).
As per claim 6, Akahoshi in view of Fowler in further view of Higgott, as combined, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1,
wherein the causing the quantum computer to perform the first gate operation includes causing the quantum computer to perform the first gate operation representing the procedure of generating a [[4,1,1,2]] code in which a number of physical qubits to be used is four, the logical qubit representing the ancilla state is one bit, the gauge qubit is one bit, and a code distance is two (The first step of our injection protocol is to generate the ancilla state encoded in the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code [38]. This code is defined by four physical qubits (we index them by subscripts 0–3 in the following discus sion) with two stabilizer operators SX =X0X1X2X3, SZ =Z0Z1Z2Z3. The +1 eigenstate of these stabilizers defines a logical qubit with logical operators. LX =X0X1, LZ =Z0Z2, and gauge operators GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1; Akahoshi page 6).
As per claim 7, Akahoshi teaches a quantum computation support method comprising:
causing, by a processor, a quantum computer to perform a first gate operation in accordance with an ancilla state generation circuit representing a procedure of generating a code including a logical qubit and a gauge qubit (The first step of our injection protocol is to generate the ancilla state encoded in the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code [38]…The +1 eigenstate of these stabilizers defines a logical qubit with logical operators…LX =X0X1, LZ =Z0Z2, and gauge operators GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1. ; Akahoshi page 6), the logical qubit representing an ancilla state to be input to a gate teleportation circuit (A circuit for preparing the ancilla state; Akahoshi page 6)(The state that passes the second post-selection is clean in detectable O(p) error, and it can be consumed in the gate teleportation circuit of Fig. 7 or the multi-Pauli rotation of Fig. 8; page 7), the gauge qubit representing a redundant degree of freedom other than the ancilla state (GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1; page 6)(after the measurement circuit of Fig. 11, the gauge DOF are fixed to the eigenstate of GZ = Z0Z1; page 7), the gate teleportation circuit being configured to implement a phase rotation gate (FIG. 7. Quantum circuit for the analog Z rotation gate. MZ is a destructive ZL measurement on a logical patch…An output state is a correctly rotated state RZ(θ)|ψ if the measurement result in the circuit is +1; otherwise the output is an inversely rotated state, RZ(−θ)|ψ. Both outputs evenly occur. If the inversely rotated state is obtained, we apply a rotation gate with an angle 2θ on the output state to correct its angle. This correction is repeated until obtaining RZ(θ)|ψ; page 6);
causing, by the processor, the quantum computer to perform a second gate operation in accordance with an error detection circuit representing a procedure of detecting an error occurring in a plurality of physical qubits constituting the code generated by the first gate operation (The generated ancilla state may suffer from errors in practice; thus, we measure syndromes of the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code; page 6)(Syndrome measurement circuit of the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code using the gauge operators…To detect measurement errors, the measurement circuit is repeated twice; page 7);
and determining, by the processor, a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation, the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit (we discard the prepared state if the measured syndromes satisfy one of the following conditions (post selection): (i) one (or both) of the syndromes is equal to −1, or (ii) one (or both) of the bare (the XOR operation is not performed) syndromes of the first round takes −1, although the syndromes are equal to +1. The state injection circuit is repeated until passing this post-selection; page 7).
Akahoshi does not explicitly teach a processor; and the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit.
However, Fowler in an analogous art teaches a processor (The L2 cache 124 stores data comprising instructions 128 for performing a quantum error correction algorithm…The control code 126 for accessing neighboring processing cores 112 is also stored in the L2 cache 124; Fowler p. 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Akahoshi with the teachings of Fowler by configuring a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to perform a process.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in the system of Akahoshi because Fowler teaches the use of the processor cache to store the algorithm instructions and measurement data can reduce or even remove the need for external memory, such as random access memory, when performing quantum error correction (Fowler p. 0055).
Higgott in an analogous art teaches determining, by the processor, a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation, the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit (outputting the result of at least one single gauge check operator measurement to a decoder…Treating a single gauge check operator measurement as a check that provides syndrome information used for decoding, includes treating that measurement result as a stabilizer. A decoder is a piece of classical software that uses these measurement outcomes to determine which error might have occurred, and provide a correction.; Higgott p. 0006-0008)(a decoder configured to receive the output of the control circuitry (this then provides an additional measurement teaching using individual gauge-check measurement as a check that provides syndrome information used for decoding); Higgott Claim 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Akahoshi in view of Fowler, as combined above, with the teachings of Higgott by configuring determining a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit in the system of Akahoshi in view of Fowler because Higgott teaches by changing the order in which check operators are measured, valuable additional information can be gained, and we introduce a new method for decoding which uses this information to improve performance (Higgot p. 0016).
As per claim 8, Akahoshi teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
cause a quantum computer to perform a first gate operation in accordance with an ancilla state generation circuit representing a procedure of generating a code including a logical qubit and a gauge qubit (The first step of our injection protocol is to generate the ancilla state encoded in the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code [38]…The +1 eigenstate of these stabilizers defines a logical qubit with logical operators…LX =X0X1, LZ =Z0Z2, and gauge operators GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1. ; Akahoshi page 6), the logical qubit representing an ancilla state to be input to a gate teleportation circuit (A circuit for preparing the ancilla state; Akahoshi page 6)(The state that passes the second post-selection is clean in detectable O(p) error, and it can be consumed in the gate teleportation circuit of Fig. 7 or the multi-Pauli rotation of Fig. 8; page 7), the gauge qubit representing a redundant degree of freedom other than the ancilla state (GX =X0X2, GZ =Z0Z1; page 6)(after the measurement circuit of Fig. 11, the gauge DOF are fixed to the eigenstate of GZ = Z0Z1; page 7), the gate teleportation circuit being configured to implement a phase rotation gate (FIG. 7. Quantum circuit for the analog Z rotation gate. MZ is a destructive ZL measurement on a logical patch…An output state is a correctly rotated state RZ(θ)|ψ if the measurement result in the circuit is +1; otherwise the output is an inversely rotated state, RZ(−θ)|ψ. Both outputs evenly occur. If the inversely rotated state is obtained, we apply a rotation gate with an angle 2θ on the output state to correct its angle. This correction is repeated until obtaining RZ(θ)|ψ; page 6);
cause the quantum computer to perform a second gate operation in accordance with an error detection circuit representing a procedure of detecting an error occurring in a plurality of physical qubits constituting the code generated by the first gate operation (The generated ancilla state may suffer from errors in practice; thus, we measure syndromes of the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code; page 6)(Syndrome measurement circuit of the [[4,1,1,2]] subsystem code using the gauge operators…To detect measurement errors, the measurement circuit is repeated twice; page 7);
and determine a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation, the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit (we discard the prepared state if the measured syndromes satisfy one of the following conditions (post selection): (i) one (or both) of the syndromes is equal to −1, or (ii) one (or both) of the bare (the XOR operation is not performed) syndromes of the first round takes −1, although the syndromes are equal to +1. The state injection circuit is repeated until passing this post-selection; page 7).
Akahoshi does not explicitly teach a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and the processor configured to:
However, Fowler in an analogous art teaches a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory and the processor (The L2 cache 124 stores data comprising instructions 128 for performing a quantum error correction algorithm…The control code 126 for accessing neighboring processing cores 112 is also stored in the L2 cache 124; Fowler p. 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Akahoshi with the teachings of Fowler by configuring a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to perform a process.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in the system of Akahoshi because Fowler teaches the use of the processor cache to store the algorithm instructions and measurement data can reduce or even remove the need for external memory, such as random access memory, when performing quantum error correction (Fowler p. 0055).
Higgott in an analogous art teaches determine a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation, the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit (outputting the result of at least one single gauge check operator measurement to a decoder…Treating a single gauge check operator measurement as a check that provides syndrome information used for decoding, includes treating that measurement result as a stabilizer. A decoder is a piece of classical software that uses these measurement outcomes to determine which error might have occurred, and provide a correction.; Higgott p. 0006-0008)(a decoder configured to receive the output of the control circuitry (this then provides an additional measurement teaching using individual gauge-check measurement as a check that provides syndrom information used for decoding); Higgott Claim 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Akahoshi in view of Fowler, as combined above, with the teachings of Higgott by configuring determining a presence or absence of the error, based on a measurement value obtained by the second gate operation.
This modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the measurement value indicating a state of the gauge qubit in the system of Akahoshi in view of Fowler because Higgott teaches by changing the order in which check operators are measured, valuable additional information can be gained, and we introduce a new method for decoding which uses this information to improve performance (Higgot p. 0016).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
The prior arts of record teach:
Amaro Fernandez et al (US 20260161994 A1) teaches a quantum computing system and a method for quantum error detection are disclosed, for performing a quantum operation with fault tolerance provided by detectability of specific logical errors during initialisation, syndrome measurement and state measurement, but without computationally intensive quantum error correction. A quantum circuit of logical qubits is converted into a set of instructions for performing a quantum circuit of physical qubits. The set of instructions comprises a plurality of blocks of instructions and each block of instructions comprises at least one instruction for performing at least one quantum gate on a n qubit quantum circuit by a quantum computing system. The quantum computing system performs fault-tolerant initialisation of a logical state of k logical qubits using an n qubit quantum circuit and a first ancilla and the quantum error detection code, and performs each instruction block of the plurality of instruction blocks on the quantum circuit of n physical qubits. After each instruction block, the quantum computing system performs a fault-tolerant syndrome measurement of stabilizers on the n physical qubits using the first ancilla and a second ancilla respectively. After all instruction blocks of the plurality of instruction blocks have been applied to the n physical qubits, the quantum computing system performs a fault-tolerant state measurement, using the first and second ancilla, of each logical operator of formula (I) by measuring the n physical qubits.
HEYA et al (US 20240062088 A1) teaches a quantum logic gate operation device, comprising: two-qubit system in which a control qubit and a target qubit are coupled; a cross resonance drive pulse irradiator irradiating the control qubit with a cross resonance drive pulse; an echo pulse irradiation unit irradiating the control qubit with an echo pulse; and a control unit. The control unit controls the echo pulse irradiation unit such that the echo pulse irradiation unit irradiates the cross resonance drive pulse of the first phase during the first period, irradiates the cross resonance drive pulse with continuously changing the phase of the cross resonance drive pulse from the first phase to the second phase while maintaining the intensity of the cross resonance drive pulse during the second period, irradiates the cross resonance drive pulse of the second phase during the third period and irradiates an echo pulse during the second period.
Conclusion
/JAYLUN A JACKSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112