Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2025 and 1/29/2026 have been considered and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “communication module” in claim 1. Support for the claim limitation can be found in the specification in Para. [0149], where the structure of the communication module is disclosed as a component connected by a bus, and disclosed within the same grouping as a camera, LiDAR sensors, controller, and GPS positioning device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mitsuhata et al. (US 2024/0168495; hereinafter Mitsuhata).
Regarding Claim 1:
Mitsuhata discloses a management apparatus for communicating with an agricultural machine to be operated in a driving mode including self-driving and non-self-driving, the management apparatus comprising: a processor configured or programmed to create a self-driving plan for the agricultural machine (Mitsuhata, Para. [0035], Mitsuhata discloses a mobile terminal, with a processor, configured to create the travel pattern for the autonomous combine harvester);
a communication module configured or programmed to transmit the self-driving plan to the agricultural machine and receive actual performance data of the agricultural machine collected by the agricultural machine (Mitsuhata, Para. [0033], Mitsuhata discloses a mobile terminal configured to communicate the travel pattern with the autonomous combine harvester and receives performance information of the combine harvester, such as positioning information as the harvester progresses along the travel route); and
a storage configured to store the received actual performance data (Mitsuhata, Para. [0039-0040], Mitsuhata discloses storing of the collected farm information as well as storing of the autonomous driving route as performed by the autonomous combine harvester); wherein
the actual performance data includes data collected by the agricultural machine during the non-self-driving performed by an intervention occurring in the self-driving performed in accordance with the self-driving plan (Mitsuhata, Para. [0045], Mitsuhata discloses the created navigational route is stored along with the state of the cancelling or not cancelling of the autonomous travel allowance switch).
Regarding Claim 2:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 1.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the actual performance data further includes data collected by the agricultural machine during self-driving after a change made in response to a change request issued in the self-driving performed in accordance with the self-driving plan (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal or base station continuously receives the positioning data of the autonomous harvester, updates the travel pattern, and corrects the harvester based on the received position data).
Regarding Claim 3:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 1.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the non-self-driving includes at least one of manual driving during which a human directly operates the agricultural machine or remote driving during which the human operates the agricultural machine using an operating terminal from a remote location (Mitsuhata, Para. [0033], Mitsuhata discloses the agricultural machine may be operated remotely from a base station or mobile terminal).
Regarding Claim 4:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 3.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the storage includes a database in which the actual performance data is accumulated in such a way that the actual performance data is identifiable whether the actual performance data is collected during a period of the self-driving performed in accordance with the self-driving plan, during a period of the manual driving, during a period of the remote driving, or during a period of the self-driving after the change (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], [0033], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal or base station continuously receives the positioning data of the autonomous harvester including the work settings for the agricultural machine, which include the current mode of the agricultural machine, such as autonomous travel mode or manual travel mode, Para. [0040-0043]).
Regarding Claim 5:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 3.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the intervention for the manual driving occurs based on a condition involving detection of direct operation by the human (Mitsuhata, Para. [0043], Mitsuhata discloses direct movement of the steering wheel by the human operator which switch the mode from autonomous to manual travel mode).
Regarding Claim 6:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 5.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the intervention for the manual driving is released based on a condition involving non-detection of the direct operation for a predetermined time, a state capable of the self-driving, and a stop of operation of the agricultural machine (Mitsuhata, Para. [0049], Mitsuhata further discloses an autonomous travel allowance switch in which the operator may press or cancel, given the duration of the pressing of the switch in order to change between autonomous and manual travel mode, including an immediate stop operation, see also Para. [0046]).
Regarding Claim 7:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 3.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein an intervention for the remote driving occurs based on a condition involving reception of a remote driving start request, stabilization of a communication state, and a stop of operation of the agricultural machine (Mitsuhata, Para. [0049], Mitsuhata further discloses an autonomous travel allowance switch in which the operator may press or cancel, given the duration of the pressing of the switch in order to change between autonomous and manual travel mode).
Regarding Claim 8:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 7.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the intervention for the remote driving is released based on a condition involving reception of a remote driving end request, a state capable of the self-driving, and the stop of the operation of the agricultural machine (Mitsuhata, Para. [0049], Mitsuhata further discloses an autonomous travel allowance switch in which the operator may press or cancel, given the duration of the pressing of the switch in order to change between autonomous and manual travel mode, including an immediate stop operation, see also Para. [0046]).
Regarding Claim 9:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 1.
Mitsuhata further discloses the storage further stores planning data to create the self-driving plan (Mitsuhata, Para. [0031], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal having storage to store the created travel pattern); and
the processor, when updating the planning data after the intervention occurs or the change request is issued, is configured or programmed to use the updated planning data in creating the self-driving plan subsequently (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal or base station, configured with a processor, continuously receives the positioning data of the autonomous harvester, updates the travel pattern, and corrects the harvester based on the received position data).
Regarding Claim 10:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 9.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the planning data includes: static data that does not change even when the driving mode changes (Mitsuhata, Para. [0031], Mitsuhata discloses the stored information for travel pattern creation includes farm field information, such as field size, shape, position, and the like); and
dynamic data that is changeable when the driving mode changes (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal or base station continuously receives the positioning data of the autonomous harvester); wherein
the processor is configured or programmed to designate the dynamic data as a target of update when the intervention occurs or when the change request is issued (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], Mitsuhata updates the travel pattern and corrects the harvester based on the received position data).
Regarding Claim 11:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 10.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the static data includes at least one of facility data of a farm, a utilization plan of the farm, or agricultural machine information of the farm (Mitsuhata, Para. [0031], Mitsuhata discloses the stored information for travel pattern creation includes farm field information, such as field size, shape, position).
Regarding Claim 12:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 10.
Mitsuhata further discloses wherein the dynamic data includes at least one of data indicating a current status of the agricultural machine or data indicating a progress status of a task included in the self-driving plan (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal or base station continuously receives the positioning data of the autonomous harvester (i.e. progress along the travel pattern)).
Regarding Claim 13:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 14:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 15:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 14.
Mitsuhata further discloses the driving mode further includes remote driving (Mitsuhata, Para. [0033], Mitsuhata discloses the agricultural machine may be operated remotely); and the management system further comprises: a remote terminal configured or programmed to communicate with the agricultural machine and cause the agricultural machine to perform the remote driving (Mitsuhata, Para. [0033], Mitsuhata discloses the agricultural machine may be operated remotely from a base station or mobile terminal);
the agricultural machine is configured or programmed to transmit, when an intervention for the remote driving occurs in the self-driving performed in accordance with the self-driving plan, actual performance data of the agricultural machine collected during the remote driving, to the management apparatus (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal or base station continuously receives the positioning data of the autonomous harvester, updates the travel pattern, and corrects the harvester based on the received position data); and
the management apparatus is configured or programmed to cause the storage of the management apparatus to store the received actual performance data during the remote driving (Mitsuhata, Para. [0039-0045], Mitsuhata discloses the created navigational route is stored along with the transmitted position information of the agricultural machine).
Regarding Claim 16:
Mitsuhata discloses the management apparatus according to claim 14.
Mitsuhata further discloses the remote terminal is configured or programmed to transmit, to the agricultural machine, a change request to change the self-driving (Mitsuhata, Para. [0033], Mitsuhata discloses the agricultural machine may be operated remotely from a base station or mobile terminal, including a request for manual travel mode);
the agricultural machine is configured or programmed to transmit, to the management apparatus, actual performance data of the agricultural machine collected during self-driving after a change made in response to the change request received in the self-driving performed in accordance with the self-driving plan (Mitsuhata, Para. [0030], Mitsuhata discloses the mobile terminal or base station continuously receives the positioning data of the autonomous harvester, updates the travel pattern, and corrects the harvester based on the received position data); and
the management apparatus is configured or programmed to cause the storage of the management apparatus to store the received actual performance data during the self-driving after the change (Mitsuhata, Para. [0039-0045], Mitsuhata discloses the created navigational route is stored along with the transmitted position information of the agricultural machine).
Conclusion
/Z.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656