DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papamarcos (US 2023/0305692), hereinafter referred to as “Papa”, in view of Jeong (US 2016/0062552)
Regarding claim 1, Papa discloses a method comprising:
Obtaining and operation attribute of a cast operation of a window in a firs display screen (para. 38; wherein the attribute is moving a set amount of pixels), the operation attribute including a movement of the cast operation (para. 38);
determining whether the cast operation of the window in the first display screen satisfies a preset condition based on the operation attribute (para. 35, 38, 31);
in response to determing that the cast operation (see fig. 3 and para. 30; wherein the window is dragged) of the window (108B in fig. 3) in a first display screen (100, fig. 3) satisfies the preset condition (para. 35, 38; wherein dragging the window into the second invocation region 123 is e.g. the preset condition), determining a second display screen based on the cast operation (para. 41, 47; wherein once the layout menu 124 is displayed, each snap zone 128 corresponds to a separate display), the second display screen being different from the first display screen (para. 47, 44), and the window being displayed within the first display screen in response to the cast operation (see movement of window in fig. 2-5; wherein window is dragged within the first display); and
casting the window from the first display screen to the second display screen (para. 56-57, 47; wherein once the window is dropped on a particular snap zone in the layout menu, the window is then resized to occupy that snap zone of the second display) and displaying the window on the second display screen (para. 56-57, 47), the window being not displayed on the first display screen after the window is cast and displayed on the second display screen (para. 56-57, 47; wherein the window leaves the first display to move to the snap zone of a second display).
Papa fails to disclose wherein the movement of the operation attribute includes a movement speed threshold.
Jeong discloses wherein the operation attribute includes a movement speed (para. 55; wherein movement speed and movement distance thresholds are taken into consideration in determining whether a particular user input has taken place) of the cast operation (para. 55; regarding window output control).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Jeong in the device of Papa. The motivation for doing so would have been to require the user to surpass a movement speed threshold to determine user input for window control (Jeong; para. 55). Further wherein input thresholds are used to avoid input false positives (Jeong; para. 55).
Regarding claim 2, Papa discloses wherein the cast operation includes moving the window using a finger of a user or a mouse (para. 30).
Regarding claim 3, Papa discloses further comprising:
the operation attribute including a movement distance (para. 38) or a movement direction of the cast operation (para. 35).
Regarding claim 4, Papa discloses further comprising: calculating the movement distance or the movement direction based on start coordinates and stop coordinates of the cast operation (para. 35, 38) within a predetermined time period (para. 40-41).
Regarding claim 5, Papa discloses wherein determining whether the cast operation of the window in the first display screen satisfies the preset condition based on the operation attribute includes:
in response to the movement distance being less than a preset distance, determining that the cast operation of the window in the first display screen does not satisfy the preset condition (see para. 38, 35; wherein the dragging of the window must meet a distance threshold to trigger the layout menu, when the threshold is not met the layout menu is not displayed); and
in response to the movement distance being greater than or equal to the preset distance, determining that the cast operation of the window in the first display screen satisfies the preset condition (see para. 38, 35; wherein the dragging of the window must meet a distance threshold to trigger the layout menu, when the threshold is met the layout menu is displayed).
Regarding claim 6, Pap discloses wherein in response to the cast operation of the window in the first display screen satisfying the preset condition, determining the second display screen based on the operation includes:
in response to the cast operation of the window in the first display screen satisfying the preset condition, determining the second display screen based on the movement direction including:
in response to the movement direction being towards left or right, determining a display screen on a left side or a right of the first display screen as the second display screen based on the movement direction (para. 47, 44-45; wherein each snap zone has a one to one correspondence with each separate display, such that a second display can be positioned to the left or right of the first display); and
in response to the movement direction being towards up or down, determining a display screen on an upper side or a lower side of the first display screen as the second display screen based on the movement direction (para. 47, 44-45; wherein each snap zone has a one to one correspondence with each separate display, such that a second display can be positioned to the upper or lower side of the first display);.
Regarding claim 7, Papa discloses wherein in response to the cast operation of the window in the first display screen satisfying the preset condition, determining the second display screen based on the cast operation includes:
in response to the cast operation of the window in the first display screen satisfying the preset condition, determining the second display screen based on a movement trajectory of the cast operation (para. 47, 44, 56-57; wherein the second display screen corresponds to a second snap zone in the layout menu).
Regarding claim 8, Papa discloses wherein in response to the operation of the window in the first display screen satisfying the preset condition, determining the second display screen based on the movement trajectory of the operation includes:
in response to the movement trajectory of the cast operation satisfying a first condition (para. 41; the first condition is being dragged in to the second invocation region for the set delay period to trigger the layout menu), determining a display screen that is adjacent to the first display screen as the second display screen (para. 41, 44, 47; wherein the layout menu displays the snap zones at a one to one correspondence to the display screens and displaying e.g. the first display screen adjacent to the second display screen); and
in response to the movement trajectory of the cast operation satisfying a second condition (para. 41; the second condition is being dragged onto the second layout availability indicator to trigger the layout menu), determining a display screen that is not adjacent to the first display screen as the second display screen. (para. 41, 44, 47; wherein the layout menu displays the snap zones at a one to one correspondence to the display screens and displaying e.g. the first display screen is not adjacent to the second display screen).
Regarding claim 9, Papa discloses wherein in response to the operation of the window in the first display screen satisfying the preset condition, determining the second display screen based on the movement trajectory of the operation further includes:
in response to a parameter of the movement trajectory of the cast operation being less than a preset value (para. 41; the preset value being the distance required to touch second layout availability indicator), determining that the movement trajectory of the cast operation satisfies the first condition (para. 41; the first condition is being dragged in to the second invocation region); and
in response to the parameter of the movement trajectory of the cast operation being equal to or greater than the present value (para. 41; the preset value being the distance required to touch second layout availability indicator), determining that the movement trajectory of the cast operation satisfies the second condition (para. 41, 44, 47; wherein the layout menu is triggered/displayed).
Regarding claim 10, Papa discloses wherein casting the window from the first display screen to the second display screen includes:
displaying a display layout of the second display screen based on the operation of the window in the first display screen (para. 47, 56-57);
determining a display parameter of the window in the second display screen based on the display layout of the second display screen (para. 48); and
casting the first window to the second display screen and displaying the window on the second display screen according to the display parameter of the window in the second display screen (para. 47-48, 56-57; wherein the window of the first display is adjusted to the dimensions of the second display).
Regarding claim 11, Papa discloses further comprising:
displaying a display layout of the first display screen based on the cast operation of the window in the first display screen (para. 56-57); and
determining a display parameter of the window in the first display screen based on the display layout of the first display screen (para. 48-49) and displaying the first window using the display parameter of the first window in the first display screen (para. 56-57, 47; wherein e.g. the selected snap zone is the snap zone corresponding to the first display screen).
Claims 12-19 are rejected for the same reasons stated for claims 1-8, respectively. See above rejections.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons stated for claim 1. See above rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See new citations above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628