Drawings
The drawings were received on June 23rd 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed on July 16th 2025.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 23rd 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on June 23rd 2025;
Claims 1-16 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (Patent no. KR20240032254A) in view of Jung el al (Patent No. US20230270505A1).
Regarding claim 1 Choi teaches, wherein the voltage value comprises at least one of an average voltage value of the plurality of cells or a minimum voltage value of the plurality of cells; (See Choi paragraph 0027; “Data for evaluating the durability performance of the fuel cell stack may include the current value of the fuel cell stack, the voltage value of the fuel cell stack, and the time at which these current and voltage values were collected.”) ; determine at least one parameter of the fuel cell stack by applying the measured current value and the measured voltage value to a current-voltage characteristic model; (See Choi paragraph 0043-0044; “the processor 20 calculates parameters using the representative voltage value of each current section. The processor 20 may estimate the parameters by applying the voltage representative value to the bi-exponential model, but the model for parameter estimation is not particularly limited.”); determine, based on applying the at least one parameter to the current-voltage characteristic model and based on an available voltage value of the fuel cell stack, an available power output of the fuel cell stack; (See Choi paragraph 0013 and 0029; “The present invention is characterized by further comprising an output unit that outputs the current-voltage curve prediction line… The processor 20 groups the current and voltage values collected by the data collection unit 10 by preset analysis cycles and estimates parameters for each preset current section using the grouped current and voltage values, Based on the estimated parameters, a current-voltage curve (I-V curve) prediction line is generated and output through the output unit 30.”); and control, based on the available power output of the fuel cell stack, an operation of the fuel stack; (See Jung paragraph 0083; “…an apparatus for controlling an operation of a fuel cell system…”).
Choi does not explicitly teach but Jung teaches, Jung teaches an apparatus; (See Jung at least abstract; “…an apparatus for controlling an operation of a fuel cell system”); comprising a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction that is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the apparatus to; (See Jung paragraph 0040; “…a hardware device that includes a memory and a processor and is specifically programmed to execute the processes described herein. The memory is configured to store the modules and the processor is specifically configured to execute said modules to perform one or more processes which are described further below.”); measure, in real-time during an operation of a fuel cell stack comprising a plurality of cells, a current value and a voltage value associated with the fuel cell stack; (See Jung paragraph 0017; “…an apparatus for controlling an operation of a fuel cell system, the apparatus including a voltage sensor configured to measure an output voltage of a fuel cell stack…”).
Choi and Jung are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability with Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Jung apparatus to Choi durability estimation method which will allow to track the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Choi further teaches, wherein the available voltage value comprises one of: based on the available power output being determined using the average voltage value, a first available voltage value that is applied to the current-voltage characteristic model; or based on the available power output being determined using the minimum voltage value, a second available voltage value that is applied to the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Choi paragraph 0016-0018; “The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the median value between the maximum voltage value and the minimum voltage value within the current section. The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the average value of all voltage values within the current section. The present invention is characterized in that the output unit further includes the step of outputting the current-voltage curve prediction line.”).
Regarding claim 3 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 2, to cause the apparatus to determine the available power output of the fuel cell stack by: based on the at least one parameter being determined based on the average voltage value; (See Choi paragraph 0027; “Data for evaluating the durability performance of the fuel cell stack may include the current value of the fuel cell stack, the voltage value of the fuel cell stack, and the time at which these current and voltage values were collected.”); determining a first available current value of the fuel cell stack by applying the first available voltage value to the current-voltage characteristic model; or based on the at least one parameter being determined based on the minimum voltage value, determining a second available current value of the fuel cell stack by applying the second available voltage value to the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Choi paragraph 0015-0018; “In the step of estimating the parameter for each current section of the present invention, the processor estimates the parameter by calculating a representative voltage value for each current section. The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the median value between the maximum voltage value and the minimum voltage value within the current section. The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the average value of all voltage values within the current section. The present invention is characterized in that the output unit further includes the step of outputting the current-voltage curve prediction line.”).
Choi does not explicitly teach but Jung teaches, wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory; (See Jung paragraph 0040; “…a hardware device that includes a memory and a processor and is specifically programmed to execute the processes described herein. The memory is configured to store the modules and the processor is specifically configured to execute said modules to perform one or more processes which are described further below.”).
Choi and Jung are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability with Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Jung apparatus to Choi durability estimation method which will allow to track the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 16 Choi teaches, a current value and a voltage value associated with the fuel cell stack, wherein the voltage value comprises at least one of an average voltage value of the plurality of cells or a minimum voltage value of the plurality of cells; (See Choi paragraph 0027; “Data for evaluating the durability performance of the fuel cell stack may include the current value of the fuel cell stack, the voltage value of the fuel cell stack, and the time at which these current and voltage values were collected.”); determine at least one parameter of the fuel cell stack by applying the measured current value and the measured voltage value to a current-voltage characteristic model; (See Choi paragraph 0043-0044; “the processor 20 calculates parameters using the representative voltage value of each current section. The processor 20 may estimate the parameters by applying the voltage representative value to the bi-exponential model, but the model for parameter estimation is not particularly limited.”); determine, based on applying the at least one parameter to the current-voltage characteristic model and based on an available voltage value of the fuel cell stack an available power output of the fuel cell stack; (See Choi paragraph 0013 and 0029; “The present invention is characterized by further comprising an output unit that outputs the current-voltage curve prediction line… The processor 20 groups the current and voltage values collected by the data collection unit 10 by preset analysis cycles and estimates parameters for each preset current section using the grouped current and voltage values, Based on the estimated parameters, a current-voltage curve (I-V curve) prediction line is generated and output through the output unit 30.”).
Choi does not explicitly teach but Jung teaches a vehicle comprising: at least one sensor comprising a voltage sensor; (See Jung paragraph 0038 and 0058; “As referred to herein, a hybrid vehicle is a vehicle that has two or more sources of power, for example both gasoline-powered and electric-powered vehicles…The voltage sensor 20…”); a fuel cell stack comprising a plurality of cells; (See Jung paragraph 0003; “…a fuel cell vehicle includes a fuel cell stack in which a plurality of fuel cells…”); a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction that is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to cause the vehicle to; (See Jung paragraph 0040; “…a hardware device that includes a memory and a processor and is specifically programmed to execute the processes described herein. The memory is configured to store the modules and the processor is specifically configured to execute said modules to perform one or more processes which are described further below.”); measure, during an operation of the fuel cell stack; (See Jung paragraph 0017; “…an apparatus for controlling an operation of a fuel cell system, the apparatus including a voltage sensor configured to measure an output voltage of a fuel cell stack…”);
and control, based on the available power output of the fuel cell stack, an operation of the fuel cell stack; (See Jung paragraph 0083; “…an apparatus for controlling an operation of a fuel cell system…”).
Choi and Jung are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability with Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Jung apparatus to Choi durability estimation method which will allow to track the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (Patent no. KR20240032254A) in view of Jung el al (Patent No. US20230270505A1) and Lee (Patent No. US11677085B2).
Regarding claim 4 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 3, Choi further teaches, wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory; (See Choi paragraph 0013 and 0029; “The present invention is characterized by further comprising an output unit that outputs the current-voltage curve prediction line… The processor 20 groups the current and voltage values collected by the data collection unit 10 by preset analysis cycles and estimates parameters for each preset current section using the grouped current and voltage values, Based on the estimated parameters, a current-voltage curve (I-V curve) prediction line is generated and output through the output unit 30.”).
Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, to cause the apparatus to determine the available power output of the fuel cell stack by using a lesser value of the first available current value and the second available current value; (See Lee column 8, line 3-11; “In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, an electric power produced by the fuel cell stack 200 may vary based on an amount of current required by the power load 300. When performance of the cell 100 or the stack 200 is evaluated to determine a characteristic of the cell or the stack, the charge step method may be performed as a method of measuring the voltage loss and the resistance and may use current and voltage variations of the cell or the stack…”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of an activation loss parameter or an ohmic loss parameter; (See Lee column 1, line 39-44; “FIG. 1 is a graph showing a typical voltage loss according to the related art. Referring to FIG. 1, a horizontal axis of the graph represents current density (mA/cm.sup.2), a vertical axis of the graph represents the cell voltage, and a total voltage loss of the fuel cell under operation is composed of various components.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 5, Choi further teaches, wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory; (See Choi paragraph 0013 and 0029; “The present invention is characterized by further comprising an output unit that outputs the current-voltage curve prediction line… The processor 20 groups the current and voltage values collected by the data collection unit 10 by preset analysis cycles and estimates parameters for each preset current section using the grouped current and voltage values, Based on the estimated parameters, a current-voltage curve (I-V curve) prediction line is generated and output through the output unit 30.”).
Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, to further cause the apparatus to: determine the activation loss parameter by applying a first current value and a first voltage value that are measured in a low current section of the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Lee column 8, line 3-11; “In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, an electric power produced by the fuel cell stack 200 may vary based on an amount of current required by the power load 300. When performance of the cell 100 or the stack 200 is evaluated to determine a characteristic of the cell or the stack, the charge step method may be performed as a method of measuring the voltage loss and the resistance and may use current and voltage variations of the cell or the stack…”); and determine the ohmic loss parameter by applying a second current value and a second voltage value that are measured in a normal current section of the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Lee column 1, line 39-44; “FIG. 1 is a graph showing a typical voltage loss according to the related art. Referring to FIG. 1, a horizontal axis of the graph represents current density (mA/cm.sup.2), a vertical axis of the graph represents the cell voltage, and a total voltage loss of the fuel cell under operation is composed of various components.”); wherein a first minimum current value of the low current section is less than a second minimum current value of the normal current section; (See Lee column 8-9, line 62-25; “As shown in FIG. 4, the voltage of the fuel cell 100 or the stack 200 may sharply increase at a time point to when the switch 400 is opened. This sudden voltage change may mean that the voltage loss caused by the ohmic resistance is linearly recovered when the current is removed. When the voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance is fully recovered, the voltage losses due to the activation and mass transfer resistances may be sequentially recovered and may appear to be in a nonlinear form.
FIG. 5 is a graph showing a voltage over time t in the fuel cell system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. In particular, FIG. 5 shows a voltage-time curve obtained by extending or enlarging the voltage-time curve of FIG. 4 to several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. When the current is instantaneously cut off by the charge step method, the voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be restored to linearly restore the voltage for a very short period of time. The voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be usually recovered within several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with time may be created using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.ohnmic=(V.sub.A−V.sub.0) due to the ohmic resistance may be obtained using a point A at which the trend line meets the voltage-time curve.
FIG. 5 shows a nonlinear voltage recovery curve after t.sub.2 showing the recovery of the voltage loss caused by the activation and mass transfer resistances. The following equation {1} may determine a relationship of a recovery of the activation resistance voltage loss (ΔVact) according to an oxidation-reduction reaction by electrons and the time.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 7 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 6, Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein an equation for determining the activation loss parameter uses a predetermined ohmic loss parameter as a variable, and wherein an equation for determining the ohmic loss parameter uses a predetermined activation loss parameter as a variable; (See Lee column 9, line 45-61; “A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with the square root time may be generated using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.mt=(V.sub.OCV−V.sub.B) due to the mass transfer resistance may be obtained using a point B where the trend line meets the voltage-square root time curve. As expressed by the following equation {3}, the voltage loss V.sub.act may be obtained using a relationship of a total voltage loss −V and −V.sub.ohmic and −Vmt. The total voltage loss −V may be obtained from a difference between the open circuit voltage V.sub.OCV of the fuel cell and the steady state load operation voltage V.sub.0.
ΔV.sub.act=ΔV−(ΔV.sub.ohmic+ΔV.sub.mt)
The ohmic resistance, the mass transfer resistance, and the activation resistance may be obtained by dividing each voltage loss value obtained by the above method by the operation current I.sub.0.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 8 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein the current-voltage characteristic model comprises an equation: V=V=-Bx In(I)-RxI where V represents the voltage value, V, represents a constant, B represents an activation loss parameter, I represents the current value, and R represents an ohmic loss parameter; (See Lee column 9, line 45-61; “A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with the square root time may be generated using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.mt=(V.sub.OCV−V.sub.B) due to the mass transfer resistance may be obtained using a point B where the trend line meets the voltage-square root time curve. As expressed by the following equation {3}, the voltage loss V.sub.act may be obtained using a relationship of a total voltage loss −V and −V.sub.ohmic and −Vmt. The total voltage loss −V may be obtained from a difference between the open circuit voltage V.sub.OCV of the fuel cell and the steady state load operation voltage V.sub.0.
ΔV.sub.act=ΔV−(ΔV.sub.ohmic+ΔV.sub.mt)
The ohmic resistance, the mass transfer resistance, and the activation resistance may be obtained by dividing each voltage loss value obtained by the above method by the operation current I.sub.0.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 9 Choi in view of Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 8, Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein the at least one instruction is configured, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, to further cause the apparatus to: based on the activation loss parameter, the ohmic loss parameter, and a plurality of historical current values, perform linearization of the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Lee column 9, line 4-19; “FIG. 5 is a graph showing a voltage over time t in the fuel cell system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. In particular, FIG. 5 shows a voltage-time curve obtained by extending or enlarging the voltage-time curve of FIG. 4 to several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. When the current is instantaneously cut off by the charge step method, the voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be restored to linearly restore the voltage for a very short period of time. The voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be usually recovered within several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with time may be created using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.ohnmic=(V.sub.A−V.sub.0) due to the ohmic resistance may be obtained using a point A at which the trend line meets the voltage-time curve.”); and determine an available current value by determining a maximum value among a plurality of preliminary current values, wherein the plurality of preliminary current values are determined by applying the available voltage value to the linearized current-voltage characteristic model; (See Lee column 8, line 39-51; “Thus, the exemplary embodiment of the present invention may suppress deformation and deterioration of the cell 100 or the stack 200 due to a thermal shock during measurement of a characteristic of the fuel cell, and according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, it is not necessary to stop or restart an operation of the fuel cell during measurement of the characteristic of the fuel cell.
FIG. 4 is a graph showing in detail the relationship of the current and the voltage according to time t in the fuel cell system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 4 shows a voltage-time curve obtained by extending a period between t.sub.0 and t.sub.1 in FIG. 3 to several milliseconds.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10 Choi teaches, an average voltage value of a plurality of cells of the fuel cell stack and a minimum voltage value of at least two of the plurality of cells; (See Choi paragraph 0016-0017; “The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the median value between the maximum voltage value and the minimum voltage value within the current section.
The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the average value of all voltage values within the current section.”);
determining a second parameter of the fuel cell stack by applying the measured minimum voltage value to the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Choi paragraph 0043-0044; “the processor 20 calculates parameters using the representative voltage value of each current section. The processor 20 may estimate the parameters by applying the voltage representative value to the bi-exponential model, but the model for parameter estimation is not particularly limited.”);
identifying, based on at least one of the first parameter or the second parameter and based on the current-voltage characteristic model, an available power output of the fuel cell stack; (See Choi paragraph 0013 and 0029; “The present invention is characterized by further comprising an output unit that outputs the current-voltage curve prediction line… The processor 20 groups the current and voltage values collected by the data collection unit 10 by preset analysis cycles and estimates parameters for each preset current section using the grouped current and voltage values, Based on the estimated parameters, a current-voltage curve (I-V curve) prediction line is generated and output through the output unit 30.”).
Choi does not explicitly teach but Jung teaches, a method performed by an apparatus associated with a fuel cell stack, the method comprising; (See Jung at least abstract; “…an apparatus for controlling an operation of a fuel cell system and a method therefor…”); measuring, via a voltage sensor and during an operation of the fuel cell stack; (See Jung paragraph 0017; “…the apparatus including a voltage sensor configured to measure an output voltage of a fuel cell stack…”);
and controlling, based on the available power output of the fuel cell stack, an operation of the fuel cell stack; (See Jung paragraph 0083; “…an apparatus for controlling an operation of a fuel cell system…”).
Choi and Jung are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability with Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Jung apparatus to Choi durability estimation method which will allow to track the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, determining a first parameter of the fuel cell stack by applying the measured average voltage value to a current-voltage characteristic model of the fuel cell stack; (See Lee column 8, line 3-11; “In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, an electric power produced by the fuel cell stack 200 may vary based on an amount of current required by the power load 300. When performance of the cell 100 or the stack 200 is evaluated to determine a characteristic of the cell or the stack, the charge step method may be performed as a method of measuring the voltage loss and the resistance and may use current and voltage variations of the cell or the stack…”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11 Choi in view of Jung and Lee teaches the method of claim 10, Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein the first parameter and the second parameter include an activation loss parameter, and an ohmic loss parameter, respectively; (See Lee column 9, line 45-61; “A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with the square root time may be generated using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.mt=(V.sub.OCV−V.sub.B) due to the mass transfer resistance may be obtained using a point B where the trend line meets the voltage-square root time curve. As expressed by the following equation {3}, the voltage loss V.sub.act may be obtained using a relationship of a total voltage loss −V and −V.sub.ohmic and −Vmt. The total voltage loss −V may be obtained from a difference between the open circuit voltage V.sub.OCV of the fuel cell and the steady state load operation voltage V.sub.0.
ΔV.sub.act=ΔV−(ΔV.sub.ohmic+ΔV.sub.mt)
The ohmic resistance, the mass transfer resistance, and the activation resistance may be obtained by dividing each voltage loss value obtained by the above method by the operation current I.sub.0.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12 Choi in view of Jung and Lee teaches the method of claim 11, Choi further teaches, a first average voltage value and a first minimum voltage value that are measured in a low current section of the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Choi paragraph 0016-0017; “The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the median value between the maximum voltage value and the minimum voltage value within the current section.
The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the average value of all voltage values within the current section.”).
Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein the determining of the first parameter and the second parameter comprises: determining the activation loss parameter by applying, to the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Lee column 9, line 45-61; “A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with the square root time may be generated using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.mt=(V.sub.OCV−V.sub.B) due to the mass transfer resistance may be obtained using a point B where the trend line meets the voltage-square root time curve. As expressed by the following equation {3}, the voltage loss V.sub.act may be obtained using a relationship of a total voltage loss −V and −V.sub.ohmic and −Vmt. The total voltage loss −V may be obtained from a difference between the open circuit voltage V.sub.OCV of the fuel cell and the steady state load operation voltage V.sub.0.
ΔV.sub.act=ΔV−(ΔV.sub.ohmic+ΔV.sub.mt)
The ohmic resistance, the mass transfer resistance, and the activation resistance may be obtained by dividing each voltage loss value obtained by the above method by the operation current I.sub.0.”); and determining the ohmic loss parameter by applying, to the current-voltage characteristic model; (See Lee column 1, line 39-44; “FIG. 1 is a graph showing a typical voltage loss according to the related art. Referring to FIG. 1, a horizontal axis of the graph represents current density (mA/cm.sup.2), a vertical axis of the graph represents the cell voltage, and a total voltage loss of the fuel cell under operation is composed of various components.”); a second average voltage value and a second minimum voltage value that are measured in a normal current section of the current-voltage characteristic model, wherein a first minimum current value of the low current section is less than a second minimum current value of the normal current section; (See Lee column 8-9, line 62-25; “As shown in FIG. 4, the voltage of the fuel cell 100 or the stack 200 may sharply increase at a time point to when the switch 400 is opened. This sudden voltage change may mean that the voltage loss caused by the ohmic resistance is linearly recovered when the current is removed. When the voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance is fully recovered, the voltage losses due to the activation and mass transfer resistances may be sequentially recovered and may appear to be in a nonlinear form.
FIG. 5 is a graph showing a voltage over time t in the fuel cell system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. In particular, FIG. 5 shows a voltage-time curve obtained by extending or enlarging the voltage-time curve of FIG. 4 to several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. When the current is instantaneously cut off by the charge step method, the voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be restored to linearly restore the voltage for a very short period of time. The voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be usually recovered within several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with time may be created using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.ohnmic=(V.sub.A−V.sub.0) due to the ohmic resistance may be obtained using a point A at which the trend line meets the voltage-time curve.
FIG. 5 shows a nonlinear voltage recovery curve after t.sub.2 showing the recovery of the voltage loss caused by the activation and mass transfer resistances. The following equation {1} may determine a relationship of a recovery of the activation resistance voltage loss (ΔVact) according to an oxidation-reduction reaction by electrons and the time.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13 Choi in view of Jung and Lee teaches the method of claim 10, Choi further teaches, wherein the determining of the available power output of the fuel cell stack comprises: determining a first available current value of the fuel cell stack based on: the current-voltage characteristic model, to which the first parameter is applied, and a first available voltage value; (See Choi paragraph 0015-0018; “In the step of estimating the parameter for each current section of the present invention, the processor estimates the parameter by calculating a representative voltage value for each current section. The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the median value between the maximum voltage value and the minimum voltage value within the current section. The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the average value of all voltage values within the current section. The present invention is characterized in that the output unit further includes the step of outputting the current-voltage curve prediction line.”); and determining a second available current value of the fuel cell stack based on: the current-voltage characteristic model, to which the second parameter is applied, and a second available voltage value; (See Choi paragraph 0015-0018; “In the step of estimating the parameter for each current section of the present invention, the processor estimates the parameter by calculating a representative voltage value for each current section. The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the median value between the maximum voltage value and the minimum voltage value within the current section. The representative voltage value of the present invention is characterized in that it is the average value of all voltage values within the current section. The present invention is characterized in that the output unit further includes the step of outputting the current-voltage curve prediction line.”).
Regarding claim 14 Choi in view of Jung and Lee teaches the method of claim 13, Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein the determining of the available power output of the fuel cell stack further comprises: determining the available power output of the fuel cell stack by using a lesser value of the first available current value and the second available current value; (See Lee column 8, line 3-11; “In an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, an electric power produced by the fuel cell stack 200 may vary based on an amount of current required by the power load 300. When performance of the cell 100 or the stack 200 is evaluated to determine a characteristic of the cell or the stack, the charge step method may be performed as a method of measuring the voltage loss and the resistance and may use current and voltage variations of the cell or the stack…”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 15 Choi in view of Jung and Lee teaches the method of claim 13, Choi does not explicitly teach but Lee teaches, wherein the determining of the available power output of the fuel cell stack further comprises: performing, based on a plurality of historical current values, linearization of the current- voltage characteristic model; determining a plurality of first preliminary current values by applying the first available voltage value to the linearized current-voltage characteristic model; determining a plurality of second preliminary current values by applying the second available voltage value to the linearized current-voltage characteristic model; (See Lee column 9, line 4-19; “FIG. 5 is a graph showing a voltage over time t in the fuel cell system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. In particular, FIG. 5 shows a voltage-time curve obtained by extending or enlarging the voltage-time curve of FIG. 4 to several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. When the current is instantaneously cut off by the charge step method, the voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be restored to linearly restore the voltage for a very short period of time. The voltage loss due to the ohmic resistance may be usually recovered within several tens to several hundreds of microseconds. A trend line for an interval where the voltage linearly varies with time may be created using linear regression analysis. The voltage loss −V.sub.ohnmic=(V.sub.A−V.sub.0) due to the ohmic resistance may be obtained using a point A at which the trend line meets the voltage-time curve.”);
determining the first available current value by determining a first maximum value among the plurality of first preliminary current values; and determining the second available current value by determining a second maximum value among the plurality of the second preliminary current values; (See Lee column 8, line 39-51; “Thus, the exemplary embodiment of the present invention may suppress deformation and deterioration of the cell 100 or the stack 200 due to a thermal shock during measurement of a characteristic of the fuel cell, and according to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, it is not necessary to stop or restart an operation of the fuel cell during measurement of the characteristic of the fuel cell.
FIG. 4 is a graph showing in detail the relationship of the current and the voltage according to time t in the fuel cell system according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 4 shows a voltage-time curve obtained by extending a period between t.sub.0 and t.sub.1 in FIG. 3 to several milliseconds.”).
Choi and Lee are in the same field of fuel cell power management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Choi method for estimating the fuel cell stock durability and Jung apparatus and real-time operation of a fuel cell stock with Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Choi by applying Lee determining the activation loss parameter using the voltage and current data which will provide data for the full cell stock operational level and power output. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/L.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/JESS WHITTINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666c