DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 06/23/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 06/15/2026.
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to JP 2024-108835, filed on 07/05/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1 was amended to include the limitation “the empty inner space opens at the bottom of the functional component to define an inner surface of a peripheral edge of the functional component”. However, this limitation is taught by Glance. Glance teaches {Fig. 13} an outer wall {83 (side walls of chamber 48)} and an opposed wall {47 (upper wall of chamber 48)} defining an empty inner space {48}, wherein the empty inner space {48} opens at the bottom of the functional component {45} to define an inner surface of a peripheral edge {bottom edge of 45 in contact with 46} of the functional component {45}. Applicant argues that the inner space of Glance is closed at the bottom. This is true; however, it is closed at the bottom by another member, not by any portion of the functional component body itself. Furthermore, this is the same as the present application, because the open space is closed by member 34 (see Fig. 4). Therefore, claim 1 remains rejected in view of Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance. Newly added independent claim 11 combines the limitations of the previous claim 1, claim 2 and claim 3. Therefore, claim 11 is also rejected in view of Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (US 2013/0147172) in view of Tsuno (JP 2009/222108), as cited by Applicant, and Glance (US 5,382,051).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose discloses a vehicular interior component {10} covering a vehicular body {11} from a vehicular interior side {“As illustrated in FIG. 1, a door trim 10 (a vehicular door trim, a vehicular interior part) is mounted on a compartment inner side of a door inner panel 11 (see FIG. 5) that configures a vehicular door panel (a vehicular body panel)” [0014]}, the vehicular interior component {10} comprising: an interior component body {12} including a design surface section {30 (Fig. 1): “The trim board 12 includes an upper board 13 and a lower board 30” [0015]} having a plate shape {“board” shape (Figs. 1-2, 5-6)} and configured as a portion of a vehicular interior design surface {left side surface of 30 facing vehicle seat 18 in Fig. 5, and bottom surface of 30 opposite 30A in Fig. 6: “outer side surface 30A” [0017]}, and a stopper projection {31} projecting from the design surface section {30} toward a vehicular exterior side {right side in Fig. 5, and top side in Fig. 6}; and a functional component {50} mounted on a vehicular exterior side {top side (Fig. 6)} of the interior component body {12} and including a mount portion {52 (Figs. 2-4, 6)} including a fitting hole {52A (Figs. 2-4, 6)} in which the stopper projection {31} is fitted {Fig. 6}, wherein the functional component {50} includes a functional component body {51} that includes an opposed wall {51B (Fig. 6)} that is opposite the vehicular body {11}, and an outer wall {51C, 51D, 51E} extending from an outer edge of the opposed wall {51B} toward the interior component body {12: “The pad main body 51 is formed in substantially a triangular prism shape having two surfaces (the compartment inner side surface 51A and the compartment outer side surface 51B) and three surfaces (the upper surface 51C, the side surface 51D, a lower surface 51E) connecting the two surfaces. The pad main body 51 may be formed in any prism shape” [0030]}, the outer wall {51C, 51D, 51E} and the opposed wall {51B} defining an inner space in the functional component body {51}.
However, Hirose does not explicitly disclose the stopper projection includes a weakened portion; or that the outer wall and the opposed wall define an empty inner space in the functional component body, wherein the empty inner space opens at the bottom of the functional component to define an inner surface of a peripheral edge of the functional component (emphasis added).
Tsuno teaches a stopper projection {10} of a door trim {1} including a weakened portion {13 (Figs. 2, 4-5)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicular interior component, as disclosed by Hirose, such that the stopper projection (that is configured to receive a largest load) includes a weakened portion {on the exterior (left) side surface of the stopper projection 31 (Fig. 6)}, as taught by Tsuno, in order to restrict movement between coupled members of the door trim {“The relative movement between the joint members is restricted. Furthermore, the relative movement between the engaging members in the direction orthogonal to the insertion direction of the panel member with respect to the door panel is also restricted by the fitting of the concave portion or the through hole of the door panel with the convex portion of the panel member” [0020]}.
Glance teaches {Fig. 13} an outer wall {83 (side walls of chamber 48)} and an opposed wall {47 (upper wall of chamber 48)} defining an empty inner space {48}, wherein the empty inner space {48} opens at the bottom of the functional component {45} to define an inner surface of a peripheral edge {bottom edge of 45 in contact with 46} of the functional component {45}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the functional component body of the vehicular interior component, as disclosed by Hirose and Tsuno, such that the outer wall and the opposed wall define an empty inner space in the functional component body, wherein the empty inner space opens at the bottom of the functional component to define an inner surface of a peripheral edge of the functional component, as taught by Glance, in order “to provide shock-absorbing energy dissipation to reduce the rebound effect. Buckling convoluted side walls, posts, pockets and webs produce efficient square wave force-deflection energy absorption” {Col. 1, lines 53-56}, because functional component bodies made “of sponge rubber, or some structurally equivalent material, have occasionally been used over some of these hard and rigid surfaces, but space requirements in the vehicle prevent the use of thick enough pads of such material to seriously reduce the risk of injury in an accident. Another problem with cushioning materials is the tendency to retain the energy of impact deformation, and thus cause a rebound effect as the vehicle occupant is thrown back into a secondary impact against some other surface. Ideally, the impact energy should be dissipated somehow, so that the forces generated by the return of the pad to its un-deformed condition are substantially less than those previously causing the deformation” {Col. 1, lines 17-30}.
Regarding claim 2, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hirose further discloses the mount portion {52} extends outward from the outer wall {51C, 51D, 51E} of the functional component body {51}, the stopper projection {31} has a first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite the functional component body {51} and a second surface {left side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite from the first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)}, and the weakened portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 1 rejection)} is a recessed portion {13} that is on the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection {31}.
Regarding claim 3, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 2. Hirose further discloses the stopper projection {31} includes a stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)} that extends from the interior component body {12} and a stopper portion {31A} that projects from the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of a distal end of the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)}, the stopper portion {31A} is stopped by a first hole edge {edge of 52A farthest away from 51} of the fitting hole {52A} that is on an opposite side from the functional component body {51} with respect to the fitting hole {52A}, and the recessed portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 1 rejection)} is between a basal end {bottom end of 31 connected to 12+30 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)} and the stopper portion {31A}.
Regarding claim 4, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 3. Hirose further discloses the stopper projection {31} includes a rib {widened protrusion at the bottom end of 31 that are connected to 12+30 (Fig. 6)} that connects the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)} and a vehicular exterior side surface {30A (Fig. 6)} of the interior component body {12}, and the recessed portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 1 rejection)} is between the rib {widened protrusion at the bottom end of 31 that are connected to 12+30 (Fig. 6)} and the distal end {31A} of the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)}.
Regarding claim 5, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 3. Hirose further discloses the mount portion {52} includes a first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51 (Fig. 6)} extending from the first hole edge {edge of 52A farthest away from 51} of the fitting hole {52A} toward the vehicular exterior side and the functional component body {51}, and a second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} extending toward the vehicular exterior side from a second hole edge {edge of 52A closest to 51} of the fitting hole {52A}, the second hole edge {edge of 52A closest to 51} being closer to the functional component body {51} than the fitting hole {52A} is, the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} supporting the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)}, and the first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51} and the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} hold the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection {31} between the first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51} and the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} and the stopper portion {31A} of the stopper projection {31} is contacted with and stopped by a distal end {top end (Fig. 6)} of the first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51}.
Regarding claim 6, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hirose further discloses the functional component {50} is a shock absorber {50: “shock absorber pad 50” [0017]}, the stopper projection {31} of the interior component body {12} includes multiple stopper projections {31}, and one of the multiple stopper projections {31} that is to receive a largest load includes the weakened portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 1 rejection)}.
Regarding claim 7, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hirose further discloses mount portion {52 (Fig. 6)} is provided on the functional component {50} at a position adjacent to the peripheral edge {51D, 51E (Fig. 4)}, and the weakened portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 1 rejection)} is a recessed portion {13 (on the exterior to 51 side of 31)} that is recessed to be away from the peripheral edge {51D, 51E (Fig. 4)}.
Regarding claim 8, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 7. Hirose further discloses the stopper projection {31} is deformable to be bent at the recessed portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 1 rejection)} when receiving a load {under a particular load, such as an extremely high load aimed directly at the recessed portion, the projection would be deformable to be bent at the recessed portion}.
Regarding claim 9, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 7. Hirose further discloses the mount portion {52} extends outward from the functional component body {51}, and the stopper projection {31} has a first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite the functional component body {51} and a second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite from the first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} and includes the recessed portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 1 rejection)} on the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)}.
Regarding claim 10, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 9. Hirose further discloses the mount portion {52} includes a first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51 (Fig. 6)} extending toward the vehicular exterior side and the functional component body {51} from a first hole edge {bottom edge of 52A farthest away from 51} of the fitting hole {52A} that is on an opposite side from the functional component body {51} with respect to the fitting hole {52A}, and a second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} extending toward the vehicular exterior side from a second hole edge {edge of 52A closest to 51} of the fitting hole {52A} that is closer to the functional component body {51} than the fitting hole {52A} is, and the first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection {31} is contacted with the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} and the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection {31} is away from the first hole edge {bottom edge of 52A farthest away from 51 (see the gap between 52 and 31 in Fig. 6)}.
Regarding claim 11, Hirose discloses a vehicular interior component {10} covering a vehicular body {11} from a vehicular interior side {“As illustrated in FIG. 1, a door trim 10 (a vehicular door trim, a vehicular interior part) is mounted on a compartment inner side of a door inner panel 11 (see FIG. 5) that configures a vehicular door panel (a vehicular body panel)” [0014]}, the vehicular interior component {10} comprising: an interior component body {12} including a design surface section {30 (Fig. 1): “The trim board 12 includes an upper board 13 and a lower board 30” [0015]} having a plate shape {“board” shape (Figs. 1-2, 5-6)} and configured as a portion of a vehicular interior design surface {left side surface of 30 facing vehicle seat 18 in Fig. 5, and bottom surface of 30 opposite 30A in Fig. 6: “outer side surface 30A” [0017]}, and a stopper projection {31} projecting from the design surface section {30} toward a vehicular exterior side {right side in Fig. 5, and top side in Fig. 6}; and a functional component {50} mounted on a vehicular exterior side {top side (Fig. 6)} of the interior component body {12} and including a mount portion {52 (Figs. 2-4, 6)} including a fitting hole {52A (Figs. 2-4, 6)} in which the stopper projection {31} is fitted {Fig. 6}, wherein the functional component {50} includes a functional component body {51} that includes an opposed wall {51B (Fig. 6)} that is opposite the vehicular body {11}, and an outer wall {51C, 51D, 51E} extending from an outer edge of the opposed wall {51B} toward the interior component body {12: “The pad main body 51 is formed in substantially a triangular prism shape having two surfaces (the compartment inner side surface 51A and the compartment outer side surface 51B) and three surfaces (the upper surface 51C, the side surface 51D, a lower surface 51E) connecting the two surfaces. The pad main body 51 may be formed in any prism shape” [0030]}, the outer wall {51C, 51D, 51E} and the opposed wall {51B} defining an inner space in the functional component body {51}, the mount portion {52} extends outward from the outer wall {51C, 51D, 51E} of the functional component body {51}, the stopper projection {31} has a first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite the functional component body {51} and a second surface {left side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite from the first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)}; and wherein the stopper projection {31} includes a stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)} that extends from the interior component body {12} and a stopper portion {31A} that projects from the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of a distal end of the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)}, the stopper portion {31A} is stopped by a first hole edge {edge of 52A farthest away from 51} of the fitting hole {52A} that is on an opposite side from the functional component body {51} with respect to the fitting hole {52A}.
However, Hirose does not explicitly disclose the stopper projection includes a weakened portion; or that the outer wall and the opposed wall define an empty inner space in the functional component body, and the weakened portion is a recessed portion that is on the second surface of the stopper projection, and the recessed portion is between a basal end of the stopper projection body and the stopper portion.
Tsuno teaches a stopper projection {10+11} of a door trim {1} including a weakened portion {13} that is a recessed portion {13 (Figs. 2, 4-5)} on a second side of a stopper projection {10+11}, and the recessed portion {13} is between a basal end {bottom end of 10 (near 15, see Fig. 2)} of the stopper projection body {10} and the stopper portion {11 (Fig. 2)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicular interior component, as disclosed by Hirose, such that the stopper projection includes a weakened portion, and the weakened portion is a recessed portion that is on the second surface of the stopper projection, and the recessed portion is between a basal end of the stopper projection body and the stopper portion, as taught by Tsuno, in order to restrict movement between coupled members of the door trim {“The relative movement between the joint members is restricted. Furthermore, the relative movement between the engaging members in the direction orthogonal to the insertion direction of the panel member with respect to the door panel is also restricted by the fitting of the concave portion or the through hole of the door panel with the convex portion of the panel member” [0020]}.
Glance teaches {Fig. 13} an outer wall {83 (side walls of chamber 48)} and an opposed wall {47 (upper wall of chamber 48)} defining an empty inner space {48}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the functional component body of the vehicular interior component, as disclosed by Hirose and Tsuno, such that the outer wall and the opposed wall define an empty inner space, as taught by Glance, in order “to provide shock-absorbing energy dissipation to reduce the rebound effect. Buckling convoluted side walls, posts, pockets and webs produce efficient square wave force-deflection energy absorption” {Col. 1, lines 53-56}, because functional component bodies made “of sponge rubber, or some structurally equivalent material, have occasionally been used over some of these hard and rigid surfaces, but space requirements in the vehicle prevent the use of thick enough pads of such material to seriously reduce the risk of injury in an accident. Another problem with cushioning materials is the tendency to retain the energy of impact deformation, and thus cause a rebound effect as the vehicle occupant is thrown back into a secondary impact against some other surface. Ideally, the impact energy should be dissipated somehow, so that the forces generated by the return of the pad to its un-deformed condition are substantially less than those previously causing the deformation” {Col. 1, lines 17-30}.
Regarding claim 12, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 11. Hirose further discloses the stopper projection {31} includes a rib {widened protrusion at the bottom end of 31 that are connected to 12+30 (Fig. 6)} that connects the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)} and a vehicular exterior side surface {30A (Fig. 6)} of the interior component body {12}, and the recessed portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 11 rejection)} is between the rib {widened protrusion at the bottom end of 31 that are connected to 12+30 (Fig. 6)} and the distal end {31A} of the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)}.
Regarding claim 13, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 11. Hirose further discloses the mount portion {52} includes a first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51 (Fig. 6)} extending from the first hole edge {edge of 52A farthest away from 51} of the fitting hole {52A} toward the vehicular exterior side and the functional component body {51}, and a second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} extending toward the vehicular exterior side from a second hole edge {edge of 52A closest to 51} of the fitting hole {52A}, the second hole edge {edge of 52A closest to 51} being closer to the functional component body {51} than the fitting hole {52A} is, the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} supporting the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)}, and the first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51} and the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} hold the stopper projection body {central portion of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection {31} between the first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51} and the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} and the stopper portion {31A} of the stopper projection {31} is contacted with and stopped by a distal end {top end (Fig. 6)} of the first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51}.
Regarding claim 14, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 11. Hirose further discloses the functional component {50} is a shock absorber {50: “shock absorber pad 50” [0017]}, the stopper projection {31} of the interior component body {12} includes multiple stopper projections {31}, and one of the multiple stopper projections {31} that is to receive a largest load includes the weakened portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 11 rejection)}.
Regarding claim 15, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 11. Hirose further discloses the functional component {50} has a peripheral edge {bottom edge of 51D and 51E (51A)} and includes the mount portion {52} adjacent to the peripheral edge {bottom edge of 51D and 51E (51A, see Figs. 4-6)}, and the weakened portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 11 rejection)} is a recessed portion {13} that is recessed to be away from the peripheral edge {51D, 51E (51A): recessed towards the left in Fig. 6, away from 51A, 51D, and 51E}.
Regarding claim 16, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 15. Hirose further discloses the stopper projection {31} is deformable to be bent at the recessed portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 11 rejection)} when receiving a load {under a particular load, such as an extremely high load aimed directly at the recessed portion, the projection would be deformable to be bent at the recessed portion}.
Regarding claim 17, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 15. Hirose further discloses the functional component {50} includes a functional component body {51}, the mount portion {52} extends outward from the functional component body {51}, and the stopper projection {31} has a first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite the functional component body {51} and a second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} that is opposite from the first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} and includes the recessed portion {13 (as modified by Tsuno in the claim 11 rejection)} on the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)}.
Regarding claim 18, Hirose, Tsuno, and Glance disclose all the aspects of claim 17. Hirose further discloses the mount portion {52} includes a first wall {wall of 52 farthest away from 51 (Fig. 6)} extending toward the vehicular exterior side and the functional component body {51} from a first hole edge {bottom edge of 52A farthest away from 51} of the fitting hole {52A} that is on an opposite side from the functional component body {51} with respect to the fitting hole {52A}, and a second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} extending toward the vehicular exterior side from a second hole edge {edge of 52A closest to 51} of the fitting hole {52A} that is closer to the functional component body {51} than the fitting hole {52A} is, and the first surface {right side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection {31} is contacted with the second wall {wall of 52 closest to 51} and the second surface {exterior (left) side surface of 31 (Fig. 6)} of the stopper projection {31} is away from the first hole edge {bottom edge of 52A farthest away from 51 (see the gap between 52 and 31 in Fig. 6)}.
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614