Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-17 depend from rejected claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rotating shaft" in lines 7 and 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because it is unclear if this is referring to the “rotating output shaft” or a different shaft, for examination purposes they will be treated as the same limitation.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the actuator" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because it is unclear if this is referring to the “socket release actuator” or a different actuator, for examination purposes they will be treated as the same limitation.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the rotating shaft" in lines 6 and 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because it is unclear if this is referring to the “rotating output shaft” or a different shaft, for examination purposes they will be treated as the same limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1,6-9,15-18 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a/b) as being anticipated by Johnson US 2002/0152848.
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses a socket driving tool (T; fig.1), comprising: a housing (T,10,12,16); a motor (par 0022) received in the housing; a rotating output shaft (14) supported by and rotatable relative to the housing upon rotation of the motor (par 0022); a socket retainer coupled to the rotating shaft to releasably couple a socket to the rotating shaft (figs 3-5; latch 52; par 0030-0031); and a socket release actuator (figs 3-5, 38,32,36,50) coupled to the housing and including a switch (38 or 32) that does not rotate together with the rotating shaft (14), the switch (38) operable to disengage the socket retainer from the socket to allow the socket to be removed (par 0035) from the rotating shaft (14; figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the actuator (figs 3-5, 38,32,36,50) includes a force transmission assembly that transfers force from the switch to the socket retainer (par 0022; “geared transmission and/or dog type clutch”), the socket retainer and the force transmission assembly being disposed substantially inside of the rotating shaft (14), and the switch being disposed substantially outside of the rotating shaft (figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the switch is biased by a spring toward a first position (38 and/or 32 biased by springs 50 and 36; par 0027-0029).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the switch (38,32) is movable in at least one of a direction parallel to (switch 32 moves parallel), radial to (switch 38 moves radial to the shaft), or circumferential to an axis of rotation of the rotatable shaft to disengage the socket retainer from the socket (figs 3-5; par 0026).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the switch (38,32) comprises one of a movable lever, a push button (38), a sliding switch (32), or a movable collar (par 0006; figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the socket release actuator includes a cam pin (release pin 38) slidable in an axially extending opening in the rotating shaft (par 0028-0030; figs 3-5).
Regarding claim 16, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 15, wherein the cam pin (38) is biased in an axial direction (fig. 1), and the output shaft (14) includes a slot in communication with the axially extending opening and a cross pin (32) received in the slot and engaging the cam pin (38), wherein movement of the cross pin in the slot causes the cam pin to allow the socket retainer to move between an engaged position and a disengaged position (figs 3-5; par 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 17, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the rotating shaft (14) includes a polygonal head (fig.2), and the socket retainer (52) includes one of a pin (38) or a ball extending through an opening (27) in a side of the polygonal head (figs 2-5).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson discloses a socket driving tool (T), comprising: a housing (10,12,16) ; a rotating output shaft (14) supported by and rotatable relative to the housing (par 0022), the output shaft including a polygonal head (figs 2-5); a socket retainer (52) coupled to the polygonal head (fig.2) to releasably couple a socket to the rotating shaft (figs 3-5; latch 52; par 0030-0031); and a socket release actuator (figs 3-5, 38,32,36,50) coupled to the housing and including a switch (38,32) that does not rotate together with the rotating shaft (14), the switch operable to disengage the socket retainer from the socket to allow the socket to be removed from the rotating shaft (14; figs 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-5, 12-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Johnson US 2002/0152848 in view of Iwinski et al. USPN 6,851,341 (hereinafter Iwinski).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the socket retainer includes a movable projection (52) disposed in a head of the rotating shaft transverse to an axis of the rotating shaft (fig.2-5), but fails to explicitly teach the actuator includes a lever engaging the projection and operable by the switch to move the projection out of engagement with the socket.
However, Iwinski teaches wherein said socket retention device includes a movable retainer projection (50, 150) disposed in a head of said rotating shaft transverse to an axis of the rotating shaft (10, 110), and said socket release mechanism (Iwinski - 30, 41, 42; 130; 241, 244) includes a lever (30, 130) engaging said retainer projection (figs. 4, 6, 13) and operable by said actuator (41) to move said retainer
projection out of engagement with said socket (col. 4 lines 27-44).
Therefore Given the teachings of Iwinski (col. 1 lines 41-60), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Iwinski. Doing so would provide an alternative means of securing a socket to the tool that was simple and used few parts to transmit user movement.
Regarding claim 3, Johnson as modified by Iwinski discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 2, wherein Johnson fails to explicitly teach the lever includes a flexible portion.
However Iwinski teaches a flexible lever 38; fig 3 and 13).
Therefore, given the teachings of Iwinski (col. 1 lines 41-60), it would have been obvious to
one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Iwinski. Doing so would provide an alternative means of securing a socket to the tool that was simple and used few parts to transmit user movement.
Regarding claim 4, Johnson as modified by Iwinski discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 2, wherein Johnson fails to explicitly teach the actuator includes a pin engaging the lever and movable by actuation of the switch.
However Iwinski teaches a socket release mechanism (Iwinski - 30, 41, 42; 130; 241, 244) includes an actuator pin (Iwinski - 42, 93, 244) engaging said lever and movable by activation of said
actuator (41, 91, 241).
Therefore, given the teachings of Iwinski (col. 1 lines 41-60), it would have been obvious to
one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Iwinski. Doing so would provide an alternative means of securing a socket to the tool that was simple and used few parts to transmit user movement.
Regarding claim 5, Johnson as modified by Iwinski discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 4, wherein Johnson further teaches the socket release actuator includes a cam operably engaging the pin (38,figs 2-5).
However Iwinski teaches a socket release mechanism (Iwinski - 30, 41, 42; 130; 241, 244) includes an actuator pin (Iwinski - 42, 93, 244) engaging said lever and movable by activation of said
actuator (41, 91, 241).
Therefore, given the teachings of Iwinski (col. 1 lines 41-60), it would have been obvious to
one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Iwinski. Doing so would provide an alternative means of securing a socket to the tool that was simple and used few parts to transmit user movement.
Regarding claim 12, Johnson as modified by Iwinski discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 2, wherein Johnson fails to teach the lever includes a pivot received in a cavity in the rotating shaft.
However Iwinski teaches a socket release mechanism (Iwinski - 30, 41, 42; 130; 241, 244) includes an actuator pin (Iwinski - 42, 93, 244) engaging said lever and movable by activation of said
actuator (41, 91, 241).
Therefore, given the teachings of Iwinski (col. 1 lines 41-60), it would have been obvious to
one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Iwinski. Doing so would provide an alternative means of securing a socket to the tool that was simple and used few parts to transmit user movement.
Regarding claim 13, Johnson as modified by Iwinski discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 2, wherein Johnson fails to teach the lever includes a pin received thereon and extending through a transverse bore in the rotating shaft.
However Iwinski teaches a socket release mechanism (Iwinski - 30, 41, 42; 130; 241, 244) includes an actuator pin (Iwinski - 42, 93, 244) engaging said lever and movable by activation of said
actuator (41, 91, 241).
Therefore, given the teachings of Iwinski (col. 1 lines 41-60), it would have been obvious to
one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Iwinski. Doing so would provide an alternative means of securing a socket to the tool that was simple and used few parts to transmit user movement.
Regarding claim 14, Johnson as modified by Iwinski discloses the socket driving tool according to claim 13, further comprising a spring (50) configured to bias the pin (38; fig.2).
Regarding claim 19, Johnson discloses a socket driving tool (T), comprising: a shaft (14) extending along and rotatable about an axis, the shaft including a polygonal head (figs 2-5) configured to releasably couple a socket to the shaft.
a socket retention protrusion (52) coupled to the polygonal head and movable between a first position (fig.3) where the socket retention projection projects from an outer surface of the polygonal head to secure the socket to the shaft, and a second position (fig.5) where the socket retention projection is at least partially retracted into the polygonal head to release the socket from the shaft (figs 3-5;par 0027-0030)
an actuator movable by a user to cause movement of the socket retention protrusion between the first position and the second position upon user actuation of the actuator (figs 3-5, 38,50); and a linkage assembly coupled to the actuator and to the socket retention projection (32),
Johnson fails to explicitly teach the linkage assembly including a lever extending generally along the axis and engaging the socket retention projection and a rounded pivot received in a rounded cavity positioned along the axis, the lever configured to move about the pivot upon actuation of the actuator to move the socket retention protrusion between the first position and the second position.
However, Iwinski teaches wherein said socket retention device includes a movable retainer projection (50, 150) disposed in a head of said rotating shaft transverse to an axis of the rotating shaft (10, 110), and said socket release mechanism (Iwinski - 30, 41, 42; 130; 241, 244) includes a lever (30, 130) engaging said retainer projection (figs. 4, 6, 13) and operable by said actuator (41) to move said retainer
projection out of engagement with said socket (col. 4 lines 27-44).
Therefore Given the teachings of Iwinski (col. 1 lines 41-60), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Iwinski. Doing so would provide an alternative means of securing a socket to the tool that was simple and used few parts to transmit user movement.
Regarding claim 20, Johnson as modified by Iwinski discloses the socket driving tool of claim 19, wherein the actuator (38) is configured not to rotate together with the shaft (figs 3-5; par 0026).
Claims 10-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Johnson US 2002/0152848 in view of Thome et al. USPN 5,996,707 (hereinafter Thome).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson discloses socket driving tool according to claim 1, wherein Johnson fails to explicitly teach the actuator includes an electromagnet.
However, Thome teaches a hand-held motor driven impact drill incorporating an electromagnetic actuator locking device (electromagnet 41 and locking pin 38; col.2 lines 30-46)
Therefore given the teachings of Thome, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Thome. In order to provide an alternative means of actuating the locking and release actuator of Johnson with an electrical release of an electromagnet as taught by Thome (col.1 lines 31-40).
Regarding claim 11, Johnson discloses socket driving tool according to claim 10, wherein Johnson fails to explicitly teach the actuator further includes a cam surface coupled to the electromagnet and a linkage that engages the socket retainer and the cam surface to move the socket retainer to a disengaged position when the electromagnet causes movement of the cam surface.
However, Thome teaches a hand-held motor driven impact drill incorporating an electromagnetic actuator locking device (electromagnet 41 and locking pin 38; col.2 lines 30-46) further includes a cam surface coupled to the electromagnet and a linkage that engages the socket retainer and the cam surface to move the socket retainer to a disengaged position when the electromagnet causes movement of the cam surface (col.3 lines 32-62; cams 63,66 engaging the locking pin 38 of locking member 31 actuated by electromagnet 41).
Therefore given the teachings of Thome, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the socket retention device of Johnson with that of Thome. In order to provide an alternative means of actuating the locking and release actuator of Johnson with an electrical release of an electromagnet as taught by Thome (col.1 lines 31-40).
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731