DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16-17, 22, etc. are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites three separate iterations of, “a wireless power transmitter” which causes antecedent basis issues within the claim. Claims 16 and 22 present similar issues. Claim 17 also recites multiple iterations of the term “an object in proximity”. While claims 1, 16-17, and 22 are discussed, this is not an exhaustive list, as it appears several claims have antecedent basis issues requiring correction. The Applicant is encouraged to review all claims, independent and dependent, to ensure proper antecedent basis remains throughout, thereby providing cohesion throughout. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 13:
Claim 13 recites, “wherein the rectifier and the inverter are comprised of the same switching devices” which is unclear with respect to the scope of the claimed switching devices. Specifically, it is not clear whether the “same switching devices” requires the rectifier and the inverter to physically share the identical switching devices, such that a particular set of switches performs both rectification and inversion depending upon an operating mode; if the rectifier and inverter are to merely include switching devices having the same type, configuration, or characteristics; or if the rectifier and inverter each comprise corresponding sets of switching devices. The claim does not provide sufficient structural or functional limitations to distinguish among these possible interpretations. Furthermore, if the intended meaning is that a single set of physical switching devices is selectively operated as both the rectifier and the inverter, the claim does not clearly establish how the switching devices are arranged or connected such that the same devices constitute both circuits. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claimed “same switching devices” cannot be ascertained with reasonable certainty.
Regarding Claim 14:
Claim 14 recites, “loading additional firmware corresponding to one of the respective modes” which is unclear. Specifically, the claim does not identify what component, structure, or entity performs the recited “loading” of the additional firmware, nor does the claim specify where the additional firmware is loaded. Accordingly, it is unclear whether the firmware is loaded into a processor, controller, memory, or other component of the electronic device, or otherwise how the recited loading relates to activation of the respective mode. Thus, the scope and meaning of the limitation cannot be ascertained with reasonable certainty.
Regarding Claim 15:
Claim 15 recites, “activating the wireless power transmitter mode comprising sending one or more object detection pings with an interval between at least two of the one or more object detection pings being randomized” which is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear what is meant by the interval “being randomized,” including what component or process performs the randomization, how the interval is selected or determined, and from what range or set of possible intervals the interval is randomized. The claim further fails to specify whether the interval is randomly selected before transmission of the pings, dynamically varied during operation, or otherwise determined, and therefore does not establish the structural or functional relationship by which the recited randomized interval is achieved. Thus, the scope and meaning of the limitation cannot be ascertained with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12-14, 16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AbuKhalaf et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0006329).
Regarding Claim 1:
AbuKhalaf et al. discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1, wireless power transmitting and receiving device 18) selectively operable in a wireless power receiver mode to receive power from a wireless power transmitter and in a wireless power transmitter mode to transmit power to an accessory (see, at least, paragraph 0024 which discloses one or more electronic devices, such as wireless power transmitting and receiving device 18, capable of both transmitting and receiving wireless power), the electronic device comprising: a wireless power transfer coil (Fig. 1, coil(s) 90); a rectifier (Fig. 1, rectifier 88) coupled to the wireless power transfer coil and operable in the wireless power receiver mode to convert an AC voltage induced in the wireless power transfer coil by a wireless power transmitter to a DC voltage for use by the electronic device (see, at least, paragraphs 0041-0045, 0063-0064, etc.); an inverter (Fig. 1, inverter 86) coupled to the wireless power transfer coil and operable in the wireless power transmitter mode to convert a DC voltage to an AC voltage applied to the wireless power transfer coil (see, at least, paragraphs 0041-0045, 0063-0064, etc.); and controller and communication circuitry (Fig. 1, control circuitry 78) that, responsive to detecting one or more object detection pings from a wireless power transmitter, activates the wireless power receiver mode (Fig. 10, steps 132-142, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0110-0116 which disclose, in one example, a device receiving a digital ping from an additional electronic device, and responsive to said digital ping, activate the appropriate power mode, i.e. a power receiving mode).
Regarding Claim 12:
AbuKhalaf teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. AbuKhalaf further discloses wherein the wireless power transfer coil is a single coil (Fig. 1, coil 90 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0041-0042, etc. which disclose the coils 90 may be a single coil).
Regarding Claim 13:
AbuKhalaf teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. AbuKhalaf further discloses wherein the rectifier and the inverter are comprised of the same switching devices (Fig. 1, inverter 86, rectifier 88 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0041-0043 which disclose the inverter and rectifier circuitry each being formed of transistors. See the 112b rejection above).
Regarding Claim 14:
AbuKhalaf teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. AbuKhalaf further discloses wherein at least one of activating the wireless power transmitter mode and activating the wireless power receiver mode comprising loading additional firmware corresponding to one of the respective modes (see, at least, paragraphs 0026, 0084, 0094, etc. which discuss the respective firmware of the control circuitry, in addition to loading a user interface update dependent upon the respective mode. See the 112b rejection above).
Regarding Claim 16:
AbuKhalaf et al. discloses a method, performed by wireless power transfer controller and communication circuitry (Fig. 1, control circuitry 78) of an electronic device (Fig. 1, wireless power transmitting and receiving device 18) operable in a wireless power receiver mode to receive power from a wireless power transmitter or in a wireless power transmitter mode to transmit power to an accessory (Fig. 10, steps 140-146, etc.; see, at least, paragraphs 0110-0116), the method comprising: detecting one or more object detection pings from a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 10, step 132 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0110-0116 which disclose the respective detection of transmitted digital pings from an additional electronic device, such as a wireless power transmitter); and responsive to detecting one or more object detection pings from a wireless power transmitter, activating the wireless power receiver mode (Fig. 10, steps 132-142, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0110-0116 which disclose, in one example, a device receiving a digital ping from an additional electronic device, and responsive to said digital ping, activate the appropriate power mode, i.e. a power receiving mode).
Regarding Claim 22:
AbuKhalaf et al. discloses controller and communication circuitry (Fig. 1, control circuitry 78) for a wireless power transfer system of an electronic device (Fig. 1, wireless power transmitting and receiving device 18), wherein the electronic device is selectively operable in a wireless power receiver mode to receive power from a wireless power transmitter and in a wireless power transmitter mode to transmit power to an accessory (Fig. 10, steps 132-142, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0110-0116 which disclose the electronic device being controlled in such a manner so as to activate the appropriate power mode, i.e., a power receiving mode or a power transmitting mode), the controller and communication circuitry being configured to: detect one or more object detection pings from a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 10, step 132 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0110-0116 which disclose the respective detection of transmitted digital pings from an additional electronic device, such as a wireless power transmitter); and responsive to detecting one or more object detection pings from a wireless power transmitter, activate the wireless power receiver mode (Fig. 10, steps 132-142, etc. and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0110-0116 which disclose, in one example, a device receiving a digital ping from an additional electronic device, and responsive to said digital ping, activate the appropriate power mode, i.e. a power receiving mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AbuKhalaf et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0006329) in view of Shakedd et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0027594).
Regarding Claim 15:
AbuKhalaf teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. AbuKhalaf further discloses wherein activating the wireless power transmitter mode comprising sending one or more object detection pings with an interval between at least two of the one or more object detection pings (Figs. 4A-4B, etc. pings transmitted, for example, at time t3, time t10, etc.). While AbuKhalaf teaches sending object detection pings at various points in time, AbuKhalaf fails to teach an interval between pings being randomized.
However, Shakedd et al. discloses sending one or more object detection pings with an interval between at least two of the one or more object detection pings being randomized (see, at least, paragraphs 0103, 0256, 0324, 0539-0540, etc. which disclose transmitting pings at randomized time intervals). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize a randomized time interval between transmitted pings, as taught within Shakedd, to minimize the likelihood of collisions between different device transmissions, thereby improving detection/reception reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 17-21, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claims 2, 17, and 23:
Dependent claims 2, 17, and 23 each respectively recite subject matter further limiting the respective object detection process, including, “responsive to detecting the object, identifies the object as one of at least a wireless power receiver and a wireless power transmitter by conducting one or more frequency sweeps to identify one or more resonant frequencies of the object that characterize the object as a wireless power receiver or a wireless power transmitter”. That is, while the prior art of record, namely AbuKhalaf discloses a similar system for determining the presence of an object, and subsequently placing an electronic device in an appropriate mode in relation to the detected object, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest that the object detected is to be further identified by conducting one or more frequency sweeps, and in further response to conducting said sweep, positive action taking place to activate either a wireless power transmitter mode, or a wireless power receiver mode. Said limitations, when taken into consideration with the claim language in its entirety, appears to be directed towards a non-obvious improvement over the prior art of record. Claims 3-11 are objected to as being ultimately dependent upon claim 2 and claims 18-21 are objected to as being ultimately dependent upon claim 17.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836