DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 11, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: “the structures” in lines 5 and 8 respectively should be “the plurality of structures” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 11: “the structures” in lines 5 and 8 respectively should be “the plurality of structures” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 16: “the structures” in lines 5 and 8 respectively should be “the plurality of structures” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“a signal processing unit which…” in claims 4, 13, and 18: there is no sufficient structure provided in the specification for this element.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a signal processing unit which...” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, claims 4, 13, and 18 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-4, 10-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, “the structure” in line 4 is unclear as a plurality of structures, structures in a first layer, structures in a second layer, and a columnar structure have all been mentioned previously in either claim 1 or claim 2. To which structure is this limitation referring? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to each of the plurality of structures mentioned previously. Additionally, “light” in line 8 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in line 4 of the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same light mentioned previously or different light? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same light mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 3, “multiple layers” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which claim 3 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously or different multiple layers? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously. Additionally, “the light” in line 3, “the corresponding color” in line 3, and “the corresponding pixel” in lines 3-4 all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Regarding claim 4, “a plurality of pixels” in lines 4-5 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which the language of claim 4 relies. Is this limitation referring to the same plurality of pixels mentioned previously or a different plurality of pixels? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same plurality of pixels mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 10, “multiple layers” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 9, on which claim 10 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously or different multiple layers? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 11, “the structure” in line 4 is unclear as a plurality of structures and a columnar structure have both been mentioned previously in either claim 9 or claim 11. To which structure is this limitation referring? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to each of the plurality of structures mentioned previously. Additionally, “light” in line 8 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in line 4 of the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same light mentioned previously or different light? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same light mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 12, “multiple layers” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 9, on which claim 12 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously or different multiple layers? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously. Additionally, “the light” in line 3, “the corresponding color” in line 3, and “the corresponding pixel” in lines 3-4 all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Regarding claim 13, “a plurality of pixels” in lines 2-3 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 9, on which the language of claim 13 relies. Is this limitation referring to the same plurality of pixels mentioned previously or a different plurality of pixels? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same plurality of pixels mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 15, “multiple layers” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 14, on which claim 15 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously or different multiple layers? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 16, “the structure” in line 4 is unclear as a plurality of structures and a columnar structure have both been mentioned previously in either claim 14 or claim 16. To which structure is this limitation referring? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to each of the plurality of structures mentioned previously. Additionally, “light” in line 8 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in line 4 of the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same light mentioned previously or different light? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same light mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 17, “multiple layers” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 14, on which claim 17 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously or different multiple layers? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same multiple layers mentioned previously. Additionally, “the light” in line 3, “the corresponding color” in line 3, and “the corresponding pixel” in lines 3-4 all lack proper antecedent basis and are therefore all unclear.
Regarding claim 18, “a plurality of pixels” in lines 2-3 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 14, on which the language of claim 18 relies. Is this limitation referring to the same plurality of pixels mentioned previously or a different plurality of pixels? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same plurality of pixels mentioned previously.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12364042 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of US 12364042 B2 teaches an optical element (claim 1, line 1) comprising: a transparent layer for covering a pixel layer including a plurality of pixels each including a photoelectric conversion element (claim 1, lines 1-3), wherein the transparent layer includes a transparent substrate and an air layer (claim 1, lines 3-5), wherein the air layer is located between the pixel layer and the transparent substrate (claim 1, lines 5-6); and a plurality of structures disposed in multiple layers including at least a first layer and a second layer (claim 1, lines 6-8), wherein structures in the first layer are disposed in the air layer (claim 1, lines 8-9), and structures in the second layer are disposed in the transparent layer (claim 1, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 of US 12364042 B2 teaches the optical element according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of structures is a columnar structure which has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the transparent layer (claim 2, lines 1-4), and gives an optical phase delay amount to light propagating in the structure (claim 2, lines 4-6), at least parts of the structures disposed in each layer overlap each other in a plan view (claim 2, lines 7-8), and each of the plurality of structures has a height capable of giving the optical phase delay amount of 2π or more to light propagating in each of the structures disposed in a stacking direction (claim 2, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 of US 12364042 B2 teaches the optical element according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of structures are disposed in multiple layers according to an optical phase delay amount distribution for condensing the light of the corresponding color on the corresponding pixel (claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Claims 6 and 7 of US 12364042 B2 teach an imaging device (claim 7, lines 1-2) comprising: an imaging element including the optical element according to claim 1 (claim 6, lines 1-2), and a plurality of pixels covered with the transparent layer (claim 6, line 3); and a signal processing unit which generates a pixel signal on the basis of an electrical signal obtained from the imaging element (claim 7, lines 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Arbabi et al. (USPGPub 20200388644 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arbabi teaches an optical element (¶8, an image sensor includes an image sensor includes a substrate, thin lenses disposed on a first surface of the substrate and configured to concentrate lights incident on the first surface) comprising: a transparent layer (600/650) for covering a pixel layer (500) including a plurality of pixels (510) each including a photoelectric conversion element (see figure 21, substrate 600, low refractive index layer 650, and unlabeled air layer all passing light (i.e. transparent) together forming a transparent layer, the transparent layer 600/650 being formed over sensor substrate 500 having light-sensing cells 510 (i.e. pixels); and ¶103, the light-sensing cells 130a, 130b, and 130c may include photodiodes that convert light energy into electrical energy), wherein the transparent layer (600/650) includes a transparent substrate (600/650) and an air layer (see figure 21, substrate 600 and low-refractive index layer 650 together forming the transparent substrate, and an unlabeled air layer disposed below; and ¶83, The substrate 110 and the light-sensing cells 130a, 130b, and 130c may be spaced apart from one another with an air layer therebetween), wherein the air layer is located between the pixel layer (500) and the transparent substrate (600/650) (see figure 21, air layer (unlabeled) formed between transparent substrate 600/650 and sensor substrate 500); and a plurality of structures (711/721/731/716/726/736) disposed in multiple layers including at least a first layer and a second layer (see figure 21, each thin lens structure 710-730 comprising a plurality of scatterers 711, 721, 731, 716, 726, and 736 (i.e. structures) arranged in two layers), wherein structures (716/726/736) in the first layer are disposed in the air layer (see figure 21, structures 716, 726, and 736 arranged in the unlabeled air layer), and structures (711/721/731) in the second layer are disposed in the transparent layer (600/650) (see figure 21, structures 711, 721, and 731 disposed in transparent substrate 600/650).
Regarding claim 2, Arbabi teaches the optical element according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of structures (711/721/731/716/726/736) is a columnar structure which has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the transparent layer (600/650) (see figure 21, structures 711, 721, 731, 716, 726, and 736 and transparent substrate 600/650; ¶143, The first scatterers 611, the second scatterers 621, and the third scatterers 631 may have a column shape; ¶143, The first scatterers 611, the second scatterers 621, and the third scatterers 631 may include a material having a refractive index higher than the substrate 600; and ¶154, The low refractive index material layer 650 may include a material having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the lower scatterers NS1), and gives an optical phase delay amount to light propagating in the structure (711/721/731/716/726/736) (¶84, The term “thin-lens” refers to an optical device that changes a path of light by a difference in phase delays caused by the scatterers 122a, 122b, and 122c included in the thin-lenses), at least parts of the structures (711/721/731/716/726/736) disposed in each layer overlap each other in a plan view (see figure 21, structures 711, 721, and 731 overlapping structures 716, 726, and 736 respectively), and each of the plurality of structures (711/721/731/716/726/736) has a height capable of giving the optical phase delay amount of 2π or more to light propagating in each of the structures (711/721/731/716/726/736) disposed in a stacking direction (¶163, when the scatterers are arranged in multiple layers in the thin lens TL1, the number of “2 π zones” to which a rule of a predetermined unit is applied may be reduced. The number of 2 π zones R.sub.1, R.sub.2, . . . , R.sub.k, . . . , R.sub.N as illustrated in FIG. 15 may be set to a level appropriate to achieve a desired refractive power; and see ¶149 for further details).
Regarding claim 3, Arbabi teaches the optical element according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of structures (711/721/731/716/726/736) are disposed in multiple layers according to an optical phase delay amount distribution for condensing the light of the corresponding color on the corresponding pixel (¶181, by applying height variation to each layer, a design value to implement appropriate phase and dispersion at each position may be easy. In particular, when the multilayer scatterer arrangement is introduced to compensate for the deterioration of performance of each layer, the selection of a design value of a scatterer to mutually compensate for the deterioration of performance of one layer in another layer corresponding to a low correlation position may be easier. Furthermore, effective compensation of the phase and the dispersion performance between layers may be possible; and ¶150, To implement desired target phase with respect to light of a predetermined wavelength, a rule regarding the shape, size, or arrangement of the first scatterers 611 arranged in a plurality of 2 π zones may be determined).
Regarding claim 4, Arbabi teaches an imaging device (¶3, Apparatuses and methods consistent with exemplary embodiments relate to image sensors) comprising: an imaging element including the optical element according to claim 1 (¶8, an image sensor includes an image sensor includes a substrate, thin lenses disposed on a first surface of the substrate and configured to concentrate lights incident on the first surface), and a plurality of pixels (510) covered with the transparent layer (600/650) (see figure 21, substrate 600, low refractive index layer 650, and unlabeled air layer all passing light (i.e. transparent) together forming a transparent layer, the transparent layer 600/650 being formed over sensor substrate 500 having light-sensing cells 510 (i.e. pixels)); and a signal processing unit which generates a pixel signal on the basis of an electrical signal obtained from the imaging element (¶8, the light-sensing cells being configured to sense lights passing through the thin lenses, and generate electrical signals based on the sensed lights; ¶128, the image sensor may further include a depth map calculator 250 that is configured to calculate depth map information of an image corresponding to incident light. The depth map calculator 250 may receive images measured by the light-sensing cells 230a, 230b, and 230c; and see ¶178 for further details).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach an optical element as claimed comprising: a transparent layer for covering a plurality of pixels each including a photoelectric conversion element; and a plurality of structures disposed in a plane direction of the transparent layer, on a side opposite to the plurality of pixels with at least a part of the transparent layer interposed therebetween, more specifically in combination with wherein heights of the plurality of structures belonging to at least one layer among multiple layers are longer than length represented by the right side of a following formula (3)
h
l
a
y
e
r
≥
1
L
λ
r
n
1
-
n
0
.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach an optical element as claimed comprising: a transparent layer for covering a plurality of pixels each including a photoelectric conversion element; and a plurality of structures disposed in a plane direction of the transparent layer, on a side opposite to the plurality of pixels with at least a part of the transparent layer interposed therebetween, more specifically in combination with wherein heights of the plurality of structures belonging to at least one layer among multiple layers are shorter than length represented by
λ
r
n
1
-
n
0
.
Claims 10-13 and 15-18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 10-12 would be allowable for their dependency on claim 9.
Claim 13 would be allowable for its reliance on the language of claim 9.
Claim 15-17 would be allowable for their dependency on claim 14.
Claim 18 would be allowable for its reliance on the language of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ellenbogen et al. (USPGPub 20200284960 A1): Ellenbogen teaches a multilayer optical element comprising multiple layers of nanostructures for focusing different wavelengths (see figure 1A; and ¶66, Layers 12 are preferably stacked along an optical axis 14. Each of layers 12 optionally and preferably has a plurality of nanostructures 16. Typically, the nanostructures of each layer are formed on, or embedded in, a respective substrate 18 that is optionally and preferably transmissive to an optical field for which element 10 is designed. For example, when element 10 is designed for visible light (e.g., wavelength from about 400 nm to about 725 nm), substrate 18 is transmissive (e.g., with transmission coefficient of at least 80%) to visible light).
Matsui et al. (USPGPub 20150090862 A1): Matsui teaches an optical element for condensing light of a specific wavelength, specifically wherein the structures in structure layer (2) are disposed in an air layer (54) between the transparent substrate (1) and imaging array (50) (see figure 22; and ¶134, In FIG. 22, as similar to a configuration in FIG. 21, a spacer 53 is provided and an air layer 54 is provided between the quasi-periodic structure layer 2 and the imaging element array 50. However, the imaging element array 50 may be provided on the quasi-periodic structure layer 2 directly. Alternatively, instead of the air layers 52, 54, dielectric material may be used to fill a space; and NOTE: this shows that dielectric layers and air layers are interchangeable). Additionally, Matsui teaches an equation similar to those claimed in claims 9 and 14 of the instant application (in ¶80:
a
>
λ
2
(
n
2
×
h
)
wherein a: period length, λ: design wavelength, n2: refractive index of ridge (i.e. structure), and h: height of ridge (i.e. structure)).
Roh et al. (USPGPub 20210126035 A1): Roh teaches a multi layered color separating lens structure (see figures 24-28).
Yun et al. (USPGPub 20210249459 A1): Yun teaches a color separation lens (see abstract).
Roh et al. (USPGPub 20210167110 A1): Roh teaches a color separation lens (see abstract).
Yun et al. (USPGPub 20210126030 A1): Yun teaches a color separation lens (see abstract).
Yun et al. (USPGPub 20210124179 A1): Yun teaches a multi layered color separating lens (see figure 25).
Miyata et al. (USPGPub 20230239552 A1): Miyata teaches a wavelength separation lens having a plurality microstructures disposed in a transparent layer (see figure 2-3; and ¶94, The transparent layer 150 is air or a transparent layer made of materials such as SiO.sub.2 with a low refractive index).
Yokogawa (USPGPub 20120061553 A1): Yokogawa teaches a multi-layered optical structure for guiding light of a specific wavelength to a sensor (see figure 4).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878