DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to Application filed on March 13, 2023 in which claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18 and 20 are presented for examination. Claims 5, 9, 15 and 19 have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 9, 15 and 19 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species and Sub-Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 13, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11 and dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 and dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,376,642. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1, 11 and dependent claims are anticipated by the conflicting patented claims 1, 11 and dependent claims as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Present Application
Patent No. 12,376,642
1. (Original) An article comprising:
a bladder including
a first barrier element attached to a second barrier element to define a chamber having an interior void; and
a plurality of locking elements disposed within the interior void and
each attached to at least one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element,
each of the locking elements including an interface surface operable to selectively engage an interface surface of another one of the locking elements.
1. A locking structure for an article, the locking structure comprising:
a bladder including
a first barrier element attached to a second barrier element to define a chamber having an interior void; and
a plurality of locking elements disposed within the interior void and
each attached to at least one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element,
each of the locking elements including an interface surface operable to selectively engage an interface surface of another one of the locking elements.
2. (Original) The article of Claim 1, wherein each of the locking elements includes an anchor attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element.
2. The locking structure of claim 1, wherein each of the locking elements includes an anchor attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element.
3. (Original) The article of Claim 1, wherein each of the locking elements includes a locking body including the interface surface.
3. The locking structure of claim 1, wherein each of the locking elements includes a locking body including the interface surface.
4. (Original) The article of Claim 3, wherein each of the locking elements includes a pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of the locking body.
4. The locking structure of claim 3, wherein each of the locking elements includes a pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of the locking body.
6. (Original) The article of Claim 1, further comprising a port in fluid communication with the interior void.
5. The locking structure of claim 1, further comprising a port in fluid communication with the interior void.
11. (Original) An article comprising:
a bladder including
a first barrier element attached to a second barrier element to define a chamber having an interior void; and
a locking system including locking elements each attached to one of the first barrier element or the second barrier element and including at least one interface surface,
the interior void of the bladder operable between a first pressure to move the locking system to a locked state and
a second pressure to move the locking system to an unlocked state.
6. A locking structure for an article, the locking structure comprising:
a bladder including
a first barrier element attached to a second barrier element to define a chamber having an interior void; and
a locking system including locking elements each attached to one of the first barrier element or the second barrier element and including at least one interface surface,
the interior void of the bladder operable between a first pressure to move the locking system to a locked state and
a second pressure to move the locking system to an unlocked state.
12. (Original) The article of Claim 11, wherein each of the locking elements includes an anchor attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element.
7. The locking structure of claim 6, wherein each of the locking elements includes an anchor attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element.
13. (Original) The article of Claim 11, wherein each of the locking elements includes a locking body including the interface surface.
8. The locking structure of claim 6, wherein each of the locking elements includes a locking body including the interface surface.
14. (Original) The article of Claim 13, wherein each of the locking elements includes a pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of the locking body.
9. The locking structure of claim 8, wherein each of the locking elements includes a pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of the locking body.
16. (Original) The article of Claim 11, further comprising a port in fluid communication with the interior void.
10. The locking structure of claim 6, further comprising a port in fluid communication with the interior void.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corrigan et al. (2017/0360590).
Regarding claim 1, Corrigan teaches, An article comprising: a bladder including a first barrier element attached to a second barrier element to define a chamber having an interior void; and a plurality of locking elements disposed within the interior void and each attached to at least one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element, each of the locking elements including an interface surface operable to selectively engage an interface surface of another one of the locking elements (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “By way of example, each locking sheet 610 is illustrated as being directly coupled to the envelope 602, and particularly, an inner surface 605 thereof. Specifically, the top locking sheet 610 is illustrated as being coupled to an upper portion or upper inner surface of the envelope 602, and the bottom locking sheet 610 is illustrated as being coupled to a bottom portion or lower inner surface of the envelope 602.”, [0145], “The top locking sheet 610 can be referred to as a first locking sheet 610 having a plurality of first engagement features 640, and the bottom locking sheet 610 can be referred to as a second locking sheet 610 having a plurality of second engagement features 640 configured to engage the plurality of first engagement features 640. The surfaces 625 are shown by way of example as including the high friction surface, i.e., the engagement features 640, across the entire surface 625; however, as described above, this need not be the case. The engagement features 640 are shown schematically as having triangular cross-sectional shapes, such that engagement features 640 in one locking sheet 610 can inter-engage with engagement features 640 in the other locking sheet 610. Specifically, the engagement features 640 schematically represent engagement features 640 that protrude in the Z direction toward an adjacent locking sheet 610, such that when the locking sheets 610 are brought into contact, the engagement features 640 from one locking sheet 610 will be moved into the openings or spaces between adjacent engagement features 640 in the other locking sheet 610.”, [0147], “In addition, as mentioned above, the islands 632 of the top locking sheet 610 are staggered with respect to the islands 632 of the bottom locking sheet 610, such that one island 632 of the top locking sheet 610 can engage (e.g., inter-engage via mating engagement features 640) two islands 632 of the bottom locking sheet 610, thereby forming one rigid sheet, and enhancing the resulting stiffness of the apparatus 600 in the second state.”, [0152], therefore, An article comprising: a 600 including a first barrier element (“upper portion” of 602) attached to a second barrier element (“bottom portion” of 602) to define a chamber having an interior void; and a plurality of 640 disposed within the interior void and each attached to at least one of the first barrier element (“upper portion” of 602) and the second barrier element (“bottom portion” of 602), each of 640 including an interface surface operable to selectively engage an interface surface of another one of the locking elements, figures 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 2, Corrigan teaches, wherein each of the locking elements includes an anchor attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, wherein each of 640 includes 632 attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element (“upper portion” of 602) and the second barrier element (“lower portion” of 602), figures 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 3, Corrigan teaches, wherein each of the locking elements includes a locking body including the interface surface (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, wherein each of 640 includes 640/632 including the interface surface of 640, figures 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 4, Corrigan teaches, wherein each of the locking elements includes a pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of the locking body (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, wherein each of 640 includes an annotated pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of 640/632, annotated figure 8B, figures 8A and 8C).
Regarding claim 6, Corrigan teaches, further comprising a port in fluid communication with the interior void (The apparatus 600 includes an envelope 602 that defines a chamber 604, locking sheets 610, a port 615, a connector 622, and a vacuum source 620 that are each shown schematically merely for purposes of illustration. For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, further comprising 615 in fluid communication with the interior void, figures 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 11, Corrigan teaches, An article comprising: a bladder including a first barrier element attached to a second barrier element to define a chamber having an interior void; and a plurality of locking elements disposed within the interior void and each attached to at least one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element, each of the locking elements including an interface surface operable to selectively engage an interface surface of another one of the locking elements (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “By way of example, each locking sheet 610 is illustrated as being directly coupled to the envelope 602, and particularly, an inner surface 605 thereof. Specifically, the top locking sheet 610 is illustrated as being coupled to an upper portion or upper inner surface of the envelope 602, and the bottom locking sheet 610 is illustrated as being coupled to a bottom portion or lower inner surface of the envelope 602.”, [0145], “The top locking sheet 610 can be referred to as a first locking sheet 610 having a plurality of first engagement features 640, and the bottom locking sheet 610 can be referred to as a second locking sheet 610 having a plurality of second engagement features 640 configured to engage the plurality of first engagement features 640. The surfaces 625 are shown by way of example as including the high friction surface, i.e., the engagement features 640, across the entire surface 625; however, as described above, this need not be the case. The engagement features 640 are shown schematically as having triangular cross-sectional shapes, such that engagement features 640 in one locking sheet 610 can inter-engage with engagement features 640 in the other locking sheet 610. Specifically, the engagement features 640 schematically represent engagement features 640 that protrude in the Z direction toward an adjacent locking sheet 610, such that when the locking sheets 610 are brought into contact, the engagement features 640 from one locking sheet 610 will be moved into the openings or spaces between adjacent engagement features 640 in the other locking sheet 610.”, [0147], “In addition, as mentioned above, the islands 632 of the top locking sheet 610 are staggered with respect to the islands 632 of the bottom locking sheet 610, such that one island 632 of the top locking sheet 610 can engage (e.g., inter-engage via mating engagement features 640) two islands 632 of the bottom locking sheet 610, thereby forming one rigid sheet, and enhancing the resulting stiffness of the apparatus 600 in the second state.”, [0152], “The apparatus 600 is shown in FIG. 8A in a first state. In the first state, the pressure within the chamber 604 can be the same as the pressure outside the chamber 604, i.e., ambient pressure.”, [0150], “After the desired shape has been achieved, the vacuum source 620 can be activated to evacuate the chamber 604, thereby reducing the pressure in the chamber 604 to below ambient pressure. As the chamber 604 is evacuated, the locking sheets 610 are forced into contact with one another, and the desired shape of the apparatus 600 is essentially locked. As shown in FIG. 8C, in embodiments in which the locking sheets 610 include high friction surfaces, and particularly, engagement features 640, the engagement features 640 of one locking sheet 610 can inter-engage with the engagement features 640 on the other locking sheet 610, as described above. Such inter-engagement between adjacent locking sheets 610 can enhance the stiffness or rigidity of the apparatus 600 in the second state.”, [0151], therefore, An article comprising: 600 including a first barrier element (“upper portion” of 602) attached to a second barrier element (“bottom portion” of 602) to define a chamber having an interior void; and a locking system including 640 each attached to one of the first barrier element (“upper portion” of 602) or the second barrier element (“upper portion” of 602) and including at least one interface surface, the interior void of 600 operable between a first pressure to move the locking system to a locked state and a second pressure to move the locking system to an unlocked state, figures 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 12, Corrigan teaches, wherein each of the locking elements includes an anchor attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element and the second barrier element (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, wherein each of 640 includes 632 attached to an inner surface of one of the first barrier element (“upper portion” of 602) and the second barrier element (“lower portion” of 602), figures 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 13, Corrigan teaches, wherein each of the locking elements includes a locking body including the interface surface (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, wherein each of 640 includes 640/632 including the interface surface of 640, figures 8A-8C).
Regarding claim 14, Corrigan teaches, wherein each of the locking elements includes a pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of the locking body (“FIGS. 8A-8C illustrate a shape-formable apparatus 600 according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, employing discontinuous locking sheets 610 comprising discrete solid regions 632, open regions 634, and surfaces 625 configured to face an adjacent locking sheet 610.”, [0143], “For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, wherein each of 640 includes an annotated pair of interface surfaces disposed on opposite sides of 640/632, annotated figure 8B, figures 8A and 8C).
Regarding claim 16, Corrigan teaches, further comprising a port in fluid communication with the interior void (The apparatus 600 includes an envelope 602 that defines a chamber 604, locking sheets 610, a port 615, a connector 622, and a vacuum source 620 that are each shown schematically merely for purposes of illustration. For simplicity, only two locking sheets 610 are shown, the top locking sheet 610 including four discrete solid regions, or “islands,” 632, and the bottom locking sheet 610 including five islands that are staggered with respect to the islands 632 in the top locking sheets 610, such that when the top and bottom locking sheets 610 are brought into direct and intimate contact, the two locking sheets 610 inter-engage to essentially form one rigid sheet.”, [0144], therefore, further comprising 615 in fluid communication with the interior void, figures 8A-8C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 10, 17-18 and 20 have not rejected with prior art.
Conclusion
/Jillian K Pierorazio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732