DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 11/04/2025 to the claims has been accepted and entered.
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-40 have been newly added and are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,382,138. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 21, the instant application claim 21 and the US patent claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The claims differ in scope since the instant application claim 21 is broader in every aspect than the patent claim 1 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 21 of the instant application is anticipated by the patent claim 1 in that claim 1 of the patent contains all the limitations of claim 21 of the instant application. Claim 21 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 22-40 correspond to the patent claims 2-20 respectively.
Claims 21-22, 24, 26, 31 and 36-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-8, 16 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,606,617 in view of Huston et al (US 2023/0206268).
The application claim 21 and the patented claim 1 are both drawn to the same invention.
The differences between the application claim 21 compared to the patented claim 1 are “receiving a user input selection of a golf hole of a golf course; receiving a plurality of video segments associated with the selected golf hole…; providing for display… the selected golf hole”.
Huston discloses “receiving a user input selection of a golf hole of a golf course; receiving a plurality of video segments associated with the selected golf hole…; providing for display… the selected golf hole” (¶ [0025], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0047]-[0048] and ¶ [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention was made to modify the patented claim with the teaching of Huston, so to provide more selectable options for a viewer to interact with viewing content according to his or her interest in the benefits of improving user viewing experience.
Claim 22 corresponds to the patent claim 1.
Claim 24 corresponds to the patent claim 1.
Claim 26 corresponds to the patent claim 3-4.
Claim 31 corresponds to the patent claim 7-8.
Claim 36 corresponds to the patent claims 16 and 18.
Claim 37-38 correspond to the patent claims 19-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites the limitations "the golf ball" and “the golf club” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26, 28 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huston et al (US 2023/0206268).
Regarding claim 21, Huston discloses a method comprising:
receiving a user input selection of a golf hole of a golf course and at least one preferred player (¶ [0030], ¶ [0059], ¶ [0115] and ¶ [0117] for a golf spectator can follow a particular golfer during a round as the spectator desires by selecting a source viewing position and a target, i.e., a statistics for a hole and tabular summary of one golfer or all golfers);
receiving a plurality of video segments associated with the selected golf hole, wherein the plurality of video segments comprise video segments of an athletic action associated with the selected golf hole; providing for display at least one of the plurality of video segments associated with the selected golf hole (Figure 1; ¶ [0030], ¶ [0046]-[0048], ¶ [0065], ¶ [0085] and ¶ [0113]-[0117] for receiving and providing for display a generated video clip of selected golf hole from the particular golfer’s location based on a user selection of a source or position (golf hole) and a target participant (golfer) to follow the round);
receiving a new video segment of an athletic action associated with the preferred player while providing for display of the at least one video segment associated with the selected golf hole; and providing display of the new video segment in response to receiving the new video segment associated with the at least one preferred player (¶ [0026]-[0030] for enabling to select a source location and a target participant to view and enabling to switch views (overhead, turns, stands,…) to continuously follow the selected target participant in a sport event including a golf event; Figures 2-5 and ¶ [0055]-[0056] for receiving and rendering new viewing video of an athletic action associated with the selected target participant when the user switches views such as tiled upwardly, view angle or overhead view, etc. It means that in a golf sport event, while providing for display a video clip associated with a selected golf hole and selected target golfer and when a user switches to any selectable views to follow a round, new video clips of selected target golfer from a different angle, different source location, different camera are received and provided for display).
Regarding claim 22, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 21. Huston further discloses wherein providing display of the new video segment further comprises following or superseding display of the at least one of the plurality of video segments associated with the selected golf hole (Figures 1-5; ¶ [0026]-[0029] and ¶ [0117]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 23, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 21. Huston further discloses wherein providing display of the new video segment further comprises at least partially overlaying display of the new video segment on the at least one of the plurality of video segments associated with the selected golf hole (¶ [0015], ¶ [0047], ¶ [0054] and ¶ [0063]).
Regarding claim 24, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 21. Huston further discloses providing for display of a plurality of user interface elements in a list adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of video segments provided for display associated with the selected golf hole, wherein the plurality of user interface elements correspond to respective video segments of the plurality of video segments associated with the selected golf hole; and adding to the list a user interface element corresponding to another new video segment in response to receiving the new video segment of an athletic action associated with the at least one preferred player (¶ [0026]-[0029], ¶ [0047]-[0049], ¶ [0054] and ¶ [0119]).
Regarding claim 25, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 24. Huston further discloses wherein each of the plurality of video segments further comprises video segment information indicative of a context of the video segment, wherein an order of the plurality of video segments is based, at least in part, on respective contexts of video segments of the plurality of video segments (¶ [0025]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 26, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 25. Huston further discloses wherein the context of the respective video segment comprises information associated with a golf shot and an order of the video segments is based, at least in part, on context of the respective video segments satisfying predetermined criteria (¶ [0030], ¶ [0047]-[0048], ¶ [0085] and ¶ [0117]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 28, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 21. Huston further discloses wherein receiving the user input selection of the golf hole of the golf course and the at least one preferred player further comprises: providing for display of a plurality of players and a plurality of golf holes of the golf course; and receiving user input identifying the at least one preferred player of the plurality of players and the at least one golf hole of the plurality of golf holes (¶ [0030], ¶ [0059], ¶ [0115] and ¶ [0117]).
Regarding claims 31-35, all limitations of claims 31-35 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 21-24 and 28 respectively.
Regarding claims 36-40, all limitations of claims 36-40 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 21-24 and 28 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huston et al (US 2023/0206268) in view of Jeffery et al (US 2013/0296048).
Regarding claim 27, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 26. Huston is silent about the predetermined criteria comprises a type of golf shot including: a putt made from a distance greater than or equal to a predefined distance from a hole; a golf shot with a golf ball landing within a predefined closeness distance to the hole from at least a predefined shot distance from the hole; or a golf shot made into the hole to achieve two or more under par.
Jeffery discloses the predetermined criteria comprises a type of golf shot including: a putt made from a distance greater than or equal to a predefined distance from a hole; a golf shot with a golf ball landing within a predefined closeness distance to the hole from at least a predefined shot distance from the hole; or a golf shot made into the hole to achieve two or more under (¶ [0082]-[0091], ¶ [0106] and ¶ [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huston system with the teaching of Jeffery, so to enhance user visualizable viewing experience.
Regarding claim 29, Huston discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 21. Huston further discloses during display of a respective video segment of the plurality of video segments (Figures 1-5), but is silent about providing for display of a map view adjacent to the display of the respective video segment, wherein the map view comprises a location where the respective video segment was captured.
Jeffery discloses during display of a respective video segment of the plurality of video segments, providing for display of a map view adjacent to the display of the respective video segment, wherein the map view comprises a location where the respective video segment was captured (Figures 4-6; ¶ [0070]-[0072], ¶ []0078]-[0084], and ¶ [0135]-[0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huston system with the teaching of Jeffery, so to enhance user visualizable viewing experience.
Regarding claim 30, Huston in view of Jeffery discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 29. The combined system further discloses providing for display on the map view of a trajectory of the golf ball struck with the golf club in the respective video segment (taught by Jeffery; Figures 3-4 and 10).
Conclusion
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421