DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
In the reply filed March 26, 2026, the applicant amended claims 12-21.
The applicant cancelled claims 2 and 5-11.
The applicant added claims 21-28.
Currently claims 1, 3, 4, and 12-28 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The element referred to as a “slip bowl” is not disclosed in the specificaiton.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "top plates (Hoang: 28)" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. It is unclear what is meant by the limitation “increasing contact area between the first end face and the second end face” in claim 12, line 20, as it does not indicate what the increased contact area is being compared to.
Claims 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. It is unclear what is meant by the limitation “increasing contact area between the first end face and the second end face” in claim 22, line 13, as it does not indicate what the increased contact area is being compared to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13, 17, 18, 22 and 24
are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0062025).
Regarding Claim 12, Hoang discloses wellhead comprising a casing hanger assembly, wherein the casing hanger assembly comprises a hanger housing (Hoang: 24) that defines a hanger bore (Hoang: interior of 24);
A top ring plate (Hoang: 28) disposed above the hanger housing (Hoang: 24); and
A compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) disposed axially between the hanger housing (Hoang: 24) and the top plates (Hoang: portions of 28), wherein the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises a first end face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 along split 36) and a second end face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 along split 36) that oppose one another wherein:
The first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises a first contoured shape (shape of first half matches second half); and
The second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises a second contoured shape (shape of first half matches second half) configured to matingly interlock with the first contoured shape of the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) to facilitate increasing contact area between the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) and the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32).
Regarding Claim 13, Hoang discloses The wellhead of claim 12, wherein the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises a first seal segment (Hoang: first half of 32) and a second seal segment (Hoang: second half of 32), wherein:
The first seal segment (Hoang: first half of 32) comprises the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) and a third end face (Hoang: second surface on second end of first half of 32); and
The second seal segment (Hoang: second half of 32) comprises the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) and a fourth end face (Hoang: second surface on second end of second half of 32) that is separated from the third end face (Hoang: second surface on second end of first half of 32) of the first seal segment (Hoang: first half of 32) by another cut through the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32)
Regarding Claim 17, Hoang discloses The wellhead of claim 12 comprising a fastener (Hoang: 34) that secures the top ring plate (Hoang: 28) and the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) to the hanger body, wherein the fastener (Hoang: 34) is configured to be tightened to axially compress the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32).
Regarding Claim 18, Hoang discloses The wellhead of claim 12,comprising:
A bottom ring plate (Hoang: 48) disposed axially between the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) and the hanger housing (Hoang: 24), wherein the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) is configured to be axially compressed directly between the top ring plate (Hoang: 28) and the bottom ring plate (Hoang: 48)
Regarding Claim 22, Hoang discloses a method of implementing a casing hanger assembly to be deployed in a wellhead, comprising:
Forming a hanger housing (Hoang: 24) to define a hanger bore (Hoang: interior of 24);
Disposing a top ring plate (Hoang: 28) above the housing hanger;
Forming a compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprising a first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) and a second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) separated by a cut through the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) at least in part by:
Forming the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) with a first contoured shape; and
Forming the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) with a second contoured shape; and
Disposing the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) axially between the hanger housing (Hoang: 24) and the top ring at least in part by matingly interlocking the first contoured shape of the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) with the second contoured shape of the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) to facilitate increasing contact area between the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) and the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32).
Regarding Claim 24, Hoang discloses the method of claim 22, comprising: disposing a bottom ring plate (Hoang: 48) axially between the hanger housing (Hoang: 24) and the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32), wherein disposing the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) axially between the hanger housing (Hoang: 24) and the top ring plate (Hoang: 28) comprises disposing the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) directly between the top ring plate (Hoang: 28) and the bottom ring plate (Hoang: 48); and
Securing the top ring plate (Hoang: 28), the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32), and the bottom ring plate (Hoang: 48) to the hanger housing (Hoang: 24) via an axial fastener (Hoang: 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang in view of Brown.
Regarding Claim 14, Hoang discloses The wellhead of claim 12, but does not disclose wherein:
The first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises one or more recesses; and
The second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises one or more protrusions, configured to matingly interlock with the one or more recesses on the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32).
Brown discloses a seal wherein a first end face of a compression seal ring comprises one or more recesses; and
A second end face of the compression seal ring comprises one or more protrusions, configured to matingly interlock with the one or more recesses on the first end face of the compression seal ring. (Brown: Figures 3A-3B: 22, 23, 25, 26, portions of 113a, 113b that engage one another an adjacent seal piece; geometry on one side of each seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on the other side of the second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have modified the seal profile geometry of the diagonally cut seal face of Huang with the diagonally cut seal surface disclosed in the invention of Brown for the predictable and well known effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the sheal while permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 15, Hoang discloses The wellhead of claim 12, but does not disclose wherein:
The first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises a first groove or tooth pattern; or
The second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises a second groove or tooth pattern, wherein the first groove or tooth pattern on the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) is configured to intermesh with second groove or tooth pattern on the second face of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32).
Brown discloses a first end face of a compression seal ring comprises a first groove or tooth pattern; and
A second end face of the compression seal ring comprising a second groove or tooth pattern, wherein the first groove or tooth pattern on the first end face is configured to intermesh with second groove or tooth pattern on the second face of the compression seal ring (Brown: Figures 3A-3B: 22, 23, 25, 26, portions of 113a, 113b that engage one another an adjacent seal piece; and
Geometry on one side of each seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on the other side of the second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have modified the seal profile geometry of the diagonally cut seal face of Huang with the diagonally cut seal surface disclosed in the invention of Brown for the predictable and well known effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the sheal while permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 25, Hoang discloses the method of claim 22, but does not disclose wherein:
Forming the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises forming the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) with a recess; forming the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) comprises forming the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) with a protrusion; and
Disposing the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) axially between the hanger housing (Hoang: 24) and the top ring comprises matingly interlocking the protrusion on the second end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of second half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32) with the recess on the first end face (Hoang: first surface on first end of first half of 32) of the compression seal ring (Hoang: 32).
Brown discloses forming a first end face of a compression seal comprising forming the first end face with a recess;
Forming a second end face of the compression seal ring comprising forming the second end face with a protrusion; and
Disposing the compression seal ring axially between a hanger housing and the top ring comprises matingly interlocking the protrusion on the second end face of the compression seal ring with the recess on the first end face of the compression seal ring (Brown: Figures 3A-3B: 22, 23, 25, 26, portions of 113a, 113b that engage one another an adjacent seal piece; geometry on one side of each seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on the other side of the second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have modified the seal profile geometry of the invention of Huang with the diagonally seal geometry of Brown for the predictable and well known effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the sheal while permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 26, Hoang discloses the method of claim 22, but does not disclose wherein:
Forming the first end face of the compression seal ring comprising forming the first end face with a first groove or tooth pattern;
Forming the second end face of the compression seal ring comprises forming the second end face with a second groove or tooth pattern; and
Disposing the compression seal ring axially between the hanger and the top ring comprising intermeshing the first groove or tooth pattern on the first end of the compression seal ring with the second groove or tooth pattern on the second end face of the compression seal ring.
Brown discloses forming a first end face of the compression seal ring (comprises forming the first end face with a first groove or tooth pattern;
Forming the second end face of the compression seal ring comprises forming the second end face with a second groove or tooth pattern; and
Disposing the compression seal ring axially between the hanger housing and the top ring comprising intermeshing the first groove or tooth pattern on the first end face of the compression seal ring with the second groove or tooth pattern on the second end face of the compression seal ring (Brown: Figures 3A-3B: 22, 23, 25, 26, portions of 113a, 113b that engage one another an adjacent seal piece; geometry on one side of each seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on the other side of the second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have modified the seal profile geometry of the diagonally cut seal face of Huang with the groove/tooth pattern disclosed in the invention of Brown for the predictable and well known effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the sheal while permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims 12-28 have been considered and found persuasive, however, the amended claim set is addressed by the inventions of Huang and Brown above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The use of language directed toward the shape of the interface between the first and second seal segment being both flush and parabolic (not simply curved), when combined with the other limitations of claim 1 is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art and obvious variations thereof.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672