DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what is meant by the limitation “the interface increases a surface area of contact between the first segment and the second segment“ as it does not indicate what the increased surface area is being compared to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0062025).
Regarding Claim 1, Hoang discloses a seal (Hoang: 32) for a piece of oil and gas equipment, comprising:
A first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32);
A second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32);
A cut (Hoang: second 36) defined by a separation in the seal (Hoang: 32) between the first segment and the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32); and
An interface (Hoang: abutting faces of halves of 32) formable at the cut (Hoang: second 36) when a first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) and a second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment make contact, wherein the interface increases a surface area of contact between the first segment and the second segment (cut is diagonal, therefore increased from a perpendicular cut).
Regarding Claim 2, Hoang discloses the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 1, wherein the first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32) comprises one or more fastener apertures (Hoang: holes in 32 for 34), and wherein the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32) comprises one or more fastener apertures (Hoang: holes in 32 for 34).
Regarding Claim 12, Hoang discloses a casing hanger assembly, comprising:
A casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) housing having a bore extending along a casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) axis;
One or more top plates (Hoang: 28) axially aligned with the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) housing along the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) axis;
One or more bottom plates (Hoang: 48) axially aligned with the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) housing along the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) axis;
A seal (Hoang: 32) axially aligned with the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) housing along the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) axis and positioned between the one or more top plates (Hoang: 28) and the one or more bottom plates (Hoang: 48), the seal (Hoang: 32) comprising:
A first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32);
A second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32);
A cut (Hoang: second 36) defined by a separation in the seal (Hoang: 32) between the first segment and the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32); and
An interface (Hoang: abutting faces of halves of 32) formable at the cut (Hoang: second 36) when a first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment and a second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment make contact, wherein the interface (Hoang: abutting faces of halves of 32) increases a surface area of contact between the first segment and the second segment (cut is diagonal); and
One or more fasteners (Hoang: 34) configured to secure the seal (Hoang: 32) between the one or more top plates (Hoang: 28) and the one or more bottom plates (Hoang: 48).
Regarding Claim 13, Hoang discloses the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) assembly of claim 12, wherein the first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32) comprises one or more fastener apertures (Hoang: holes in 32 for 34), and wherein the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32) comprises one or more fastener apertures (Hoang: holes in 32 for 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang in view of Brown (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0156219).
Regarding Claim 3, Hoang discloses the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment comprises one or more recesses, and wherein the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment comprises one or more protrusions, the one or more protrusions configured to fit at least partially within the one or more recesses.
Brown discloses a seal wherein a first face of a first segment of a seal comprises one or more recesses and wherein a second face of a second segment comprises one or more protrusions the one or more protrusions configured to fit at least partially within the one or more recesses (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, portions of 113a, 113b that engage one another on and adjacent seal piece; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have modified the seal profile geometry of the diagonally cut seal face of Huang with the diagonally cut seal surface disclosed in the invention of Brown for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 4, Hoang discloses the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment comprises one or more first grooves, and wherein the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment comprises one or more second grooves, the one or more first grooves of the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) configured to intermesh with the one or more second grooves of the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32).
Brown discloses a first face of a first seal segment comprising one or more first grooves and a second face of a second segment comprising one or more grooves with the first and second grooves configured to intermesh (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 5, Hoang discloses the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the interface comprises one or more interface members positioned between the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment and the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment.
Brown discloses an interface comprising one or more interface members positioned between a first face of a first seal segment and a second face of a second seal segment (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 7, Hoang discloses the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 1, but does not disclose where the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment comprises one or more first teeth, and wherein the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment comprises one or more second teeth, the first teeth of the first segment configured to intermesh with the second teeth of the second segment.
Brown discloses a first face of a first segment comprising one or more teeth and a second face of a second segment comprising one or more teeth, the first and second sets of teeth being configured to intermesh (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 8, Hoang discloses the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment comprises a first angled surface and a second angled surface, the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment comprises a third angled surface and a fourth angled surface, the first angled surface is configured to make contact with the third angled surface, and the second angled surface is configured to be flush with the fourth angled surface.
Brown discloses a first face of a first seal surface having a first and second angled surface and a second face of a second seal surface having a third and fourth angled surface, the first seal surface and second seal surface being configured to be flush with their relative angled surfaces (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 9, Hoang and Brown render obvious the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 8, wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment further comprises a first flat surface positioned between the first angled surface and the second angled surface, the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment further comprises a second flat surface positioned between the third angled surface and the fourth angled surface, and the first flat surface is configured to be flush with the second flat surface (Brown: Figure 3A, B: multiple angled surfaces around 113a and 113b).
Regarding Claim 10, Hoang and Brown render obvious the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 9, wherein the first angled surface and the third angled surface are adjacent to a top of the first segment and the second segment, and the second angled surface and the fourth angled surface are adjacent to a bottom of the first segment and the second segment (Brown: Figure 3A, B: multiple angled surfaces around 113a and 113b).
Regarding Claim 11, Hoang and Brown render obvious the seal (Hoang: 32) of claim 9, wherein the first angled surface and the second angled surface are adjacent to first external sides of the first segment, and the third angled surface and the fourth angled surface are adjacent to second external sides of the second segment (Brown: Figure 3A, B: multiple angled surfaces around 113a and 113b).
Regarding Claim 14, Hoang discloses the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) assembly of claim 12, but does not disclose wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32) comprises one or more recesses, and wherein the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32) comprises one or more protrusions, the one or more protrusions configured to fit at least partially within the one or more recesses.
Brown discloses a seal wherein a first face of a first segment of a seal comprises one or more recesses and wherein a second face of a second segment comprises one or more protrusions the one or mor protrusions configured to fit at least partially within the one or more recesses (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 15, Hoang discloses the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) assembly of claim 12, but does not disclose wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32) comprises one or more first grooves, and wherein the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32) comprises one or more second grooves, the one or more first grooves of the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) configured to intermesh with the one or more second grooves of the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32).
Brown discloses a first face of a first seal segment comprising one or more first grooves and a second face of a second segment comprising one or more grooves with the first and second grooves configured to intermesh (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 16, Hoang discloses the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) assembly of claim 12, but does not disclose wherein the interface (Hoang: abutting faces of halves of 32) of the seal (Hoang: 32) comprises one or more interface members positioned between the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32) and the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32).
Brown discloses an interface comprising one or more interface members positioned between a first face of a first seal segment and a second face of a second seal segment (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 18, Hoang discloses the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) assembly of claim 12, but does not disclose where the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment of the seal (Hoang: first half of 32) comprises one or more first teeth, and wherein the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment of the seal (Hoang: second half of 32) comprises one or more second teeth, the first teeth of the first segment configured to intermesh with the second teeth of the second segment.
Brown discloses a first face of a first segment comprising one or more teeth and a second face of a second segment comprising one or more teeth, the first and second sets of teeth being configured to intermesh (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 19, Hoang discloses the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) assembly of claim 12, but does not disclose wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment comprises a first angled surface and a second angled surface, the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment comprises a third angled surface and a fourth angled surface, the first angled surface is configured to make contact with the third angled surface, and the second angled surface is configured to be flush with the fourth angled surface.
Brown discloses a first face of a first seal surface having a first and second angled surface and a second face of a second seal surface having a third and fourth angled surface, the first seal surface and second seal surface being configured to be flush with their relative angled surfaces (Brown: Figures 3A-4B: 22, 23, 25, 26, 113a, 113b; geometry on one side of seal piece designed to interlock with geometry on other side of second piece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have utilized the seal profile geometry of Brown in the invention of Huang for the predictable effect of resisting circumferential and/or radial separation of the elements of the seal but while still permitting relative sliding motions in intended directions as disclosed by the invention of Brown (Brown: Paragraph [0130]).
Regarding Claim 20, Hoang and Brown render obvious the casing hanger (Hoang: Paragraph [0005]) assembly of claim 19, wherein the first face (Hoang: surface of first half of 32 abutting second half or 32) of the first segment further comprises a first flat surface positioned between the first angled surface and the second angled surface, the second face (Hoang: surface of second half of 32 abutting first half or 32) of the second segment further comprises a second flat surface positioned between the third angled surface and the fourth angled surface, and the first flat surface is configured to be flush with the second flat surface (Brown: Figure 3A, B: multiple angled surfaces around 113a and 113b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The use of language directed toward the shape of the interface between the first face of the first seal segment and the second face of the second seal segment being both flush and parabolic (not simply curved), specifically “the first face of the first segment comprises a parabolic shape, and wherein the second face of the second segment comprises a parabolic shape, the first face configured to be flush with the second face”, when combined with the other limitations of claims 6 and 17, is sufficient to distinguish the applicant’s invention from prior art and it would not be obvious to modify the seal face to specifically be parabolic in shape.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2683046 (Pipe hanger and seal assembly), US 20240209713 (SPLIT HANGER TUBING HANGER), US 20030042027 (Hanger assembly), US 20240309716 (COMPLIANT COMPRESSION PLATE FOR A SLIP HANGER OR PACKOFF), US 20210238945 (CONTAINMENT SYSTEMS FOR SEALING A PASS-THROUGH IN A WELL, AND METHODS THEREFORE), US 8307891 (Retractable downhole backup assembly for circumferential seal support), US 12241329 (Automatic slip-style casing hanger for use with surface wellheads), US 5342066 (Non-extrusion device for split annular casing/tubing hanger compression seals).
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Nicole Coy/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672