DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action corresponds to application 19/246,296 which was filed on 6/23/2025 and is a CON of 18/622,390 filed 3/29/2024 which is a CON of 14/980,939 filed 12/28/2015. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Savage et al. (US2014/0258972), hereinafter Savage.
Regarding Claim 1:
Savage teaches:
A method comprising:
sending to a content management system, a request for an embed code, wherein the embed code allows a user account associated with the content management system to publish a content item associated with the content management system on a web page hosted on a third-party server distinct from the content management system (Savage, figure 7, [0015, 0033, 0037, 0082], note receiving a request identifying a target content and generating code which corresponds to a software widget that enables access to, e.g., publishes, the target content, which is interpreted as a request for an embed code; note web pages on third-party servers may use the embedded widget code);
receiving, from the content management system, the embed code (Savage, figures 5A-5B and 7, [0033, 0037, 0058-0067], note receiving a request identifying a target content, generating code which corresponds to a software widget, and receiving/embedding code into a third party webpage);
providing for display a preview of the content item based on the embed code (Savage, figures 5A-5C and 7, [0027, 0037, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note option to preview the software widget; note the widget may allow user to preview the content item);
receiving an indication of a selected option associated with the content item, wherein the selected option includes at least updating access permissions associated with the content item (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0028, 0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note setting permissions for content items; note permission may be set for the workspace or individually on a per item basis; note permission control module in the widget generation engine; note customization of the widget include adjusting permission levels);
creating an updated embed code by dynamically updating the embed code to reflect the selected option (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0028, 0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note setting permissions for content items; note permission may be set for the workspace or individually on a per item basis; note permission control module in the widget generation engine; note customization of the widget include adjusting permission levels; note generating the embedded code after customizing the widget);
receiving, from the content management system, an updated embed code, wherein the updated embed code is updated to reflect the selected option (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note setting permissions for content items; note permission may be set for the workspace or individually on a per item basis; note permission control module in the widget generation engine; note customization of the widget include adjusting permission levels; note generating the embedded code after customizing the widget; note the user may receive the updated code after customization, e.g., copying code to clipboard); and
providing for display of the updated embed code (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note generating and providing the updated embed code; note displaying the code and the updated widget).
Regarding Claim 2:
Savage shows the method as disclosed above;
Savage further teaches:
wherein the selected option also includes allowing a second user account to access the content item (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0028, 0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note setting permissions for content items; note permission may be set for the workspace or individually on a per item basis; note permission control module in the widget generation engine; note customization of the widget include adjusting permission levels; note permission levels allow access for other users; note allow sharing option would also allow a second user to access the content item).
Regarding Claim 3:
Savage shows the method as disclosed above;
Savage further teaches:
receiving an indication that the user account copied the updated embed code (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note customization of the widget include adjusting permission levels; note generating the embedded code after customizing the widget; note the user may receive the updated code after customization, e.g., copying code to clipboard; note the prompt with an option to “copy to clipboard” for the updated embedded code, when the user selects the “copy to clipboard” option it is interpreted as an indication that the user account copied the updated code); and
inserting the updated embed code into the web page (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note customization of the widget include adjusting permission levels; note generating the embedded code after customizing the widget; note the user may receive the updated code after customization, e.g., copying code to clipboard, and insert it into the web page).
Regarding Claim 4:
Savage shows the method as disclosed above;
Savage further teaches:
generating an updated preview based on the updated embed code (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note option to preview the widget which generates and displays an updated preview based on the updated embedded code); and
providing for display of the updated preview (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note option to preview the widget which generates and displays an updated preview based on the updated embedded code).
Regarding Claim 5:
Savage shows the method as disclosed above;
Savage further teaches:
receiving an indication of a selected second option associated with the content item (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0028, 0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note customizing the widget include selecting options associated with the content item, such as allowing downloading, color, widget size, etc.); and
creating a second updated embed code by dynamically updating the updated embed code to reflect the selected second option (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0028, 0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note customizing the widget include selecting options associated with the content item, such as allowing downloading, color, widget size, etc.; note generating the embedded code after customizing the widget, which would be a second updated code when done after a first customization).
Regarding Claim 6:
Savage shows the method as disclosed above;
Savage further teaches:
wherein the access permissions prevent a first user account from modifying the content item (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0028, 0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note setting permissions for content items; note permission may be set for the workspace or individually on a per item basis; note permission control module in the widget generation engine; note customization of the widget include adjusting permission levels; note controlling users’ ability to edit/modify the item by controlling widget tool functionalities like editing the file).
Regarding Claim 7:
Savage shows the method as disclosed above;
Savage further teaches:
rendering a graphical element for selecting the selected option associated with the content item (Savage, figure 4 and 5A-5C, [0028, 0037, 0044, 0058-0067, 0072-0076], note user interfaces for selecting the options associated with the content item).
Claim 8 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1 respectively, except claim 8 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 1 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1.
Claim 9 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2 respectively, except claim 9 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 2 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 2.
Claim 10 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 7 respectively, except claim 10 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 7 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 7.
Claim 11 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4 respectively, except claim 11 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 4 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 4.
Claim 12 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 5 respectively, except claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 5 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 5.
Claim 13 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6 respectively, except claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 6 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 6.
Claim 14 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 7 respectively, except claim 14 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 7 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 7.
Claim 15 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1 respectively, except claim 15 is directed to a system with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 1 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 1.
Claim 16 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 2 respectively, except claim 16 is directed to a system with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 2 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 2.
Claim 17 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 3 respectively, except claim 17 is directed to a system with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 3 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 3.
Claim 18 discloses substantially the same limitations as claims 5 and 3 respectively, except claim 18 is directed to a system with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claims 5 and 3 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claims 5 and 3.
Claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 6 respectively, except claim 19 is directed to a system with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 6 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 6.
Claim 20 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 4 respectively, except claim 20 is directed to a system with memory and a processor (Savage, figure 8, note processor and memory) while claim 4 is directed to a method. Therefore claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale set forth for claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (US10102388) teaches generation of webpage widgets;
/JOHN J MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2151 6/10/2026
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151