DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 13, 14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao (pub # 20220019347).
Consider claim 1. Gao teaches A method, wherein applied to an electronic device comprising
a first display screen, (Fig. 3 and paragraph 0097, second screen (3)).
and the method comprises:
displaying a control of at least one first application window at a top of the first display screen, (Figs. 3 and 5-7, virtual keys (17) at a top of the second screen (3)).
wherein the top of the first display screen is a region that is in the first display screen and that is on a side of the first display screen that is closest to a second display screen, (Fig. 3, top of second screen (3) is closest to first screen (2)).
and each of the at least one first application window is in an enabled state on the first display screen or the second display screen; (Figs. 3 and 5-7 as well as paragraph 0104, virtual keys (17) are all displayed and enabled for user input).
obtaining a first operation through the control of the at least one first application window; (See at least paragraph 0104, Users can type the virtual keys (17) for input).
and determining a second operation for the first application window in response to the first operation. (paragraph 0012, Pressing one virtual key will change the touchpad working status between catch mode and translate mode. Pressing another virtual key can choose the language.).
Consider claim 17. Gao teaches An apparatus, (abstract). comprising:
a display (Fig. 3 and paragraph 0097, second screen (3)).
configured to display a control of at least one first application window at a top of a first display screen, (Figs. 3 and 5-7, virtual keys (17) at a top of the second screen (3)).
wherein the top of the first display screen is a region that is in the first display screen and that is on a side of the first display screen that is closest to a second display screen, (Fig. 3, top of second screen (3) is closest to first screen (2)).
and each of the at least one first application window is in an enabled state on the first display screen or the second display screen; (Figs. 3 and 5-7 as well as paragraph 0104, virtual keys (17) are all displayed and enabled for user input).
at least one non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory storage, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: (paragraph 0016, local device storage).
obtain a first operation through the control of the at least one first application window; (See at least paragraph 0104, Users can type the virtual keys (17) for input).
and determine a second operation for the at least one first application window in response to the first operation. (paragraph 0012, Pressing one virtual key will change the touchpad working status between catch mode and translate mode. Pressing another virtual key can choose the language.).
Consider claim 18. Gao teaches An electronic device, (abstract). comprising:
at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium which contains computer-executable instructions, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to perform: (paragraph 0015, the display on two screens can be processed by separate core of multi-core CPU/GPU.).
displaying a control of at least one first application window at a top of a first display screen, (Figs. 3 and 5-7, virtual keys (17) at a top of the second screen (3)).
wherein the top of the first display screen is a region that is in the first display screen and that is on a side of the first display screen that is closest to a second display screen, (Fig. 3, top of second screen (3) is closest to first screen (2)).
and each of the at least one first application window is in an enabled state on the first display screen or the second display screen; (Figs. 3 and 5-7 as well as paragraph 0104, virtual keys (17) are all displayed and enabled for user input).
obtaining a first operation by using the control of the at least one first application window; (See at least paragraph 0104, Users can type the virtual keys (17) for input).
and determining a second operation for the first application window in response to the first operation. (paragraph 0012, Pressing one virtual key will change the touchpad working status between catch mode and translate mode. Pressing another virtual key can choose the language.).
Consider claim 19. Gao teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium which contains computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a processor, enables a first network device to perform: (paragraph 0016, local device storage).
displaying a control of at least one first application window at a top of a first display screen, (Figs. 3 and 5-7, virtual keys (17) at a top of the second screen (3)).
wherein the top of the first display screen is a region that is in the first display screen and that is on a side of the first display screen that is closest to a second display screen, (Fig. 3, top of second screen (3) is closest to first screen (2)).
and each of the at least one first application window is in an enabled state on the first display screen or the second display screen; (Figs. 3 and 5-7 as well as paragraph 0104, virtual keys (17) are all displayed and enabled for user input).
and obtaining a first operation through the control of the at least one first application window; (See at least paragraph 0104, Users can type the virtual keys (17) for input).
and determining a second operation for the at least one first application window in response to the first operation. (paragraph 0012, Pressing one virtual key will change the touchpad working status between catch mode and translate mode. Pressing another virtual key can choose the language.).
Consider claim 2. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein when the control of the at least one first application window and an input control are displayed on the first display screen, (Figs. 3 and 5-7 as well as paragraph 0102, virtual mouse pad (19) displayed along with virtual keys (17)).
the control of the at least one first application window is located on an upper side of the input control, (Figs. 3 and 5-7, virtual keys (17) located on an upper side of the virtual mouse pad 19).
and the input control comprises a keyboard or a touchpad. (Paragraph 0102, virtual mouse pad 19).
Consider claim 3. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein: a factor triggering adjustment of an area occupied by the control of the at least one first application window comprises: the input control is switched between a first display mode and a second display mode; (paragraph 0009, the new device has two working mode for laptop and PC. In first mode, the touch screen is implemented as a virtual keyboard with the similar size of regular keyboard. The virtual keyboard has a virtual mouse touchpad and a handwriting pad. Users can input contents with keys and handwriting by stylus or digital pen interchangeably. Virtual keys need less pressing power than the physical. In second mode, the touch screen is used as a tablet. Users can read/write documents through the touch screen and read documents displayed on the regular screen. The tablet mode and laptop/PC mode can run interchangeably with the virtual keyboard being turned on/off.).
and both the keyboard and the touchpad are displayed in the first display mode, with the touchpad on an upper side or a lower side of the keyboard, (Figs. 5-7, virtual mouse pad (19) below virtual keys (17)).
and the second display mode comprises: displaying a thumbnail of the touchpad and the keyboard; displaying a thumbnail of the keyboard and the touchpad; or displaying both the keyboard and the touchpad, with the touchpad on a left side or a right side of the keyboard. (Fig. 15 and paragraph 0105, when device is a PC, second mode, thumbnails of virtual keys (17) are displayed above and to the left of virtual mouse pad (19)).
Consider claim 4. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein a mode of displaying the input control on the first display screen comprises: displaying a thumbnail of the touchpad and the keyboard; displaying a thumbnail of the keyboard and the touchpad; or displaying the thumbnail of the touchpad and the thumbnail of the keyboard. (Figs. 5-7 and claim 12, a virtual key with word “keys” (18) for changing layout of said regular size virtual keyboard between layout (23), (28) and (29), thus a thumbnail).
Consider claim 5. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein a mode of displaying the input control on the first display screen comprises: displaying both the keyboard and the touchpad, with the touchpad on a left side or a right side of the keyboard; or displaying both the keyboard and the touchpad, with the touchpad on an upper side or a lower side of the keyboard. (Figs. 5-7).
Consider claim 6. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein when the control of the at least one first application window is in a first displayed state, the control of the first application window comprises a thumbnail of the first application window or a first icon of an application program corresponding to the first application window. (Figs. 5-7 and claim 12, a virtual key with word “keys” (18) for changing layout of said regular size virtual keyboard between layout (23), (28) and (29), thus a thumbnail).
Consider claim 7. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 6, wherein: when the control of the at least one first application window is in a second displayed state, a second icon corresponding to the control of the at least one first application window is displayed on the first display screen, a third operation is obtained through the second icon, and the third operation switches the control of the at least one first application window from the second displayed state to the first displayed state. (Figs. 5-7 and claim 12, a virtual key with word “off” (60) for turning off and icon (8) for turning on said virtual keyboard (16) by software implementation).
Consider claim 8. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein: when the first application window is displayed on the first display screen, the control of the first application window uses a first display manner; (Figs. 5-7, virtual keys (17) displayed on second screen 3).
and when the first application window is displayed on the second display screen, the control of the first application window uses a second display manner, wherein the first display manner is different from the second display manner. (Figs. 1 and 2, virtual keys (10) displayed on first screen (2) in a different manner than the keys (17) displayed on second screen (3)).
Consider claim 9. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein when the at least one first application window is displayed on the first display screen, a thumbnail of an input control is displayed on the first display screen, wherein the input control comprises a keyboard or a touchpad. (Figs. 5-7 and claim 12, a virtual key with word “keys” (18) for changing layout of said regular size virtual keyboard between layout (23), (28) and (29), thus a thumbnail).
Consider claim 10. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the second operation comprises: switching the first application window from being collapsed to being displayed; switching the first application window from being displayed on the first display screen to being displayed on the second display screen; switching the first application window from being displayed on the second display screen to being displayed on the first display screen; adjusting a display position of the first application window on a same display screen; or adjusting a size of the first application window. (Figs. 5-7 and claim 12, a virtual key with word “keys” (18) for changing layout of said regular size virtual keyboard between layout (23), (28) and (29), thus adjusting a display position).
Consider claim 13. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein when the first operation comprises obtaining a touch-and-hold operation and a movement gesture performed on the control of the first application window, the second operation comprises controlling the first application window to perform a movement operation corresponding to the movement gesture. (paragraph 0108, The touchable screens (1) (3) or (31) (33) support hand gesture such as swipe left, right, shrink, expand, etc.).
Consider claim 14. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein when the first operation: a double-tap operation, a dual-finger pinch operation, or a dual-finger spread operation, (paragraph 0108, The touchable screens (1) (3) or (31) (33) support hand gesture such as swipe left, right, shrink, expand, etc.).
the second operation comprises controlling the first application window to switch from a first display manner to a second display manner different from the first display manner, wherein the first display manner and the second display manner comprises: displaying the first application window in a maximized manner on a current display screen, wherein the current display screen is a display screen that displays the first application window before the first operation is obtained; displaying the first application window in a maximized manner on two display screens of the electronic device; or displaying the first application window in a third display manner, wherein the third display manner is a display manner of the first application window before the first operation is obtained. (Figs. 5-7 and claim 12, a virtual key with word “keys” (18) for changing layout of said regular size virtual keyboard between layout (23), (28) and (29), layouts (23), (28), and (29) are three different manners of displaying the virtual keys (17)).
Consider claim 16. Gao further teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein when a desktop of the electronic device is displayed in a maximized manner on two display screens of the electronic device, and the control of the at least one first application window is displayed on the first display screen, at least one icon comprised on the desktop is located in the second display screen. (Figs. 1 and 2 as well as paragraph 0097, file icons (6) and (7)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (pub # 20220019347) in view of Bateman et al (pub # 20110296333).
Consider claim 11. Gao does not specifically disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein: when the first application window is displayed on the second display screen, and the first operation is a downward slide operation performed on the control of the first application window, the second operation is switching the first application window from being displayed on the second display screen to being displayed on the first display screen; and when the first application window is displayed on the first display screen, and the first operation is an upward slide operation performed on the control of the first application window, the second operation is switching the first application window from being displayed on the first display screen to being displayed on the second display screen. However Bateman et al in at least the abstract discloses a method and device that provides for operating system independent gestures and a virtual keyboard in a dual screen device. Paragraph 0033 specifically discloses a “Grab” gesture performed by the user for moving application windows quickly around the two displays of the dual screen device. The grab gesture involves the user first touching the screen with all five fingers and then lifting all but one finger and move said finger across the screens to move the application windows, thus a sliding operation. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systema and method of Bateman et al with the system and method of Gao in order to provide for an enhanced usability of a dual screen touch panel device using gestures (Bateman et al paragraph 0012).
Consider claim 12. Gao does not specifically disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein when the first operation is a leftward slide operation performed on the control of the first application window, the second operation is displaying the first application window in a left region of a current display screen, wherein the current display screen is a display screen that displays the first application window before the first operation is obtained; and when the first operation is a rightward slide operation performed on the control of the first application window, the second operation is displaying the first application window in a right region of the current display screen. However Bateman et al in at least the abstract discloses a method and device that provides for operating system independent gestures and a virtual keyboard in a dual screen device. Paragraph 0033 specifically discloses a “Grab” gesture performed by the user for moving application windows quickly around the two displays of the dual screen device. The grab gesture involves the user first touching the screen with all five fingers and then lifting all but one finger and move said finger across the screens to move the application windows, thus a sliding operation. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systema and method of Bateman et al with the system and method of Gao in order to provide for an enhanced usability of a dual screen touch panel device using gestures (Bateman et al paragraph 0012).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (pub # 20220019347) in view of Shin et al (pub # 20190324603).
Consider claim 15. Gao does not specifically disclose The method according to claim 1, wherein: when the first application window is displayed on the first display screen, and the first operation is a downward slide operation performed on the control of the first application window, the second operation is triggering the first application window to be displayed on the first display screen in a pinned state, and that the first application window is displayed on the first display screen in the pinned state represents that when another application window is displayed on the first display screen, the first application window is not collapsed; and when the first application window is displayed on the second display screen, and the first operation is an upward slide operation performed on the control of the first application window, the second operation is triggering the first application window to be displayed on the second display screen in a pinned state, and that the first application window is displayed on the second display screen in the pinned state represents that when another application window is displayed on the second display screen, the first application window is not collapsed. However Shin et al in at least Figs. 12A-12G and paragraphs 0148-0152 discloses a system and method of a user touching and then dragging, thus sliding, icons 1211 and 1212 from a first display area, tray 1210, to a second display area 1217. When icons 1211 and 1212 are dragged to the second display area 1217 they are enlarged and displayed in the second display area 1217, thus being pinned to the display area. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Shin et al with the system and method of Gao so as to provide a display device configured to provide a user-created shortcut icon that enables simultaneous execution of a plurality of applications, and a method for controlling the display device (Shin et al paragraph 0010).
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624