DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the radially outer surface extending obliquely outward in a direction toward the support portion and away from the axis (claim 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (US 6,572,317).
With regard to claim 1, Okada discloses a fastener (as seen in Figs. 1-3, etc.) for connecting a first component and a second component (as seen in Fig. 5 it is capable of this intended use in the preamble), comprising: a support portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 below) being substantially plate-shaped (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.); and a first connecting portion (i.e. including the side wall and sealing portions as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 below) extending substantially along an axis of the fastener (as seen in Fig. 3 and as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 below) and comprising: a side wall portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 below) extending from an edge of the support portion in a direction away from the support portion (as seen in Figgs. 3, etc.); and a sealing portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 below) extending from an outer side of the side wall portion away from the side wall portion and toward the support portion without exceeding the support portion (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.), wherein the sealing portion extends continuously in a circumferential direction of the side wall portion (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.), and wherein the sealing portion is elastic (as seen in Fig. 3, etc. as it is disclosed as made of a resin and as seen in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 3, Okada discloses that the sealing portion comprises a radially outer surface and a radially inner surface (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.), wherein the radially outer surface extends obliquely outward in a direction toward the support portion and away from the axis (as seen in Fig. 3, etc. as it is inclined in such a direction), or extends substantially parallel to the axis, and wherein the radially inner surface extends obliquely outward in a direction toward the support portion and away from the axis (as seen in Fig. 3, etc. as it is inclined in such a direction).
With regard to claim 5, Okada discloses that the side wall portion extends obliquely outward in a direction away from the support portion and away from the axis (as seen in Fig. 3, etc. as it is inclined in such a direction).
With regard to claim 6, Okada discloses a second connecting portion (including 7-9) connected to the support portion (as seen in Figs. 3, etc.) and extending substantially along the axis (as seen in Figs. 3, etc.); wherein the support portion has opposing first and second sides (i.e. the top and bottom respectively), the first connecting portion is located at the first side (as seen in Figs. 3, etc.), the second connecting portion is located at the second side (as seen in Figs. 3, etc.), and the second connecting portion is configured to cooperate with the support portion to clamp the first component and the second component (as seen in Fig. 5 it is capable of such a use/has such a configuration).
With regard to claim 8, Okada discloses a fastening assembly (as seen in Fig. 5) for fastening to a second component (P1 or P2), comprising: the fastener according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above); and a first component (the other of P1 or P2) connected to the fastener (as seen in Fig. 5) and comprising a sealing mating portion (i.e. the portion contacting the sealing portion of the fastener as seen in Fig.5), wherein the fastening assembly has a fastened state (as seen in Fig. 5) in which the sealing mating portion presses against the sealing portion to elastically deform the sealing portion (as seen in Fig. 5), thereby forming a seal between the fastener and the first component (as seen in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 9, Okada discloses a vehicle (as disclosed in the abstract, etc.), comprising the fastener according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above).
With regard to claim 10, Okada discloses a vehicle (as disclosed in the abstract, etc.), comprising the fastening assembly according to claim 8 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 8 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (US 6,572,317) alone.
With regard to claim 2, Okada discloses that the sealing portion comprises a base (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 above) connected to the sidewall portion (as seen in Fig. 3, etc.) and a distal end (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 3 above) away from the side wall portion (as seen in Figs. 3, etc.), and discloses that a thickness of the sealing portion decreases from the base toward the distal end (as seen in Fig. 3 as it at least tapers near the distal end).
Okada appears to be silent as to whether or not the decreasing thickness of the sealing portion is gradual from the base toward the distal end, and thus appears to fail to explicitly disclose such. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Okada such that the thickness of the sealing portion gradually decreases from the base toward the distal end as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with sealing lip type portion that have a thickness that gradually decreases from the base toward the distal end. Such a modification would provide the expected benefits of reduced material usage, increased flexibility of the tip portion (e.g. allowing for more deformation and conformity with the parts to be sealed) while providing a more supportive/resilient base portion thus resulting in a better seal.
With regard to claim 7, Okada discloses that the fastener is integrally formed from a resin (i.e. plastic) material (as seen in the cross-hatching and disclosed in col. 3 lines 43-45), but is silent as to whether or not it is a thermoplastic. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Okada such the material is a thermoplastic as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with such fasteners made of thermoplastics. Such a modification would provide the expected benefits of low cost, good recyclability, etc.
Additionally and/or alternatively it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Okada such the material is a thermoplastic as it has been held to be within the general skill in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Such a modification would have provided the expected benefits of low cost, good recyclability, etc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provide additional examples of such sealing fasteners.
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675