DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites “A computer readable storage medium” and the specification does not appear to limit said medium to only tangible non-transitory mediums. The specification at page 23 lines 6-14 discloses “Such an implementation may comprise a series of computer readable instructions fixed on a tangible, non-transitory medium, such as a computer readable medium, for example, diskette, CD-ROM, ROM, RAM, flash memory, or hard disk. It could also comprise a series of computer readable instructions transmittable to a computer system, via a modem or other interface device, over a tangible medium, including but not limited to optical or analogue communications lines”. Since the specification uses open ended language (may, such as, and but not limited to) to describe said medium it does not limit it to only tangible non-transitory mediums and could potentially include non-tangible transitory mediums such as carrier waves and signals which do not fall under one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " controlling the properties of one or more pixels in an array on the digital screen or the surface of the substrate to display " in claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan (pub # 20130265349).
Consider claim 1. Chan teaches A method for generating image data at a data processing system (abstract).
comprising:
determining, at a first data processor unit, that an image comprising one or more inactive pixels is required to be displayed to meet one or more desired properties of the displayed image; (paragraph 0007, When a CPSS method is implemented, the screen content may be displayed at a relatively lower resolution, such as half resolution or some other fraction of full resolution, by deactivating some of the display pixels or subpixels. The CPSS may be activated, for example, if no response (such as user input) is received for a predetermined period of time.).
providing first control data configured to cause the first or a further processor unit to generate image data which when displayed comprises the one or more inactive pixels. (paragraph 0007, When a CPSS method is implemented, the screen content may be displayed at a relatively lower resolution, such as half resolution or some other fraction of full resolution, by deactivating some of the display pixels or subpixels. The CPSS may be activated, for example, if no response (such as user input) is received for a predetermined period of time.).
Consider claim 18. Chan teaches A data processor system to provide image data for display, (abstract). the data processor system operable to:
determine that an image comprising one or more inactive pixels is required to be displayed to meet one or more desired properties of the displayed image; (paragraph 0007, When a CPSS method is implemented, the screen content may be displayed at a relatively lower resolution, such as half resolution or some other fraction of full resolution, by deactivating some of the display pixels or subpixels. The CPSS may be activated, for example, if no response (such as user input) is received for a predetermined period of time.).
providing first control data to cause a processor unit to generate image data, which when displayed comprises the one or more inactive pixels. (paragraph 0007, When a CPSS method is implemented, the screen content may be displayed at a relatively lower resolution, such as half resolution or some other fraction of full resolution, by deactivating some of the display pixels or subpixels. The CPSS may be activated, for example, if no response (such as user input) is received for a predetermined period of time.).
Consider claim 2. Chan further teaches The method of claim 1 comprising: generating, responsive to the control data, image data which, when displayed, comprises the one or more inactive pixels to meet one or more desired properties of the displayed image. (paragraph 0007, more or fewer than half of the pixels may be initially (or subsequently) switched off to achieve other partial resolution states, such as 75% resolution, 2/3 resolution, 1/3 resolution, etc.).
Consider claim 3. Chan further teaches The method of claim 2, where generating the image data for display comprises:
obtaining, from storage, previously generated image data which when displayed comprises a plurality of active pixels; (paragraph 0110, the network interface 27 can be replaced by an image source, which can store or generate image data to be sent to the processor 21. The processor 21 can control the overall operation of the display device 40. The processor 21 receives data, such as compressed image data from the network interface 27 or an image source, and processes the data into raw image data or into a format that is readily processed into raw image data).
modifying, at the first or further processor unit, the previously generated image data to generate image data which when displayed comprises the one or more active pixels and further comprises the one or more inactive pixels to meet the one or more desired properties of the displayed image. (paragraph 0007, more or fewer than half of the pixels may be initially (or subsequently) switched off to achieve other partial resolution states, such as 75% resolution, 2/3 resolution, 1/3 resolution, etc.).
Consider claim 6. Chan further teaches The method of claim 1, where the image to be displayed comprises a plurality of sub-portions, the method comprising: providing inactive pixels in one or more of the sub-portions of the image to be displayed to meet one or more desired properties of the displayed image, (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0082, In this example, the even-numbered pixels 1010a within the image 1005 are activated, whereas the odd-numbered pixels 1010b within the image 1005 have been switched off.).
wherein the inactive pixels provided in a first sub-portion of the displayed image are to control one or more first properties of the first sub-portion, or wherein inactive pixels in a second sub-portion of the displayed image are to control one or more second properties of the second sub-portion. (paragraph 0007, more or fewer than half of the pixels may be initially (or subsequently) switched off to achieve other partial resolution states, such as 75% resolution, 2/3 resolution, 1/3 resolution, etc.).
Consider claim 7. Chan further teaches The method of claim 1, where providing the inactive pixels comprises providing the inactive pixels in the image to be displayed in a pattern, or wherein a pattern of the inactive pixels in the first sub-portion is different to a pattern of the inactive pixels in the second sub-portion. (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0082, In this example, the even-numbered pixels 1010a within the image 1005 are activated, whereas the odd-numbered pixels 1010b within the image 1005 have been switched off.).
Consider claim 8. Chan further teaches The method of claim 1, where the image data comprises one or more frames to be displayed. (See at least Figs. 10A-10C, display times T0-T2).
Consider claim 9. Chan further teaches The method of claims 2 further comprising: storing the generated image data for display; (paragraph 0110, the network interface 27 can be replaced by an image source, which can store or generate image data to be sent to the processor 21.).
obtaining, by a display controller, the stored image data for display; (paragraph 0110, The processor 21 receives data, such as compressed image data from the network interface 27 or an image source, and processes the data into raw image data or into a format that is readily processed into raw image data).
controlling, by the display controller, the display of the image data at a display, or where the display comprises a digital screen or a surface of a substrate. (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0046, transparent substrate 20).
Consider claim 10. Chan further teaches The method of any of claim 8, where controlling the display of the image data comprises: controlling the properties of one or more pixels in an array on the digital screen or the surface of the substrate to display the image responsive to the image data. (paragraph 0007, more or fewer than half of the pixels may be initially (or subsequently) switched off to achieve other partial resolution states, such as 75% resolution, 2/3 resolution, 1/3 resolution, etc.).
Consider claim 12. Chan further teaches The method of claim 6, where the image data comprises one or more image frames for display, the method comprising: providing a pattern of inactive pixels in a first frame; (Fig. 10B, a first pattern of inactive pixels is displayed at a time T1).
providing a further pattern of inactive pixels in a second frame. (Fig. 10C, a second pattern of inactive pixels is displayed at time T2).
Consider claim 13. Chan further teaches The method of claim 6, where the image data comprises one or more image frames for display the method comprising: providing a pattern of inactive pixels in the first frame when a first frame is displayed; (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0082, In this example, the even-numbered pixels 1010a within the image 1005 are activated, whereas the odd-numbered pixels 1010b within the image 1005 have been switched off).
replacing the pattern of inactive pixels with a further pattern of inactive pixels during the time that the first frame is displayed. (Fig. 10C and paragraph 0085, In this example, the odd-numbered pixels 1010b within the image 1005 are activated, whereas the even-numbered pixels 1010a within the image 1005 have been switched off.).
Consider claim 14. Chan further teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing one or more mitigation techniques to mitigate a visual effect in the displayed image responsive to the inactive pixels, or wherein performing one or more mitigation techniques comprises: setting one or more properties of a first active pixel in the image data to take account of one or more properties of the one or more inactive pixels. (Paragraph 0039, When a display element such as a pixel or subpixel is activated continuously for a long period of time, the display element may stay in the activated state even when not activated by the display control system. This effect is often referred to as "burn-in." Burn-in can adversely affect many types of displays, including but not limited to plasma displays, IMOD displays and LCDs.).
Consider claim 15. Chan further teaches The method of claim 1, where setting one or more properties of the first active pixels in the image comprises: adjusting one or more colour values of the first active pixel. (paragraph 0110, The processor 21 can send the processed data to the driver controller 29 or to the frame buffer 28 for storage. Raw data typically refers to the information that identifies the image characteristics at each location within an image. For example, such image characteristics can include color, saturation, and gray-scale level.).
Consider claim 16. Chan further teaches The method of claim 15, where adjusting one or more colour values of the first active pixel comprises: adjusting one or more colour values of the first active pixel based on colour values associated with one or more spatially related pixels that are inactive in the generated image data. (paragraph 0110, The processor 21 can send the processed data to the driver controller 29 or to the frame buffer 28 for storage. Raw data typically refers to the information that identifies the image characteristics at each location within an image. For example, such image characteristics can include color, saturation, and gray-scale level.).
Consider claim 17. Chan further teaches The method of claim 1, where the one or more desired properties of the image comprise at least one of: a desired resolution of the image and a desired brightness of the image. (paragraph 0007, When a CPSS method is implemented, the screen content may be displayed at a relatively lower resolution, such as half resolution or some other fraction of full resolution, by deactivating some of the display pixels or subpixels. The CPSS may be activated, for example, if no response (such as user input) is received for a predetermined period of time.).
Consider claim 19. Chan further teaches The data processor system of claim 18, where the data processor system comprises one of: a host processor; a graphics processor unit; a display controller unit, an image signal processor unit, video processor unit neural processor unit and a display. (Fig. 13B and paragraph 0111, processor 21).
Consider claim 20. Chan further teaches A computer readable storage medium storing computer software code which when executing on a processor performs the method of claim 1. (paragraph 0120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (pub # 20130265349) in view of Tsunashima (pub # 20140023143).
Consider claim 4. Chan does not specifically disclose The method of claim 1, where generating the image data for display comprises: rendering, at the first or further processor unit, the image data for display responsive to the control data, wherein generating the image data for display comprises: receiving, from a remote entity, a stream of encoded image data; decoding the encoded image data; processing the decoded data responsive to one or more instructions from the remote device to provide the image data for display, or wherein processing the decoded data comprises: modifying the decoded data, such that when displayed, the decoded data comprises the one or more inactive pixels to meet the one or more desired properties of the displayed image. However Tsunashima in at least paragraphs 0008-0017 discloses a method of a remote display device that receives an encoded video stream from a remote device, decodes said video stream, and displays the stream on said display. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsunashima with the method of Chan so as to enable an information processing device located in one place, e.g., one room to be operated from a digital television receiver located in another place, e.g., another room with a minimum of added software complexity, using the existing digital television receiver hardware (Tsunashima paragraph 0007).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (pub # 20130265349) in view of Raynal et al (U.S. Pat # 10,957,247).
Consider claim 5. Chan does not specifically disclose The method of claim 1, where determining that an image comprising one or more inactive pixels is required to be displayed comprises one or more of: receiving an indication from a data processor unit of the data processor system that the image is to be displayed; and receiving instruction data from a remote entity, or wherein receiving the indication from the data processor unit comprises: receiving sensor data from an environment in which a display on which the image is to be displayed is located; processing, at the first or a further processor unit, the sensor data to determine whether one more inactive pixels are required to meet one or more desired properties of the displayed image. However Raynal et al in at least col. 10 line 49-col. 11 line 10 discloses modifying the luminance of at least one sub-pixel based on one or more ambient light readings collected by one or more light sensors. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Raynal et al with the method of Chan in order to improve a number of performance characteristics of a pixelated display including, but not limited to, image quality, contrast, image resolution, display brightness, and the like (Raynal et al col. 8 lines 6-9).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (pub # 20130265349) in view of Lee et al (pub # 20230306914).
Consider claim 11. Chan does not specifically disclose The method of claim 1 further comprising: generating, with a sensor, sensor data corresponding to a position on the display at which a user's gaze is fixed; generating, responsive to the sensor data, the first control data. However Lee et al in at least paragraph 0085 discloses “In some embodiments, the locations of the display regions of a foveated display panel are configured dynamically based upon a gaze direction of the user (referred to as gaze-tracked foveated rendering, or GFR), e.g., where a region of display around the gaze direction of the user (e.g., centered on a location of the display corresponding to the user's gaze) is configured to display image data at a native resolution, whereas other regions of the display are configured to display image data at lower resolutions.”, thus generating sensor data corresponding to a position on the display at which a user’s gaze is fixed and responsive to said sensor data generating first control data. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Lee et al with the method of Chan in order to provide a more accurate method of adjusting the display properties of the pixels in the display by determining which specific area the user is looking at.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624