DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al (pub # 20150261259) in view of Choi (pub # 20240155891) and further in view of Lee (pub # 20230253387).
Consider claim 1. Endo et al teaches A display device (abstract). comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 11A and paragraph 0149, substrate 803).
including a plurality of display areas, (Figs. 8A-8C and paragraph 0011, display panel has a first , second, and third portion).
and the substrate configured to be bent between the plurality of display areas; (See at least Figs. 8C and 8D, the display configured to be bent between the three display portions).
a plurality of drivers disposed on the substrate, (Figs. 11A and 11B as well as paragraph 0149, driver circuit portions 806).
a plurality of light emitting devices, (Figs. 11A and 11B as well as paragraph 0149, Light-emitting elements and transistors included in the light-emitting portion 804).
a plurality of column lines each electrically connected to a first electrode of one of the plurality of light emitting devices; (Fig. 19A, column lines Y1-Y6).
and a plurality of row lines each electrically connected to a second electrode of the one of the plurality of light emitting devices, (Fig. 19A, row lines X1-X6).
wherein the substrate includes:
a first display area among the plurality of display areas; (Fig. 8A and paragraph 011, a first portion of the display panel).
a second display area among the plurality of display areas and spaced apart from the first display area; (Fig. 8A and paragraph 011, a second portion of the display panel).
a third display area among the plurality of display areas and spaced apart from the second display area; (Fig. 8A and paragraph 011, a third portion of the display panel).
a first bending area between the first display area and the second display area; (Figs. 8A and 8C as well as paragraph 0114, rotation axis 111a of the hinge 103a).
and a second bending area between the second display area and the third display area. (Figs. 8A and 8C as well as paragraph 0114, rotation axis 111b of the hinge 103b).
Endo et al does not specifically disclose and the plurality of drivers positioned in the plurality of display areas; disposed on the plurality of drivers and the plurality of light emitting devices overlapping with the plurality of drivers;. However Choi in at least paragraph 0132 does disclose a display panel 10 comprising first driver circuit DC1 and a second driver circuit DC2 arranged inside the display area DA and a display element DE3 is arranged to overlap at least one of the driver circuit DC. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driver circuits of Endo et al to be inside of the display areas and overlapped with the light emitting devices as disclosed by Choi so that a dead space conventionally occupied by the driver circuit portion or the power supply lines may be effectively reduced (Choi paragraph 0132).
Endo et al in view of Choi does not specifically disclose wherein at least one driver among the plurality of drivers includes a row driver and a column driver. wherein a first light emitting device among the plurality of light emitting devices includes a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the column driver is electrically connected to the first electrode of the first light emitting device through a first column line among the plurality of column lines, and wherein the row driver is electrically connected to the second electrode of the first light emitting device through a first row line among the plurality of row lines.
In analogous art Lee teaches wherein at least one driver among the plurality of drivers includes a row driver and a column driver (Fig. 10 and paragraphs 0151 and 0152, row driver 322 and column driver 323).
wherein a first light emitting device among the plurality of light emitting devices includes a first electrode and a second electrode, (paragraph 0166, The first semiconductor light emitting element 3311 may be configured in such a way that a first electrode is connected to the row driver 322 and a second electrode is connected to the column driver 323.).
wherein the column driver is electrically connected to the first electrode of the first light emitting device through a first column line among the plurality of column lines, (paragraph 0166, The first semiconductor light emitting element 3311 may be configured in such a way that a first electrode is connected to the row driver 322 and a second electrode is connected to the column driver 323, the second electrode can be interpreted as a first electrode).
and wherein the row driver is electrically connected to the second electrode of the first light emitting device through a first row line among the plurality of row lines. (paragraph 0166, The first semiconductor light emitting element 3311 may be configured in such a way that a first electrode is connected to the row driver 322 and a second electrode is connected to the column driver 323, the first electrode can be interpreted as a second electrode).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Lee with the invention of Endo et al in view of Choi in order to provide a display device that can easily respond to various display products using a modular interposer (Lee paragraph 0009).
Consider claim 10. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of drivers include a first driver, a second driver and a third driver, (Fig. 15A and paragraphs 0264 and 0268, scan line driver circuit 303g(1), imaging pixel driver circuit 303g(2), and imaging signal line driver circuit 303s(2)).
and wherein the plurality of row lines are electrically connected to the first driver for a display driving and the second driver for a touch driving, or the plurality of row lines are electrically connected to the third driver for a display driving and a touch driving. (Fig. 19B and paragraph 0362, detection of a sensing target is performed in all the rows and columns in one frame period.).
Consider claim 11. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of touch electrodes disposed on the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of touch electrodes is formed by combining a portion of the plurality of row lines. (Fig. 19A and paragraph 0359, electrodes 621 to which a pulse voltage is applied and electrodes 622 that sense changes in current are denoted by six wirings X1-X6 and Y1-Y6, respectively).
Consider claim 12. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 11, further comprising: a first touch electrode disposed in the first display area; a second touch electrode disposed spaced apart from the first touch electrode in a first direction, and the second touch electrode disposed in the second display area; and a third touch electrode disposed spaced apart from the second touch electrode in the first direction, and the third touch electrode disposed in the third display area. (Fig. 19A and paragraphs 0358 and 0359, an example of a driving method of a touch panel that is applicable to a display panel of the electronic device of one embodiment of the present invention will be described with reference to drawings, thus each of the display portions shown in Fig. 8A would have the touch electrodes shown in Fig. 19A).
Consider claim 13. Endo et al does not specifically disclose The display device of claim 12, further comprising: a first driver group overlapping with the first touch electrode, the first driver group disposed in the first display area, and the first driver group including at least one driver; a second driver group overlapping with the second touch electrode, the second driver group disposed in the second display area, and the second driver group including at least one driver; and a third driver group overlapping with the third touch electrode, the third driver group disposed in the third display area, and the third driver group including at least one driver. However Choi in at least paragraph 0132 does disclose a display panel 10 comprising first driver circuit DC1 and a second driver circuit DC2 arranged inside the display area DA and a display element DE3 is arranged to overlap at least one of the driver circuit DC. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driver circuits of Endo et al to be inside of the display areas and overlapped with the touch electrodes as disclosed by Choi so that a dead space conventionally occupied by the driver circuit portion or the power supply lines may be effectively reduced (Choi paragraph 0132).
Consider claim 14. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 13, wherein a second driver included in the second driver group is electrically connected to a first driver included in the first driver group and a third driver included in the third driver group. (Figs. 11A and 11B, driver circuit portion 806 spans across the entire light-emitting panel that is disclosed in Fig. 8A).
Consider claim 15. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 14, wherein first sensing data for the third touch electrode is transmitted from the third driver to the second driver, and wherein the first sensing data is transmitted from the second driver to the first driver. (Fig. 19B and paragraph 0362, detection of a sensing target is performed in all the rows and columns in one frame period.).
Consider claim 16. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 15, wherein the first sensing data is data shifted in the second driver and integrated with second sensing data for the second touch electrode. (Fig. 19B and paragraph 0362, detection of a sensing target is performed in all the rows and columns in one frame period.).
Consider claim 17. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 1, wherein a part of the plurality of light emitting devices is located in the first bending area and the second bending area, and wherein the first bending area and the second bending area are areas capable of displaying an image. (See at least Figs. 8A and 8C where there is no break in display panel 101 between the bending areas 111a and 111b, thus these areas are capable of displaying an image).
Consider claim 18. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 1, further comprising: a layer stack on the plurality of drivers disposed on the substrate; (Fig. 15B and paragraph 0274, The substrate 570 is a stacked body).
an optical layer disposed between the plurality of light emitting devices on the layer stack; (paragraph 0276, the sealing layer 560 also serves as a layer (hereinafter, also referred to as an optical bonding layer) that optically bonds two members (here, the substrate 570 and the substrate 510) between which the sealing layer 560 is sandwiched. The pixel circuits and the light-emitting elements (e.g., a first light-emitting element 350R) are provided between the substrate 510 and the substrate 570.).
an adhesive layer disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and the optical layer; (Fig. 17A and paragraph 0274, adhesive layer 570c).
and a cover member disposed on the adhesive layer, (Fig. 17A and paragraph 0274, flexible substrate 570b).
wherein the plurality of column lines are arranged between the layer stack and the plurality of light emitting devices, and wherein the plurality of row lines are arranged on the plurality of light emitting devices and the optical layer. (Figs. 17A and 19A).
Consider claim 21. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 1, wherein a touch driving signal is supplied to at least some of the plurality of row lines during a touch sensing period. (paragraph 0362, detection of a sensing target is performed in all the rows and columns in one frame period).
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al (pub # 20150261259) in view of Choi (pub # 20240155891) further in view of Lee (pub # 20230253387) and further in view of Kim et al (pub # 20230171902).
Consider claim 2. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first adhesive layer disposed under the substrate; (Fig. 11C and paragraph 0150, adhesive layer 841 under substrate 803).
a first bottom plate disposed under the first adhesive layer, (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0139, plate-like member 162a).
and the first bottom plate overlapping with the first display area; (Fig. 10B).
a second bottom plate disposed under the first adhesive layer, (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0139, plate-like member 162b).
and the second bottom plate overlapping with the second display area; (Fig. 10B).
a third bottom plate disposed under the first adhesive layer, (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0139, plate-like member 162c).
and the third bottom plate overlapping with the third display area; (Fig. 10B).
a first hinge portion connecting the first bottom plate and the second bottom plate, (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0127, hinge 143a).
and the first hinge portion overlapping with the first bending area; (Fig. 10B).
a second hinge portion connecting the second bottom plate and the third bottom plate, (Fig. 10B and paragraph 0127, hinge 143b).
and the second hinge portion overlapping with the second bending area; (Fig. 10B).
Endo et al in view of Choi and further in view of Lee does not specifically disclose a first frame disposed under the first bottom plate; a second frame disposed under the second bottom plate; and a second adhesive layer disposed under the third bottom plate.
In an analogous art Kim et al teaches a first frame disposed under the first bottom plate; (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0122, adhesive layer AD3 disposed under the bottom plate 250. The third adhesive layer AD3 may prevent moisture or dust from penetrating into the display device 1, thus a frame).
a second frame disposed under the second bottom plate; (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0122, adhesive layer AD3 disposed under bottom plate 230).
and a second adhesive layer disposed under the third bottom plate. (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0075, second adhesive layer AD2 under the bottom plate 210).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Kim et al with the invention of Endo et al in view of Choi and further in view of Lee in order to provide a display device capable of preventing a display panel from being deformed when folded (Kim et al paragraph 0005).
Consider claim 3. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 2, wherein the first hinge portion is bent in a first rotation direction, (See at least Fig. 8C, hinge 103a bent in a first rotation direction).
wherein the second hinge portion is bent in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction, (See at least Fig. 8C, hinge 103b bent in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction).
Kim et al further teaches and wherein, after the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion are bent, a first distance from the second frame to the first frame is greater than a second distance from the second frame to the second adhesive layer. (Fig. 7, distance from bottom plate 230 to bottom plate 250 is greater than the distance from plate 230 to plate 210).
Consider claim 4. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 3, wherein, after the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion are bent, the second frame is in contact with the second adhesive layer. (Fig. 8D).
Consider claim 5. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 3, wherein, after the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion are bent, a light emitting device disposed in the first display area and the second display area, among the plurality of light emitting devices, does not emit light, and wherein an image is displayed through a light emitting device disposed in the third display area among the plurality of light emitting devices. (Fig. 8D and paragraph 0120, To use the electronic device 130 of one embodiment of the present invention, the display panel 101 may be opened as illustrated in FIG. 8A so that the entire display surface can be used as a seamless large display surface, or part of the display surface can be used in the folded state as illustrated in FIG. 8D. When the display panel 101 is folded inward, part of the display surface that is hidden from a user is put in a non-display (non-operation) state).
Consider claim 6. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 3, wherein, after the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion are bent, the third display area overlaps with the first display area and the second display area. (See at least Figs. 8C and 8D).
Consider claim 7. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 3, wherein, after the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion are bent, the third display area displays time information. (paragraph 0122, A convexly curved portion of the display surface can display notification of an incoming e-mail, SNS (social networking service), call, or the like; a subject of an e-mail, an SNS, or the like; a sender of an e-mail, an SNS, or the like; the date; the time; remaining battery; the reception strength of an antenna; and the like. Alternatively, an image having a function of an operation button, an icon, a slider, or the like may be displayed.).
Consider claim 8. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 3, wherein, after the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion are bent, a first driver among the plurality of drivers detects a touch operation occurring in the third display area during a touch sensing period. (paragraph 0362, detection of a sensing target is performed in all the rows and columns in one frame period).
Consider claim 9. Endo et al further teaches The display device of claim 8, wherein, after the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion are bent, the first driver supplies a touch driving signal to a row line located in the third display area among the plurality of row lines during the touch sensing period. (paragraph 0362, detection of a sensing target is performed in all the rows and columns in one frame period).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 19. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious “The display device of claim 18, wherein the layer stack includes: a side protection layer disposed on each side of the plurality of drivers; an upper protection layer disposed on the plurality of drivers and the side protection layer; a plurality of insulating layers disposed on the upper protection layer; and a bank disposed on the plurality of insulating layers, wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices is disposed on the bank and each of the plurality of light emitting devices is disposed in an opening of the optical layer, wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of column lines extends onto the bank on the plurality of insulating layers, wherein each of the plurality of row lines is arranged on the optical layer and the plurality of light emitting devices, wherein the first electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices is electrically connected to at least a portion of a column line extending onto the bank among the plurality of column lines, and wherein the second electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices is electrically connected to one row line among the plurality of row lines.”
Claim 20 is objected to due to its dependency from claim 19.
Claim 22 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider claim 22. Endo et al teaches A display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 11A and paragraph 0149, substrate 803).
a plurality of drivers disposed on the substrate, and the plurality of drivers positioned in the plurality of display areas; (Figs. 11A and 11B as well as paragraph 0149, driver circuit portions 806).
including a plurality of display areas, (Figs. 8A-8C and paragraph 0011, display panel has a first , second, and third portion).
and the substrate configured to be bent between the plurality of display areas; (See at least Figs. 8C and 8D, the display configured to be bent between the three display portions).
a plurality of light emitting devices (Figs. 11A and 11B as well as paragraph 0149, Light-emitting elements and transistors included in the light-emitting portion 804).
a plurality of column lines electrically connected to a first electrode of one of the plurality of light emitting devices; (Fig. 19A, column lines Y1-Y6).
and a plurality of row lines each electrically connected to a second electrode of one of the the plurality of light emitting devices, (Fig. 19A, row lines X1-X6).
and wherein the substrate includes:
a first display area among the plurality of display areas; (Fig. 8A and paragraph 011, a first portion of the display panel).
a second display area among the plurality of display areas and spaced apart from the first display area; (Fig. 8A and paragraph 011, a second portion of the display panel).
a third display area among the plurality of display areas and spaced apart from the second display area; (Fig. 8A and paragraph 011, a third portion of the display panel).
a first bending area between the first display area and the second display area; (Figs. 8A and 8C as well as paragraph 0114, rotation axis 111a of the hinge 103a).
and a second bending area between the second display area and the third display area. (Figs. 8A and 8C as well as paragraph 0114, rotation axis 111b of the hinge 103b).
Endo et al does not specifically disclose that the plurality of light-emitting devices are disposed on the plurality of drivers and the plurality of light emitting devices overlapping with the plurality of drivers. However Choi in at least paragraph 0132 does disclose a display panel 10 comprising first driver circuit DC1 and a second driver circuit DC2 arranged inside the display area DA and a display element DE3 is arranged to overlap at least one of the driver circuit DC. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driver circuits of Endo et al to be inside of the display areas and overlapped with the light emitting devices as disclosed by Choi so that a dead space conventionally occupied by the driver circuit portion or the power supply lines may be effectively reduced (Choi paragraph 0132).
However none of the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, teaches or renders obvious (in combination with all of the other limitations of the claim), and the plurality of light emitting devices overlapping with the plurality of drivers; further comprising: a layer stack on the plurality of drivers disposed on the substrate; an optical layer disposed between the plurality of light emitting devices on the layer stack; an adhesive layer disposed on the plurality of light emitting devices and the optical layer; and a cover member disposed on the adhesive layer, wherein the plurality of column lines are arranged between the layer stack and the plurality of light emitting devices, and wherein the plurality of row lines are arranged on the plurality of light emitting devices and the optical layer, wherein the layer stack includes: a side protection layer disposed on each side of the plurality of drivers; an upper protection layer disposed on the plurality of drivers and the side protection layer; a plurality of insulating layers disposed on the upper protection layer; and a bank disposed on the plurality of insulating layers, wherein each of the plurality of light emitting devices is disposed on the bank and each of the plurality of light emitting devices is disposed in an opening of the optical layer, wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of column lines extends onto the bank on the plurality of insulating layers, wherein each of the plurality of row lines is arranged on the optical layer and the plurality of light emitting devices, wherein the first electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices is electrically connected to at least a portion of a column line extending onto the bank among the plurality of column lines, and wherein the second electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting devices is electrically connected to one row line among the plurality of row lines.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624