DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 17 appears to
contain a typographical error with regard to the singular tense of the word “penetrate.” For the purpose of this office action, the limitation will be treated as if it states penetrates rather than penetrate. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 23 appears to
contain a typographical error with regard to the singular tense of the word “penetrate.” For the purpose of this office action, the limitation will be treated as if it states penetrates rather than penetrate. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 4 recites the limitation "the first silicon connection structures" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US 2012/0160311) in view of Chang et al. (US 2014/0299187).
Regarding claim 1, Ha discloses a solar cell (abstract) comprising: a substrate including a first surface and a second surface (110 in Fig. 12); a passivation contact structure formed on the first surface of the substrate (1211,1212, 1213a, 1213b in Fig. 12; [0215] discloses electrodes 141 and bus bars 142; [0224] discloses anti-reflection layer 130), including: a doped silicon layer formed on the first surface of the substrate (1211 in Fig. 12; [0051], [0134]), wherein the doped silicon layer has a plurality of protrusions arranged along a first direction (1213a in Fig. 12), and each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions extends along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (extending direction of each 1213a as depicted in Fig. 12); silicon connection structures formed at intervals along the second direction (1212 in Fig. 12), each of the silicon connection structures extending along the first direction (extension direction of 1212 in Fig. 12), wherein at least one silicon connection structure of the silicon connection structures is formed between two respective adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions and is directly connected with sidewalls of the two respective protrusions (1212 in relation to 1213a in Fig. 12); an antireflection layer formed over the doped silicon layer and the silicon connection structures ([0224]); and a plurality of finger electrodes ([0215], front electrode 141), wherein each finger electrode of the plurality of finger electrodes extends along the second direction ([0215] discloses contact of 141 with 1213a) and penetrates the antireflection layer ([0224]) to electrically connect to a respective protrusion ([0215]).
Ha does not explicitly disclose a tunneling dielectric layer formed on the first surface between the substrate and the emitter region (1211 in Fig. 12).
Chang discloses a solar cell (abstract) and further discloses a tunneling dielectric layer ([0046], [0058]) formed on a first surface of a substrate between the substrate and the emitter region (42 in relation to 110 and 20 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a tunneling dielectric layer, as disclosed by Chang, between the substrate and emitter layer in Ha, because as taught by Chang, the tunneling layer passivates the surface of the semiconductor substrate having many recombination sites and facilities [sic] (interpreted as facilitates) transfer of carriers through a tunneling effect ([0046], [0058]).
It is noted that with regard to the limitation requiring each finger electrode penetrates the antireflection layer, if the disclosure of that the antireflection layer 130 is positioned on the plurality of first highly doped region 1212 except the portions crossing the second highly doped regions 1213 in paragraph [0224] does not require each finger electrode to penetrate the antireflection layer, other embodiments depicted in Ha teach the finger electrodes 141 penetrate the antireflection layer 130 (Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the antireflection layer of Ha such that each finger electrode penetrates the antireflection layer, as depicted in Fig. 17 of Ha, because as evidenced in Fig. 17 of Ha, the configuration in which a finger electrode penetrates an antireflection layer to make contact with a protrusion portion of a doped silicon layer of a solar cell amounts to a known configuration in the art, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the antireflection layer of Ha such that each finger electrode penetrates the antireflection layer based on the teaching of Fig. 17 of Ha.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses a material of the antireflection layer includes hydrogen-containing silicon nitride (Ha – [0079]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses the silicon connection structures form an array (Ha – 1212 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Ha does not explicitly disclose in a direction perpendicular to the first surface of the substrate, a ratio of a height of one respective silicon connection structure of the silicon connection structures to a height of one respective protrusion of the plurality of protrusions ranges from 0.5 to 1.2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form a respective silicon connection structure such that a ratio of a height of the respective silicon connection structure to a height of a respective protrusion ranges from 0.5 to 1.2 because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses there is at least one finger electrode located between adjacent silicon connection structures in the first direction (Ha – 141 disclosed in [0215] in relation to 1212 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses the array includes a plurality of columns of silicon connection structures arranged along the first direction and a plurality of rows of silicon connection structures arranged along the second direction (Ha – 1212 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses along the first direction, silicon connection structures forming one respective column of the plurality of columns of silicon connection structures are unaligned with silicon connection structures forming another column of the plurality of columns of silicon connection structures adjacent to the one respective column (it is noted that the configuration of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha satisfies the limitation “unaligned” because the claim does not specify the plane and/or direction in which the respective columns are unaligned; the respective columns of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha are unaligned in specific planes and/or directions) and along the second direction, the silicon connection structures forming one respective row of the plurality of rows of silicon connection structures are unaligned with silicon connection structures forming another row of the plurality of rows of silicon connection structures adjacent to the one respective row (it is noted that the configuration of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha satisfies the limitation “unaligned” because the claim does not specify the plane and/or direction in which the respective rows are unaligned; the respective rows of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha are unaligned in specific planes and/or directions).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses at least one busbar extending along the first direction and electrically connected with the plurality of finger electrodes (Ha – [0215]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses projections of the silicon connection structures on the substrate are at least partially overlapped with a projection of the at least one busbar on the substrate (it is noted that the busbar disclosed in [0215] of Ha and 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha necessarily satisfy the limitation requiring a partial overlap of the respective projections because the claim does not specify a plane and/or direction of the projections; a partial overlap of the respective projections necessarily exists in particular planes and/or directions).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses in a direction perpendicular to the first surface of the substrate, top surfaces of the silicon connection structures are lower than with a top surface of one respective protrusion of the plurality of protrusions (Ha – top surface of 1212 in relation to top surface of 1213a).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses the plurality of silicon connection structures and the doped silicon layer are made of a same material (Ha – 1211 and 1212 in Fig. 12 are made of the same material with 1212 being a highly doped region [0050]).
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (US 2012/0160311) in view of Chang et al. (US 2014/0299187) and further in view of Hanoka (US 6,114,046).
Regarding claim 12, Ha discloses a solar cell (abstract) comprising: a substrate including a first surface and a second surface (110 in Fig. 12); a passivation contact structure formed on the first surface of the substrate (1211,1212, 1213a, 1213b in Fig. 12; [0215] discloses electrodes 141 and bus bars 142; [0224] discloses anti-reflection layer 130), including: a doped silicon layer formed on the first surface of the substrate (1211 in Fig. 12; [0051], [0134]), wherein the doped silicon layer has a plurality of protrusions arranged along a first direction (1213a in Fig. 12), and each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions extends along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (extending direction of each 1213a as depicted in Fig. 12); silicon connection structures formed at intervals along the second direction (1212 in Fig. 12), each of the silicon connection structures extending along the first direction (extension direction of 1212 in Fig. 12), wherein at least one silicon connection structure of the silicon connection structures is formed between two respective adjacent protrusions of the plurality of protrusions and is directly connected with sidewalls of the two respective protrusions (1212 in relation to 1213a in Fig. 12); an antireflection layer formed over the doped silicon layer and the silicon connection structures ([0224]); and a plurality of finger electrodes ([0215], front electrode 141), wherein each finger electrode of the plurality of finger electrodes extends along the second direction ([0215] discloses contact of 141 with 1213a) and penetrates the antireflection layer ([0224]) to electrically connect to a respective protrusion ([0215]).
Ha does not explicitly disclose a tunneling dielectric layer formed on the first surface between the substrate and the emitter region (1211 in Fig. 12).
Chang discloses a solar cell (abstract) and further discloses a tunneling dielectric layer ([0046], [0058]) formed on a first surface of a substrate between the substrate and the emitter region (42 in relation to 110 and 20 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a tunneling dielectric layer, as disclosed by Chang, between the substrate and emitter layer in Ha, because as taught by Chang, the tunneling layer passivates the surface of the semiconductor substrate having many recombination sites and facilities [sic] (interpreted as facilitates) transfer of carriers through a tunneling effect ([0046], [0058]).
It is noted that with regard to the limitation requiring each finger electrode penetrates the antireflection layer, if the disclosure of that the antireflection layer 130 is positioned on the plurality of first highly doped region 1212 except the portions crossing the second highly doped regions 1213 in paragraph [0224] does not require each finger electrode to penetrate the antireflection layer, other embodiments depicted in Ha teach the finger electrodes 141 penetrate the antireflection layer 130 (Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the antireflection layer of Ha such that each finger electrode penetrates the antireflection layer, as depicted in Fig. 17 of Ha, because as evidenced in Fig. 17 of Ha, the configuration in which a finger electrode penetrates an antireflection layer to make contact with a protrusion portion of a doped silicon layer of a solar cell amounts to a known configuration in the art, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when forming the antireflection layer of Ha such that each finger electrode penetrates the antireflection layer based on the teaching of Fig. 17 of Ha.
Modified Ha does not explicitly disclose a photovoltaic module comprising at least one cell string including a plurality of the solar cells that are electrically connected; at least one encapsulation layer configured to cover a surface of the at least one cell string; and at least one cover plate configured to cover a surface of the at least one encapsulation layer facing away from the at least one cell string.
Hanoka discloses a photovoltaic module comprising a cell string including a plurality of solar cells (Fig. 2); wherein the plurality of solar cells are electrically connected (C6/L43-44); an encapsulation layer configured to cover a surface of the cell string (10 in Fig. 2); a cover plate configured to cover a surface of the encapsulation layer facing away from the cell string (26 in Fig. 2; C6/L52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include the solar cell of modified Ha among a plurality of the solar cells in a cell string, as disclosed in Hanoka, because forming a plurality of the solar cells of modified Ha in a cell string would increase the amount of power generation. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to encapsulate the cell string of modified Ha in the manner disclosed by Hanoka, because as taught by Hanoka, transparent encapsulants protect and seal the underlying solar cells without adversely affecting the optical properties of such underlying materials (C1/L20-22).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses a material of the antireflection layer includes hydrogen-containing silicon nitride (Ha – [0079]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses the silicon connection structures form an array (Ha – 1212 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses the array includes a plurality of columns of silicon connection structures arranged along the first direction and a plurality of rows of silicon connection structures arranged along the second direction (Ha – 1212 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses along the first direction, silicon connection structures forming one respective column of the plurality of columns of silicon connection structures are unaligned with silicon connection structures forming another column of the plurality of columns of silicon connection structures adjacent to the one respective column (it is noted that the configuration of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha satisfies the limitation “unaligned” because the claim does not specify the plane and/or direction in which the respective columns are unaligned; the respective columns of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha are unaligned in specific planes and/or directions) and along the second direction, the silicon connection structures forming one respective row of the plurality of rows of silicon connection structures are unaligned with silicon connection structures forming another row of the plurality of rows of silicon connection structures adjacent to the one respective row (it is noted that the configuration of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha satisfies the limitation “unaligned” because the claim does not specify the plane and/or direction in which the respective rows are unaligned; the respective rows of 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha are unaligned in specific planes and/or directions).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While modified Ha does not explicitly disclose in a direction perpendicular to the first surface of the substrate, a ratio of a height of one respective silicon connection structure of the silicon connection structures to a height of one respective protrusion of the plurality of protrusions ranges from 0.5 to 1.2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form a respective silicon connection structure such that a ratio of a height of the respective silicon connection structure to a height of a respective protrusion ranges from 0.5 to 1.2 because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses there is at least one finger electrode located between adjacent silicon connection structures in the first direction (Ha – 141 disclosed in [0215] in relation to 1212 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses each solar cell of the plurality of solar cells further includes at least one busbar extending along the first direction and electrically connected with the plurality of finger electrodes (Ha – [0215]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ha discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ha further discloses projections of the silicon connection structures on the substrate are at least partially overlapped with a projection of the at least one busbar on the substrate (it is noted that the busbar disclosed in [0215] of Ha and 1212 in Fig. 12 of Ha necessarily satisfy the limitation requiring a partial overlap of the respective projections because the claim does not specify a plane and/or direction of the projections; a partial overlap of the respective projections necessarily exists in particular planes and/or directions).
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726