DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12 December 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Maher (US 10,718,133 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Maher discloses a bollard fence section adapted for engagement with a base member (see Fig. 9), the base member (600 in Fig. 9) including a plurality of openings (510, 512, and 560) extending downwardly from a top surface (502 in Fig. 9) of the base member, one of the openings being a square opening (560), and the remaining openings being larger than the square opening (see Fig. 9), the bollard fence section comprising:
a plurality of bollard fence sections (see Fig. 19 and Abstract for example), each bollard fence section including a plurality of bollards (104, 105, and 260 in Fig. 9), at least one (260) of the plurality of bollards being a match bollard having a square shape adapted for engagement with the square opening in the base member (see Fig. 9), each of the plurality of bollards having approximately the same size square cross section (see Fig. 9), the number of openings in the base member corresponding to the number of bollards (see Fig. 9), and the plurality of bollards being adapted for positioning in the openings in the base member (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein the openings (510, 512, and 560 in Fig. 9) in the base member (600 in Fig. 9) extend downwardly from the top surface (502 in Fig. 9) of the base member and partially into the base member (see Fig. 9), each opening has a longitudinal axis (see Fig. 9), and each longitudinal axis of each opening is generally disposed in parallel relationship to one another (see Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher (US 10,718,133 B1) in view of Adler (US 2011/0033232 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maher discloses a border wall (see Fig. 8) comprising:
a plurality of base members (600 in Fig. 9, see Fig. 19 and Abstract for example), each base member including a plurality of openings (510, 512, and 560) extending downwardly from a top surface of the base member (see Fig. 9), one of the openings being a square opening (560), and the remaining openings being larger than the square opening (see Fig. 9); and
a plurality of bollard fence sections (see Fig. 19 and Abstract for example), each bollard fence section including a plurality of bollards (104, 105, and 260 in Fig. 9), at least one (260) of the plurality of bollards being a match bollard having a square shape adapted for engagement with the square opening in a corresponding base member (see Figs. 9-10), each of the plurality of bollards having approximately the same size square cross section (see Fig. 9), the number of openings in the base members corresponding to the number of bollards (see Fig. 9), and the plurality of bollards being adapted for positioning in the openings in the base member (see Fig. 10).
Maher fails to disclose as claimed that the plurality of base members are precast concrete.
However, Adler teaches a border wall (see Fig. 4) comprising base members (144) filled with a ballast comprising concrete (see paragraph [0025]) that further accept bollards therein (see Fig. 4), in order to provide an anchor ballast that will not expand and damage the border wall structure during below freezing temperatures.
Applicant is reminded that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the border wall of Maher, with Adler, such that it comprises concrete as the ballast in the base member, in order to provide an anchor ballast that will not expand and damage the border wall structure during below freezing temperatures.
NOTE: The concrete provided in the base member as a ballast is considered precast as it is cast to the shape of the base member of Maher.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein each of the openings (510, 512, and 560 of Maher) in each base member (600 of Maher) are aligned with and equidistantly spaced from each other (see Fig. 9 of Maher).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein the openings (510, 512, and 560 of Maher) extend downwardly from the top surface (502 in Fig. 9 of Maher) of the base member (600 of Maher) and partially into the base member (see Fig. 9 of Maher), each opening has a longitudinal axis (see Fig. 9 of Maher), and each longitudinal axis of each opening is generally disposed in parallel relationship to one another (see Fig. 9 of Maher).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein the number of bollards (104, 105, and 260 in Fig. 9 of Maher) in a bollard fence section (see Fig. 9 of Maher) corresponds to the number of openings in a precast base member (510, 512, and 560 of Maher), and the spacing and alignment of the bollards correspond to the spacing and alignment of the openings (see Fig. 9 of Maher).
Regarding claim 8, Maher discloses a base member (600 in Fig. 9) adapted for engagement with a bollard fence section (see Fig. 9), the bollard fence section including a plurality of bollards (104, 105, and 260 in Fig. 9), each of the plurality of bollards having approximately the same size square cross section (see Fig. 9), the base member comprising:
a base (600 in Fig. 9) in the form of a rectangular prism (see Fig. 9) and having a top surface (502 in Fig. 9), a front side surface (509 in Fig. 9), a back side surface (511) opposite the front side surface, a left end surface (506 in Fig. 9), and a right end surface (508 in Fig. 9) opposite the left end surface (see Fig. 9); and
a plurality of openings (510, 512, and 560) extending downwardly from the top surface of the base member, one of the openings being a square opening (560), and the remaining openings being larger than the square opening (see Fig. 9),
at least one of the plurality of bollards (104, 105, and 260 in Fig. 9) being a match bollard (260) having a square shape adapted for engagement with the square opening in the base member (see Fig. 9), the number of openings in the base member corresponding to the number of bollards (see Fig. 9), and the plurality of bollards being adapted for positioning in the openings in the base member (see Fig. 9).
Maher fails to disclose as claimed that the base members is precast concrete.
However, Adler teaches a border wall (see Fig. 4) comprising base members (144) filled with a ballast comprising concrete (see paragraph [0025]) that further accept bollards therein (see Fig. 4), in order to provide an anchor ballast that will not expand and damage the border wall structure during below freezing temperatures.
Applicant is reminded that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the border wall of Maher, with Adler, such that it comprises concrete as the ballast in the base member, in order to provide an anchor ballast that will not expand and damage the border wall structure during below freezing temperatures.
NOTE: The concrete provided in the base member as a ballast is considered precast as it is cast to the shape of the base member of Maher.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein the square opening (560 of Maher) in the base (600 in Fig. 19 of Maher) is defined by a section of square tubing (see NOTE below).
NOTE: See in Column 10 lines 18-25 of Maher that the base provides a tubular pocket formed during plastic molding operation. Accordingly, the square opening is defined by a section of square molded tubing.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein each of the openings (510, 512, and 560 of Maher) in the base are aligned with and equidistantly spaced from each other (see Fig. 9 of Maher).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein the openings (510, 512, and 560 of Maher) extend downwardly from the top surface (502 in Fig. 9 of Maher) of the base (600 in Fig. 9 of Maher) and partially into the base (see Fig. 9 of Maher), each opening has a longitudinal axis (see Fig. 9 of Maher), and each longitudinal axis of each opening is generally disposed in parallel relationship to one another (see Fig. 9 of Maher).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches wherein the number of bollards (104, 105, and 260 in Fig. 9 of Maher) in the bollard fence section corresponds to the number of openings (510, 512, and 560 in Fig. 9 of Maher) in the base member, and the spacing and alignment of the bollards correspond to the spacing and alignment of the openings (see Fig. 9 of Maher).
Regarding claim 17, Maher discloses the base member (600 in Fig. 9), but fails to disclose as claimed that the base member includes an alignment notch in the first end of the base member and an alignment protrusion in the second end of the base member.
However, Nolte teaches each base member includes an alignment notch (73) in a first end of the base member and an alignment protrusion (23, 25 in Fig. 2) in a second end of the base member (see Figs. 1-2), in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base member of Maher, with Adler, such that it comprises the alignment notches and protrusions of Nolte, in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Regarding claim 18, Maher discloses the base member (600 in Fig. 9), but fails to disclose as claimed that the base member includes a first connector at the first end of the base member and a second connector at the second end of the base member, each connector including an aperture.
However, Nolte teaches each base member includes a first connector (23, 24 in Fig. 2) at a first end of the base member and a second connector (23, 25 in Fig. 2) at a second end of the base member (see Fig. 2), each connector including an aperture (31, 33), in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base member of Maher, with Adler, such that it comprises the first and second connectors of Nolte, in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maher (US 10,718,133 B1) and Adler (US 2011/0033232 A1), as applied in claims 1 and 8, and further in view of Nolte (US 7,144,186 B1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches base members (600 of Maher), but fails to teach as claimed wherein each base member includes an alignment notch in a first end of the base member and an alignment protrusion in a second end of the base member.
However, Nolte teaches each base member includes an alignment notch (73) in a first end of the base member and an alignment protrusion (23, 25 in Fig. 2) in a second end of the base member (see Figs. 1-2), in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maher and Adler, with Nolte, such that it comprises the alignment notches and protrusions of Nolte, in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches base members (600 of Maher), but fails to teach as claimed wherein each base member includes a first connector at a first end of the base member and a second connector at a second end of the base member, each connector including an aperture.
However, Nolte teaches each base member includes a first connector (23, 24 in Fig. 2) at a first end of the base member and a second connector (23, 25 in Fig. 2) at a second end of the base member (see Fig. 2), each connector including an aperture (31, 33), in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maher and Adler, with Nolte, such that it comprises the first and second connectors of Nolte, in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches base members (600 of Maher), but fails to teach as claimed wherein each base includes an alignment notch in the first end of the base and an alignment protrusion in the second end of the base.
However, Nolte teaches each base member includes an alignment notch (73) in a first end of the base member and an alignment protrusion (23, 25 in Fig. 2) in a second end of the base member (see Figs. 1-2), in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maher and Adler, with Nolte, such that it comprises the alignment notches and protrusions of Nolte, in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches base members (600 of Maher), but fails to teach as claimed wherein each base includes a first connector at the first end of the base and a second connector at the second end of the base, each connector including an aperture, a first connector on a first base being adapted for engagement with a second connector on a second base.
However, Nolte teaches each base member includes a first connector (23, 24 in Fig. 2) at a first end of the base member and a second connector (23, 25 in Fig. 2) at a second end of the base member (see Fig. 2), each connector including an aperture (31, 33), and a first connector on a first base being adapted for engagement with a second connector on a second base (see Figs. 4-5), in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Maher and Adler, with Nolte, such that it comprises the first and second connectors of Nolte, in order to provide a means for multiple base members to be attached to withstand greater forces than capable by a single base member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches each of the openings (510, 512, and 560 in Fig. 9 of Maher) in the base members (600 in Fig. 9 of Maher), but fails to teach as claimed that each of the openings other than the square openings is defined by a section of cylindrical tubing. Maher teaches that each of the openings to accept a bollard are formed during a molding process, however, nothing is mentioned with regard to a cylindrical hole for a square bollard.
Prior art Gibbs (US 2004/0156680 A1) teaches a barrier member comprising a base member for receiving square and rectangular posts therein, but fails to disclose as claimed that a square tube is being received in a hole defined by a cylindrical tube. Further, Dae-hwan (KR 2004/39583 Y1) teaches a post support (see Fig. 4) comprising a cylindrical sleeve for receiving a round tube (see Fig. 4). However, Dae-hwan does not teach a square tube being received in a cylindrical sleeve.
Modifying the combination of Maher and Adler such that it comprises a cylindrical sleeve receiving a square tube would require the use of hindsight as there is no obvious reason or motivation to do so. Such a modification would destroy the function and benefits of Maher. Accordingly, claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form for at least the reasons listed above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches each of the openings (510, 512, and 560 in Fig. 9 of Maher) in the base members (600 in Fig. 9 of Maher), but fails to teach as claimed that wherein each of the openings other than the square opening in the base is defined by a section of cylindrical tubing. Maher teaches that each of the openings to accept a bollard are formed during a molding process, however, nothing is mentioned with regard to a cylindrical hole for a square bollard.
Prior art Gibbs (US 2004/0156680 A1) teaches a barrier member comprising a base member for receiving square and rectangular posts therein, but fails to disclose as claimed that a square tube is being received in a hole defined by a cylindrical tube. Further, Dae-hwan (KR 2004/39583 Y1) teaches a post support (see Fig. 4) comprising a cylindrical sleeve for receiving a round tube (see Fig. 4). However, Dae-hwan does not teach a square tube being received in a cylindrical sleeve.
Modifying the combination of Maher and Adler such that it comprises a cylindrical sleeve receiving a square tube would require the use of hindsight as there is no obvious reason or motivation to do so. Such a modification would destroy the function and benefits of Maher. Accordingly, claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form for at least the reasons listed above.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Maher and Adler teaches each of the openings (510, 512, and 560 in Fig. 9 of Maher) in the base members (600 in Fig. 9 of Maher), but fails to teach as claimed wherein each of the openings in the base member other than the square opening is defined by a section of cylindrical tubing. Maher teaches that each of the openings to accept a bollard are formed during a molding process, however, nothing is mentioned with regard to a cylindrical hole for a square bollard.
Prior art Gibbs (US 2004/0156680 A1) teaches a barrier member comprising a base member for receiving square and rectangular posts therein, but fails to disclose as claimed that a square tube is being received in a hole defined by a cylindrical tube. Further, Dae-hwan (KR 2004/39583 Y1) teaches a post support (see Fig. 4) comprising a cylindrical sleeve for receiving a round tube (see Fig. 4). However, Dae-hwan does not teach a square tube being received in a cylindrical sleeve.
Modifying the combination of Maher and Adler such that it comprises a cylindrical sleeve receiving a square tube would require the use of hindsight as there is no obvious reason or motivation to do so. Such a modification would destroy the function and benefits of Maher. Accordingly, claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form for at least the reasons listed above.
Conclusion
/ZAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678