DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103a as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US Pub: 2023/0409114 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub: 2025/0265912 A1).
As to claim 1, Sun teaches a method for providing thermal haptic feedback in a virtual or augmented reality using a wearable device comprising a series of thermoelectric modules (i.e. as seen in figures 1-3 embodiment, Sun demonstrates a series of 202 ring device worn by the user in figure 2A and 2B embodiment that is a user wearable augmented reality feedback system which provides thermos-feedback) (see Fig. 1-3, [0045-0046]), the method comprising:
obtaining virtual environment data describing a virtual object and material properties of the virtual object (i.e. as seen in figure 26 embodiment Sun uses infrared sensor teach detect temperature property of an object for the user) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
obtaining real-world thermal input data from a real-world environment (i.e. Sun teaches detect the real world thermal input data of a hot cup from a real-world environment and a room temperature apple ) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
calculating a temperature profile for the virtual object by simulating heat conduction using a plurality of contact points and the material properties, wherein the plurality of contact points are identified based on the virtual environment data (i.e. as seen in figure 26 the system of Sun is able to calculate a temperature profile for the hot coffee cup in real space in the hand of the first user and based on the five channels from the TENG sensor in the ring to extract property with machine learning and reconstruct the contact point to create the user interaction of the hot cup based on the virtual environment data) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
processing the real-world thermal input data and the temperature profile to assign temperature setpoints to one or more thermoelectric modules in the series of thermoelectric modules (i.e. as seen in figure 1-3 and 26 the reconstruction of the hot cup of coffee with the five ring system of heating element haptic system allow for the second user to experience the temperature of the first user’s cup with the five thermos-modules in the ring) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0046, 0108]); and
generating thermal sensations by actuating the one or more thermoelectric modules (i.e. the virtual environment of Sun recreate the hot cup or room temperature apple based on the haptic feedback system) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0046, 0108]).
However Sun do not explicitly teach a grid of thermos modules (i.e. Sun only teaches a plurality of modules in the form of a user worn rings for each of the finger of the user to wear) (see Fig. 1-3, [0045-0046]).
Lee teaches a grid of thermos modules (i.e. as seen in figure 1-2 Lee uses a grid patterned haptic actuators including heading element 170 in case B) (see Fig. 1-2, [0036]).
Since both Lee and Sun teaches user wearable hand devices that create heating based haptic feedback system, they are analogous in having the same field of applications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the accepted filing data of the current application to have used the grid pattern haptic feedback system with a three by three grid of Fig. 2 case B of Lee, in order to further expand the system of Sun to more precise output with sequential control with orientation and timing based interactions (see Lee, [0005-0006]).
As to claim 8, Sun teaches a thermal haptic feedback system for virtual or augmented reality applications (i.e. as seen in figures 1-3 embodiment, Sun demonstrates a series of 202 ring device worn by the user in figure 2A and 2B embodiment that is a user wearable augmented reality feedback system which provides thermos-feedback) (see Fig. 1-3, [0045-0046]), comprising:
a wearable device comprising a series of thermoelectric modules (i.e. as seen in figure 1-3 and 26 the reconstruction of the hot cup of coffee with the five ring system of heating element haptic system allow for the second user to experience the temperature of the first user’s cup with the five thermos-modules in the ring) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0046, 0108]);
a virtual environment interface configured to obtain virtual environment data describing a virtual object and material properties of the virtual object (i.e. as seen in figure 26 embodiment Sun uses infrared sensor teach detect temperature property of an object for the user) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
one or more thermal sensors configured to obtain real-world thermal input data from a real- world environment (i.e. Sun teaches detect the real world thermal input data of a hot cup from a real-world environment and a room temperature apple ) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
a processing unit configured to:
calculate a temperature profile for the virtual object by simulating heat conduction using a plurality of contact points and the material properties, wherein the plurality of contact points are identified based on the virtual environment data (i.e. as seen in figure 26 the system of Sun is able to calculate a temperature profile for the hot coffee cup in real space in the hand of the first user and based on the five channels from the TENG sensor in the ring to extract property with machine learning and reconstruct the contact point to create the user interaction of the hot cup based on the virtual environment data) (see Fig. 26, [0108]); and
process the real-world thermal input data and the temperature profile to assign temperature setpoints to one or more thermoelectric modules in the series (i.e. as seen in figure 1-3 and 26 the reconstruction of the hot cup of coffee with the five ring system of heating element haptic system allow for the second user to experience the temperature of the first user’s cup with the five thermos-modules in the ring) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0046, 0108]); and
a thermal control unit configured to generate thermal sensations by actuating the one or more thermoelectric modules according to the assigned temperature setpoints (i.e. the virtual environment of Sun recreate the hot cup or room temperature apple based on the haptic feedback system) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0046, 0108]).
However Sun do not explicitly teach a grid of thermos modules (i.e. Sun only teaches a plurality of modules in the form of a user worn rings for each of the finger of the user to wear) (see Fig. 1-3, [0045-0046]).
Lee teaches a grid of thermos modules (i.e. as seen in figure 1-2 Lee uses a grid patterned haptic actuators including heading element 170 in case B) (see Fig. 1-2, [0036]).
Since both Lee and Sun teaches user wearable hand devices that create heating based haptic feedback system, they are analogous in having the same field of applications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the accepted filing data of the current application to have used the grid pattern haptic feedback system with a three by three grid of Fig. 2 case B of Lee, in order to further expand the system of Sun to more precise output with sequential control with orientation and timing based interactions (see Lee, [0005-0006]).
As to claim 15, Sun teaches an apparatus for simulating thermal haptic feedback in a virtual or augmented reality environment (i.e. as seen in figures 1-3 embodiment, Sun demonstrates a series of 202 ring device worn by the user in figure 2A and 2B embodiment that is a user wearable augmented reality feedback system which provides thermos-feedback) (see Fig. 1-3, [0045-0046]), the apparatus comprising: an electronic processor; and
a memory storing instructions, the instructions when executed by the electronic processor (i.e. the virtual environment processing system of Sun uses a computing device as seen in figure 2C) (see Fig. 2C, [0044]), cause the apparatus to:
obtain virtual environment data describing a virtual object and material properties of the virtual object (i.e. as seen in figure 26 embodiment Sun uses infrared sensor teach detect temperature property of an object for the user) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
obtain real-world thermal input data from a real-world environment (i.e. Sun teaches detect the real world thermal input data of a hot cup from a real-world environment and a room temperature apple ) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
calculate a temperature profile for the virtual object by simulating heat conduction using a plurality of contact points and the material properties, wherein the plurality of contact points are identified based on the virtual environment data (i.e. as seen in figure 26 the system of Sun is able to calculate a temperature profile for the hot coffee cup in real space in the hand of the first user and based on the five channels from the TENG sensor in the ring to extract property with machine learning and reconstruct the contact point to create the user interaction of the hot cup based on the virtual environment data) (see Fig. 26, [0108]);
process the real-world thermal input data and the temperature profile to assign temperature setpoints to one or more thermoelectric modules in a series of thermoelectric modules (i.e. as seen in figure 1-3 and 26 the reconstruction of the hot cup of coffee with the five ring system of heating element haptic system allow for the second user to experience the temperature of the first user’s cup with the five thermos-modules in the ring) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0046, 0108]); and
generate thermal sensations by actuating the one or more thermoelectric modules (i.e. the virtual environment of Sun recreate the hot cup or room temperature apple based on the haptic feedback system) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0046, 0108]).
However Sun do not explicitly teach a grid of thermos modules (i.e. Sun only teaches a plurality of modules in the form of a user worn rings for each of the finger of the user to wear) (see Fig. 1-3, [0045-0046]).
Lee teaches a grid of thermos modules (i.e. as seen in figure 1-2 Lee uses a grid patterned haptic actuators including heading element 170 in case B) (see Fig. 1-2, [0036]).
Since both Lee and Sun teaches user wearable hand devices that create heating based haptic feedback system, they are analogous in having the same field of applications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the accepted filing data of the current application to have used the grid pattern haptic feedback system with a three by three grid of Fig. 2 case B of Lee, in order to further expand the system of Sun to more precise output with sequential control with orientation and timing based interactions (see Lee, [0005-0006]).
As to claim 2, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the real-world thermal input data is obtained from temperature sensors positioned on contact surfaces of the thermoelectric modules, and wherein processing the real-world thermal input data comprises selectively overriding the temperature setpoints when contact with a real-world object is detected (i.e. the system of Sun when recreating the cup for the second user uses temperature sensor with infrared sensing to process real-world data of the hot coffee cup with override area of the cup as seen in figure 26) (see Fig. 26, [0108-0110]).
As to claim 3, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein calculating the temperature profile comprises simulating heat transfer by determining heat absorption on a cold side of each thermoelectric module based on material properties, applied current, and temperature conditions (i.e. Sun describe the overall system of figure 26 but uses a possible ring system of figure 1-3 which includes a built-in heating element which as implement would require a process displacement for the coffee cup temperature condition based on the heat transfer of the ring which include heat absorption on a cold side of the ring where the heating element is not touching) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0060, 0108-0109]).
As to claim 4, Sun and Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating thermal sensations comprises creating spatial- temporal thermal patterns by sequentially actuating different thermoelectric modules in the grid to simulate movement of a thermal source across a user's palm (i.e. Lee teaches the glove type of haptic feedback system which is able to implement the feedback of hot cup from the user’s palm as the glove is worn when the user hold the cup) (see Sun Fig. 1-3, 26, [0108], Lee Fig. 1-3, [0032-0034]).
As to claim 5, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising maintaining the thermoelectric modules at a baseline temperature corresponding to skin temperature using a thermal management system, wherein the temperature setpoints represent deviations from the baseline temperature (i.e. as seen in figure 26 of Sun the augmented reality system of Sun tracks the temperature of the second user’s environment with a thermal management system for a skin of the user as seen in the graphic description) (see Fig. 26, [0108-0109]).
As to claim 6, Sun and Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the grid comprises a 3x3 array of thermoelectric modules, and wherein processing the real-world thermal input data and the temperature profile comprises mapping specific contact areas of the virtual object to corresponding spatial locations in the 3x3 array (i.e. as seen in figure 2 of Lee shows the 3x3 grid of case B which shows the heating element setting for mapping the user contact area in the hand) (see Fig. 2, [0033-0034]).
As to claim 7, Sun and Lee teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wearable device is mounted on user's palm with control hardware positioned on a back of a user's hand or forearm, and wherein the method further comprises maintaining user dexterity by allowing unrestricted finger movement during thermal feedback generation (i.e. as seen in figure 1-2 of Lee the glove device shows a placement of circuitry around the entire glove which is mounted on user’s palm and position on a back of a user’s hand which allows user finger movement during thermal feedback generation) (see Fig. 1-2, [0033-0034]).
As to claim 9, Sun teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more thermal sensors comprise temperature sensors positioned on contact surfaces of the thermoelectric modules, and wherein the processing unit is configured to selectively override the temperature setpoints when the thermal sensors detect contact with a real-world object (i.e. the system of Sun when recreating the cup for the second user uses temperature sensor with infrared sensing to process real-world data of the hot coffee cup with override area of the cup as seen in figure 26) (see Fig. 26, [0108-0110]).
As to claim 10, Sun teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the processing unit is configured to calculate the temperature profile by simulating heat transfer through determining heat absorption on a cold side of each thermoelectric module based on material properties, applied current, and temperature conditions, accounting for thermal conduction losses and electrical resistance heating effects (i.e. Sun describe the overall system of figure 26 but uses a possible ring system of figure 1-3 which includes a built-in heating element which as implement would require a process displacement for the coffee cup temperature condition based on the heat transfer of the ring which include heat absorption on a cold side of the ring where the heating element is not touching) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0060, 0108-0109]).
As to claim 11, Sun teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the thermal control unit is configured to create spatial- temporal thermal patterns by sequentially actuating different thermoelectric modules in the grid to simulate movement of a thermal source across a user's palm (i.e. Lee teaches the glove type of haptic feedback system which is able to implement the feedback of hot cup from the user’s palm as the glove is worn when the user hold the cup) (see Sun Fig. 1-3, 26, [0108], Lee Fig. 1-3, [0032-0034]).
As to claim 12, Sun teaches the system of claim 8, further comprising a thermal management system configured to maintain the thermoelectric modules at a baseline temperature corresponding to skin temperature, wherein the temperature setpoints represent deviations from the baseline temperature (i.e. as seen in figure 26 of Sun the augmented reality system of Sun tracks the temperature of the second user’s environment with a thermal management system for a skin of the user as seen in the graphic description) (see Fig. 26, [0108-0109]).
As to claim 13, Sun teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the grid comprises a 3x3 array of thermoelectric modules, and wherein the processing unit is configured to map specific contact areas of the virtual object to corresponding spatial locations in the 3x3 array (i.e. as seen in figure 2 of Lee shows the 3x3 grid of case B which shows the heating element setting for mapping the user contact area in the hand) (see Fig. 2, [0033-0034]).
As to claim 14, Sun teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the wearable device comprises a flexible base configured to be mounted on a user's palm, and control hardware positioned on a back of a user's hand or forearm, the wearable device being configured to maintain user dexterity by allowing unrestricted finger movement during thermal feedback generation (i.e. as seen in figure 1-2 of Lee the glove device shows a placement of circuitry around the entire glove which is mounted on user’s palm and position on a back of a user’s hand which allows user finger movement during thermal feedback generation) (see Fig. 1-2, [0033-0034]).
As to claim 16, Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the real-world thermal input data is obtained from temperature sensors positioned on contact surfaces of the thermoelectric modules, and wherein processing the real-world thermal input data comprises selectively overriding the temperature setpoints when contact with a real-world object is detected (i.e. the system of Sun when recreating the cup for the second user uses temperature sensor with infrared sensing to process real-world data of the hot coffee cup with override area of the cup as seen in figure 26) (see Fig. 26, [0108-0110]).
As to claim 17, Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein calculating the temperature profile comprises simulating heat transfer by determining heat absorption on a cold side of each thermoelectric module based on material properties, applied current, and temperature conditions (i.e. Sun describe the overall system of figure 26 but uses a possible ring system of figure 1-3 which includes a built-in heating element which as implement would require a process displacement for the coffee cup temperature condition based on the heat transfer of the ring which include heat absorption on a cold side of the ring where the heating element is not touching) (see Fig. 1-3, 26, [0045-0060, 0108-0109]).
As to claim 18, Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein generating thermal sensations comprises creating spatial- temporal thermal patterns by sequentially actuating different thermoelectric modules in the grid to simulate movement of a thermal source across a user's palm (i.e. Lee teaches the glove type of haptic feedback system which is able to implement the feedback of hot cup from the user’s palm as the glove is worn when the user hold the cup) (see Sun Fig. 1-3, 26, [0108], Lee Fig. 1-3, [0032-0034]).
As to claim 19, Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the instructions when executed by the electronic processor, further cause the apparatus to: maintain the thermoelectric modules at a baseline temperature corresponding to skin temperature using a thermal management system, wherein the temperature setpoints represent deviations from the baseline temperature (i.e. as seen in figure 26 of Sun the augmented reality system of Sun tracks the temperature of the second user’s environment with a thermal management system for a skin of the user as seen in the graphic description) (see Fig. 26, [0108-0109]).
As to claim 20, Sun teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the apparatus is mounted on user's palm with control hardware positioned on a back of a user's hand or forearm, and wherein the instructions when executed by the electronic processor, further cause the apparatus to maintain user dexterity by allowing unrestricted finger movement during thermal feedback generation (i.e. as seen in figure 1-2 of Lee the glove device shows a placement of circuitry around the entire glove which is mounted on user’s palm and position on a back of a user’s hand which allows user finger movement during thermal feedback generation) (see Fig. 1-2, [0033-0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art Sonasath et al. (US Pub: 2021/0019946 A1) is cited to teach user wearable augmented reality system figures 1-5 embodiments. The prior art Beck et al. (US Pat: 11,899,840 B2) is cited to teach another type of haptic emulation of input device with user wearable device in figures 1-3 embodiments.
/CALVIN C MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 February 21, 2026