DETAILED ACTION
In the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/27/2025:
Claims 1-8, 11-15, and 17-25 were rejected.
Claims 9-10 and 16 were withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed 4/27/2026 has been entered:
Claims 26-30 are new.
Claims 1-30 are active.
Claims 9-10 and 16 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, and 17-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2025, 10/27/2025, and 2/3/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 10/27/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2, 15, 17, 23, and 30 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, “slideably” in line 3 should say “slidably”.
Regarding claim 15, “predefined” should be inserted before “direction” in line 1.
Regarding claim 17, “predefined” should be inserted before “direction” in line 2.
Regarding claim 23, “of the exterior of the firearm” should be inserted after “surface” in line 3.
Regarding claim 30, one recitation of “or is” should be deleted from line 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-8 and 20-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “wherein the separable part includes a sloped surface to make contact with a surface of the at least one part of the firearm” in lines 15-16 is unclear as claimed. Is the separable part of applicant’s invention not the fastener or the detent pin in the elected embodiment(s) of Figs. 22-29? The sloped surface of each of these components appears to contact the attachment (2230) or the retention system (2290), as opposed to a surface of at least one part of the firearm. Clarification is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the non-threaded part” in lines 2 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a non-threaded part was not previously recited in the claims.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the surface of the at least one part of the firearm in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a surface of the firearm was previously recited, by a surface of the at least one part of the firearm was not previously recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 21, the limitation “the separable part includes a sloped surface to make contact with a surface of the at least one part of the firearm” in lines 9-11 is unclear as claimed. Is the separable part of applicant’s invention not the fastener or the detent pin in the elected embodiment(s) of Figs. 22-29? The sloped surface of each of these components appears to contact the attachment (2230) or the retention system (2290), as opposed to a surface of at least one part of the firearm. Clarification is required.
Claim 30 recites the limitation “a coupling movement” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A movement of the attachment was already recited, and it is believed that the claimed coupling movement refers to this limitation.
Further regarding claim 30, the word “it” in line 5 is indefinite, since it could refer to any previously recited limitation. Clarification is required.
Claim 30 further recites the limitation “the surface” in lines 8 and 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear which previously recited surface “the surface” refers to. Clarification is required.
Claims 2, 4-8, and 22-29 are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, and 17-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anschutz (US 4242826), herein ‘Anschutz’.
Regarding claim 1, Anschutz discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4) to operate in a recoil environment (col. 1 lines 2-4), the apparatus including:
an attachment (24) configured to slidably couple to at least one part of a firearm (14);
wherein the attachment includes:
a slidable attachment interface (23) to restrict a coupling movement of the attachment relative to the at least one part (Fig. 4), wherein the coupling movement is along a plane (Fig. 4),
wherein the slidable attachment interface comprises a male feature or a female feature of a dovetail interface (Fig. 4; col. 3 lines 24-26), a T-slot interface, or another undercut interface;
an additional interface (25 and/or 26 and/or portion of 26 that clamps onto dovetail tongue 20 and/or 27 and/or 28 and/or 29) associated with a separable part (26 and/or 27 and/or 29), the additional interface to further restrict movement of the attachment relative to the at least one part (col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7);
wherein the separable part includes a sloped surface (Fig. 4) to make contact with a surface of the at least one part of the firearm (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7), to urge the attachment in a predefined direction (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7);
wherein the predefined direction is along the plane (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7);
Regarding claim 2, Anschutz discloses wherein the attachment comprises a magazine funnel or other grip accessory to slidably couple to a grip of the firearm, or another grip attachment to slidably couple to the grip of the firearm (15 and/or 17; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Anschutz discloses wherein a portion of a surface of the attachment (Fig. 4; rearward facing surface), spaced apart from an opening (25 and/or 28 and/or 29) to receive the separable part, covers a portion of a surface of an exterior of the firearm (Fig. 4); and
wherein the portion of the surface of the attachment comprises at least one projection or a textured pattern (Fig. 4), and the separable part is configured to bias the at least one projection or textured pattern against the covered portion of the surface of the exterior of the firearm (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7).
Regarding claim 4, Anschutz discloses wherein the at least one projection comprises a tapered structure (Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 5-6, Anschutz discloses wherein the tapered structure comprises at least one angled surface, wherein an angle of an angled surface of the at least one angled surface is 100 degrees or less (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Anschutz discloses wherein the separable part includes a conical portion which comprises the sloped surface (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Anschutz discloses wherein a grip surface (15 and/or 17) is located on an interior surface of the attachment (Fig. 4);
wherein the attachment includes fore and aft regions, or other opposing regions (Fig. 4);
wherein the attachment interface is located on one of the fore and aft regions, or on one of the other opposing regions (Fig. 4), and the grip surface is located on the other one of the fore and aft regions, or the other one of the other opposing regions (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Anschutz discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4) to operate in a recoil environment (col. 1 lines 2-4), the apparatus including:
an attachment (24) configured to slidably couple to at least one part of a firearm (14);
wherein the attachment includes:
a slidable attachment interface (23) to restrict a coupling movement of the attachment relative to the at least one part to a fore/aft movement (Fig. 4), wherein the coupling movement is along a plane (Fig. 4),
wherein the slidable attachment interface comprises a male feature or a female feature of a dovetail interface (Fig. 4; col. 3 lines 24-26), a T-slot interface, or another undercut interface;
an additional interface (25 and/or 26 and/or portion of 26 that clamps onto dovetail tongue 20 and/or 27 and/or 28 and/or 29) associated with a separable part (26 and/or 27 and/or 29), the additional interface to restrict a fore/aft position of the attachment relative to the at least one part (col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7);
wherein the separable part includes terminal ends and a length (Fig. 4), a portion of the length of the separable part to urge the attachment in a predefined direction (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7), wherein the predefined direction is parallel with the plane (Fig. 4);
the attachment to apply, in an opposite direction, a counter force on the portion of the length of the separable part (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7).
Regarding claim 12, Anschutz discloses wherein the attachment comprises a grip attachment (15 and/or 17; Figs. 1-4), an optic adapter, or an optic sight.
Regarding claim 13, Anschutz discloses wherein the separable part comprises a rotatably driven part (26 and/or 27) including a threaded section and a non-threaded section (Fig. 4);
wherein the portion of the length comprises part of the non-threaded section (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Anschutz discloses wherein the portion of the length is part of a tapered or sloped section of the separable part (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Anschutz discloses wherein the predefined direction includes a forward component or a rearward component (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Anschutz discloses wherein the attachment comprises a grip attachment (15 and/or 17; Fig. 4) and the predefined direction is perpendicular with a canted axis or a vertical non-canted axis (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Anschutz discloses wherein the slidable attachment interface comprises a first portion (23) of an attachment interface (23, 26, and 29; Fig. 4) and the additional interface comprises a second portion (29) of the attachment interface that is different than the first portion (Fig. 4);
wherein the attachment interface includes a third portion (26) that is different than the first and second portions (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Anschutz discloses wherein the third portion of the attachment interface includes a surface having a grip feature (Fig. 4), wherein the urge of the separable part on the attachment drives the grip feature against a corresponding surface (20) of the firearm (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7);
wherein the grip feature comprises a grip tooth or a textured surface (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Anschutz discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4) to operate in a recoil environment (col. 1 lines 2-4), the apparatus including:
an attachment (24) configured to slidably couple to at least one part of a firearm (14);
wherein the attachment includes:
a slidable attachment interface (23) to restrict a coupling movement of the attachment relative to the at least one part (Fig. 4), wherein the coupling movement is along a plane (Fig. 4),
wherein the slidable attachment interface comprises a male feature or a female feature of a dovetail interface (Fig. 4; col. 3 lines 24-26), a T-slot interface, or another undercut interface;
an additional interface (25 and/or 26 and/or portion of 26 that clamps onto dovetail tongue 20 and/or 27 and/or 28 and/or 29) associated with a separable part (26 and/or 27 and/or 29), the additional interface to further restrict movement of the attachment relative to the at least one part (col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7);
wherein the separable part includes terminal ends and a length (Fig. 4), a portion of the length of the separable part to urge the attachment in a predefined direction (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7), against a surface of the firearm (Fig. 4), the urge of the separable part of the attachment to resist movement of the attachment along the plane away from the surface of the at least one part of the firearm (Fig. 4);
the attachment to apply a counter force on the portion of the length of the separable part (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7).
Regarding claim 21, Anschutz discloses an apparatus (Fig. 4), comprising:
an attachment (24) configured to couple to a firearm (14), the attachment including:
a surface (Fig. 4; rear surface of component 24 and/or component 26) to cover a portion of a surface of an exterior of the firearm when the attachment is coupled to the firearm (Fig 1);
an attachment interface (23) to restrict movement of the attachment relative to at least one part of the firearm (col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7), the attachment interface configured to bias said surface of the attachment against the covered portion of the surface of the exterior of the firearm (Fig. 1; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7), in which the surface of the attachment includes a grip feature (Fig. 4);
wherein the attachment interface includes a separable part (26 and/or 27 and/or 29), the separable part including a sloped surface to make contact with a surface of the at least one part of the firearm, to urge the attachment in a predefined direction (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7).
Regarding claim 22, Anschutz discloses wherein the grip feature comprises at least one projection (Fig. 4) or a textured pattern.
Regarding claim 23, Anschutz discloses wherein a projection of the at least one projection includes a terminal end, and the terminal end is arranged to bite into the covered portion of the surface when the attachment interface is tightened (Fig. 4; col. 3 line 27 – col. 4 line 7).
Regarding claim 24, Anschutz discloses wherein the projection of the at least one projection comprises an asymmetrical tooth (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 25, Anschutz discloses wherein the asymmetrical tooth includes at least one angled side, wherein an angle of an angled side of the at least one angled side is 120 degrees or less (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 26, Anschutz discloses wherein the firearm includes a bore axis (19), a portion of which is coincident with the firearm (Fig. 1), and the plane is non-intersecting with said coincident portion of the bore axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 27, Anschutz discloses wherein the slidable attachment interface is arranged to couple to a corresponding attachment interface (20) on an exterior of a body of the at least one part of the firearm (Fig. 4; col. 3 lines 24-26).
Regarding claim 28, Anschutz discloses wherein the additional interface associated with the separable part is operable with a single hand (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 29, Anschutz discloses wherein the additional interface does not require more than one tool to operate (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 30, Anschutz discloses wherein the separable part is associated with a portion of the attachment interface (Fig. 4), and the attachment interface includes another portion (20) to restrict a coupling movement of the attachment relative to the at least one part, wherein the coupling movement is along a plane (Fig. 4);
the other portion of the attachment interface including, or operable with, a male feature (20; Fig. 4);
wherein the male feature comprises a projection (20) extending from a surface (Fig. 4), wherein a portion of the projection closer to the surface is narrower than a portion of the projection further from the surface (Fig. 4);
wherein in the case the other portion of the attachment interface does not include the male feature, the other portion of the attachment interface includes a female feature corresponding to the male feature.
Conclusion
Claims 9-10 and 16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-8, 11-15, and 17-30 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641
/BENJAMIN S. GOMBERG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3641