DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16-17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 1 should read in part “The method of claim [[16]] 15, further”. Appropriate correction is required.
The Examiner notes that original claim 16 depends from itself. The claim objection corrects this formality issue to make claim 16 dependent from claim 15 in a similar manner to the features of claim 7 depending from claim 6.
In claim 17, line 1 should read in part “wherein [[s]]drawing geothermal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, 11, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Viernickel (US 2011/0198054).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Viernickel (Vier) discloses:
A geothermal system, comprising:
a wellbore (10) penetrating a geothermal reservoir (5) (See Vier, Abstract);
a closed-loop geothermal system (30) disposed in the wellbore (10), having a downhole end disposed in a first downhole portion (25) of the wellbore (10) (See Vier, Paragraph [0085]),
wherein the closed-loop geothermal system (30) comprises a fluid conduit (See Vier, Paragraph [0085] & Claim 5), and
wherein the first downhole portion (25) lies within the geothermal reservoir (5) (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]);
a primary heat utilization facility disposed on the surface of the earth and connected to an uphole end of the fluid conduit (See Vier, Paragraph [0058]); and
a pump (22) configured to draw geothermal fluid into the first downhole portion (25) of the wellbore (10). (See Vier, Paragraphs [0081]-[0082]).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
wherein the pump (22) is a downhole electrical submersible pump ("ESP"). (See Vier, Paragraph [0057]).
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
further comprising at least one packer (21) fluidically separating the first downhole portion (25) from a second downhole portion (24). (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
wherein the pump (22) is further configured to pump (22) the geothermal fluid drawn into the first downhole portion (25) into the second downhole portion (24), wherein the geothermal fluid pumped into the second downhole portion (24) percolates into a rock formation (11) surrounding the second downhole portion (24). (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
further comprising a fluid permeable tubing (23) enclosing the downhole end of the closed-loop geothermal system and a fluid inlet of the pump (22). (See Vier, Paragraphs [0015] & [0081]).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
wherein the fluid permeable tubing comprises a slotted liner. (See Vier, Paragraphs [0015], [0019], & [0081]).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
A method for extracting geothermal energy, comprising:
inserting a closed-loop geothermal system (30) into a wellbore (10) penetrating a geothermal reservoir (5) (See Vier, Abstract),
wherein the closed-loop geothermal system (30) comprises a fluid conduit (See Vier, Paragraph [0085] & Claim 5), and
wherein a downhole end of the fluid conduit (30) is disposed in a first downhole portion (25) of the wellbore (10) (See Vier, Figure 2, 30);
disposing a pump (22) with a fluid inlet positioned within the first downhole portion (25) (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]-[0082]);
drawing, using the pump (22), geothermal fluid into the first downhole portion (25) of the wellbore (10) (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]-[0082]); and
extracting heat, using the closed-loop geothermal system (30) circulating a working fluid, from the drawn geothermal fluid within the first downhole portion (25) and transporting the extracted heat to a primary heat utilization facility disposed on the surface of the earth. (See Vier, Paragraph [0058]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
disposing at least one packer (21) within the wellbore to fluidically separate the first downhole portion (25) from a second downhole portion (24). (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]).
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
pumping, using the pump (22), the geothermal fluid drawn into the first downhole portion (25) into the second downhole portion (24), wherein the pumped fluid in the second downhole portion (24) percolates into a rock formation (11) surrounding the second downhole portion (24). (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
wherein sdrawing geothermal fluid into the first downhole portion (25) further comprises drawing the geothermal fluid through a fluid permeable tubing (23) enclosing the downhole end of the closed-loop geothermal system (30) and a fluid inlet of the pump (22). (See Vier, Paragraphs [0015] & [0081]).
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10, 11-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaia et al. (US 2022/0186984).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner below)
Gaia et al. (Gaia) discloses:
A geothermal system, comprising:
a wellbore (10) penetrating a geothermal reservoir (4) (See Gaia, Paragraph [0099]);
a closed-loop geothermal system (E) disposed in the wellbore (10), having a downhole end disposed in a first downhole portion (F) of the wellbore (10) (See Gaia, Paragraph [0053]),
wherein the closed-loop geothermal system (E) comprises a fluid conduit (See Gaia, Paragraphs [0038] & [0056]), and
wherein the first downhole portion (F) lies within the geothermal reservoir (4);
a primary heat utilization facility (ORC1) disposed on the surface of the earth and connected to an uphole end of the fluid conduit (See Gaia, Paragraphs [0056] & [0099]-[0102]); and
a pump (P2) configured to draw geothermal fluid into the first downhole portion (F) of the wellbore (10). (See Gaia, Paragraph [0101]).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
wherein the pump (P2) is further configured to pump the drawn geothermal fluid to a secondary processing facility (ORC2) disposed on the surface of the earth. (See Gaia, Paragraph [0101]).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
wherein the secondary processing facility (ORC2) comprises a mineral extraction system. (See Gaia, Paragraphs [0104]-[0105]).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
wherein the pump is a downhole electrical submersible pump ("ESP"). (See Gaia, Claim 8).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
a fluid permeable tubing (A) enclosing the downhole end of the closed-loop geothermal system and a fluid inlet of the pump (P2). (See Gaia, Paragraph [0100]).
In Reference to Claim 10
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
wherein the primary heat utilization facility (ORC1) comprises an electrical generator. (See Gaia, Paragraph [0056]).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner below)
Gaia discloses:
A method for extracting geothermal energy, comprising:
inserting a closed-loop geothermal system (E) into a wellbore (10) penetrating a geothermal reservoir (4) (See Gaia, Paragraph [0099]),
wherein the closed-loop geothermal system (E) comprises a fluid conduit (See Gaia, Paragraphs [0038] & [0056]), and
wherein a downhole end of the fluid conduit is disposed in a first downhole portion (F) of the wellbore (10) (See Gaia, Paragraph [0053]);
disposing a pump (P2) with a fluid inlet positioned within the first downhole portion (F) (See Gaia, Paragraph [0101]);
drawing, using the pump (P2), geothermal fluid into the first downhole portion (F) of the wellbore (10) (See Gaia, Paragraph [0101]); and
extracting heat, using the closed-loop geothermal system (E) circulating a working fluid, from the drawn geothermal fluid within the first downhole portion (F) and transporting the extracted heat to a primary heat utilization facility (ORC1) disposed on the surface of the earth. (See Gaia, Paragraphs [0056] & [0099]-[0102]).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
pumping the drawn geothermal fluid to a secondary processing facility (ORC2) disposed on the surface of the earth. (See Gaia, Paragraph [0101]).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
extracting, using a mineral extraction system within the secondary processing facility (ORC2), lithium from the drawn geothermal fluid. (See Gaia, Paragraphs [0104]-[0105]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
extracting, using an Organic Rankine system within the secondary processing facility, heat from the drawn geothermal fluid. (See Gaia, Paragraphs [0104]-[0105]).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Gaia, Figures 4, 11, and 20 & Figure 19 as annotated by Examiner above)
Gaia discloses:
wherein sdrawing geothermal fluid into the first downhole portion further comprises drawing the geothermal fluid through a fluid permeable tubing enclosing the downhole end of the closed-loop geothermal system and a fluid inlet of the pump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viernickel (US 2011/0198054) in view of Wheatley et al. (US 2021/0348490).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses the claimed invention except:
a control system configured to maintain a temperature of the geothermal fluid surrounding the downhole ESP below a maximum operating temperature of the downhole ESP, by monitoring the temperature of the geothermal fluid surrounding the downhole ESP and adjusting an operating parameter of the closed-loop geothermal system and the downhole ESP.
Wheatley et al. (Wheat) discloses operation of a downhole wellbore electric submersible pump (ESP). (See Wheat, Paragraphs [0046] & [0204]). Wheat discloses a control system configured to maintain a temperature of the geothermal fluid surrounding the downhole ESP below a maximum operating temperature of the downhole ESP, by monitoring the temperature of the geothermal fluid surrounding the downhole ESP and adjusting an operating parameter of the closed-loop geothermal system and the downhole ESP. (See Wheat, Paragraphs [0067]-[0068] w/respect to sensors [0046] & [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have monitored the temperature of the geothermal fluid and stabilized the temperature of the fluid using the sensor and pump control to within pump operating temperatures, as both references are directed towards downhole wellbore electric submersible pump systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the operation and control of Wheat would have protected the ESP and the reservoir from damage due to thermal and/or pressure related events and maintained the ESP within operating temperatures increasing the longevity of the system. (See Wheat, Paragraph [0204]).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Viernickel, Figure 2)
Vier discloses:
A method of extracting geothermal energy, comprising:
inserting a closed-loop geothermal system (30) into a first portion (25) of a wellbore (10) penetrating a geothermal reservoir (5) (See Vier, Abstract);
extracting, by operating the closed-loop geothermal system (30), heat from the geothermal reservoir (5) (See Vier, Paragraph [0058]),
wherein extracting heat lowers a temperature of geothermal fluid filling the first portion of the wellbore (See Vier, Paragraphs [0019], [0026] and [0058]);
inserting a downhole pump (22) into the first portion (25) of the wellbore (10) (See Vier, Paragraph [0081]); and
operating the downhole pump (22) at a first rate to extract cooled geothermal fluid from the first portion (25) and draw hot geothermal fluid into the first portion from the geothermal reservoir (See Vier, Paragraphs [0057]-[0058]),
wherein the drawn hot geothermal fluid increases the temperature of the geothermal fluid within the first portion (25). (See Vier, Paragraphs [0057]-[0058]).
The Examiner notes that heat is utilized and extracted by pipes (30) and flow is effected by pump (22), the fluid is cooled due to the heat extraction and returned to the soil as new warm fluid is drawn in through openings (23). (See Vier, Paragraphs [0081]-[0082] and [0085]).
Vier discloses the claimed invention except:
Inserting the pump once the temperature of the geothermal fluid within the first portion has cooled below a maximum operating temperature of the downhole pump.
Wheatley et al. (Wheat) discloses operation of a downhole wellbore electric submersible pump (ESP). (See Wheat, Paragraphs [0046] & [0204]). Wheat discloses the ESPs have a maximum operating temperature. (See Wheat, Paragraph [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have inserted the ESP once the geothermal fluid had cooled to within operating temperatures due to heat extraction, as both references are directed towards downhole wellbore electric submersible pump systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that inserting the ESP once the temperature of the geothermal fluid was within operating temperature would have protected the ESP from damage increasing the longevity of the system. (See Wheat, Paragraph [0204]).
In Reference to Claim 19
The Vier-Wheat combination discloses:
monitoring the temperature of the geothermal fluid within the first portion; and adjusting the operation of the downhole pump to a second rate to stabilize the temperature of the geothermal fluid within the first portion at or below the maximum operating temperature of the downhole pump. (See Wheat, Paragraphs [0067]-[0068] w/respect to sensors, [0073] & [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have monitored the temperature of the geothermal fluid and stabilized the temperature of the fluid using the sensor and pump control to within pump operating temperatures, as both references are directed towards downhole wellbore electric submersible pump systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the operation and control of Wheat would have protected the ESP and the reservoir from damage due to thermal and/or pressure related events increasing the longevity of the system. (See Wheat, Paragraph [0204]).
In Reference to Claim 20
The Vier-Wheat combination discloses:
wherein monitoring the temperature comprises transmitting a measured temperature from a temperature sensor to a control system and adjusting the operation of the downhole pump comprises transmitting a command signal from the control system to the downhole pump. (See Wheat, Paragraphs [0067]-[0068] w/respect to sensors, [0073] & [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have monitored the temperature of the geothermal fluid and stabilized the temperature of the fluid using the sensor and pump control to within pump operating temperatures, as both references are directed towards downhole wellbore electric submersible pump systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the operation and control of Wheat would have protected the ESP and the reservoir from damage due to thermal and/or pressure related events increasing the longevity of the system. (See Wheat, Paragraph [0204]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jackowski, Petty, Gareev, Christie, Lu, McMullen, Aladiev, and McCabe show submersible pump devices and control systems for wellbore fluid control devices within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746