DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I; claims / species of 1, 3-6, and 10 in the reply filed on 04/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 52: f, g, h; 56: a, b, c, d, e. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 52; 56; 58: a, b, c, d, e. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kerfoot (US 2008/0237141) (“Kerfoot” herein)
(Claims contain only selected species)
Claim 1.
Kerfoot discloses a method, comprising:
receiving one or more oilfield brine feedstocks from one or more producing wells
producing hydrocarbons from a subterranean formation; [0061-0063]
determining whether respective concentrations of the one or more oilfield brine
feedstocks are below a threshold; [0119-0123]
in response to determining that the respective concentrations of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks are below the threshold, causing at least a portion of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks to be used in one or more hydraulic fracturing operations; [0061-0063] and
in response to determining that the respective concentrations of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks are above the threshold, processing at least the portion of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks to produce desalinated water and a salt slurry suspension. [0063, 0065-0071]
Claim 2.
Kerfoot discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising detecting, using one or more sensors, one or more respective properties of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks, wherein the respective concentrations of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks are determined based on the one or more respective properties. [0119-0123]
Claim 3.
Kerfoot discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising detecting, using one or more sensors,
one or more respective properties of at least the portion of the one or more oilfield brine
feedstocks to be processed to produce the desalinated water and the salt slurry suspension. [0063, 0065-0071]
Claim 4.
Kerfoot discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the one or more respective properties comprise a composition, a concentration, a viscosity, a salinity, or a density, or a combination thereof, of at least the portion of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks. [0063, 0080]
Claim 5.
Kerfoot discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks comprise two or more oilfield brine feedstocks, and wherein the method comprises blending
respective portions of the two or more oilfield brine feedstocks based on the one or more respective properties before producing the desalinated water and the salt slurry suspension. [0063, 0080]
Claim 10.
Kerfoot discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising
providing the desalinated water for surface use, surface discharge, or both, after processing at least the portion of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks to produce the desalinated water and the salt slurry suspension in response to determining that the respective concentrations of the one or more oilfield brine feedstocks are above the threshold. [0063, 0065-0071, 0119-0123]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Svarczkopf (US 9,027,646 B2) Fracturing Fluid Water Reuse System And Method teaches Methods of processing a fluid recovered from an oil or gas extraction operation for reuse in a hydraulic fracturing fluid are described. The methods include providing an amount of a produced fluid composition containing iron and suspended solids and controlling at least one of the conductivity, iron content, oxidative strength, and pH of the composition, such that Fenton's reagent is formed in situ, Soane (US 9,067,807 B2) Treatment Of Wastewater teaches The present invention provides systems, methods and devices for removing contaminants from an aqueous stream. In embodiments, these systems and methods may be applied to particular applications, for example removal of contaminants in aqueous streams associated with the petroleum industry, and Booth (US 9,662,594 B2) Systems And Methods For Treating Fractionated Water teaches One embodiment of a method of water treatment comprising straining fractionated water to remove particles larger than one micron in diameter, decanting the strained fractionated water to remove surfactants and oil, evaporating the decanted water to provide concentrated brine and water vapor, and condensing the water vapor.
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 05/20/2026