DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 06/24/2025 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
a. Claim 5: “the implement is an interchangeable implement to perform agricultural work on a field or crops in the field”;
b. Claim 8: “the unmanned aerial vehicle is configured to fly while towing the implement, and the power supply and the implement are electrically connected by a cable”.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Unmanned aerial vehicle including power source and power supply to supply external power from power source to an implement.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 3, line 2: the limitation “first electric power” should be rewritten as --a first electric power-- such that there is sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
b. Claim 4, line 5: the limitation “second electric power” should be rewritten as --a second electric power-- such that there is sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Claim 5, lines 1-2, recites the limitation “the implement is an interchangeable implement to perform agricultural work on a field or crops in the field” which renders the claim indefinite, since the implement as recited is not required per the claimed invention. Thus, it is unclear as to exactly how the claim as currently recited is further limiting the claimed invention when the implement is not required by the claim. Accordingly, should applicant intend on claiming the implement, the implement must be either positively claimed via a direct connection with UAV or the preamble amended to recite a system that positively claims both the UAV and the implement. As a note, per the applicant’s disclosure, the implement is not recited as being encompassed by the UAV. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yajima (JP 2022020282 A), cited on the IDS filed on 06/24/2025 [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text].
11. Regarding Claim 1, Yajima discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (Abstract and p. 2; unmanned helicopter 1 as seen in FIGS. 1-2) comprising:
a plurality of rotors (p. 2; main rotor 5 and tail rotor 6);
a power source (p. 5; power generation device 9 as seen in FIG. 6); and
a power supply to supply external power from the power source to an implement (p. 5; electric power generated by power generation device is supplied to power supply circuit 41 which supplies electric power to work equipment 30 via second cable 52 as seen in FIG. 6).
12. Regarding Claim 5, Yajima discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the implement is an interchangeable implement to perform agricultural work on a field or crops in the field (p. 2; work equipment 30 performs maintenance work on overhead ground wire 94 supported by a steel tower which is by definition on a field as seen in FIGS. 1-2, furthermore first cable 51 includes a weak link device 56 which allows or separation of work equipment 30 from helicopter 1 as seen in FIGS. 10-11, accordingly work equipment 30 is by definition interchangeable).
13. Regarding Claim 6, Yajima discloses the unnamed aerial vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the power supply includes a terminal to supply power to the implement and a terminal to conduct communication with the implement (pp. 4-5; supplying power from power supply circuit 41 to work equipment 30 via second cable 52 and supplying data from power circuit 41 to work equipment 30 via third cable 53 as seen in FIGS. 4-6, accordingly power circuit 41 must include terminals for suppling power and conducting communication with work equipment 30, furthermore power supply circuits by definition include terminals).
14. Regarding Claim 7, Yajima discloses the unnamed aerial vehicle according to claim 6, further comprising: a controller configured or programmed to control output of the external power from the power supply, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control supply of the external power according to a current operational state or a planned operational state of the implement obtained through the communication (pp. 4-7; each of the cables 52/53 is connected to flight control box 15 and control device 35 of work equipment 30, control box 15 includes a communication circuit 15f, a signal processing circuit 15g as well as the power supply circuit 41, each component of the control box 15 sends and receive data to each via wiring and internal bus 15k, signal processing circuit 15 controls operation of engine 8, the power supply circuit 41 supplies electric power to each component of the control box 15, the signal processing circuit 15g transmits/receives data to/from the work equipment 30 via cable 53, accordingly control box 15 is configured to control output of power from generation device 9, and the control box 15 is configured to control supply of power via power generation device 9 and cable 52 according to a current operation state or a planned operational state of the work equipment 30 through communication via cable 53, the current operation state such as the work equipment 30 travelling along overhead ground wire 94).
15. Regarding Claim 8, Yajima discloses the unnamed aerial vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle is configured to fly while towing the implement, and the power supply and the implement are electrically connected by a cable (pp. 4-5; helicopter 1 configured to fly and tow work equipment as clearly seen in FIGS. 12, furthermore power generation device and work equipment 30 electrically connected via cables 52/53 as seen in FIGS. 4-6).
16. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wake et al. (US 2021/0110724 A1), hereinafter “Wake”.
17. Regarding Claim 1, Wake discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising (Abstract and para. [0029]; drone 100 as seen in FIGS. 1-3):
a plurality of rotors (para. [0030]; rotors which include rotor blades 101);
a power source (para. [0040]; battery 502 as seen in FIG. 5); and
a power supply to supply external power from the power source to an implement (paras. [0040]; battery supplies power flight control 501 via a power supply unit).
18. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2018/0150073 A1), hereinafter “Lee”.
29. Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising (Abstract and para. [0029]; drone 100 as seen in FIGS. 1-2):
a plurality of rotors (para. [0030]; propellers 173);
a power source (para. [0030]; battery 195); and
a power supply to supply external power from the power source to an implement (paras. [0040] and [0090]; power supply 190 using power from battery 195 supplies power to components 120 to 190 of the UAV 100).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming drawing objections and 112(b) rejections set forth in this office action.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Phan et al. (US 9764837 B2), Namgoong et el. (US 11161608 B2), Yoshioka et al. (US 2025/0276800 A1), Kashiwagi (Us 2025/0296682 A1), Torimoto (US 2025/0296683 A1) and Sakaguchi et al. (US 2025/0287876 A1) individually disclose an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising: a plurality of rotors; a power source; and a power supply to supply external power from the power source to an implement.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642