DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control system in claims 21 and 38-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21-40 lack a transitional phrase (i.e., “comprising” or “consisting of”) and therefore it is not clear whether the claims are open-ended or closed. Furthermore, it is not clear where the preamble to the claim ends and body of the claim begins. See MPEP 2111.03 regarding transitional phrases.
In order to further examine the claims, they will be interpreted as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gachisoft (KR 20170047844 A).
Consider claim 21. Gachisoft teaches a control system configured to: control transport of an article carried by a computer controlled transport vehicle (1) to a destination, wherein a tray, belt, or carrier (14) attached to the computer controlled transport vehicle engages the article; and manipulate the tray, belt, or carrier from a first position to a second position to deposit the article at the destination (see fig. 8), wherein the manipulation is adjusted to adjust a deposit period for the article (time of deposit).
Consider claim 37. Gachisoft teaches that the computer controlled transport vehicle comprises a push bar for diverting the article (bar at lateral side of 14; see fig. 1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-27, 30-35, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gachisoft (KR 20170047844 A) in view of Lykkegaard (US 2015/0122611 A1).
Consider claims 22-27. Gachisoft teaches adjusting a diverting attribute of a diverting arm to deposit the article at the destination (angle of arms at lateral sides of 14; see fig. 1a), but does not explicitly teach that the manipulation is further adjusted based on a characteristic determined for the article. Lykkegaard teaches a control system configured to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for an article (see paragraph [0021]), the characteristic comprises one or more of: a deposit acceleration, a deposit angle, a deposit period, and a deposit movement (see paragraph [0021]), the manipulation occurs over a specific span of time (period of inclination angle adjustment), adjusting a pushing attribute (angle a) of a pushing device (A1, A2) to deposit the article at the destination, the pushing attribute based on the characteristic determined for the article (see paragraph [0021], and the characteristic determined for the article is one of: acquired by the control system, and provided to the control system (see paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gachisoft’s control system to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for the article as taught by Lykkegaard in order to adapt to articles having different shapes, weights, orientations, etc. (see Lykkegaard, paragraph [0021]).
Consider claim 30. Lykkegaard teaches that the control system is further configured to: adjust a deceleration of a speed of the manipulation of the tray, belt, or carrier from a first position to a second position to cause the article to slide across a tray surface, traverse a belt, or move away from the computer controlled transport vehicle, and deposit at the destination (adjust from moving to not moving along the surface).
Consider claim 31. Lykkegaard teaches that the control system is further configured to: adjust an acceleration of a speed of the manipulation of the tray, belt, or carrier from the first position to the second position to cause the article to slide across a tray surface, traverse a belt, or move away from the computer controlled transport vehicle, and deposit at the destination (adjust from not moving to moving along the surface).
Consider claim 32. Lykkegaard teaches that the system is further configured to: set a first deposit angle for a first article, and set a second deposit angle different from the first deposit angle for a second article (see fig. 11 and paragraph [0021]).
Consider claim 33. Lykkegaard teaches that the tray, belt or carrier carries two articles at a same time, wherein the system is further configured to: set a first deposit angle for a first article, andset a second deposit angle different from the first deposit angle for a second article (see fig. 11 and paragraph [0021]).
Consider claim 34. Lykkegaard teaches that the system is further configured to a maintain a sortation criteria of the article to thereby maintain a predetermined orientation of the article (see fig. 11 and paragraph [0021]).
Consider claim 35. Gachisoft teaches that the system is further configured to eliminate a chance of the article being mis-diverted to a wrong destination (by maintaining proper inclination; see fig. 11 and paragraph [0021]).
Consider claim 39. Gachisoft teaches a control system configured to: control transport of an article carried by a computer controlled transport vehicle (1) to a destination, wherein a tray (14) attached to the computer controlled transport vehicle engages the article, wherein the tray comprises a tilting divert mechanism (see fig. 8); and manipulate the tray from a first position to a second position to deposit the article at the destination (see fig. 8).
Gachisoft does not explicitly teach that the manipulation is adjusted based on a characteristic determined for the article. Lykkegaard teaches a control system configured to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for an article (see paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gachisoft’s control system to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for the article as taught by Lykkegaard in order to adapt to articles having different shapes, weights, orientations, etc. (see Lykkegaard, paragraph [0021]).
Consider claim 40. Gachisoft teaches a control system configured to: control transport of an article carried by a computer controlled transport vehicle (1) to a destination, wherein a tray, belt, or carrier (14) attached to the computer controlled transport vehicle engages the article; and manipulate the tray, belt, or carrier from a first position to a second position to deposit the article at the destination (see fig. 8), wherein the manipulation occurs over a specific span of time (time of deposit).
Gachisoft does not explicitly teach that the manipulation is adjusted based on a characteristic determined for the article. Lykkegaard teaches a control system configured to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for an article (see paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gachisoft’s control system to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for the article as taught by Lykkegaard in order to adapt to articles having different shapes, weights, orientations, etc. (see Lykkegaard, paragraph [0021]).
Claims 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gachisoft (KR 20170047844 A) in view of Applewhite et al. (US 2011/0229292 A1), hereafter referred to as Applewhite.
Consider claims 28 and 29. Gachisoft does not explicitly teach that the destination is a receptacle. Applewhite teaches manipulation of a tray, belt, or carrier (40) from a first position (fig. 4) to a second position (fig. 5), causing an article to deposit at a receptacle (20) that is one of a: tote (20), carton, bag, and Gaylord liner. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gachisoft’s control system with a receptacle as taught by Applewhite in order to safely contain the article for further transportation or processing.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gachisoft (KR 20170047844 A) in view of Lykkegaard (US 2015/0122611 A1) in view of Applewhite (US 2011/0229292 A1).
Consider claim 38. Gachisoft teaches a control system configured to: control transport of an article carried by a computer controlled transport vehicle (1) to a destination, wherein a tray, belt, or carrier (14) attached to the computer controlled transport vehicle engages the article; and manipulate the tray, belt, or carrier from a first position to a second position to deposit the article at the destination (see fig. 8).
Gachisoft does not explicitly teach that the manipulation is adjusted based on a characteristic determined for the article to adjust a deposit characteristic of the article. Lykkegaard teaches a control system configured to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for an article to adjust a deposit characteristic of the article (see paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gachisoft’s control system to adjust manipulation based on a characteristic determined for the article to adjust a deposit characteristic of the article as taught by Lykkegaard in order to adapt to articles having different shapes, weights, orientations, etc. (see Lykkegaard, paragraph [0021]).
Gachisoft in view of Lykkegaard does not explicitly teach that the destination is one of: a tote, a carton, a bag and, a Gaylord liner. Applewhite teaches manipulation of a tray, belt, or carrier (40) from a first position (fig. 4) to a second position (fig. 5), causing an article to deposit at one of a: tote (20), carton, bag, and Gaylord liner. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the control system of Gachisoft in view of Lykkegaard with a tote as taught by Applewhite in order to safely contain the article for further transportation or processing.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-26, 28-32, and 38-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,351,092. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims use equivalent language and the instant claims encompass the patented claims.
Conclusion
There are currently no prior art rejections for claim 36.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652