DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The applicant has incorrectly marked the amendments in the claims filed 07/28/2026. As the claims filed 07/06/2026 were never entered after final, the amendments made in those claims should also be marked and underlined in the claims filed 07/28/2026. In order to expedite examination, the examiner is considering the current claims even in their improper form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant claims that Bylund does not disclose the desired power output limitations because Bylund describes spinning the motor up to a maximum or predetermined speed for a predefined time. While the examiner agrees that this is a way to set a speed limit, it also specifically provides a desired power output while spinning up to this speed. As it sets a maximum power and speed limit and then spins the motor up to that limit, that limit itself is a desired power output that is achieved and the limitations have been disclosed. As described in the rejection, power and speed are directly tied to each other and the desired speed comes with a desired power to achieve such a speed. Further, Bylund describes in paragraphs 0019 and 0022 that the system has a trigger to allow the user to control the speed and power of the system that is also capable of providing a desired power setpoint. As such, when outside of the boost mode the system could both be in the cruise mode or be controlled by the stepless trigger to provide a desired power output and speed applied by the user. When the boost mode is activated, the power is above the threshold and the second mode is operated but when the cruise mode or standard user trigger power application is used, the power is below the setpoint, and the boost mode is not activated. In that situation the system is in the first mode. Updated rejections have been presented below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 14 of claim 1 should read “obtain a speed difference” instead of “obtain a speed different”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bylund (US 20170089349) in view of Mullin (US 20210025631) and further in view of Morimura (US 20200378394).
Regarding claim 1, Bylund discloses A blower, comprising:
a main body (Figure 1, item 110);
an air duct extending between an air inlet and an air outlet opposite the air inlet (Figure 1 shows a duct body 150 with an outlet 156 that combines with the motor housing 120 to define the inlet 158 as well), the air duct including an air duct body (The combination of 150 and 120 form the air duct body);
a motor for driving a fan (Par. 0021) disposed in the air duct body between the air inlet and the air outlet (This language allows for either of the fan or motor to be disposed in the air duct body while meeting the limitations. Paragraph 0021 describes the fan being placed in the flowpath and Paragraph 0015 describes the motor being located in the motor housing portion which is part of the air duct body and located between the inlet and the outlet as the inlet extends entirely to the back of the housing); and
a controller disposed in the main body (Par. 0023 describes a processor serving as a controller) and electrically coupled to the motor for controlling a power output of the motor (Par. 0023 describes the processor operating the functions described below which interface and control the motor) by operating in one of a first mode or a second mode (these will be described below), the controller configured to:
receive a power setpoint (Paragraph 0025 describes the cruise control or regular mode having a maximum speed that can be set by the user. Paragraph 0026 further describes that increased speed is achieved by increased power, so when the speed being modified is discussed in the prior art, the power must follow to achieve that speed) including a desired power output (When the boost mode is operated, the desired power output and speed is applied above the threshold as described in Paragraph 0026. Outside of the boost mode the cruise control mode provides a limit but allows for the desired speed and power to be controlled by the user through the trigger, which creates a setpoint for each amount of trigger depression to provide a desired power output),
operate in the first mode based on the power setpoint being less than or equal to a power threshold (Paragraph 0025 describes that during the cruise control mode the power setpoint is maintained at below the threshold. Paragraphs 0019-0025 also describes that the trigger can be used by the user in this mode to modify the speed and power up to the limit, which sets the power setpoint in each instance), wherein the first mode includes controlling a rotational speed of the fan to achieve the desired power output (Paragraphs 0025 and 0026 describe that the speeds are varied in different modes and as the operation of the modes is controlled, the speeds of the different modes are controlled in both modes), and
operate in a second mode based on the power setpoint being greater than the power threshold (Paragraph 0026 describes that the boost mode operates the speed of the blower and thereby the power of the blower above the threshold provided at the maximum of the blower), and comparing the measured power to the power setpoint to obtain a power difference and adjusting the power output of the motor based on the power difference (As Bylund already describes ensuring that the speed and thereby the power of the system stays below the setpoint in the first mode, the sensed power must be compared to the setpoint power to adjust and maintain the speed below the setpoint of Bylund).
However, Bylund does not explicitly disclose in the first mode comparing a rotational speed setpoint to a measured rotational speed to obtain a speed difference; and adjusting a rotational speed of the fan of the motor based on the speed difference obtained, and the second mode includes controlling a voltage output of the motor.
Bylund and Mullin are analogous prior art because both describe fan structures with controllers to modulate the speed. Mullin teaches using a power sensor to determine the operating status of the fan (Par. 0009) and using the power sensed to create a signal to modify the voltage and current to the fan (Pars. 0041-0042) to adjust the speed of the fan. Bylund already describes that various motor sensors can be used to selectively control the application of power to the motor based on user intent (Par. 0019) so the addition of a specific sensor as part of the operating modes of Bylund would provide predictable results. Further, Mullin describes that the use of the sensors allows for more changes in the system (Pars. 0044-0045). Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the power sensor of Mullin in the system of Bylund to control the voltage and current through the motor in the control system because the use of the sensors allows for more changes in the system (Pars. 0044-0045) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). As Bylund already describes ensuring that the speed and thereby the power of the system stays below the setpoint in the first mode, the sensed power must be compared to the setpoint power to adjust and maintain the speed below the setpoint of Bylund in view of Mullins. As such, both modes modify the voltage and current through the motor to change the speed of each mode.
However, Bylund in view of Mullins does not explicitly disclose the first mode comparing a rotational speed setpoint to a measured rotational speed to obtain a speed difference; and adjusting a rotational speed of the fan of the motor based on the speed difference obtained.
Bylund in view of Mullins and Morimura are analogous prior art because both describe fan structures with controllers to modulate the speed. Morimura teaches a controller comparing a rotational speed setpoint to a measured rotational speed to obtain a speed difference; and adjusting a rotational speed of the fan of the motor based on the speed difference obtained (Pars. 0047-0048 describes using the measured rotational speed to keep the speed at the target speed, which requires comparing the two and adjusting the motor). Bylund already describes that various motor sensors can be used to selectively control the application of power to the motor based on user intent (Par. 0019) so the addition of a specific sensor as part of the operating modes of Bylund in view of Mullins would provide predictable results. Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the speed sensor and comparative speed control of Morimura in the system of Bylund in view of Mullins because it allows for precise control and consistency of the speed (Morimura Pars. 0047-0048) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the controller is further configured to perform a first plurality of operations in the first mode, the first plurality of operations comprising: receiving a rotational speed setpoint of the fan of the motor (Bylund Par. 0025 describes a maximum speed for the mode); and receiving a measured rotational speed of the fan of the motor (Morimura Par. 0047).
Regarding claim 3, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the controller comprises a secondary controller (No first controller is ever set forth in claim 1, so the secondary controller is the controller described in the rejection of claim 1 above and is not required by the limitations to be a second, different controller from the controller described above) configured to perform a second plurality of operations in the second mode, the second plurality of operations comprising:
receiving the measured power (Mullins Par. 0009);
generating a control signal based on the power difference (Mullins Pars. 0041-0042); and
wherein the adjusting the power output of the motor based on the control signal (Bylund Par. 0019 describes controlling the power based on user intent).
Regarding claim 4, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the adjusting the power output of the motor includes adjusting a voltage output of the motor based on the control signal (Bylund describes adjusting the power provided to the motor to determine the speed and Mullins paragraph 0034 describes that adjusting the speed of the motor is achieved by changing the compressor voltage).
Regarding claim 5, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the adjusting the power output of the motor includes adjusting a rotational speed of the fan. As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, adjusting the power of the motor changes the speed of the motor and the fan.
Regarding claim 6, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that adjusting the rotational speed of the fan comprises: increasing the rotational speed of the fan if the measured power is less than the power setpoint; and decreasing the rotational speed of the fan if the measured power is greater than the power setpoint. As described in the rejections of claims 1 and 3 above, the speed and power of the motor and fan is adjusted to be maintained below the maximum power of the cruise mode. As such, when the set point is increased and the power is below the set point, the power and speed is increased to adjust and when the power is above the setpoint during the boost mode and the cruise mode is re-engaged, the power and speed is decreased to adjust. Further, the retaining of the set point cannot be achieved without preventing the power and speed from going above the set point which would require lowering the power.
Regarding claim 7, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the controller is configured to operate in a plurality of operating modes, the plurality of operating modes including the first mode and the second mode; and each of the plurality of operating modes include a power range. Bylund Paragraph 0025 describes that the cruise mode operates below a max set speed and thereby power range and paragraph 0026 describes that the boost mode operates at the maximum speed and thereby power of the blower. As the motor and power must speed from that cruise mode max power up to the maximum speed and power, the boost mode range goes from the max speed of the cruise mode to the max speed and power.
Regarding claim 8, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the first mode includes a first power range and the second mode includes a second power range different from the first power range. See description of power ranges in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the controller is further configured to: obtain an assigned power range based on the power setpoint being within the power range of one of the plurality of operating modes (see discussion of power ranges in the rejection of claim 7 above);
receive a measured power output (Mullins Par. 0009);
compare the measured power output to the assigned power range); and
operate the motor such that the power output is within the assigned power range (As Bylund already describes ensuring that the speed and thereby the power of the system stays below the setpoint in the first mode, the sensed power must be compared to the setpoint power to adjust and maintain the speed below the setpoint of Bylund in view of Mullins).
Regarding claim 10, Bylund in view of Mullins and further in view of Morimura teaches that the controller is configured to maintain a constant power output. The claim does not require the controller to always maintain a constant power output under ever condition. As such, the boost mode (Bylund par. 0026) describes providing the maximum speed and thereby maximum power which would be constant. Further, paragraph 0025 describes that the cruise mode can operate at the set speed and power point constantly with the trigger fully engaged which provides a constant power determined through the controller.
Conclusion
/THEODORE C RIBADENEYRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745