DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the communication filed 6/24/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/24/2025 and 7/20/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 6, 8, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,353,538. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by limitations recited in claims 1-18 of the patent US 12,353,538, respectively (see table below).
Instant Application 19/247,158
Patent No. US 12,353,538
Claim 1:
A method comprising:
compiling, by a processor, a software program intended to be executed by the processor, the processor having a secure right level execution context, a non-secure access right level execution context, a privileged access right level execution context, and a non-privileged access right level execution context; generating instructions in machine language with an exclusive secure access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context; and generating instructions in machine language with a non-privileged access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein generating the instructions comprises: generating the instructions in the machine language irrespective of the execution contexts to which the instructions are intended to be executed; and post-processing the generated instructions and replacing at least some generated instructions having an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions having the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein generating the instructions comprises: generating the instructions in the machine language from a source code in programming language; and post-processing the generated instructions, wherein the post-processing is implemented on instructions intended to be executed in the same execution context, the instructions comprising: functions having a declaration communicating the selection, in the source code in the programming language; objects belonging to an intermediate object file, generated after compilation; areas with contiguous memory addresses containing binary data encoding the machine language instructions, generated after the compilation, or a combination thereof.
2. The method according to claim 1, further comprising executing, by the processor in an execution phase, the compiled software program, wherein the instructions having the exclusive secure access right level are capable of accessing secure access right level memory
areas and incapable of accessing memory areas having the non-secure access right level.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the instructions have an exclusive secure access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in a particular processing phase of the secure access right level execution context.
5. The method according to claim 4, wherein post-processing the generated instructions comprises: providing a first identification of the instructions having the privileged access right level amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context; and providing a first substitution of the identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein post-processing the instructions comprises: providing a second identification of the instructions having a secure access right level for accessing memory areas with the secure access right level and memory areas having a non-secure access right level amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context; and providing a second substitution of the identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the exclusive secure access right level.
7. The method according to claim 4, wherein post-processing comprises comparing the instructions generated with a conversion table including a list of the instructions to be substituted and of respective functionally equivalent instructions.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein generating the instructions comprises generating the instructions in the machine language from a source code in a programming language, the method further comprising: identifying, in the source code, the execution contexts to which the instructions corresponding to the execution of the source code are intended; and generating the instructions in the machine language having the access right level corresponding to the execution contexts to which these instructions are intended to be executed.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context are directly generated with the non-privileged access right level.
11. The method according to claim 9, wherein the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context are directly generated with the exclusive secure access right level.
12. The method according to claim 9, wherein the identification in the source code comprises a selection of a function having a declaration, in the source code, communicating the selection.
13. A computer-readable non-transitory recording medium storing a program including program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
compiling a software program intended to be executed by the processor, the processor having a secure right level execution context, a non-secure access right level execution context, a privileged access right level execution context, and a non-privileged access right level execution context; generating instructions in machine language with an exclusive secure access right level in response to the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context; and generating instructions in machine language with a non-privileged access right level in response to the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context.
16. The integrated circuit according to claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to generate the instructions by: generating the instructions in the machine language irrespective of the execution contexts to which the instructions are intended to be executed; and post-processing the generated instructions by replacing generated instructions with an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions with the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context.
19. The integrated circuit according to claim 14, further comprising post-processing the generated instructions, wherein the processor is configured to generate the instructions in the machine language from a source code in programming language, and wherein post-processing is implemented on instructions to be executed in the same execution context, the instructions comprising: functions with a declaration communicating the selection in the source code in the programming language, objects belonging to an intermediate object file generated after compilation, areas with contiguous memory addresses containing binary data encoding the machine language instructions that are generated after the compilation, or a combination thereof.
15. The integrated circuit according to claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the compiled software program, wherein the instructions with the exclusive secure access right level have a privilege to access secure access right level memory areas and are prevented from accessing memory areas with the non-secure access right level.
14. An integrated circuit comprising a processor configured to: compile a software program intended to be executed by the processor, the processor having a secure right level execution context, a non-secure access right level execution context, a privileged access right level execution context, and a non-privileged access right level execution context, generate instructions in machine language with an exclusive secure access right level in response to the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context, and generate instructions in machine language with a non-privileged access right level in response to the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context.
17. The integrated circuit according to claim 16, wherein post-processing the instructions comprises: providing a first identification of the instructions having the privileged access right level, amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context; and providing a first substitution of identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level.
18. The integrated circuit according to claim 17, wherein post-processing the instructions further comprises: providing a second identification of the instructions having a secure access right level with the privilege of accessing memory areas with the secure access right level and memory areas having a non-secure access right level, amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context; and providing a second substitution of the identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the exclusive secure access right level.
20. The integrated circuit according to claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to: test data representative of the exclusive secure access right level in a binary code of the executed instructions; and process the instructions with a hardware configuration corresponding to the access right level communicated by the data.
Claim 1:
A method comprising:
compiling, by a processor in a compiling phase, a software program intended to be executed by the processor, the processor having secure and non-secure access right level execution contexts, and privileged and non-privileged access right level execution contexts;
generating, in the compilation phase, instructions in machine language having an exclusively secure access right level when the instructions are intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context, and instructions having a non-privileged access right level when the instructions are intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context,
wherein generating, in the compilation phase, the instructions comprises:
generating the instructions in the machine language irrespective of the execution contexts to which the instructions are intended to be executed, and post-processing the generated instructions thereby replacing at least some generated instructions having an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions having the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context,
wherein generating, in the compilation phase, the instructions comprises generating the instructions in the machine language from a source code in programming language, and wherein post-processing is implemented on at least one group of instructions intended to be executed in the same execution context, the at least one group of instructions being selected in at least one of the following forms: functions having a declaration communicating the selection in the source code in the programming language; objects belonging to an intermediate object file, generated upon compilation; or areas with contiguous memory addresses containing binary data encoding the machine language instructions, generated upon the compilation.
2. The method according to claim 1, further comprising executing, by the processor in an execution phase, the compiled software program, wherein the instructions having the executively secure access right level are capable of accessing secure access right level memory areas and are incapable of accessing memory areas having the non-secure access right level.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein generating, in the compilation phase, the instructions comprise generating the instructions having the exclusively secure access right level when the instructions are intended to be executed in a particular processing phase of the secure access right level execution context.
4. The method according to claim 1, wherein post-processing the generated instructions comprise: providing a first identification of the instructions having the privileged access right level, amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context; and providing a first substitution of an identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein post-processing the instructions comprise: providing a second identification of the instructions having a secure access right level capable of accessing memory areas having the secure access right level and memory areas having a non-secure access right level amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context; and providing a second substitution of the identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the exclusively secure access right level.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein post-processing comprises comparing the instructions generated with a conversion table including a list of the instructions to be substituted and of respective functionally equivalent instructions.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein generating, in the compilation phase, the instructions comprises: providing an identification, in the source code, of the execution contexts to which the instructions corresponding to the execution of the source code are intended; and generating the instructions in the machine language having the access right level corresponding to the execution contexts to which these instructions are intended to be executed.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context are directly generated with the non-privileged access right level.
9. The method according to claim 7, wherein the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context are directly generated with the exclusively secure access right level.
10. The method according to claim 7, wherein the identification in the source code comprises a selection of the functions having the declaration in the source code, and communicating the selection.
12. An integrated circuit comprising: a processor configured to:
compile, in a compiling phase, a software program intended to be executed by the processor, the processor having secure and non-secure access right level execution contexts, and privileged and non-privileged access right level execution contexts; and generate, in the compilation phase, instructions in machine language having an exclusively secure access right level when the instructions are intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context, and instructions having a non-privileged access right level when the instructions are intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context,
wherein the processor is configured to generate, in the compilation phase, the instructions by: generating the instructions in the machine language irrespective of the execution contexts to which the instructions are intended to be executed; and post-processing the generated instructions thereby replacing at least some generated instructions having an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions having the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context,
wherein the processor is further configured to generate, in the compilation phase, the instructions by generating the instructions in the machine language from a source code in programming language, and wherein post-processing is implemented on at least one group of instructions intended to be executed in the same execution context, the at least one group of instructions being selected in at least one of the following forms: functions having a declaration communicating the selection, in the source code in the programming language; objects belonging to an intermediate object file, generated upon compilation; or areas with contiguous memory addresses containing binary data encoding the machine language instructions, generated upon the compilation.
13. The integrated circuit according to claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to execute, in an execution phase, the compiled software program, wherein the instructions having the executively secure access right level are capable of accessing secure access right level memory areas and are incapable of accessing memory areas having the non-secure access right level.
17. The integrated circuit according to claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to: provide an identification, in the source code, of the execution contexts to which the instructions corresponding to the execution of the source code are intended; and generate the instructions in the machine language having the access right level corresponding to the execution contexts to which these instructions are intended to be executed.
18. The integrated circuit according to claim 17, wherein the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context are directly generated with the non-privileged access right level.
14. The integrated circuit according to claim 12, wherein post-processing the instructions comprises: providing a first identification of the instructions having the privileged access right level, amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context; and providing a first substitution of an identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level.
15. The integrated circuit according to claim 12, wherein post-processing the instructions further comprises: providing a second identification of the instructions having a secure access right level capable of accessing memory areas having the secure access right level and memory areas having a non-secure access right level, amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context; and providing a second substitution of the identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the exclusively secure access right level.
16. The integrated circuit according to claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to: test data representative of the exclusively secure access right level, in a binary code of the executed instructions; and process the instructions with a hardware configuration corresponding to the access right level communicated by the data.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 102
7. Claims 1-3, 9-5, and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LeMay et al (US 2019/0050558).
Regarding claim 1, LeMay et al teaches a method comprising:
compiling, by a processor in a compiling phase, a software program intended to be executed by the processor (fig. 1, ‘120, fig. 2, ‘200, par [0018], and par [0021], lines 1-3, “compartmentalizing compiler”), the processor having a secure right level execution context (par [0023], lines 6-10, “second compartment having an intermediate level of security for code that need to access moderately secure data set”), a non-secure access right level execution context (par [0023], lines 9-11, “third compartment having no security for code that need to access unsecure or readily available data sets”), a privileged access right level execution context (par [0023], lines 4-6, first compartment having highest level of security for code that need to access highly secure data set), and a non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0013] & par [0023], lines 9-11, “least privilege”); and
generating instructions in machine language with an exclusive secure access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context (par [0045], which discloses the compartmentalizing compiler being implemented to process sensitive data instructions for storing sensitive data in sensitive memory stores), and generating instructions in machine language with a non-privileged access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0045], which discloses the compartmentalizing compiler being implemented to process non-sensitive data instructions for storing non-sensitive data in non-sensitive memory stores).
Regarding claim 2, LeMay et al teaches executing, by the processor in an execution phase, the compiled software program (par [0034], lines 1-5), wherein the instructions having the executively secure access right level are capable of accessing secure access right level memory areas (par [0034], lines 1-5, which discloses the program being compiled in normal mode where data is separated into a sensitive data set) and are incapable of accessing memory areas having the non-secure access right level (par [0034], lines 5-10, which discloses the program being compiled in sandboxed mode where data is separated into a non-sensitive data set).
Regarding claim 3, LeMay et al teaches wherein the instructions have an exclusive secure access right level when the instructions are intended to be executed in a particular processing phase of the secure access right level execution context (par [0043], lines 1-5, which discloses implementing sensitive data being accessed in a boundary separate from non-sensitive data, in normal mode).
Regarding claim 9, LeMay et al teaches wherein generating the instructions comprises generating the instructions in the machine language from a source code in programming language (par [0018]), the method further comprising:
identifying, in the source code, the execution contexts to which the instructions corresponding to the execution of the source code are intended (par [0018] and par [0021]); and
generating the instructions in the machine language having the access right level corresponding to the execution contexts to which these instructions are intended to be executed (par [0024], “access to data sets of different security levels”).
Regarding claim 10, LeMay et al teaches wherein the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context are directly generated with the non-privileged access right level (par [0033], lines 9-14, “access non-sensitive data”).
Regarding claim 11, LeMay et al teaches wherein the instructions intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context are directly generated with the exclusively secure access right level (par [0023], “highest level of security”).
Regarding claim 12, LeMay et al teaches wherein the identification in the source code comprises a selection of function having a declaration, in the source code, communicating the selection (par [0062], lines 10-15, “each select instruction”).
Regarding claim 13, LeMayet al teaches a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium (par [0092], lines 5-14) storing a program including program instructions that, when executed by a processor (par [0092], lines 5-14), cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
compiling a software program intended to be executed by the processor (fig. 1, ‘120, fig. 2, ‘200, par [0018], and par [0021], lines 1-3, “compartmentalizing compiler”), the processor having a secure right level execution context (par [0023], lines 6-10, “second compartment having an intermediate level of security for code that need to access moderately secure data set”), a non-secure access right level execution context (par [0023], lines 9-11, “third compartment having no security for code that need to access unsecure or readily available data sets”), a privileged access right level execution context (par [0023], lines 4-6, first compartment having highest level of security for code that need to access highly secure data set), and a non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0013] & par [0023], lines 9-11, “least privilege”);
generating instructions in machine language with an exclusive secure access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context (par [0045], which discloses the compartmentalizing compiler being implemented to process sensitive data instructions for storing sensitive data in sensitive memory stores); and
generating instructions in machine language with a non-privileged access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0045], which discloses the compartmentalizing compiler being implemented to process non-sensitive data instructions for storing non-sensitive data in non-sensitive memory stores).
Regarding claim 14, LeMay et al teaches an integrated circuit (fig. 2 & fig. 5) comprising a processor (fig. 5, ‘602) configured to:
compile a software program intended to be executed by the processor (fig. 1, ‘120, fig. 2, ‘200, par [0018], and par [0021], lines 1-3, “compartmentalizing compiler”), the processor having a secure right level execution context (par [0023], lines 6-10, “second compartment having an intermediate level of security for code that need to access moderately secure data set”), a non-secure access right level execution context (par [0023], lines 9-11, “third compartment having no security for code that need to access unsecure or readily available data sets”), a privileged access right level execution context (par [0023], lines 4-6, first compartment having highest level of security for code that need to access highly secure data set), and a non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0013] & par [0023], lines 9-11, “least privilege”);
generate instructions in machine language with an exclusive secure access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the secure access right level execution context (par [0045], which discloses the compartmentalizing compiler being implemented to process sensitive data instructions for storing sensitive data in sensitive memory stores); and
generate instructions in machine language with a non-privileged access right level in response to the instructions being intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0045], which discloses the compartmentalizing compiler being implemented to process non-sensitive data instructions for storing non-sensitive data in non-sensitive memory stores).
Regarding claim 15, LeMay et al teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the compiled software program (par [0034], lines 1-5), wherein the instructions with the exclusive secure access right level have a privilege to access secure access right level memory areas (par [0034], lines 1-5, which discloses the program being compiled in normal mode where data is separated into a sensitive data set) and are prevented from accessing memory areas with the non-secure access right level (par [0034], lines 5-10, which discloses the program being compiled in sandboxed mode where data is separated into a non-sensitive data set).
Regarding claim 20, LeMay et al teaches wherein the processor is configured to:
test data representative of the exclusive secure access right level in a binary code of the executed instructions (par [0058-0059]); and
process the instructions with a hardware configuration corresponding to the access right level communicated by the data (par [0023-0024]).
6. Claims 4-5, 7, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeMay et al (US 2019/0050558) in view of Yukitomo et al (JP 2006155516 A).
Regarding claim 4, LeMay et al teaches wherein generating, in the compilation phase, the instructions comprises:
generating the instructions in the machine language irrespective of the execution contexts to which the instructions are intended to be executed (par [0033], lines 1-5).
LeMay et al does not explicitly teach post-processing the generated instructions thereby replacing at least some generated instructions having an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions having the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context.
However, Yukitomo et al teaches post-processing the generated instructions thereby replacing at least some generated instructions having an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions having the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context (pg. 13, lines 29-37, which discloses replacing access protection information corresponding to access rights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yukitomo et al within the system taught by LeMay et al would provide the predictive result of improving upon secure area access protection by implementing protection faults for prevention of access at fault detection (as disclosed in Abstract of Yukitomo et al) because each protection fault further indicates whether access is permitted based on each specified access type.
Regarding claim 5, LeMay et al teaches providing a first identification of the instructions having the privileged access right level (par [0032], lines 1-6, “accessed by any instruction in the sensitive compartment”), amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0033], lines 5-10, “non-sensitive region”).
LeMay et al does not explicitly teach providing a first substitution of an identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level.
However, Yukitomo et al teaches providing a first substitution of an identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level (pg. 22, lines 20-26, “substituting a value indicating access prohibition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yukitomo et al within the system taught by LeMay et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, LeMay et al does not explicitly teach wherein post-processing comprises comparing the instructions generated with a conversion table including a list of the instructions to be substituted and of respective functionally equivalent instructions.
However, Yukitomo et al teaches wherein post-processing comprises comparing the instructions generated with a conversion table including a list of the instructions to be substituted and of respective functionally equivalent instructions (pg. 14, lines 20-26, “”an entry that matches X is detected from the address conversion table”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yukitomo et al within the system taught by LeMay et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, LeMay et al teaches wherein the processor is configured to generate the instructions by:
generating the instructions in the machine language irrespective of the execution contexts to which the instructions are intended to be executed (par [0033], lines 1-5).
LeMay et al does not explicitly teach post-processing the generated instructions by replacing generated instructions with an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions with the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context.
However, Yukitomo et al teaches post-processing the generated instructions by replacing generated instructions with an access right level not corresponding to an access right level of its execution context with instructions with the access right level corresponding to the access right level of its execution context (pg. 13, lines 29-37, which discloses replacing access protection information corresponding to access rights).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yukitomo et al within the system taught by LeMay et al would provide the predictive result of improving upon secure area access protection by implementing protection faults for prevention of access at fault detection (as disclosed in Abstract of Yukitomo et al) because each protection fault further indicates whether access is permitted based on each specified access type.
Regarding claim 17, LeMay et al teaches providing a first identification of the instructions having the privileged access right level (par [0032], lines 1-6, “accessed by any instruction in the sensitive compartment”), amongst the instructions intended to be executed in the non-privileged access right level execution context (par [0033], lines 5-10, “non-sensitive region”).
LeMay et al does not explicitly teach providing a first substitution of an identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level.
However, Yukitomo et al teaches providing a first substitution of an identified instructions with functionally equivalent instructions and having the non-privileged access right level (pg. 22, lines 20-26, “substituting a value indicating access prohibition”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yukitomo et al within the system taught by LeMay et al according to the motivation disclosed regarding claim 16.
Conclusion
/RANDY A SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439
20261014