DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 06/24/2025. The applicant submits three Information Disclosure Statements dated 06/24/2025, 11/04/2025, and 06/23/2026. The applicant claims Domestic priority to applications filed on 10/17/2025, 06/01/2019, 11/16/2020, 02/18/2021, 09/15/2021, 09/15/2023, and 01/16/2025. The applicant claims Foreign priority to application filed on 12/02/2016, 12/06/2016, and 04/10/2017. Claim 1 is canceled.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 – 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of copending Application No. 19/025,141. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying a collision, initiating a countdown for emergency service to be notified of the collision, providing an option to an occupant to cancel the notification, and contact predetermined contacts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pal US 2017/0053461.
As per claim 2, An electronic device comprising:
first communication circuitry configured to obtain location data of the electronic device; (Pal paragraph 0020 discloses, “the technology can leverage non-generic location data (e.g., GPS data) and/or motion data (e.g., accelerometer data, gyroscope data) to conveniently and unobtrusively detect vehicular accident events. In examples, the location data and/or motion data can be passively collected at a user's mobile computing device (e.g., a smartphone), such that the technology can perform vehicular accident detection without requiring a user to purchase additional hardware.”)
second communication circuitry configured to communicate user data with another electronic device; (Pal paragraph 0170 discloses, “However, one or more mobile computing devices, vehicles, remote servers, and/or other suitable computing systems can be communicably connected (e.g., wired, wirelessly) through any suitable communication networks.”)
at least one sensor configured to obtain movement data of the electronic device; (Pal paragraph 0031 discloses, “Movement data can be collected from and/or associated with any one or more of: motion sensors (e.g., multi-axis and/or single-axis accelerometers, gyroscopes, etc.), location sensors (e.g., GPS data collection components, magnetometer, compass, altimeter, etc.), and/or any other suitable components.”)
memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; (Pal paragraph 0172 discloses, “The computer-readable medium can be stored on any suitable computer readable media such as RAMs, ROMs, flash memory, EEPROMs, optical devices (CD or DVD), hard drives, floppy drives, or any suitable device. The computer-executable component can be a processor, though any suitable dedicated hardware device can (alternatively or additionally) execute the instructions.”) and
at least one processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
monitor, via the at least one sensor and/or the first communication circuitry, the movement data of the electronic device, (Pal paragraph 0172 discloses, “The method 100 and/or system 200 of the embodiments can be embodied and/or implemented at least in part as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions. The instructions can be executed by computer-executable components integrated with the application, applet, host, server, network, website, communication service, communication interface, hardware/firmware/software elements of a patient computer or mobile device, or any suitable combination thereof.”)
identify, based on change of the movement data exceeding a first threshold, that the electronic device is disposed in a car which is moving, (Pal paragraph 0033 discloses, “Block S110 preferably includes collecting movement data whenever the mobile computing device is in a moving vehicle, but can additionally or alternatively include collecting movement data S110 for a stationary vehicle.”)
after identifying that the electronic device is disposed in the car, identify, based on change of the movement data exceeding a second threshold, an accident of the car in which the electronic device is disposed, wherein the second threshold is greater than the first threshold, (Pal paragraph 0033 discloses, “receiving a first motion dataset collected at a motion sensor of the mobile computing device during the first time period; in response to a vehicle motion characteristic (e.g., extracted from at least one of the first location dataset and the first motion dataset) exceeding the motion characteristic threshold: receiving a second location dataset collected at the location sensor of the mobile computing device during a second time period of the movement of the vehicle, where the second time period is after the first time period, and receiving a second motion dataset collected at the motion sensor of the mobile computing device during the second time period.”)
in response to identifying the accident of the car, provide a first notification for the accident of the car, wherein the first notification is provided for indicating waiting time prior to providing emergency services, (Pal paragraph 0090 discloses, “detecting one or more vehicular accident events from processing a set of movement features with an accident detection model. Block S140 functions to identify one or more accidents involving one or more vehicles. As shown in FIG. 3, Block S140 can additionally or alternatively include performing threshold satisfaction tests S142, and/or generating an accident detection machine learning model S144.”)
while the first notification is provided, identify whether a designated user input is received in the waiting time, (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”)
based on the designated user input being received in the waiting time, cancel the first notification, (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “In an example, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5B, initiating communication with one or more emergency services can include, presenting, at the mobile computing device, a countdown to initiating a phone call with an emergency service (e.g., 911); providing, at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”) and
based on the designated user input not being received in the waiting time, transmit, via the second communication circuitry, a call request to a public safety agency for the emergency services and provide a second notification for announcing that the electronic device is connected to the public safety agency. (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “In an example, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5B, initiating communication with one or more emergency services can include, presenting, at the mobile computing device, a countdown to initiating a phone call with an emergency service (e.g., 911); providing, at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”)
As per claim 3, The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the accident of the car comprises at least one of a collision and a rollover. (Pal paragraph 0152 discloses, “determining an accident type of the vehicular accident event. Accident types can include any one or more of: single-vehicle accident, multi-vehicle accident, rear-end collision, head-on accident, side-impact, T-bone collision, pedestrian collision, hit and run, parking lot accident, major collision, minor collision, fender bender, vehicle damage characteristics, and/or any other suitable accident type. Multi-vehicle accident types can include accident types indicating the size of the vehicles involved (e.g., compact, mid-size, large, SUV, convertible, sedan, truck, commercial car, etc.). Vehicle damage characteristics can include any one or more of: vehicular damage location (e.g., rear, front, side, tires, etc.), mechanical damage (e.g., engine damage, brakes damage, etc.), electrical damage, and/or any other suitable damage type.”)
As per claim 5, The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to transmit, based on the designated user input not being received in the waiting time, a message including location information on the electronic device to an external electronic device corresponding to an emergency contact. (Pal paragraph 0116 discloses, “can include automatically contacting emergency services (e.g., rather than only notifying selected user contacts) in response to a vehicular speed movement feature exceeding a threshold vehicular speed.” And paragraph 0126 discloses, “emergency services equipped with information regarding the number of passengers can appropriately allocate resources according to characteristics of the accident (e.g., multiple ambulance vehicles for a multi-passenger accident of high severity, etc.). In another example, the method 100 can include: generating an audio sample including GPS coordinates associated with the vehicular accident event, where the GPS coordinates are derived from a location dataset (e.g., received in response to an extracted vehicle motion characteristic exceeding a threshold motion characteristic); and transmitting the audio sample to an emergency service.”)
As per claim 6, The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the location information includes a latitude and a longitude of the electronic device obtained via the first communication circuitry. (Pal paragraph 0094 discloses, “Accident detection thresholds can include any one or more of: a threshold change in position (e.g., change in latitude, longitude, altitude, etc.),” and paragraph 0167)
As per claim 9, A method performed by an electronic device, comprising:
monitoring, via at least one sensor and/or first communication circuitry, the movement data of the electronic device, (Pal paragraph 0172 discloses, “The method 100 and/or system 200 of the embodiments can be embodied and/or implemented at least in part as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions. The instructions can be executed by computer-executable components integrated with the application, applet, host, server, network, website, communication service, communication interface, hardware/firmware/software elements of a patient computer or mobile device, or any suitable combination thereof.”)
identifying, based on change of the movement data exceeding a first threshold, that the electronic device is disposed in a car which is moving, (Pal paragraph 0033 discloses, “Block S110 preferably includes collecting movement data whenever the mobile computing device is in a moving vehicle, but can additionally or alternatively include collecting movement data S110 for a stationary vehicle.”)
after identifying that the electronic device is disposed in the car, identifying, based on change of the movement data exceeding a second threshold, an accident of the car in which the electronic device is disposed, wherein the second threshold is greater than the first threshold, (Pal paragraph 0033 discloses, “receiving a first motion dataset collected at a motion sensor of the mobile computing device during the first time period; in response to a vehicle motion characteristic (e.g., extracted from at least one of the first location dataset and the first motion dataset) exceeding the motion characteristic threshold: receiving a second location dataset collected at the location sensor of the mobile computing device during a second time period of the movement of the vehicle, where the second time period is after the first time period, and receiving a second motion dataset collected at the motion sensor of the mobile computing device during the second time period.”)
in response to identifying the accident of the car, providing a first notification for the accident of the car, wherein the first notification is provided for indicating waiting time prior to providing emergency services, (Pal paragraph 0090 discloses, “detecting one or more vehicular accident events from processing a set of movement features with an accident detection model. Block S140 functions to identify one or more accidents involving one or more vehicles. As shown in FIG. 3, Block S140 can additionally or alternatively include performing threshold satisfaction tests S142, and/or generating an accident detection machine learning model S144.”)
while the first notification is provided, identifying whether a designated user input is received in the waiting time, (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”)
based on the designated user input being received in the waiting time, canceling the first notification, (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “In an example, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5B, initiating communication with one or more emergency services can include, presenting, at the mobile computing device, a countdown to initiating a phone call with an emergency service (e.g., 911); providing, at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”) and
based on the designated user input not being received in the waiting time, transmitting, via second communication circuitry, a call request to a public safety agency for the emergency services and providing a second notification for announcing that the electronic device is connected to the public safety agency. (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “In an example, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5B, initiating communication with one or more emergency services can include, presenting, at the mobile computing device, a countdown to initiating a phone call with an emergency service (e.g., 911); providing, at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”)
As per claim 10, The method of claim 9, wherein the accident of the car comprises at least one of a collision and a rollover. (Pal paragraph 0152 discloses, “determining an accident type of the vehicular accident event. Accident types can include any one or more of: single-vehicle accident, multi-vehicle accident, rear-end collision, head-on accident, side-impact, T-bone collision, pedestrian collision, hit and run, parking lot accident, major collision, minor collision, fender bender, vehicle damage characteristics, and/or any other suitable accident type. Multi-vehicle accident types can include accident types indicating the size of the vehicles involved (e.g., compact, mid-size, large, SUV, convertible, sedan, truck, commercial car, etc.). Vehicle damage characteristics can include any one or more of: vehicular damage location (e.g., rear, front, side, tires, etc.), mechanical damage (e.g., engine damage, brakes damage, etc.), electrical damage, and/or any other suitable damage type.”)
As per claim 12, The method of claim 9, wherein the method comprises transmitting, based on the designated user input being not received in the waiting time, a message including location information on the electronic device to an external electronic device corresponding to an emergency contact. (Pal paragraph 0116 discloses, “can include automatically contacting emergency services (e.g., rather than only notifying selected user contacts) in response to a vehicular speed movement feature exceeding a threshold vehicular speed.” And paragraph 0126 discloses, “emergency services equipped with information regarding the number of passengers can appropriately allocate resources according to characteristics of the accident (e.g., multiple ambulance vehicles for a multi-passenger accident of high severity, etc.). In another example, the method 100 can include: generating an audio sample including GPS coordinates associated with the vehicular accident event, where the GPS coordinates are derived from a location dataset (e.g., received in response to an extracted vehicle motion characteristic exceeding a threshold motion characteristic); and transmitting the audio sample to an emergency service.”)
As per claim 13, The method of claim 12, wherein the location information includes a latitude and a longitude of the electronic device obtained via the first communication circuitry. (Pal paragraph 0094 discloses, “Accident detection thresholds can include any one or more of: a threshold change in position (e.g., change in latitude, longitude, altitude, etc.),” and paragraph 0167)
As per claim 16, Anon-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs,
the one or more programs comprising instructions which, when executed by an electronic device with first communication circuitry configured to obtain location data of the electronic device, (Pal paragraphs 0167)
second communication circuitry configured to communicate user data with another electronic device, and at least one sensor configured to obtain movement data of the electronic device, (Pal paragraph 0170 discloses, “However, one or more mobile computing devices, vehicles, remote servers, and/or other suitable computing systems can be communicably connected (e.g., wired, wirelessly) through any suitable communication networks.”)
cause the electronic device to:
monitor, via the at least one sensor and/or the first communication circuitry, the movement data of the electronic device, (Pal paragraph 0172 discloses, “The method 100 and/or system 200 of the embodiments can be embodied and/or implemented at least in part as a machine configured to receive a computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions. The instructions can be executed by computer-executable components integrated with the application, applet, host, server, network, website, communication service, communication interface, hardware/firmware/software elements of a patient computer or mobile device, or any suitable combination thereof.”)
identify, based on change of the movement data exceeding a first threshold, that the electronic device is disposed in a car which is moving, (Pal paragraph 0033 discloses, “Block S110 preferably includes collecting movement data whenever the mobile computing device is in a moving vehicle, but can additionally or alternatively include collecting movement data S110 for a stationary vehicle.”)
after identifying that the electronic device is disposed in the car, identify, based on change of the movement data exceeding a second threshold, an accident of the car in which the electronic device is disposed, wherein the second threshold is greater than the first threshold, (Pal paragraph 0033 discloses, “receiving a first motion dataset collected at a motion sensor of the mobile computing device during the first time period; in response to a vehicle motion characteristic (e.g., extracted from at least one of the first location dataset and the first motion dataset) exceeding the motion characteristic threshold: receiving a second location dataset collected at the location sensor of the mobile computing device during a second time period of the movement of the vehicle, where the second time period is after the first time period, and receiving a second motion dataset collected at the motion sensor of the mobile computing device during the second time period.”)
in response to identifying the accident of the car, provide a first notification for the accident of the car, wherein the first notification is provided for indicating waiting time prior to providing emergency services, (Pal paragraph 0090 discloses, “detecting one or more vehicular accident events from processing a set of movement features with an accident detection model. Block S140 functions to identify one or more accidents involving one or more vehicles. As shown in FIG. 3, Block S140 can additionally or alternatively include performing threshold satisfaction tests S142, and/or generating an accident detection machine learning model S144.”)
while the first notification is provided, identify whether a designated user input is received in the waiting time, (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”)
based on the designated user input being received in the waiting time, cancel the first notification, (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “In an example, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5B, initiating communication with one or more emergency services can include, presenting, at the mobile computing device, a countdown to initiating a phone call with an emergency service (e.g., 911); providing, at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”) and
based on the designated user input being not received in the waiting time, transmit, via the second communication circuitry, a call request to a public safety agency for the emergency services and provide a second notification for announcing that the electronic device is connected to the public safety agency. (Pal paragraph 0125 discloses, “In an example, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5B, initiating communication with one or more emergency services can include, presenting, at the mobile computing device, a countdown to initiating a phone call with an emergency service (e.g., 911); providing, at the mobile computing device, a cancellation option to stop the countdown; and preventing the phone call in response to user selection of the cancellation option.”)
As per claim 17, The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the accident of the car comprises at least one of a collision and a rollover. (Pal paragraph 0152 discloses, “determining an accident type of the vehicular accident event. Accident types can include any one or more of: single-vehicle accident, multi-vehicle accident, rear-end collision, head-on accident, side-impact, T-bone collision, pedestrian collision, hit and run, parking lot accident, major collision, minor collision, fender bender, vehicle damage characteristics, and/or any other suitable accident type. Multi-vehicle accident types can include accident types indicating the size of the vehicles involved (e.g., compact, mid-size, large, SUV, convertible, sedan, truck, commercial car, etc.). Vehicle damage characteristics can include any one or more of: vehicular damage location (e.g., rear, front, side, tires, etc.), mechanical damage (e.g., engine damage, brakes damage, etc.), electrical damage, and/or any other suitable damage type.”)
As per claim 19, The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more programs comprises instructions, when executed by an electronic device, cause the electronic device to transmit, based on the designated user input being not received in the waiting time, a message including location information on the electronic device to an external electronic device corresponding to an emergency contact. (Pal paragraph 0116 discloses, “can include automatically contacting emergency services (e.g., rather than only notifying selected user contacts) in response to a vehicular speed movement feature exceeding a threshold vehicular speed.” And paragraph 0126 discloses, “emergency services equipped with information regarding the number of passengers can appropriately allocate resources according to characteristics of the accident (e.g., multiple ambulance vehicles for a multi-passenger accident of high severity, etc.). In another example, the method 100 can include: generating an audio sample including GPS coordinates associated with the vehicular accident event, where the GPS coordinates are derived from a location dataset (e.g., received in response to an extracted vehicle motion characteristic exceeding a threshold motion characteristic); and transmitting the audio sample to an emergency service.”)
As per claim 20, The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the location information includes a latitude and a longitude of the electronic device obtained via the first communication circuitry. (Pal paragraph 0094 discloses, “Accident detection thresholds can include any one or more of: a threshold change in position (e.g., change in latitude, longitude, altitude, etc.),” and paragraph 0167)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pal US 2017/0053461 in view of Negahban US 8,965,988.
As per claim 4, The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the electronic device comprises a speaker, and wherein the first notification and the second notification are output through the speaker. (Negahban Col 12 lines 39 – 42)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
As per claim 7, The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the emergency contact is registered before providing the emergency services. (Negahban Col 5 lines 1 – 8)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
As per claim 8, The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to provide the second notification periodically. (Negahban Col 10 lines 61 – 66)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
As per claim 11, The method of claim 9, wherein the electronic device comprises a speaker, and wherein the first notification and the second notification are output through the speaker. (Negahban Col 12 lines 39 – 42)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
As per claim 14, The method of claim 12, wherein the emergency contact is registered before providing the emergency services. (Negahban Col 5 lines 1 – 8)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
As per claim 15, The method of claim 9, wherein the method comprises providing the second notification periodically. (Negahban Col 10 lines 61 – 66)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
As per claim 18, The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the electronic device comprises a speaker, and wherein the first notification and the second notification are output through the speaker. (Negahban Col 12 lines 39 – 42)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
As per claim 21, The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the emergency contact is registered before providing the emergency services. (Negahban Col 5 lines 1 – 8)
Pal discloses a method and system for smartphone – base accident detection. Pal does not
disclose a speaker that output’s notifications. Negahban teaches of a speaker used to output notifications regarding a collision. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Negahban et.al. into the invention of Pal. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure an occupant is able to accurately document the events of a collision and seek immediate medical attention when unable to request such assistance.
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664