Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 9 recitation “first retainer element is independent of the cartridge body” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings and specification show only the second retainer 142 independent of the cartridge body (which is for claimed second valve recited as controlling flow to outlet so it would be for second valve 206 as opposed to the first retainer 226 for first valve 204, which is inside cartridge body and not independent of the body). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 11, 15-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Reinatz et al (6176692).
Regarding claim 1, Reinatz, (Fig 1), discloses a valve cartridge 34 for a fluid pump 9,15, comprising: a cartridge body (sleeve 35 constitutes cartridge body and inward extending portion at upstream end as valve seat for 38) defining a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the cartridge body having a fluid inlet (at 17) extending through the first end and a fluid outlet (at 33) extending through the second end; a first valve assembly “E” configured to control fluid flow through the fluid inlet, the first valve assembly disposed inside the cartridge body 35, and the first valve assembly comprising: a first valve seat (for 38 at inner surface of inward extending portion at upstream end of 35); a first valve 38 configured to sealingly engage the first valve seat; a first spring 41 configured to bias the first valve to a closed position with respect to the first valve seat; and a first retainer element (left side portion of 39) configured to engage the first spring 41; and a second valve assembly “E” configured to control fluid flow through the fluid outlet, the second valve assembly comprising: a second valve seat (right side portion of 39); a second valve 40 configured to sealingly engage the second valve seat; and a second spring 42 configured to bias the second valve 10 to a closed position with respect to the second valve seat, the valve cartridge configured for insertion into, and removal from, a cartridge bore in a housing of the fluid pump as a unit (col 1 ,line 56 teaches valves interconnected as s single cartridge inserted in the bore; likewise, the cartridge is seen as removable as single unit from bore 32).
As to claim 2, the cartridge body (35) is a single piece component from the first end to the second end.
As to claim 6, first valve assembly E is configured to control fluid flow through only one fluid inlet 17, and the fluid inlet is the only one fluid inlet (for pump 9,15), and wherein the second valve assembly 18 is configured to control fluid flow through only one fluid outlet 33, and the fluid outlet is the only one fluid outlet (for pump 9,15).
As to claim 7, the cartridge body (35) is configured to direct fluid flow from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body along a center line of the cartridge body.
As to claim 8, the fluid inlet 17 is along a center line of the cartridge body, and the fluid outlet 33 is along the center line of the cartridge body.
As to claim 11, Reinatz, (Fig 2), discloses a fluid end (at lower side of 52) of a fluid pump 46, comprising: a cap 48 configured to enclose a cartridge bore 47-50 of the fluid end; a valve cartridge 55 configured for insertion into, and removal from, the cartridge bore as a (col 1, line 56 teaches valves interconnected as s single cartridge inserted in the bore; likewise, the cartridge is seen as removable as single unit from bore), the valve cartridge comprising: a cartridge body 59,58,57,56 defining a first end (at 56) and a second end opposite the first end, the cartridge body having a fluid inlet (at 50) extending through the first end and a fluid outlet (to 47) extending through the second end; a first valve assembly E configured to control fluid flow through the fluid inlet, the first valve assembly disposed inside the cartridge body, and the first valve assembly comprising a first valve seat (at surface of 56), a first valve 51, a first spring 64, and a first retainer element (stepped section at upstream surface of 58); and a second valve assembly A configured to control fluid flow through the fluid outlet, the second valve assembly comprising a second valve seat (at surface of 58), a second valve 61, and a second spring 65; and a retainer element 62 configured to engage between the cap 48 and the second spring 65.
As to claim 15, first valve assembly E is configured to control fluid flow through only one fluid inlet (at 50), and the fluid inlet is the only one fluid inlet, and wherein the second valve assembly is configured to control fluid flow through only one fluid outlet 47, and the fluid outlet is the only one fluid outlet.
As to claim 16, the cartridge body (55) is configured to direct fluid flow from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body along a center line of the cartridge body.
As to claim 17, Reinatz, (Fig 1), discloses a fluid pump, 9,15, comprising: a power end 20; a fluid end 15 having a cartridge bore 32; and a valve cartridge 34 configured for insertion into, and removal from, the cartridge bore as a unit (col 1 ,line 56 teaches valves interconnected as s single cartridge inserted in the bore; likewise, the cartridge is seen as removable as single unit from bore 32), the valve cartridge comprising: a cartridge body (sleeve 35 constitutes cartridge body and inward extending portion at upstream end as valve seat for 38) fluid inlet (at 17) extending through the first end and a fluid outlet (at 33) extending through the second end; a first valve assembly “E” configured to control fluid flow through the fluid inlet, the first valve assembly disposed inside the cartridge body 35, and the first valve assembly comprising a first valve seat (for 38 at inner surface of inward extending portion at upstream end of 35), a first valve 38, a first spring 41, and a first retainer element (left side portion of 39); and a second valve assembly “A” configured to control fluid flow through the fluid outlet, the second valve assembly comprising a second valve seat (right side portion of 39), a second valve 40, and a second spring 42.
As to claim 19, first valve assembly E is configured to control fluid flow through only one fluid inlet 17, and the fluid inlet is the only one fluid inlet (for pump 9,15), and wherein the second valve assembly 18 is configured to control fluid flow through only one fluid outlet 33, and the fluid outlet is the only one fluid outlet (for pump 9,15).
As to claim 20, the cartridge body (35) is configured to direct fluid flow from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body along a center line of the cartridge body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 12-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinatz et al (6176692) in view of Yater et al (20100038134).
Reinatz discloses valve assemblies “E” and “A’ in valve chamber formed by cartridge body (35 in Fig 1, and 56,57,58,59 in Fig 2) but fails to disclose the valve assemblies with seat, ball and spring of suction and discharge valves as copies of each other. Yater shows (Fig 20, Para 0192) suction and discharge valve assemblies 821,822 in a valve chamber 804 as a copies of each other.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system/device disclosed Reinatz with valve balls, seats and springs as a copies of each other as taught by Yater in order to enable interchangeability of parts.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinatz et al (6176692) in view of Chandrasekaran et al (20140086774).
Regarding claim 10, Reinatz, (Fig 1), discloses the first check valve “E” having retainer element (as upstream part of 39) but fails to disclose valves biased by spring with spring retainer held in grooves of cartridge body sidewall. Chandrasekaran et al teaches suction and discharge valves for pump as check valves biased by spring 72 with spring retainer 20 held in grooves 22 of valve chamber sidewall.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system/device disclosed Reinatz with valves biased by spring with spring retainer held in grooves of valve chamber sidewall as taught by Chandrasekaran as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute check valve mechanism yielding predictable results of unidirectional flow. The grooves in sidewall of valve chamber of Reinatz as modified would be located in the inner surface of cartridge body sidewall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753