DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner respectfully responds to the REMARKS as below.
Regarding Claim 1, The applicant argues that claim 1 is patentable over the cited for at the following four independent reasons:
i. Claim 1 is patentable as cited references do not disclose “a first value for a validity timer of a cell” and “a second value for the validity timer for the cell” (REMARKS, page 1)
ii. Claim 1 is patentable as “a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) configuration comprising a first value for a validity timer of a cell” and “a second NTN configuration comprising a second value for the validity timer of the cell” are required. (REMARKS, page 2)
iii. Claim 1 is patentable as “third NTN configuration corresponding to at least one NTN neighbor cell” are included in a single SIB, as required by claim 1. (REMARKS, page 2)
iv. Claim 1 is patentable references do not disclose “performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell.” (REMARKS, page 2)
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Document OPPO (R2-2208782) discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, a system information block (SIB) comprising: (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2, section 3.1, page 2 discloses UE which is a wireless device), a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a first value for a validity timer of a cell; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430) for serving cell), a second NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a second value for the validity timer of the cell; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430) for serving cell) and a third NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) corresponding to at least one NTN neighbor cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.2, page 14-16 disclose neighbor cell); starting, based on the receiving the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2) and for the cell, the validity timer with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430), section 7.2, page 50, T430 start during HO and CHO); and stopping the validity timer with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430), section 7.2, page 50 stop the current T430 (if it is running)) indicated in the SIB; and starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430), section 7.2, page 50, T430 start during HO and CHO) with the second value indicated in the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19). Document OPPO (R2-2208782) does not explicitly disclose: performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises: However, Document MediaTek discloses: performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises: (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, In case of feeder link switch requirement, there are considerations of a hard feeder link switch or a soft feeder link switch. The main motivation for using the same PCI is that from the UE perspective, nothing is changed at the service link. In case of feeder link switch, soft feeder link switching not require service interruption, however, in case of hard feeder link switching may bring potential service interruption. Maintaining the same PCI will be more complex – RAN2 should consult RAN1 on whether soft feeder link switch is possible, what changes are required and the level of complexity). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Document OPPO (R2-2208782) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document MediaTek so that performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises be included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document MediaTek will significantly reduce the signaling load associated with frequent handovers. (Document MediaTek, section 1, section 2.5, and section 4)
It is very explicit from above that validity timer is disclosed. A person skilled in the art understands that a validity have many values as the time gets elapsed. More clarity is required in the independent claims. In the response, the applicant has not provided any figure number, and paragraphs related to invention including what is being achieved (motivation). Document OPPO discloses NTN configurations, and the validity timer as stated above. Document MediaTek discloses: performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises: Document MediaTek, section 2.5, In case of feeder link switch requirement, there are considerations of a hard feeder link switch or a soft feeder link switch. The main motivation for using the same PCI is that from the UE perspective, nothing is changed at the service link. In case of feeder link switch, soft feeder link switching not require service interruption, however, in case of hard feeder link switching may bring potential service interruption. Maintaining the same PCI will be more complex – RAN2 should consult RAN1 on whether soft feeder link switch is possible, what changes are required and the level of complexity. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document MediaTek will significantly reduce the signaling load associated with frequent handovers. (Document MediaTek, section 1, section 2.5, and section 4)
Thus, there is a motivation to combine the references. The claim 1 is not patentable. Similarly, claims 9, and 15 not allowable. Therefore, respective dependent claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #119e, Online, Aug 17th – 26th, 2022, R2-2208782, Agenda Item: 6.10.3.2.3, Source: OPPO, Title: Summary of [AT119-e], [103][NR-NTN] Other RRC corrections (OPPO) – phase 3, hereinafter Document OPPO (R2-2208782), in view of (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #121, Athens, Greece, Feb 27 – March 03, 2023, Tdoc R2-2300274, Agenda Item: 8.7.4, Source: MediaTek Inc., Title: Handover Enhancement in LEO NTN, hereinafter Document MediaTek).
Regarding Claim 1, Document OPPO (R2-2208782) discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a system information block (SIB) comprising: (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2, section 3.1, page 2 discloses UE which is a wireless device)
a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a first value for a validity timer of a cell; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430) for serving cell)
a second NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a second value for the validity timer of the cell; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430) for serving cell) and
a third NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) corresponding to at least one NTN neighbor cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.2, page 14-16 disclose neighbor cell);
starting, based on the receiving the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2) and for the cell, the validity timer with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430), section 7.2, page 50, T430 start during HO and CHO); and
stopping the validity timer with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430), section 7.2, page 50 stop the current T430 (if it is running)) indicated in the SIB; and
starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430), section 7.2, page 50, T430 start during HO and CHO) with the second value indicated in the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19).
Document OPPO (R2-2208782) does not explicitly disclose following:
performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises:
However, Document MediaTek discloses following:
performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises: (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, In case of feeder link switch requirement, there are considerations of a hard feeder link switch or a soft feeder link switch. The main motivation for using the same PCI is that from the UE perspective, nothing is changed at the service link. In case of feeder link switch, soft feeder link switching not require service interruption, however, in case of hard feeder link switching may bring potential service interruption. Maintaining the same PCI will be more complex – RAN2 should consult RAN1 on whether soft feeder link switch is possible, what changes are required and the level of complexity)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Document OPPO (R2-2208782) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document MediaTek so that performing a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises be included in a method. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document MediaTek will significantly reduce the signaling load associated with frequent handovers. (Document MediaTek, section 1, section 2.5, and section 4)
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the method of claim 1, wherein:
the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises obtaining an uplink synchronization (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization) corresponding to the cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, serving cell is being interpreted as corresponding to the cell); and
the starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19, page 8, T430 start during Handover, section 7.2, page 50 T430 start during HO and CHO) with the second value is based on the obtaining the uplink synchronization (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization) corresponding to the cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, serving cell is being interpreted as corresponding to the cell).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the method of claim 1, wherein:
the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises determining an uplink synchronization of the cell being lost (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization, page 4 UL synchronization is lost); and
the determining the uplink synchronization of the cell being lost (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization, Uplink (UL) synchronization, page 4 UL synchronization is lost) is in response to the stopping the validity timer associated with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430), section 7.2, page 50 stop the current T430 (if it is running)).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first NTN configuration further comprises at least one of (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config, optional limitation noticed):
a first polarization antenna;
a first cell-specific scheduling offset;
a first common timing advance (TA); (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, vivo, TA reporting/TA parameters, page 13 discloses common TA, section 5.2 TA report, section 4, Proposal 6 discloses common TA parameters)
first ephemeris information; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, Ericsson, Qualcomm, ephemeris, also page 4-5, and 12 disclose ephemeris information) or
first epoch time. (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time)
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19) with the first value is from a subframe indicated by the first epoch time (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the second NTN configuration further comprises at least one of (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config):
a second polarization antenna;
a second cell-specific scheduling offset;
a second common timing advance (TA); (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, vivo, TA reporting/TA parameters, page 13 discloses common TA, section 4, Proposal 6 discloses common TA parameters)
second ephemeris information (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, Ericsson, Qualcomm, ephemeris, also page 4-5, and 12 disclose ephemeris information); or
second epoch time. (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time)
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19, section 7.2, page 50 T430 start during HO and CHO) with the second value is from a subframe indicated by the second epoch time (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises not flushing one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) buffers (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, disclose flush HARQ buffers) corresponding to one or more HARQ processes (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 5.3, page 46 disclose HARQ process/HARQ process number).
Regarding Claim 9, (Document OPPO (R2-2208782) discloses a wireless device comprising: (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2 discloses UE which is a wireless device)
one or more processors; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2 discloses UE which is a wireless device, UE (wireless device) has one or more processors) and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to: (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2 discloses UE which is a wireless device, UE (wireless device) has one or more processors, and memory)
receive a system information block (SIB) comprising: (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2)
a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a first value for a validity timer of a cell;
a second NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a second value for the validity timer of the cell; and
a third NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) corresponding to at least one NTN neighbor cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.2, page 14-16 disclose neighbor cell);
start, based on the receiving the SIB and for the cell, the validity timer with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19”); and
stopping the validity timer with the first value indicated in the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 7.2, page 50, stop the current T430 (if it is running)); and
starting the validity timer with the second value indicated in the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19”, section 7.2, page 50 T430 start during HO and CHO)).
Document OPPO (R2-2208782) does not explicitly disclose following:
perform a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises:
However, Document MediaTek discloses following:
perform a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises: (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, In case of feeder link switch requirement, there are considerations of a hard feeder link switch or a soft feeder link switch. The main motivation for using the same PCI is that from the UE perspective, nothing is changed at the service link. In case of feeder link switch, soft feeder link switching not require service interruption, however, in case of hard feeder link switching may bring potential service interruption. Maintaining the same PCI will be more complex – RAN2 should consult RAN1 on whether soft feeder link switch is possible, what changes are required and the level of complexity)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Document OPPO (R2-2208782) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document MediaTek so that perform a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises be included in a wireless device. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document MediaTek will significantly reduce the signaling load associated with frequent handovers. (Document MediaTek, section 1, section 2.5, and section 4)
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the wireless device of claim 9 (Document OPPO (R2-2208782, section 3.1, page 4 discloses UE which is a wireless device), wherein:
the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises obtaining an uplink synchronization (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization) corresponding to the cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, serving cell is being interpreted as corresponding to the cell); and
the starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19, section 7.2, page 50 T430 start during HO and CHO) with the second value is based on the obtaining the uplink synchronization (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization) corresponding to the cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, serving cell is being interpreted as corresponding to the cell).
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the wireless device of claim 9 (Document OPPO (R2-2208782, section 3.1, page 4 discloses UE which is a wireless device), wherein:
the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises determining an uplink synchronization of the cell being lost (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization, Uplink (UL) synchronization, page 4 UL synchronization is lost); and
the determining the uplink synchronization of the cell being lost (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization, Uplink (UL) synchronization, page 4 UL synchronization is lost) is in response to the stopping the validity timer associated with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 7.2, page 50, stop the current T430 (if it is running)).
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the wireless device of claim 9 (Document OPPO (R2-2208782, section 3.1, page 4 discloses UE which is a wireless device), wherein the first NTN configuration further comprises at least one of (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config, optional limitation):
a first polarization antenna;
a first cell-specific scheduling offset;
a first common timing advance (TA); (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, vivo, TA reporting/TA parameters, page 13 discloses common TA, section 4, Proposal 6 discloses common TA parameters)
first ephemeris information; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, Ericsson, Qualcomm, ephemeris, also page 4-5, and 12 disclose ephemeris information) or
first epoch time. (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time)
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the wireless device of claim 12, wherein the second NTN configuration further comprises at least one of (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config, optional limitation):
a second polarization antenna;
a second cell-specific scheduling offset;
a second common timing advance (TA); (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, vivo, TA reporting/TA parameters, page 13 discloses common TA)
second ephemeris information; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, Ericsson, Qualcomm, ephemeris, also page 4-5, and 12 disclose ephemeris information) or
second epoch time. (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time)
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the wireless device of claim 9 (Document OPPO (R2-2208782, section 3.1, page 4 discloses UE which is a wireless device), wherein the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises not flushing one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) buffers (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, disclose flush HARQ buffers) corresponding to one or more HARQ processes (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 46, page 56 disclose HARQ process/HARQ process number).
Regarding Claim 15, Document OPPO (R2-2208782) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to: (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, page 4 disclose UE which is a wireless device)
receive a system information block (SIB) comprising: (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2)
a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a first value for a validity timer of a cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430) for serving cell);
a second NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) comprising a second value for the validity timer of the cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, section 3.1, Validity timer (T430) for serving cell); and
a third NTN configuration (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config) corresponding to at least one NTN neighbor cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.2, page 14-16 disclose neighbor cell);
start, based on the receiving the SIB and for the cell, the validity timer with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19, section 7.2, page 50 T430 start during HO and CHO); and
stopping the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 7.2, page 50, stop the current T430 (if it is running)) with the first value indicated in the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 as defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2); and
starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19, section 7.2, page 50 T430 start during HO and CHO) with the second value indicated in the SIB (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, 5.2.2.6, acquire SIB19 as defined in clause 5.2.2.3.2).
Document OPPO (R2-2208782) does not explicitly disclose following:
perform a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises:
However, Document MediaTek discloses following:
perform a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises: (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, In case of feeder link switch requirement, there are considerations of a hard feeder link switch or a soft feeder link switch. The main motivation for using the same PCI is that from the UE perspective, nothing is changed at the service link. In case of feeder link switch, soft feeder link switching not require service interruption, however, in case of hard feeder link switching may bring potential service interruption. Maintaining the same PCI will be more complex – RAN2 should consult RAN1 on whether soft feeder link switch is possible, what changes are required and the level of complexity)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Document OPPO (R2-2208782) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Document MediaTek so that perform a link switch without changing a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, wherein the link switch comprises be included in a wireless device. The motivation to combine the teachings of Document MediaTek will significantly reduce the signaling load associated with frequent handovers. (Document MediaTek, section 1, section 2.5, and section 4)
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein:
the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises obtaining an uplink synchronization (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization) corresponding to the cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, serving cell is being interpreted as corresponding to the cell); and
the starting the validity timer (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 2, page 4, “upon starting T430 after successful acquisition of SIB 19, section 7.2, page 50 T430 start during HO and CHO) with the second value is based on the obtaining the uplink synchronization (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization) corresponding to the cell (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2, serving cell is being interpreted as corresponding to the cell).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein:
the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises determining an uplink synchronization of the cell being lost (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization, Uplink (UL) synchronization, page 4 UL synchronization is lost); and
the determining the uplink synchronization of the cell being lost (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, section 3.1, Nokia, Qualcomm, Uplink (UL) synchronization, Uplink (UL) synchronization, page 4 UL synchronization is lost) is in response to the stopping the validity timer associated with the first value (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 7.2, page 50, stop the current T430 (if it is running)).
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the first NTN configuration further comprises at least one of (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config, optional limitation):
a first polarization antenna;
a first cell-specific scheduling offset;
a first common timing advance (TA); (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, vivo, TA reporting/TA parameters, page 13 discloses common TA, section 4, Proposal 6 discloses common TA parameters)
first ephemeris information; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, Ericsson, Qualcomm, ephemeris, also page 4-5, and 12 disclose ephemeris information) or
first epoch time. (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time)
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the second NTN configuration further comprises at least one of (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 10 discloses NTN-Config, optional limitation):
a second polarization antenna;
a second cell-specific scheduling offset;
a second common timing advance (TA); (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, vivo, TA reporting/TA parameters, page 13 discloses common TA, section 4, Proposal 6 discloses common TA parameters)
second ephemeris information; (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 3, Ericsson, Qualcomm, ephemeris, also page 4-5, and 12 disclose ephemeris information) or
second epoch time. (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 7, Huawei, HiSilicon, Solution 1, Solution 2, Epoch time, at various instances in the document epoch time is disclosed and discussed, page 11 epoch time, page 13 epoch time’s timing, section 7.1, page 49 epoch time)
Regarding Claim 20, The combination of Document OPPO (R2-2208782), and Document MediaTek disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the performing the link switch (Document MediaTek, section 2.5, link switch) further comprises not flushing one or more hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) buffers (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), section 3.1, page 2 discloses flushing HARQ buffers) corresponding to one or more HARQ processes (Document OPPO (R2-2208782), page 46, page 56 disclose HARQ process/HARQ process number).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #121, 2022, Athens, Greece, 27 February – 03 March 2023, R2-2300734, Revision of R2-2211736, Agenda Item: 8.7.4.2, Source: Apple, Title: NTN specific handover enhancement. (Year: 2023), section 2.4, Optimization for keeping same PCI after feeder link switching, Proposal 4-6, page 6.
(b) 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #121, Athens, Greece, 27th Feb – 3rd March 2023, R2-2301504, Agenda item: 8.7.4.2, Source: Fujitsu, Title: Discussion on Handover enhancements for NTN. (Year: 2023), section 2.1 Open issues on the reusing PCI after satellites switching, page 1-3.
(c) 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #121, Athens, Greece, Feb 27 – Mar 03, 2023, R2-2300361, Agenda item: 8.7.4.2, Source: Intel Corporation, Title: Discussion on NTN 2-step handover. (Year: 2023), section 2. Handover issues, case 2: soft feeder link switch, page 1-6.
(d) 3GPP TSG RAN WG2#121, Athens, February 27th-March 3rd, 2023, R2-2301269, Agenda Item: 8.7.4.2, Source: CMCC, CATT, Huawei, Lenovo, vivo, Title: Service Link Switching with PCI unchanged. (Year: 2023), section 1, entire section 2, and section 3, page 1-7.
(e) 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #21, Athens, Greece, 27 February – 3rd March, 2023, R2-2300209, Agenda item: 8.7.4.2, Source: CATT, Title: Discussion on PCI unchanged scenario. (Year: 2023), section 2.1 to 2.4, and section 3.
(f) 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #121, Athens, February 27th – March 3rd, 2023, R2-2301269, Agenda Item: 8.7.4.2, Source: CMCC, CATT, Huawei, Lenovo, vivo, Title: Service Link Switching with PCI unchanged. (Year: 2023), sections 2.1, 2.2, 2.2.1, 2.2.2, 2.2.3, and section 3, page 2-7.
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472