DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 2, 3A-3D, 6A-6F, and 8A-8C are photographs, not in the proper format required for drawings. Additionally, Figures 2, 3A-3D, 6A-6F, and 8A-8C do not include any reference numbers or connection to the specification to explain what is show in the figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7, “filing” should be “filling”.
Regarding claim 19, “conformal encapsulating combination” should be “a conformal encapsulating combination”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 22, “that maintains its structural format” is indefinite because it is unclear what “its” refers to. For examination purposes, “that maintains its structural format” is being interpreted to mean “that maintains a structural format of the composition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keidar et al (US 2023/0248249), hereinafter Keidar.
Regarding claim 1, Keidar discloses a method (Para. 0123-0128) comprising:
forming a cavity or recessed surface (Fig. 11, item 152) in a substrate (Fig. 11, item 150, 151) (Para. 0123-0128);
filling the cavity or recessed surface with a liquid (Para. 0123-0128); and
conformally (Para. 0123-0128) forming parylene on the liquid (Para. 0123-0128) such that the parylene prevents the liquid from leaking (Para. 0123-0128) out of the cavity or recessed surface (Para. 0123-0128), embedding the liquid in the cavity or recessed surface of the substrate (Para. 0123-0128).
Figure 11 of Keidar does not expressly disclose forming parylene in contact with the liquid. However, Figure 20 and Para. 0161-0162 of Keidar teaches polymer film layers 156 (including parylene) can be directly on and contacting the liquid layer in chamber 152. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would understand Keidar to teach conformally forming paylene on and contacting the liquid, in order to maximum the biocompatibility of the sensor (Keidar, Para. 0161-0162).
Regarding claim 2, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method includes conformally forming the parylene in a vacuum (Para. 0124).
Regarding claim 3, Keidar does not expressly disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the vacuum has a pressure between 25 mTorr and 100 mTorr.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to set the vacuum to a pressure between 25 mTorr and 100 mTorr, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein conformally forming parylene on and contacting the liquid (Para. 0123-0128) includes conformally forming parylene on and contacting combination of the substrate (Para. 0123-0128) (Fig. 11, parylene layer 156 contacts the substrate) and the liquid in the cavity (Para. 0123-0128) (Para. 0161-0162, Keidar teaches the paylene layer contacting the liquid layer) (Fig. 20) or recessed surface of the substrate (Para. 0123-0128).
Regarding claim 5, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the liquid is static in the cavity or the recessed surface (Para. 0123-0128, the liquid is static in the cavity because the liquid remains within the cavity due to the top layer sealing the cavity).
Regarding claim 6, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the liquid flows in the cavity or the recessed surface (Para. 0123-0128, the liquid flows in and into the cavity when the cavity is being filled).
Regarding claim 7, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein filling the cavity or the recessed surface includes only partially filing the cavity or the recessed surface (Para. 0123-0128, the cavity is only partially filled because the membrane 155 is able to flex and move as the liquid moves within the cavity).
Regarding claim 8, Keidar does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the substrate is a silicon substrate.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to form the substrate out of silicon, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 9, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the substrate is a biocompatible substrate (Para. 0126-0127).
Regarding claim 10, Keidar discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the method includes forming the substrate as part of a device that is implantable in a human (Para. 0126-0127).
Regarding claim 11, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the liquid is a silicone oil (Para. 0126-0127), a liquid metal, a coolant liquid, or a biological liquid.
Regarding claim 12, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the liquid has a composition that does not alter under conditions (Para. 0126-0127) for conformally forming the parylene on the liquid in the cavity (Para. 0123-0128).
Regarding claim 13, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein forming the cavity or recessed surface in the substrate includes drilling the substrate (Para. 0093), wet or dry etching the substrate (Para. 0093), laser etching the substrate, or three-dimensional printing of the cavity or the recessed surface in the substrate.
Regarding claim 14, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the parylene is parylene-C (Para. 0137).
Regarding claim 15, Keidar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the parylene is a high temperature parylene (Para. 0137).
Regarding claim 16, Keidar discloses an article of manufacture (Fig. 11) (Para. 0123-0128) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 11, item 150, 151) (Para. 0123-0128);
a liquid (Para. 0123-0128) in a cavity (Fig. 11, item 152) or recessed surface of the substrate (Para. 0123-0128); and
a conformal parylene capping layer (Para. 0123-0128) on the liquid such that the parylene prevents the liquid from leaking out (Para. 0123-0128) of the cavity or recessed surface (Para. 0123-0128), embedding the liquid in the cavity or recessed surface of the substrate (Para. 0123-0128).
Figure 11 of Keidar does not expressly disclose forming parylene in contact with the liquid. However, Figure 20 and Para. 0161-0162 of Keidar teaches polymer film layers 156 (including parylene) can be directly on and contacting the liquid layer in chamber 152. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would understand Keidar to teach conformally forming paylene on and contacting the liquid, in order to maximum the biocompatibility of the sensor (Keidar, Para. 0161-0162).
Regarding claim 17, Keidar discloses the article of manufacture of claim 16, wherein the substrate is a biocompatible substrate (Para. 0126-0127).
Regarding claim 18, Keidar discloses the article of manufacture of claim 16, wherein the liquid is a silicone oil, a liquid metal, a coolant, or a biological liquid (Para. 0126-0127).
Regarding claim 19, Keidar discloses the article of manufacture of claim 16, wherein the conformal parylene is conformal encapsulating combination (Para. 0123-0128) of the substrate and the liquid in the cavity or recessed surface of the substrate (Para. 0123-0128).
Regarding claim 20, Keidar discloses the article of manufacture of claim 16, wherein the liquid is static in the cavity or recessed surface (Para. 0123-0128, the liquid is static in the cavity because the liquid remains within the cavity due to the top layer sealing the cavity).
Regarding claim 21, Keidar discloses the article of manufacture of claim 16, wherein the article of manufacture includes a channel (Fig. 11, item 157) to flow the liquid in the cavity or recessed surface (Para. 0123-0128).
Regarding claim 22, Keidar discloses a method (Para. 0123-0128) comprising:
forming a cavity or recessed surface (Fig. 11, item 152) in a substrate (Fig. 11, item 150, 151) (Para. 0123-0128) by a material removal process (Para. 0093), by a material additive process, or combination of material removal process and material additive process, the cavity or recessed surface having a top level (Para. 0123-0128);
filling the cavity or recessed surface with a liquid (Para. 0123-0128) to a level below the top level (Para. 0123-0128), the liquid being a composition (Para. 0123-0128) that maintains its structural format (Para. 0123-0128) under processing conditions for capping the liquid in the cavity (Para. 0123-0128); and
capping the liquid (Para. 0123-0128) in the substrate by conformally depositing parylene (Para. 0123-0128) on the liquid (Para. 0123-0128) such that the parylene prevents the liquid from leaking out (Para. 0123-0128) of the cavity (Para. 0123-0128), embedding the liquid in the cavity of the substrate (Para. 0123-0128).
Figure 11 of Keidar does not expressly disclose forming parylene in contact with the liquid. However, Figure 20 and Para. 0161-0162 of Keidar teaches polymer film layers 156 (including parylene) can be directly on and contacting the liquid layer in chamber 152. A person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would understand Keidar to teach conformally forming paylene on and contacting the liquid, in order to maximum the biocompatibility of the sensor (Keidar, Para. 0161-0162).
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731