Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-11 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “such that the component can be removed from the forming device with a backdraft” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear why having “a backdraft”.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination the Examiner interpreted “such that the component can be removed from the forming device with a backdraft” as “such that the component can be removed from the forming device without a backdraft”.
Claims 2-8 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the desired shape" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is indefinite since all that the applicant considers to be encompassed by the phrase “wherein the component is a door panel for a vehicle” cannot be determined. What are the steps that be claimed?
Therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite, the Examiner provided prior art rejections as best as understood.
Claim 11 is indefinite since all that the applicant considers to be encompassed by the phrase “wherein the component includes two walls presenting an angle ranging from 10 to 20 degrees therebetween” cannot be determined. What are the steps that be claimed?
Therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite, the Examiner provided prior art rejections as best as understood.
Regarding claim 17, the recitation of the claim renders the claim indefinite because claim 17 depends from claim 9, and claim 9 recited “without post forming or secondary operations”; then claim 17 recited “including quenching”;
So, it is unclear how the method of claim 17 without post forming or secondary operations and including quenching in the same time.Therefore, claim 17 is unclear and indefinite, proper clarification is required in replying to this Office Actin. The Examiner provided prior art rejection as best as understood.
Claim 18 is rejected because it depends from claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, the recitation of the claim renders the claim indefinite because the preamble of the claim is drawn to a method and then the claim recites the structure of an apparatus; therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite; and the Applicant must amend claim 19 to clearly define the claim in the terms of the method steps.
Regarding claim 20, the recitation of the claim renders the claim indefinite because the preamble of the claim is drawn to a method and then the claim recites the structure of an apparatus; therefore, the claim is unclear and indefinite; and the Applicant must amend claim 20 to clearly define the claim in the terms of the method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoonsun (EP2801417A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoonsun discloses a forming device for hot forming a component (paragraphs 0014-0028; figs.3-4: (30)), the forming device comprising:
an upper cam slide (fig.4: (6)) and a lower fill slide (fig.4: (32)) which form a component therebetween;
the lower fill slide (fig.4: (32)) being capable of retracting from the upper cam slide (fig.4: (6)) after forming the component, such that the component can be removed from the forming device with a backdraft.
Regarding claim 2, Yoonsun discloses further including an upper pad (fig.4: (9)) adjacent the upper cam slide for engaging the component and a saw tooth driver (fig.4: (39)) disposed beneath the lower fill slide.
Regarding claim 4, Yoonsun discloses wherein the upper cam slide extends from an upper die (fig.6: (1)) and the lower fill slide is disposed above a lower die (fig.6: (2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoonsun (EP2801417A1).
Regarding claims 5-8, Yoonsun does not disclose the limitations of claims 5-8;
However, having the limitations of claims 5-8 and 19-20 are related to the shape of the upper slide and the lower fill slide that depends on the required shape of the product as desired; and optimizing shape would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the limitations of claims 5-8 in order to have a component with specific shape as desired.
Claims 3 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoonsun (EP2801417A1) in view Sohmshetty (US20190388948A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yoonsun does not disclose wherein at least one of the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide include holes for conveying a cooling fluid therethrough.
Sohmshetty discloses a forming device for forming a component, comprising
holes for conveying a cooling fluid (and 0026-0027).
Both of the prior arts of Yoonsun and Sohmshetty are related to a method of forming a component;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yoonsun to have the configuration of holes for conveying a cooling fluid as taught by Sohmshetty, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Regarding claims 9 and 16-18, Yoonsun discloses a method of forming a component (paragraphs 0014-0028; figs.3-4: (30)), comprising:
forming a blank between an upper cam slide (fig.4: (6)) and a lower fill slide (fig.4: (32));
the upper cam slide (fig.4: (32)) and lower fill slide (fig.4: (32)) having dimensions and pressure capability which form the blank into a component having a desired shape and material properties without post forming or secondary operations;
retracting the lower fill slide from the upper cam slide after forming the component to the desired shape and obtaining the desired material properties; and removing the component from the forming device (paragraphs 0014-0028).
Regarding claims 9 and 16-18, Yoonsun does not disclose a heated blank; wherein the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide are present in a forming device and including heating the blank outside of the forming device before the forming step; including quenching the component between the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide after the forming step; and wherein the quenching step includes conveying cooling fluid through holes of the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide after the forming step and while the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide engage the component;
Sohmshetty discloses a method of hot forming a component, comprising
forming a heated blank (paragraph 0023); heating the blank outside of a forming device; and a quenching step that includes conveying cooling fluid through holes (paragraphs 0023 and 0026-0027).
Both of the prior arts of Yoonsun and Sohmshetty are related to a method of forming a component;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yoonsun to have the step of heating the blank outside of a forming device as taught by Sohmshetty in order to reduce a forming load required to form the component (Sohmshetty : paragraph 0003) and to modify the method of Yoonsun to have the step of quenching as taught by Sohmshetty in order to have the advantage of maximum hardness an improved strength and load capacity; thereby having a method of hot forming a component, comprising a heated blank; wherein the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide are present in a forming device and including heating the blank outside of the forming device before the forming step; including quenching the component between the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide after the forming step; and wherein the quenching step includes conveying cooling fluid through holes of the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide after the forming step and while the upper cam slide and the lower fill slide engage the component.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty is cable to process a door panel for a vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty does not disclose wherein the component includes two walls presenting an angle ranging from 10 to 20 degrees therebetween;
However, optimizing shape would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the limitations of claim 11 in order to have a component with specific shape as desired.
Regarding claim 12, Yoonsun discloses wherein the component is removed without a backdraft.
Therefore, the modification of Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Yoonsun discloses wherein an upper pad fig.4: (9)) is disposed adjacent to the upper cam slide (fig.4: (6)), and the method further includes engaging the component with the upper pad during the forming step.
Therefore, the modification of Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Yoonsun discloses wherein a saw tooth driver (fig.4: (39)) is located beneath the lower cam slides and the method further includes retracting the saw tooth driver after the forming step.
Therefore, the modification of Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty teaches the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty does not disclose including forming the blank into the component while the blank is at a temperature ranging from 950° C to 12500 C.
However, choosing the temperature range is very known in art and a matter of routine engineering design choice that depends on the type of material of the component to be processed and the properties of the final product as desired
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have including forming the blank into the component while the blank is at a temperature ranging from 950° C to 12500 C in order to have product with specific properties as desired.
Therefore, the modification of Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty teaches the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claims 19-20, Yoonsun in view of Sohmshetty does not disclose the limitations of claims 19-20;
However, having the limitations of claims 5-8 and 19-20 are related to the shape of the upper slide and the lower fill slide that depends on the required shape of the product as desired; and optimizing shape would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the limitations of claims 19-20 in order to have a component with specific shape as desired.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725