DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (US 20200173388 A1; hereinafter Peters) in view of Yacoub et al. (US 20130174536 A1; hereinafter Yacoub).
Regarding claim 1, Peters teaches a motor vehicle (1) (see at least, [0027] a hybrid drive system of a hybrid vehicle) comprising:- a frame (2);- a first set of wheels (3a) and a second set of wheels (3b) rotatable relative to said frame (2) about respective rotational axes;- at least one electric motor (4) operatively connected to said first set of wheels (3a);- at least one internal combustion engine (5) selectively operatively connectable to said second set of wheels (3b) (see at least, Fig 1A).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (a frame (2))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second set of wheels (3b))]
[AltContent: textbox (internal combustion engine (5) selectively operatively connectable to said second set of wheels (3b))][AltContent: textbox (one electric motor (4) operatively connected to said first set of wheels (3a))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (a first set of wheels (3a))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (rotational axle)][AltContent: textbox (rotational axle)]
and adapted to produce, in use, exhaust gas; an exhaust system (6) configured to expel and treat said exhaust gas (see at least, Fig 2, a cylinder-piston unit 20 of an internal combustion engine 2...the
exhaust gas forming during the combustion is transferred via the outlet valve 36 to the exhaust-gas purification device 3); and an electronic control unit (10) (see at least, Fig 2, control device 40); characterized in that said electronic control unit (10) is configured to command: said electric motor (4) to be operatively connected to said first set of wheels (3a) and said internal combustion engine (5) to be operatively connected to said second set of wheels (3b) (see at least, [0055] the internal combustion engine 2 and the electric motor 12 are able to be connected to one another, or disconnected from one another, via the clutch unit 6…possible for a combined operation of the internal combustion engine 2 and the electric motor 12, or a disconnected operation of only the electric motor 12 or only the internal combustion engine 2).
Peters does not explicitly teach when a first physical quantity (T, t) complies, in use, with a control criterion; said electric motor (4) to be operatively connected to said first set of wheels (3a) and said internal combustion engine (5) to be operatively decoupled from said second set of wheels (3b) when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply, in use, with said control criterion. However, Yacoub teaches this limitation.
Yacoub teaches when a first physical quantity (T, t) complies, in use, with a control criterion; said electric motor (4) to be operatively connected to said first set of wheels (3a) and said internal combustion engine (5) to be operatively decoupled from said second set of wheels (3b) when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply, in use, with said control criterion (see at least, Fig 2, [0014] In the case of exhaust temperature exceeding a degradation threshold or a threshold that may contribute to or be indicative of unintentional combustion of soot in the DPF, the vehicle control system may initiate a filter protection mode wherein the internal combustion engine may be decoupled, and the vehicle driven by electric motor alone as is shown in FIG. 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Peters to include when a first physical quantity complies, in use, with a control criterion; said electric motor to be operatively connected to said first set of wheels and said internal combustion engine to be operatively decoupled from said second set of wheels when said first physical quantity does not comply, in use, with said control criterion as taught by Yacoub so that there is less heat emitted in the exhaust process further reducing the probability of unintentional combustion by lowering the temperature of exhaust delivered to the DPF (Yacoub, [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1. Peters further teaches comprising a front portion (la) and a rear portion (3b) according to a travel direction (A) of said motor vehicle (1); wherein said first set of wheels (3a) is arranged on the side of said front portion (la) and said second set of wheels (3b)is arranged on the side of said rear portion (lb); or wherein said first set of wheels (3a) is arranged on the side of said rear portion (lb) and said second set of wheels (3b) is arranged on the side of said front portion (la) (see at least, Fig 1A shown in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1. Peters further teaches wherein said first physical quantity (T) is associated with the temperature of said exhaust gas (see at least, [0065] the control device 40 can establish…an operating temperature T.sub.cat, targ of the exhaust-gas purification device).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1. Yacoub further teaches wherein said electronic control unit (10) is further configured to set said internal combustion engine (5) in a predetermined operating regime, when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with said control criterion (see at least, [0014] an engine motor system within a hybrid vehicle…that operates via a routine diagrammed in FIG. 2. In the case of exhaust temperature exceeding a degradation threshold or a threshold that may contribute to or be indicative of unintentional combustion of soot in the DPF, the vehicle control system may initiate a filter protection mode wherein the internal combustion engine may be decoupled, and the vehicle driven by electric motor alone as is shown in FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Peters to include electronic control unit is further configured to set said internal combustion engine in a predetermined operating regime, when said first physical quantity does not comply with said control criterion as taught by Yacoub so that there is less heat emitted in the exhaust process further reducing the probability of unintentional combustion by lowering the temperature of exhaust delivered to the DPF (Yacoub, [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 3. Peters further teaches wherein said exhaust system (6) comprises: a catalytic converter (8) (see at least, [0056] an exhaust-gas purification device, also referred to as a catalytic converter, purifies the exhaust gases of the internal combustion engine 2 of pollutants); and at least one duct (9) (see at least, Fig 2; [0060] the air-fuel mixture has taken place in the piston cylinder interior space 28, the exhaust gas 44 which thus forms is transferred via the outlet valve 34 into the exhaust-gas purification system 30), which fluidly connects said internal combustion engine (5) to said catalytic converter (8) (see at least, [0056] the internal combustion engine 2…as FIG. 2 shows, connected to an exhaust-gas purification device 30) ; wherein said electronic control unit (10) is configured to control that said internal combustion engine (5) is operatively connected to said second set of wheels (3b) as a function of said first physical quantity (T) detected and/or determined in at least one point of said duct (9) (see at least, [0065] the control device 40 can establish for example when, at a given temperature of the inlet fluid T.sub.cF, at a given temperature of the outlet fluid T.sub.F, at a given volumetric flow rate of the outlet fluid V.sub.F and/or at a given engine rotational speed n, an operating temperature
T.sub.cat,targ of the exhaust-gas purification device is attained).
Regarding claim 8, Peters teaches a method of controlling a motor vehicle (1) (see at least, [0027] a hybrid drive system of a hybrid vehicle); said motor vehicle (1) comprising: a frame (2); a first set of wheels (3a) and a second set of wheels (3b) rotatable relative to said frame (2) about respective rotational axes; at least one electric motor (4) operatively connected to said first set of wheels (3a); at least one internal combustion engine (5) selectively operatively connectable to said second set of wheels (3b) (see at least, Fig 1A).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (a frame (2))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second set of wheels (3b))]
[AltContent: textbox (internal combustion engine (5) selectively operatively connectable to said second set of wheels (3b))][AltContent: textbox (one electric motor (4) operatively connected to said first set of wheels (3a))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (a first set of wheels (3a))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (rotational axle)][AltContent: textbox (rotational axle)]
and adapted to produce, in use, exhaust gas; and an exhaust system (6) configured to expel and treat said exhaust gas (see at least, Fig 2, a cylinder-piston unit 20 of an internal combustion engine 2...
the exhaust gas forming during the combustion is transferred via the outlet valve 36 to the exhaust-gas purification device 3).
Peters does not explicitly teach said method characterized by comprising the steps of: i) operatively connecting said electric motor (4) to said first set of wheels (3a) and said internal combustion engine (5) to said second set of wheels (3b), when a first physical quantity (T, t) complies with a control criterion; ii) operatively connecting said electric motor (4) to said first set of wheels (3a) and operatively decoupling said internal combustion engine (5) from said second set of wheels (3b), when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with said control criterion. However, Yacoub teaches this limitation.
Yacoub teaches i) operatively connecting said electric motor (4) to said first set of wheels (3a) and said internal combustion engine (5) to said second set of wheels (3b), when a first physical quantity (T, t) complies with a control criterion; ii) operatively connecting said electric motor (4) to said first set of wheels (3a) and operatively decoupling said internal combustion engine (5) from said second set of wheels (3b), when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with said control criterion (see at least, Fig 2, [0014] In the case of exhaust temperature exceeding a degradation threshold or a threshold that may contribute to or be indicative of unintentional combustion of soot in the DPF, the vehicle control system may initiate a filter protection mode wherein the internal combustion engine may be decoupled, and the vehicle driven by electric motor alone as is shown in FIG. 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Peters to include operatively connecting said electric motor to said first set of wheels and said internal combustion engine to said second set of wheels, when a first physical quantity complies with a control criterion; operatively connecting said electric motor to said first set of wheels and operatively decoupling said internal combustion engine from said second set of wheels, when said first physical quantity does not comply with said control criterion as taught by Yacoub so that there is less heat emitted in the exhaust process further reducing the probability of unintentional combustion by lowering the temperature of exhaust delivered to the DPF (Yacoub, [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the method according to claim 8. Peters further teaches wherein said first set of wheels (3a) is arranged on the side of a front portion (la) of said motor vehicle (1) and said second set of wheels (3b) is arranged on the side of a rear portion (lb)
of said motor vehicle(1); said front portion (la) and said rear portion (lb) being defined relative to a direction of travel (A) of said motor vehicle (1); or wherein said first set of wheels (3a) is arranged on the side of said rear portion (lb) and said second set of wheels (3b) is arranged on the side of said front portion (la) (see at least, Fig 1A shown in claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the method according to claim 8. wherein said first physical quantity (T) is associated with the temperature of said exhaust gas. Peters further teaches wherein said first physical quantity (T) is associated with the temperature of said exhaust gas (see at least, [0065] the control device 40 can establish…an operating temperature T.sub.cat, targ of the exhaust-gas purification device).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the method according to claim 8. Yacoub further teaches comprising the further step iii) of setting said internal combustion engine (5) in a predetermined operating regime, when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with said control criterion (see at least, [0014] an engine motor system within a hybrid vehicle…that operates via a routine diagrammed in FIG. 2. In the case of exhaust temperature exceeding a degradation threshold or a threshold that may contribute to or be indicative of unintentional combustion of soot in the DPF, the vehicle control system may initiate a filter protection mode wherein the internal combustion engine may be decoupled, and the vehicle driven by electric motor alone as is shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding 13, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the method according to claim 12. Peters further teaches wherein said internal combustion engine (5) warms an exhaust system (6) of said motor vehicle (1) during said step iii) (see at least, [0025] heating may be necessary…if the temperature of the exhaust-gas purification device is below the operating temperature).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the method according to claim 10. Peters further teaches wherein said first physical quantity (T) is detected and/or determined in at least one point of a duct (9) of said motor vehicle (1) (see at least, [0065] the control device 40 can establish for example when, at a given temperature of the inlet fluid T.sub.cF, at a given temperature of the outlet fluid T.sub.F, at a given volumetric flow rate of the outlet fluid V.sub.F and/or at a given
engine rotational speed n, an operating temperature T.sub.cat,targ of the exhaust-gas purification device is attained); said duct (9) (see at least, Fig 2; [0060] the air-fuel mixture has taken place in the piston cylinder interior space 28, the exhaust gas 44 which thus forms is transferred via the outlet valve 34 into the exhaust-gas purification system 30) fluidly connecting said internal combustion engine (5) to a catalytic converter (8) of said exhaust system (6) (see at least, [0056] an exhaust-gas purification device, also referred to as a catalytic converter, purifies the exhaust gases of the internal combustion engine 2 of pollutants).
Claims 4, 6, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (US 20200173388 A1; hereinafter Peters) in view of Yacoub et al. (US 20130174536 A1; hereinafter Yacoub); and in further view of Komuro et al. (CN 109958514 B; hereinafter Komuro).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein said first physical quantity (t) is associated with the time passed since the start of said internal combustion engine (5); said first physical quantity (t) complying, in use, with said control criterion when it exceeds a threshold value; said first physical quantity (t) not complying, in use, with said control criterion when it is below said threshold value. However, Komuro teaches this limitation.
Komuro teaches said first physical quantity (t) is associated with the time passed since the start of said internal combustion engine (5) (see at least, [0041] at time t1 shown in FIG. 6, the engine running mode in the running process); said first physical quantity (t) complying, in use, with said control criterion when it exceeds a threshold value (see at least, [0041] , the air-fuel ratio of the engine 13 is continued for a predetermined time TL is controlled to a lean air-fuel ratio side); said first physical quantity (t) not complying, in use, with said control criterion when it is below said threshold value (see at least, [0041] at time t3, if the catalyst deterioration diagnosis is finished, then stopping fuel injection of the engine 13 (symbol d3), the travel mode is switched to the motor running mode, and is
disconnected with the wheel 24 of the engine 13 is stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peters and Yacoub to include first physical quantity is associated with the time passed since the start of said internal combustion engine; said first physical quantity complying, in use, with said control criterion when it exceeds a threshold value; said first physical quantity not complying, in use, with said control criterion when it is below said threshold value as taught by Komuro in order to maintain deterioration to a predetermined air-fuel ratio of the engine state.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the motor vehicle according to claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach comprising a command device (7) operable, in use, by a user to control a second physical quantity (a) associated with the speed of said motor vehicle (1) ; said command device (7) being operatively connected to said electronic control unit (10); wherein said electronic control unit (10) is configured to control that said internal combustion engine (5) is operatively connected to said second set of wheels (3b) , when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with said control criterion and said second physical quantity (a) exceeds a threshold value (a8). However, Komuro teaches this limitation.
Komuro teaches comprising a command device (7) operable, in use, by a user to control a second physical quantity (a) associated with the speed of said motor vehicle (1) (see at least, [0046] FIG. 9, the engine running mode in the running process, accelerating the operation of the passenger is released (symbol a1), and perform a braking operation); said command device (7) being operatively connected to said electronic control unit (10); wherein said electronic control unit (10) is configured to control that said internal combustion engine (5) is operatively connected to said second set of wheels (3b) , when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with said control criterion and said second physical quantity (a) exceeds a threshold value (a8) (see at least, [0046] the vehicle speed is less than the (symbol c1) of the speed threshold V1…the vehicle deceleration condition of the low speed range…the travel mode is switched to the motor running mode, and is disconnected with the wheel 24 of the engine 13 is stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peters and Yacoub to include a command device operable, in use, by a user to control a second physical quantity associated with the speed of said motor vehicle and operatively connecting said internal combustion engine to said second set of wheels, when said first physical quantity does not comply with a control criterion and said second physical quantity exceeds a threshold value as taught by Komuro so that under the condition of deceleration when the vehicle deceleration is small, allows performing the deterioration diagnosis of the catalyst.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the method according to claim 8. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein said first physical quantity (t) is associated with the time that has elapsed since the starting of said internal combustion engine (5); said first physical quantity (t) complying with said control criterion when it exceeds a threshold value; said first physical quantity (t) not complying with said control criterion when itis below said threshold value. However, Komuro teaches this limitation.
Komuro teaches said first physical quantity (t) is associated with the time passed since the start of said internal combustion engine (5) (see at least, [0041] at time t1 shown in FIG. 6, the engine running mode in the running process); said first physical quantity (t) complying, in use, with said control criterion when it exceeds a threshold value (see at least, [0041] , the air-fuel ratio of the engine 13 is continued for a predetermined time TL is controlled to a lean air-fuel ratio side); said first physical quantity (t) not complying, in use, with said control criterion when it is below said threshold value (see at least, [0041] at time t3, if the catalyst deterioration diagnosis is finished, then stopping fuel injection of the engine 13 (symbol d3), the travel mode is switched to the motor running mode, and is
disconnected with the wheel 24 of the engine 13 is stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peters and Yacoub to include first physical quantity is associated with the time passed since the start of said internal combustion engine; said first physical quantity complying, in use, with said control criterion when it exceeds a threshold value; said first physical quantity not complying, in use, with said control criterion when it is below said threshold value as taught by Komuro in order to maintain deterioration to a predetermined air-fuel ratio of the engine state.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Peters and Yacoub teaches the method according to claim 8. The combination does not explicitly teach comprising the steps of: iv) controlling a second physical quantity (a) associated with the speed of said motor vehicle (1); v) operatively connecting said internal combustion engine (5) to said second set of wheels (3b), when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with a control criterion and said second physical quantity (a) exceeds a threshold value (a ). However, Komuro teaches this limitation.
Komuro teaches comprising the steps of: iv) controlling a second physical quantity (a) associated with the speed of said motor vehicle (1) (see at least, [0046] FIG. 9, the engine running mode in the running process, accelerating the operation of the passenger is released (symbol a1), and perform a braking operation); v) operatively connecting said internal combustion engine (5) to said second set of wheels (3b), when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply with a control criterion and said second physical quantity (a) exceeds a threshold value (a ) (see at least, [0046] the vehicle speed is less than the (symbol c1) of the speed threshold V1…the vehicle deceleration condition of the low speed range…the travel mode is switched to the motor running mode, and is disconnected with the wheel 24 of the engine 13 is stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Peters and Yacoub to include controlling a second physical quantity associated with the speed of said motor vehicle and operatively connecting said internal combustion engine to said second set of wheels, when said first physical quantity does not comply with a control criterion and said second physical quantity exceeds a threshold value as taught by Komuro so that under the condition of deceleration when the vehicle deceleration is small, allows performing the deterioration diagnosis of the catalyst.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Toda et al. (US 20210008971 A1) discloses said internal combustion engine (5) to be operatively decoupled from said second set of wheels (3b)when said first physical quantity (T, t) does not comply, in use, with said control criterion ([0106] time t.sub.101 in FIG. 12…in a state where negative acceleration is exerted on the vehicle 1 in deceleration, the control apparatus 24
disconnects the clutch 14b, and the output shaft of the engine 12 is disconnected from the main driving wheels…rear wheels 2a).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662