DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Okazaki merely teaches a single motor, rather than two different electric drive units. However, the specification of the present application does not provide support for the argument that the two separate drive units comprise two separate motors. While paragraph [0021] discloses an electric motor as part of the electric PTO shaft drive unit (the only disclosed motor), no such disclosure is made with respect to the electric traction drive unit, which is merely disclosed as having “[a] common energy source” with the electric PTO shaft drive unit [0023].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al. (US 20240317049) in view of Doering et al. (US 20130296101).
Claim 1.
Okazaki et al. teaches:
an electric traction drive unit
(Okazaki – Abstract) “An electric work vehicle includes a motor controller to control a motor, a power take-off shaft capable of being connected to a work device and transmitting rotational power from the motor to the work device, and a power distributor to distribute rotational power output from the motor to a hydraulic continuously variable transmission and the power take-off shaft.”
an electric PTO shaft drive unit
(Okazaki – Abstract) “An electric work vehicle includes a motor controller to control a motor, a power take-off shaft capable of being connected to a work device and transmitting rotational power from the motor to the work device, and a power distributor to distribute rotational power output from the motor to a hydraulic continuously variable transmission and the power take-off shaft.”
a common energy source for supplying energy to the electric traction drive unit and the PTO shaft drive unit
(Okazaki – Abstract) “An electric work vehicle includes a motor controller to control a motor, a power take-off shaft capable of being connected to a work device and transmitting rotational power from the motor to the work device, and a power distributor to distribute rotational power output from the motor to a hydraulic continuously variable transmission and the power take-off shaft.”
adapting a predetermined speed of travel of the agricultural tractor by activating the electric traction drive unit in such a way that the power-related drop in PTO shaft speed is decreased
(Okazaki – [0091]) “the speed of the rotational power output from the hydraulic continuously variable transmission 15 to the left and right front wheels 10 and the left and right wheels 11 changes while the rotation speed of the mid PTO shaft 17 or the rear PTO shaft 18 is maintained at the target rotation speed.”
While Okazaki et al. teaches maintaining a PTO shaft speed, Okazaki et al. does not explicitly teach detecting a drop in shaft speed. However, Doering et al. teaches:
monitoring the electric PTO shaft drive unit by a control unit, in terms of a power-related drop in PTO shaft speed
(Doering – [0063]) “the actual PTO speed may be subtracted from the desired PTO speed to provide a PTO speed error. The current supplied to the DISG may then be adjusted to adjust the DISG torque so as to provide zero error between the actual PTO speed and the desired PTO speed.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the electric work vehicle of Okazaki et al. with the PTO speed error calculation of Doering et al. Both Okazaki et al. and Doering et al. are directed towards the maintaining of a target PTO speed; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that this combination could be made with predictable results. One would have been motivated to make this modification because a calculation of an error value for the PTO speed would assist in ascertaining how much power diversion is necessary to maintain the target speed.
Claim 2.
The combination of Okazaki et al. and Doering et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Doering et al. further teaches:
wherein the drop in PTO shaft speed is decreased by the control unit by minimizing a difference between a predetermined target PTO shaft speed and a current PTO shaft speed detected by sensors
(Doering – [0063]) “the actual PTO speed may be subtracted from the desired PTO speed to provide a PTO speed error. The current supplied to the DISG may then be adjusted to adjust the DISG torque so as to provide zero error between the actual PTO speed and the desired PTO speed.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 1.
Claim 4.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 5.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Okazaki et al. and Doering et al. as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Hosozawa (US 20240262206).
Claim 3.
The combination of Okazaki et al. and Doering et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Neither Okazaki et al. nor Doering et al. explicitly teaches a minimum travel speed; however, Hosozawa teaches:
wherein the drop in PTO shaft speed is decreased at the control unit only to the extent that the speed of travel of the agricultural tractor does not fall below a predetermined minimum value
(Hosozawa – [0021]) “the method further includes setting a lower work vehicle speed limit for the new G-PTO map.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the work vehicle of Okazaki et al. with the G-PTO mapping of Hosozawa. Both Okazaki et al. and Hosozawa are directed towards controlling of PTO speed based on vehicle speed; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that they could be combined with predictable results. One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve control over the relationship between vehicle speed and PTO shaft speed (Hosozawa – [0003]).
Claim 6.
Rejected by the same rationale as claim 3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669