DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dannenberg (US D353,652) in view of Dawn DAF3320C Installation Guide (hereinafter Dawn, model available as of 12/21/09, installation guide available as of 1/13/11; see IDS dated 6/24/25, see NPL document numbers 2, 7, and 8).
Regarding claim 1, Dannenberg discloses a sink comprising: a basin having a front wall and a rim supported at and extending outwardly from an upper end of the front wall in a substantially horizontal orientation; an apron extending from the rim, extending vertically from a top wall and laterally between a first side wall and an opposing second side wall and being coupled to the basin at the top wall; and the side walls each having rear edges. See annotated figures below.
Dannenberg, however, does not show that the apron extends laterally outward past the rim such that the first and second rear edges of the first and second side walls are spaced apart from the rim. Attention is turned to Dawn which teaches a similar apron front sink having an apron extending laterally out past the rim such that rear edges of the side walls are spaced apart from the rim (see annotated figure below). It would have been obvious to have extended the apron of Dannenberg as claimed for a neat, square appearance, depending on the aesthetics of the kitchen in which the sink is installed.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Dannenberg as modified shows that there is a cavity between the first and second side walls of the apron extending laterally between the first and second rear edges and vertically between the top and bottom walls (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 7, Dannenberg as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above and as modified by Dawn shows that the length of the apron in a lateral direction is greater than a length of the front wall (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 8, Dannenberg as modified shows that a height of the apron in the vertical direction is substantially the same height of the front wall, see fig. 8 that the front wall is approximately the same height as the apron.
Regarding claim 9, Dannenberg as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above and further provides that the top wall of the apron is contiguous with a portion of the rim (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 10, Dannenberg as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows that the apron extends downward at a right angle relative to the rim. See figure 8, showing a horizontal rim and a vertical apron. The intersection of planes defined by the rim and apron will be at a right angle.
Claims 2 - 3, 11 - 13, 15 - 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dannenberg and Dawn, in view of Svendsen et al. (US D451,585 hereinafter Svendsen)
Regarding claim 2, Dannenberg as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows a space between the front wall of the basin and the apron (see fig. 8), but does not show that that there are no supports which extend between the front wall of the basin and apron. As shown in figures 4 and 5, Dannenberg shows struts which connect the basin front wall to the apron. Attention is turned to Svendsen, which teaches a similar apron front sink where only the rim couples the apron to the basin, and the rim is the only portion of the sink extending from the basin to the apron, such that there is a space and no supports (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have eliminated the struts of Dannenberg, depending on the overall shape, size, and weight of the sink. The inclusion of a strut is an engineering design choice well within the purview of the ordinary artisan. The lack of struts would also be advantageous since it would prevent interference with the cabinet and countertop.
Regarding claim 3, Dannenberg as modified by Svendsen further shows the space configured to receive a portion of a front face of a cabinet on which the sink is supported when installed. Note that the modified sink of Dannenberg is fully capable of this function. See annotated figure above.
Regarding claim 11, Dannenberg discloses a sink, comprising: a basin having a first side wall, an opposite second side wall, a front wall, and a rim supported at and extending outwardly from an upper end of each of the first side wall, the second side wall, and the front wall in a substantially horizontal orientation; and an apron extending from a portion of the rim, the apron extending vertically between a top wall and laterally between a first side wall and an opposing second side wall. See annotated figures above.
Dannenberg however does not show that the apron extends laterally outward past the rim such that first and second rear edges of the first and second side walls are spaced apart from the rim. Attention is turned to Dawn which teaches a similar apron front sink having an apron extending laterally out past the rim such that rear edges of the side walls are spaced apart from the rim (see annotated figure above). It would have been obvious to have extended the apron of Dannenberg as claimed for a neat, square appearance, depending on the aesthetics of the kitchen in which the sink is installed.
Dannenberg also fails to show that the apron is coupled to the basin only at the top wall of the apron by the rim. Attention is turned to Svendsen, which teaches a similar apron front sink where only the rim couples the apron to the basin, and the rim is the only portion of the sink extending from the basin to the apron (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have eliminated the struts of Dannenberg, depending on the overall shape, size, and weight of the sink. The inclusion of a strut is an engineering design choice well within the purview of the ordinary artisan. The lack of struts would also be advantageous since it would prevent interference with the cabinet and countertop.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Dannenberg as modified by Svendsen shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows that no supports extend between the front wall of the basin and bottom wall of the apron such that a space is present between the front wall and apron, the space configured to receive a portion of a front face of a cabinet on which the sink is supported when installed. Note that the modified sink of Dannenberg is fully capable of this function. See annotated figure above.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Dannenberg as modified shows that there is a cavity between the first and second side walls of the apron extending laterally between the first and second rear edges and vertically from the top wall of the apron (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 17, Dannenberg as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above and as modified by Dawn shows that the length of the apron in a lateral direction is greater than a length of the front wall (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 18, Dannenberg as modified shows that a height of the apron in the vertical direction is substantially the same height of the front wall, see fig. 8 that the front wall is approximately the same height as the apron.
Regarding claim 19, Dannenberg as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above and further provides that the top wall of the apron is contiguous with the rim (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 20, Dannenberg as modified shows all of the instant invention as discussed above, and further shows that the apron extends downward at a right angle relative to the rim. See figure 8, showing a horizontal rim and a vertical apron. The intersection of planes defined by the rim and apron will be at a right angle.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 7 and 11 - 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,278,116 in view of Svendsen.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims recite substantially similar limitations to the claims of the ‘116 patent, except for the apron being only coupled to the basin at top wall of the apron and the rim. Attention is turned to Svendsen, which teaches a similar apron front sink where only the rim couples the apron to the basin, and the rim is the only portion of the sink extending from the basin to the apron (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have eliminated the struts of Dannenberg, depending on the overall shape, size, and weight of the sink. The inclusion of a strut is an engineering design choice well within the purview of the ordinary artisan. The lack of struts would also be advantageous since it would prevent interference with the cabinet and countertop. The claims of the ‘116 patent and Svendsen render the instant claims obvious.
Claims 8, 10, 18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,278,116.
With respect to claims 8 and 18, the claims of the ‘116 patent do not specify that the height of the apron is substantially the same as a height of the front wall of the basin. However, there is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed dimension presents a novel or unexpected result, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem (MPEP 2144.05(III)). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the apron of the ‘004 application to perform equally well as that of the ‘116 patent. It would have been obvious to have modified the device of apron height to be dimensioned as claimed since such a modification is a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
With respect to claims 10 and 20, the claims of the ‘116 patent do not specify that that the apron extends downward from the rim at a right angle. However, there is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed dimension/orientation presents a novel or unexpected result, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem (MPEP 2144.05(III)). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the apron of the ‘004 application to perform equally well as that of the ‘116 patent. It would have been obvious to have modified the device of apron height to be dimensioned/orientation as claimed since such a modification is a mere design consideration
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,278,116 in view of Dannenberg.
With respect to claims 9 and 19, the claims of the ‘116 patent do not specify that the top wall of the apron is contiguous with a portion of the rim. Dannenberg teaches a similar sink having an apron with a top wall that is contiguous with a portion of the rim. It would have been obvious to have made the top wall of the instant claims contiguous with the rim for a neat and streamlined appearance.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,375,089.
The combination of limitations of the ‘089 patent cover the combination of the limitations in the ‘648 application. The ‘089 patent claims are drafted more narrowly than the present claims and accordingly, the ‘089 anticipates all of the limitations of the ‘648 application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,113.
The combination of limitations of the ‘113 patent cover the combination of the limitations in the ‘648 application. The ‘113 patent claims are drafted more narrowly than the present claims and accordingly, the ‘113 anticipates all of the limitations of the ‘648 application.
Conclusion
Claims 4 and 14 are free from prior art, but subject to double patenting rejections as set forth above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All prior art of interest has been made of record in the application and in parent applications 13/310,460 14/922,847, 16/293,042, and 18426112.
/ERIN DEERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754