DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 19/247,687, filed on 06/24/2025. Claims 2-24 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 2, 9 and 17 are independent claims.
Priority
No priority claimed.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/24/2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 01/15/2026 follows provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 8-10, 14-15, 17 and 20 recite the limitations "the threshold number “. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rational as applied to their parent claims above.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following typographical error: “ a a consensus node”. Appropriate correction is required to replace “a a consensus node” with “a consensus node”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padilha(US Publication No. 20210264509 A1) in view of Scott (US Publication No. 20190042989 A1) in further view of Mittal(US Publication No. 20200183951 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Padilha discloses:
A computer-implemented method for managing chain adjacent data via a blockchain, the method implemented by a consensus node of a plurality of participant nodes that collectively maintain the blockchain(Padilha,[0105], a processor 205, which uses a network interface 210 to communicate with other members of the DSS system 100 over a computer network 212. The host 105 also includes volatile storage 215[0215], Scalability analysis. Once the Blockchain 130 has been replicated, the first phase of the PUT protocol can be analogized to an offline indexing operation. The first phase can be resolved locally, and as such, the first phase does not affect the scalability of the Blockchain 130. The second phase is performed in a peer-to-peer and off-chain fashion, up to the point that a storage contract proposal is accepted. At that point, there is one transaction that requires on-chain interaction. [0197], The first phase is performed by the renter 110 (for the purpose of this example, only members 105, 110, 113 that serve as minters for the Blockchain 130. [0135], members 105, 110, 113 participate in the creation of the blockchain by using a Proof-of-Stake (PoS) consensus, [0204], The renter 110 receives confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 430). By virtue of such addition, the storage contract becomes binding. The renter 110 uploads data to the host 105 for storage (process 435). ),
the method comprising: detecting, on a blockchain, an accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction that identifies a network-accessible location of a data object to be replicated as chain adjacent data (Padilha,[0198], the storage contract proposal is accepted, the host 105 signs and return the storage contract to the renter 110. The renter 110 then also signs the storage contract, and submits the storage contract with both signatures to the Blockchain 130;
instructing a selected set of participant nodes to copy the data object from the network-accessible location into respective chain adjacent data stores associated with the selected set of participant nodes(Padilha, [0197], The first phase is performed by the renter 110 (for the purpose of this example, only members 105, 110, 113 that serve as minters for the Blockchain 130 are considered, although in other embodiments, “thin” peers, i.e., thin client computing devices that delegate the Blockchain 130 handling to a third party, and concern themselves with just uploading data to a given host 105, [0198], The renter 110 sends a storage contract proposal to the host 105, [0205], … the renter 110, and continues to wait for additional storage contracts proposals (process 505). Once the host 105 receives a satisfactory storage contract proposal, the host 105 signs and returns the storage contract proposal to the renter 110 (process 515). The host 105 waits to receive confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 520)… [0101], A host 105 also includes a storage engine 125 (namely 125A, 125B, 125C, and 125D in FIG. 3), which provides reliable, secure, and private data storage. For example, the storage engine 125 may store data on disk) ;
and at an individual round of a plurality of consensus rounds for the blockchain(Padilha, [0135], s, members 105, 110, 113 participate in the creation of the blockchain by using a Proof-of-Stake (PoS) consensus. In PoS blockchains, the member 105, 110, 113 that will be responsible for minting the next block is chosen in a pseudo-random but deterministic way, and the chance that a given member 105, 110, 113 is chosen depends on how much DSS wealth they are willing to stake to take that role):
receiving, from individual participant nodes of the selected set, completion transactions recorded on the blockchain that indicate successful copying of the data object to respective chain adjacent data stores associated with the individual participant nodes(Padilha,[0193-0196] For the third phase, the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing: The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase) A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105. [0200], the host 105 computes a checksum of all the uploaded data, signs the checksum, and sends the signed checksum back to the renter 110. The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored… [0101], A host 105 also includes a storage engine 125 (namely 125A, 125B, 125C, and 125D in FIG. 3), which provides reliable, secure, and private data storage);
that the threshold number of participant nodes has successfully stored the data object(Padilha,[0193-0196] For the third phase, the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing:The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase) A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105.)
Padilha does not disclose:
and an on-chain workflow to be implemented to monitor replication of the chain adjacent data
implementing the on-chain workflow, wherein implementing the on-chain workflow comprises
and recording, on the blockchain, a transaction that indicates completion of the chain adjacent data transfer
Scott discloses:
and an on-chain workflow to be implemented to monitor replication of the chain adjacent data(Scott, [0037], The workflow processor may also identify the workflow specification and the related data as a linked pair. The combined data block may be stored in a first data block of the block chain. The first data block may be referred to as commit zero (C0). The workflow processor 122 may compute a hash of C0. )
implementing the on-chain workflow, wherein implementing the on-chain workflow comprises(Scott, [0037], The workflow processor may also identify the workflow specification and the related data as a linked pair. The combined data block may be stored in a first data block of the block chain. The first data block may be referred to as commit zero (C0). [0038], the block chain following C0 may refer to C0 (e.g., the UUID of C0) as the origin of the block chain and a corresponding workflow. [0042], The workflow processor 122 may continue to perform operations corresponding to each state of the workflow until the workflow is completed and a current state identifies the workflow as “complete.”),
and recording, on the blockchain, a transaction that indicates completion of the chain adjacent data transfer(Scott, [0022], Upon completion of a given workflow, a final state of that workflow may indicate that the workflow is completed. [0042], The workflow processor 122 may continue to perform operations corresponding to each state of the workflow until the workflow is completed and a current state identifies the workflow as “complete.” ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based storage system by incorporating Scott’s blockchain-recorded workflow specification, operation-completion records, and final workflow-completion record to enable participants to identify the storage-transfer workflow, monitor its progress, and determine when it has completed.
The motivation is to provide a shared, verifiable record of storage-transfer progress and completion.
Padilha in view of Scott do not disclose:
determining, based on the completion transactions
Mittal discloses:
determining, based on the completion transactions(Mittal, [0068], Based on the first data and the second data, in operation 730 the first node 120 identifies a second set of messages comprising the messages of the first set of messages that have been received by a quorum of nodes. For example, if the distributed key-value store has three nodes, a quorum of nodes would be at least two nodes.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based decentralized storage system in view of Scott’s blockchain workflow management by incorporating Mittal’s determination of a quorum from individual node reports to ensure that a required number of successful-storage confirmations is received before declaring the transfer complete, thereby enhancing the reliability of transfer-completion decisions.
The motivation is to ensure that overall transfer completion reflects successful storage by the required number of participant nodes.
Regarding Claim 3:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction further identifies at least one of access credentials for the network-accessible location, validation information for the data object, or permissions specifying which participant nodes are authorized to access the data object.(Padilha, [0177-0179], the renter 110 that wishes to upload data generates a storage contract proposal containing, Size of data, Root of Merkle tree)
Regarding Claim 4:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein instructing the selected set of participant nodes comprises selecting a quorum of participant nodes according to load balancing criteria including at least one of random selection, round-robin selection, or least-data- stored selection.(Padilha, [0216], Contention, in this context, means several renters 110 trying to acquire collateral from the same host 105 at the same time, and having their storage contract proposals be rejected by the contract engines 120 on minters once the renters 110 simultaneously submit their storage contract proposals to the Blockchain 130. This can be mitigated by adding some randomization to the host selection in the first phase, thus preventing all renters 110 from deterministically selecting the same set of hosts 105 at the same time.)
Regarding Claim 5:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein instructing the selected set of participant nodes further comprises instructing each selected participant node to store the data object in a verifiably immutable and deletion-free manner for at least a time-to-live period designated in the accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction.(Padilha, [0177-0181], Inputs. For the second phase, the renter 110 that wishes to upload data generates a storage contract proposal containing, Size of data, Root of Merkle tree,Start date and time (ISO 8601), End date and time (ISO 860177] Inputs. For the second phase, the renter 110 that wishes to upload data generates a storage contract proposal containing, Size of data, Root of Merkle tree, Start date and time (ISO 8601), End date and time (ISO 8601), [0205], The host 105 accepts from the renter 110 data to be stored (process 525). After the host 105 finishes storing the data (process 530)… [0243-0247], The verification fields in the PUT and EXT contracts allow renters 110 to define the periodicity with which hosts 105 must prove they still have the uploaded data., Inputs. The host 105 submits a signed statement to the Blockchain 130 according to the schedule, containing, PUT (or EXT) contract ID, Proof-of-Storage response, Protocol. The host 105 must submit exactly one signed statement to the Blockchain 130 per interval based on the verification schedule. The Proof-of-Storage challenge is based on the block closest to the schedule. The host 105 has up to the verification validity to submit the signed statement.)
Regarding Claim 6:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the completion transactions indicate the data object is stored in a verifiably immutable manner for at least a specified time period.(Padilha, [0193 - 0196], the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing, The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase, A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105. [0200], The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored, adds its signature to the signed checksum, and submits the checksum with both signatures to the Blockchain 130. [0247], The host 105 must submit exactly one signed statement to the Blockchain 130 per interval based on the verification schedule. [0195], A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, [0200], Once the upload is completed, the host 105 computes a checksum of all the uploaded data, signs the checksum, and sends the signed checksum back to the renter 110. The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored,).):
Regarding Claim 7:
The computer-implemented method of claim 2, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the completion transactions from the individual participant nodes include a cryptographic hash value of the stored data object generated by a storage service of a hosted computing environment.(Padilha, [0193-0196], the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing, The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase, A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105, [0200], The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored, adds its signature to the signed checksum, and submits the checksum with both signatures to the Blockchain 130. [0087], Decentralized Applications (Dapps) executing on storage engines 125 (shown a 125A, 125B, 125C, and 125D in FIG. 3) to provide decentralized cloud-based storage, )
Regarding Claim 8:
The computer-implemented method of claim 7, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein determining that the threshold number of participant nodes has successfully stored the data object comprises verifying that cryptographic hash values recorded in the completion transactions match a cryptographic hash value identified in the accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction(Padilha, [0179], Root of Merkle tree, [0200], The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored, adds its signature to the signed checksum, and submits the checksum with both signatures to the Blockchain 130, [0213], the host 105 may send a signed bad checksum. Here the renter 110 can prove that the host 105 is misbehaving, by including a proof based on the Merkle root that was included in the accepted storage contract.)
Regarding Claim 9:
A system comprising: a data store storing instructions for implementation of a consensus node of a plurality of participant nodes that collectively maintain a blockchain(Padilha,[0105], a processor 205, which uses a network interface 210 to communicate with other members of the DSS system 100 over a computer network 212. The host 105 also includes volatile storage 215[0215], Scalability analysis. Once the Blockchain 130 has been replicated, the first phase of the PUT protocol can be analogized to an offline indexing operation. The first phase can be resolved locally, and as such, the first phase does not affect the scalability of the Blockchain 130. The second phase is performed in a peer-to-peer and off-chain fashion, up to the point that a storage contract proposal is accepted. At that point, there is one transaction that requires on-chain interaction. [0197], The first phase is performed by the renter 110 (for the purpose of this example, only members 105, 110, 113 that serve as minters for the Blockchain 130. [0135], members 105, 110, 113 participate in the creation of the blockchain by using a Proof-of-Stake (PoS) consensus, [0204], The renter 110 receives confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 430). By virtue of such addition, the storage contract becomes binding. The renter 110 uploads data to the host 105 for storage (process 435));
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to: detect, on a blockchain, an accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction that identifies a network-accessible location of a data object to be replicated as chain adjacent data (Padilha,[0198], the storage contract proposal is accepted, the host 105 signs and return the storage contract to the renter 110. The renter 110 then also signs the storage contract, and submits the storage contract with both signatures to the Blockchain 130);
instruct a selected set of participant nodes to copy the data object from the network-accessible location into respective chain adjacent data stores associated with the selected set of participant nodes(Padilha, [0197], The first phase is performed by the renter 110 (for the purpose of this example, only members 105, 110, 113 that serve as minters for the Blockchain 130 are considered, although in other embodiments, “thin” peers, i.e., thin client computing devices that delegate the Blockchain 130 handling to a third party, and concern themselves with just uploading data to a given host 105, [0198], The renter 110 sends a storage contract proposal to the host 105, [0205], … the renter 110, and continues to wait for additional storage contracts proposals (process 505). Once the host 105 receives a satisfactory storage contract proposal, the host 105 signs and returns the storage contract proposal to the renter 110 (process 515). The host 105 waits to receive confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 520)… [0101], A host 105 also includes a storage engine 125 (namely 125A, 125B, 125C, and 125D in FIG. 3), which provides reliable, secure, and private data storage. For example, the storage engine 125 may store data on disk);
and at an individual round of a plurality of consensus rounds for the blockchain, to(Padilha, [0135], s, members 105, 110, 113 participate in the creation of the blockchain by using a Proof-of-Stake (PoS) consensus. In PoS blockchains, the member 105, 110, 113 that will be responsible for minting the next block is chosen in a pseudo-random but deterministic way, and the chance that a given member 105, 110, 113 is chosen depends on how much DSS wealth they are willing to stake to take that role):
receive, from individual participant nodes of the selected set, completion transactions recorded on the blockchain that indicate successful copying of the data object to respective chain adjacent data stores associated with the individual participant nodes(Padilha,[0193-0196] For the third phase, the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing: The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase) A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105. [0200], the host 105 computes a checksum of all the uploaded data, signs the checksum, and sends the signed checksum back to the renter 110. The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored… [0101], A host 105 also includes a storage engine 125 (namely 125A, 125B, 125C, and 125D in FIG. 3), which provides reliable, secure, and private data storage);
that the threshold number of participant nodes has successfully stored the data object(Padilha,[0193-0196] For the third phase, the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing:The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase) A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105.);
Padilha does not disclose:
and an on-chain workflow to be implemented to monitor replication of the chain adjacent data
implement the on-chain workflow, wherein to implement the on-chain workflow, the instructions configure the one or more processors
and record, on the blockchain, a transaction that indicates completion of the chain adjacent data transfer
Scott discloses:
and an on-chain workflow to be implemented to monitor replication of the chain adjacent data(Scott, [0037], The workflow processor may also identify the workflow specification and the related data as a linked pair. The combined data block may be stored in a first data block of the block chain. The first data block may be referred to as commit zero (C0). The workflow processor 122 may compute a hash of C0. )
implement the on-chain workflow, wherein to implement the on-chain workflow, the instructions configure the one or more processors(Scott, [0037], The workflow processor may also identify the workflow specification and the related data as a linked pair. The combined data block may be stored in a first data block of the block chain. The first data block may be referred to as commit zero (C0). [0038], the block chain following C0 may refer to C0 (e.g., the UUID of C0) as the origin of the block chain and a corresponding workflow. [0042], The workflow processor 122 may continue to perform operations corresponding to each state of the workflow until the workflow is completed and a current state identifies the workflow as “complete.”),
and record, on the blockchain, a transaction that indicates completion of the chain adjacent data transfer(Scott, [0022], Upon completion of a given workflow, a final state of that workflow may indicate that the workflow is completed. [0042], The workflow processor 122 may continue to perform operations corresponding to each state of the workflow until the workflow is completed and a current state identifies the workflow as “complete.” ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based storage system by incorporating Scott’s blockchain-recorded workflow specification, operation-completion records, and final workflow-completion record to enable participants to identify the storage-transfer workflow, monitor its progress, and determine when it has completed.
The motivation is to provide a shared, verifiable record of storage-transfer progress and completion.
Padilha in view of Scott do not disclose:
determine, based on the completion transactions
Mittal discloses:
determine, based on the completion transactions(Mittal, [0068], Based on the first data and the second data, in operation 730 the first node 120 identifies a second set of messages comprising the messages of the first set of messages that have been received by a quorum of nodes. For example, if the distributed key-value store has three nodes, a quorum of nodes would be at least two nodes.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based decentralized storage system in view of Scott’s blockchain workflow management by incorporating Mittal’s determination of a quorum from individual node reports to ensure that a required number of successful-storage confirmations is received before declaring the transfer complete, thereby enhancing the reliability of transfer-completion decisions.
The motivation is to ensure that overall transfer completion reflects successful storage by the required number of participant nodes.
Regarding Claim 10:
The system of claim 9, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein to implement the on-chain workflow, the instructions cause the one or more processors(Scott, [0037], the workflow processor 122 may create a block chain for the workflow. To do so, the workflow processor 122 may combine the workflow specification and any related data into a data block. [0043], The workflow software agent may generate an initial representation of a workflow state and store that representation on the block chain.),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s storage system, incorporating Mittal’s timeout-triggered retry mechanism, by implementing the transfer process through Scott’s blockchain-recorded workflow to maintain a shared record of the transfer’s current state throughout storage attempts and completion.
The motivation is to enable participating nodes to verify transfer progress.
at each round of the plurality of consensus rounds, to determine whether a timeout criterion for the chain adjacent data transfer has been reached(Mittal, [0082], . When a quorum of acknowledgements is received by the client, the client can proceed with knowledge that the write transaction was successful. If a quorum of acknowledgements is not received within a predetermined time period, the client should retry the write transaction.)
and, upon reaching the timeout criterion prior to meeting the threshold number, re-issue instructions(Mittal, [0082], If a quorum of acknowledgements is not received within a predetermined time period, the client should retry the write transaction.)
to at least a subset of participant nodes that have not recorded completion transactions(Mittal, [0083], a transaction can be committed by a node, the node determines the status of all preceding transactions, including any transactions that are determined to be missing due to a missing sequence number in the journal of the node).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based decentralized storage system in view of Scott’s blockchain workflow management by incorporating Mittal’s retry mechanism when a predetermined period expires without a quorum of acknowledgments to ensure that an insufficiently acknowledged transfer is attempted again, thereby enhancing recovery from delayed or unsuccessful storage operations.
The motivation is to ensure that a transfer can progress toward the required storage threshold despite missing acknowledgments.
Regarding Claim 11:
The system of claim 9, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein re-issuance of instructions at a subsequent round comprises reducing the size of the selected set of participant nodes based on a count of participant nodes that have recorded completion transactions(Mittal, [0068], the first node 120 is enabled to determine whether a quorum has received each message of the first set of messages by accessing its own journal to determine which messages it has received and accessing the first data and the second data to determine which messages were received by other nodes.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based decentralized storage system in view of Scott’s blockchain workflow management by incorporating Mittal’s tracking of individual node acknowledgments and determination of quorum receipt to ensure that the system identifies progress toward the required number of successful storage operations, thereby enhancing coordination of transfer recovery.
The motivation is to ensure that recovery decisions account for reported progress toward the storage threshold.
Regarding Claim 12:
The system of claim 9, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the selected set of participant nodes is chosen from the participant nodes authorized by the permissions identified in the accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction(Padilha, [0310], Using PERM, renters 110 can provide a white- or blacklist of members 105, 110, 113 that are allowed to (or disallowed from) access data. Alternative, renters 110 may just allow anyone to access their data. [0313], The renter 110 and host 105 must sign an access contract containing Access permissions,[0316], Renter-provided metadata, [0322], FIG. 14 is a flow diagram of computer processes associated with a PERM protocol, as followed by a renter 110, to identify members 105, 110, 113 permitted to access data that the renter 110 has stored on a host 105.).
Regarding Claim 13:
The system of claim 9, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose
a local hash value of redacted contents of the data object and, for a participant node with full visibility, a global hash value of full contents of the data object(Padilha, [0193], For the third phase, the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing:, [0194], The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase), [0195], A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, [0196], This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105. [0200], Once the upload is completed, the host 105 computes a checksum of all the uploaded data, signs the checksum, and sends the signed checksum back to the renter 110…)
wherein receiving completion transactions recorded on the blockchain includes receiving, for a participant node with partial visibility of the data object due to permissions(Scott, [0028], A given operation in a workflow may depend on a successful completion of a separate workflow… The separate block chain stored in the given data block may be secured with a shared secret. That is, the separate block chain may be encrypted using the shared secret., [0030], The data block storing the separate block chain and the data block including a reference and depending from another block chain or a data block in a separate block chain may be examples of a nested block chain. That is, one or more block chains and corresponding workflows may be nested within a larger block chain and workflow.),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based storage system by incorporating Scott’s permission-restricted visibility of workflow information to limit participant access according to authorization.
The motivation is to preserve confidentiality while allowing authorized participants to access information needed to perform and verify workflow operations.
Regarding Claim 14:
The system of claim 13, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose comprises verifying at least one global hash value for the data object against a corresponding global hash value provided by a participant node owning the data object(Padilha, [0200], …The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored, adds its signature to the signed checksum, and submits the checksum with both signatures to the Blockchain 130…).
wherein determining that the threshold number of participant nodes has successfully stored the data object(Mittal, [0068], the first node 120 is enabled to determine whether a quorum has received each message of the first set of messages by accessing its own journal to determine which messages it has received and accessing the first data and the second data to determine which messages were received by other nodes.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based decentralized storage system in view of Scott’s blockchain workflow management by incorporating Mittal’s quorum determination into Padilha’s verification of storage confirmations to ensure that the required number of nodes has provided confirmations passing the data-integrity check before declaring transfer completion, thereby enhancing the reliability of replicated-data verification.
The motivation is to ensure that the storage threshold is evaluated using verified successful-storage confirmations.
Regarding Claim 15:
The system of claim 9, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose an error transaction indicating failure to complete the chain adjacent data transfer(Padilha, [0363], If a repair is not possible because (1) there are no longer enough shards available, or (2) there are not enough funds, then the sentinel 113 must submit a signed statement to the Blockchain 130 containing: [0365], Reason for repair impossibility)).
wherein the instructions further configure the one or more processors when implementing the on-chain workflow to record(Scott, [0042], The workflow processor 122 may continue to perform operations corresponding to each state of the workflow until the workflow is completed and a current state identifies the workflow as “complete.” The data updater 124 may also continue to append a data block to the block chain for each state that is satisfied.),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s storage-management and blockchain failure-reporting process by incorporating Scott’s workflow-state recording to associate a reported storage failure with the corresponding workflow state.
The motivation is to provide a verifiable record of the workflow’s outcome and distinguish unsuccessful transfers from completed transfers.
on exceeding a retry threshold of timeouts without meeting the threshold number of participant nodes(Mittal, [0082], When a quorum of acknowledgements is received by the client, the client can proceed with knowledge that the write transaction was successful. If a quorum of acknowledgements is not received within a predetermined time period, the client should retry the write transaction. The nodes respond to the client after logging the transaction to their journal for the session identifier of the write client.),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based decentralized storage system in view of Scott’s blockchain workflow management by incorporating Mittal’s timeout-triggered retry mechanism to ensure that transfers lacking the required acknowledgments receive another opportunity to complete before being treated as unsuccessful, thereby enhancing resilience to temporary communication or processing delays.
The motivation is to ensure that a temporary failure to obtain sufficient acknowledgments can be addressed through a renewed transfer attempt.
Regarding Claim 16:
The system of claim 9, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein instructing the selected set of participant nodes causes the selected set to obtain the data object from the network-accessible location and to record, upon successful copying, a completion transaction that includes an authentication of the copying operation by the hosted computing environment(Padilha, [0205], The host 105 waits to receive confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 520). The host 105 accepts from the renter 110 data to be stored (process 525). After the host 105 finishes storing the data (process 530), the host 105 computes a checksum of the stored data, [0200], The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored, adds its signature to the signed checksum, and submits the checksum with both signatures to the Blockchain 130. [0084], the blockchain-based decentralized storage system 100).
Regarding Claim 17:
Padilha discloses:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system implementing a a consensus node of a plurality of participant nodes that collectively maintain a blockchain, causes the computing system to(Padilha,[0105], a processor 205, which uses a network interface 210 to communicate with other members of the DSS system 100 over a computer network 212. The host 105 also includes volatile storage 215[0215], Scalability analysis. Once the Blockchain 130 has been replicated, the first phase of the PUT protocol can be analogized to an offline indexing operation. The first phase can be resolved locally, and as such, the first phase does not affect the scalability of the Blockchain 130. The second phase is performed in a peer-to-peer and off-chain fashion, up to the point that a storage contract proposal is accepted. At that point, there is one transaction that requires on-chain interaction. [0197], The first phase is performed by the renter 110 (for the purpose of this example, only members 105, 110, 113 that serve as minters for the Blockchain 130. [0135], members 105, 110, 113 participate in the creation of the blockchain by using a Proof-of-Stake (PoS) consensus, [0204], The renter 110 receives confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 430). By virtue of such addition, the storage contract becomes binding. The renter 110 uploads data to the host 105 for storage (process 435). ):
detect, on a blockchain, an accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction that identifies a network-accessible location of a data object to be replicated as chain adjacent data(Padilha,[0198], the storage contract proposal is accepted, the host 105 signs and return the storage contract to the renter 110. The renter 110 then also signs the storage contract, and submits the storage contract with both signatures to the Blockchain 130);
instruct a selected set of participant nodes to copy the data object from the network- accessible location into respective chain adjacent data stores associated with the selected set of participant nodes(Padilha, [0197], The first phase is performed by the renter 110 (for the purpose of this example, only members 105, 110, 113 that serve as minters for the Blockchain 130 are considered, although in other embodiments, “thin” peers, i.e., thin client computing devices that delegate the Blockchain 130 handling to a third party, and concern themselves with just uploading data to a given host 105, [0198], The renter 110 sends a storage contract proposal to the host 105, [0205], … the renter 110, and continues to wait for additional storage contracts proposals (process 505). Once the host 105 receives a satisfactory storage contract proposal, the host 105 signs and returns the storage contract proposal to the renter 110 (process 515). The host 105 waits to receive confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 520)… [0101], A host 105 also includes a storage engine 125 (namely 125A, 125B, 125C, and 125D in FIG. 3), which provides reliable, secure, and private data storage. For example, the storage engine 125 may store data on disk);
the instructions configure the computing system, and at an individual round of a plurality of consensus rounds for the blockchain(Padilha, [0135], s, members 105, 110, 113 participate in the creation of the blockchain by using a Proof-of-Stake (PoS) consensus. In PoS blockchains, the member 105, 110, 113 that will be responsible for minting the next block is chosen in a pseudo-random but deterministic way, and the chance that a given member 105, 110, 113 is chosen depends on how much DSS wealth they are willing to stake to take that role):
to: receive, from individual participant nodes of the selected set, completion transactions recorded on the blockchain that indicate successful copying of the data object to respective chain adjacent data stores associated with the individual participant nodes(Padilha,[0193-0196] For the third phase, the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing: The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase) A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105. [0200], the host 105 computes a checksum of all the uploaded data, signs the checksum, and sends the signed checksum back to the renter 110. The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored… [0101], A host 105 also includes a storage engine 125 (namely 125A, 125B, 125C, and 125D in FIG. 3), which provides reliable, secure, and private data storage);
that the threshold number of participant nodes has successfully stored the data object(Padilha,[0193-0196] For the third phase, the renter 110 and host 105 sign a statement containing:The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase) A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105, This statement serves as proof that the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105.);
Padilha does not disclose:
and an on-chain workflow to be implemented to monitor replication of the chain adjacent data
mplement the on-chain workflow, wherein to implement the on-chain workflow
and record, on the blockchain, a transaction that indicates completion of the chain adjacent data transfer
Scott discloses:
and an on-chain workflow to be implemented to monitor replication of the chain adjacent data(Scott, [0037], The workflow processor may also identify the workflow specification and the related data as a linked pair. The combined data block may be stored in a first data block of the block chain. The first data block may be referred to as commit zero (C0). The workflow processor 122 may compute a hash of C0. );
implement the on-chain workflow, wherein to implement the on-chain workflow(Scott, [0037], The workflow processor may also identify the workflow specification and the related data as a linked pair. The combined data block may be stored in a first data block of the block chain. The first data block may be referred to as commit zero (C0). [0038], the block chain following C0 may refer to C0 (e.g., the UUID of C0) as the origin of the block chain and a corresponding workflow. [0042], The workflow processor 122 may continue to perform operations corresponding to each state of the workflow until the workflow is completed and a current state identifies the workflow as “complete.”),
and record, on the blockchain, a transaction that indicates completion of the chain adjacent data transfer(Scott, [0022], Upon completion of a given workflow, a final state of that workflow may indicate that the workflow is completed. [0042], The workflow processor 122 may continue to perform operations corresponding to each state of the workflow until the workflow is completed and a current state identifies the workflow as “complete.” ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based storage system by incorporating Scott’s blockchain-recorded workflow specification, operation-completion records, and final workflow-completion record to enable participants to identify the storage-transfer workflow, monitor its progress, and determine when it has completed.
The motivation is to provide a shared, verifiable record of storage-transfer progress and completion.
Padilha in view of Scott does not disclose:
determine, based on the completion transactions
Mittal discloses:
determine, based on the completion transactions(Mittal, [0068], Based on the first data and the second data, in operation 730 the first node 120 identifies a second set of messages comprising the messages of the first set of messages that have been received by a quorum of nodes. For example, if the distributed key-value store has three nodes, a quorum of nodes would be at least two nodes.),
Regarding Claim 18:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the accepted chain adjacent data transfer transaction identifies a time-to-live parameter, and implementing the on-chain workflow comprises executing verification actions on each round from a current round through a round corresponding to the time-to-live parameter(Padilha, [0180], Start date and time (ISO 8601), [0181]End date and time (ISO 8601), [0186], Verification interval, [0198], the storage contract proposal is accepted, the host 105 signs and return the storage contract to the renter 110. The renter 110 then also signs the storage contract, and submits the storage contract with both signatures to the Blockchain 130, [0243], establishing a verification schedule requires negotiation with the host 105. Hosts 105 submit proof of storage to the Blockchain 130 periodically, according to the agreed schedule. [0247], The host 105 must submit exactly one signed statement to the Blockchain 130 per interval based on the verification schedule. The Proof-of-Storage challenge is based on the block closest to the schedule. The host 105 has up to the verification validity to submit the signed statement).
Regarding Claim 19:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein instructing the selected set of participant nodes comprises instructing the participant nodes to copy the data object into respective chain adjacent data stores implemented as object stores that support verifiable immutability and deletion protection(Padilha, [0086], familiar object storage interface to use the DSS system 100. [0101], the storage engine 125 may store data on disk. In another example, the storage engine 125 may communicate with one or more databases to store data remotely. [0205], nce the host 105 receives a satisfactory storage contract proposal, the host 105 signs and returns the storage contract proposal to the renter 110 (process 515). The host 105 waits to receive confirmation from a Blockchain 130 minter that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130 (process 520). The host 105 accepts from the renter 110 data to be stored (process 525).)
Regarding Claim 20:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose an identifier of the chain adjacent data transfer, and at least one cryptographic hash value associated with the data object as stored at that participant node(Padilha, [0194], The contract ID, or “CID”, (e.g., a hash of the signed statement from the second phase) ,[0195], A checksum of the uploaded data, generated by the host 105. [0200], Once the upload is completed, the host 105 computes a checksum of all the uploaded data, signs the checksum, and sends the signed checksum back to the renter 110. ) .
wherein determining that the threshold number of participant nodes has successfully stored the data object includes verifying that each completion transaction includes an identifier of the participant node(Mittal, [0066], a first node of a distributed key-value store (e.g., the node 120 of FIG. 1) receives, from a second node of the distributed key-value store (e.g., the node 130), first data indicating, for a first set of messages…[0068], Based on the first data and the second data, in operation 730 the first node 120 identifies a second set of messages comprising the messages of the first set of messages that have been received by a quorum of nodes. For example, if the distributed key-value store has three nodes, a quorum of nodes would be at least two nodes. ),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s blockchain-based decentralized storage system in view of Scott’s blockchain workflow management by incorporating Mittal’s quorum determination based on individual node reports to ensure that successful-storage confirmations are evaluated against the required participant-node threshold, thereby enhancing the reliability of the overall transfer-status determination.
The motivation is to ensure that transfer completion is declared only after sufficient participant nodes report successful storage.
Regarding Claim 21:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the instructions further cause the computing system, subsequent to recording the transaction that indicates completion of the chain adjacent data transfer, periodically determine whether a threshold number of participant nodes are storing the data object, and, when the threshold is not satisfied, to re-issue instructions to additional participant nodes to copy the data object(Padilha, [0200], Once that signed checksum is included in the Blockchain 130, the host 105 must perform the verification schedule in the storage contract. [0243], a verification schedule requires negotiation with the host 105. Hosts 105 submit proof of storage to the Blockchain 130 periodically, according to the agreed schedule. [0348], The renter 110 and sentinel 113 negotiate the criteria and additional budget for data repairs. The repair criteria defines the conditions that must be met before data repair takes place, e.g., how many PUT violations need to happen before a repair is triggered. [0371], Once the sentinel 113 obtains shards to reconstruct, to the best of its ability, a local copy of the data, the sentinel 113 proceeds to the second phase of the FIX protocol. The sentinel 113 recalculates missing shards and uploads each newly reproduced shard to the host 105 responsible for its storage.).
Regarding Claim 22:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the completion transactions recorded on the blockchain indicate respective operations undertaken by the individual participant nodes, parameters of the respective operations, and results of the respective operations(Scott, [0047], The workflow processor may execute an operation for a buyer (Y) to accept an offer made by a seller (X). This operation is illustrated as the operation “SimpleInvoice.accept(signature=Ysignature)”) [0050], the data updater may append a data block to the block chain. The appended data block may be referred to as commit two (C2) and indicate that the one or more items have been successfully shipped to the buyer (Y). The state based machine may transition to the “shipped” state once the operation corresponding to the “accepted” state is completed. [0037], the workflow processor 122 may combine the workflow specification and any related data into a data block. To combine the workflow specification and related data, the workflow processor 122 may append the related data to the workflow specification.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Padilha’s storage-completion reporting by incorporating Scott’s records identifying completed operations and resulting workflow states, together with references to a blockchain-stored workflow specification containing operation parameters, to associate each reported result with the operation performed and its governing parameters.
The motivation is to improve traceability and verification of storage operations through their blockchain records.
Regarding Claim 23:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the completion transactions recorded on the blockchain indicate respective representational state transfer (REST) application programming interface (API) transactions(Padilha, [0086], An API layer 135 that gives a simple-to-use and familiar object storage interface to use the DSS system 100, [0103], a renter 110 may be a computing device that executes an API client 135 to communicate with the API server 140 of a host 105C. In this manner, the renter 110 directs the host 105C, via the APIclient 135, [0200], the host 105 computes a checksum of all the uploaded data, signs the checksum, and sends the signed checksum back to the renter 110. The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored, adds its signature to the signed checksum ) .
Regarding Claim 24:
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, Padilha in view of Scott in further view of Mittal disclose wherein the completion transactions recorded on the blockchain indicate operational metrics regarding the completion transactions(Padilha, [0218], In the case of the DSS system 100, the most important metrics are bandwidth and latency. If λ is the delay between submitting a storage contract to the Blockchain 130 and receiving confirmation that the storage contract has been added to the Blockchain 130, and δ is the time needed to upload the file, [0196], the data from the renter 110 was uploaded and successfully stored on the host 105. [0200], The renter 110 verifies that the received checksum matches the checksum of the data that the renter 110 wants stored, adds its signature to the signed checksum, and submits the checksum with both signatures to the Blockchain 130).
Conclusion
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433