DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) Status
Claim 1 has been canceled. Claim 2-21 have been added. Claims 2-21 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 9 & 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11436907 in view of Campman (US 20080061962 A1, IDS) in view of Amis (US 20120319840 A1, IDS) and Cristoforo (US 20120310547 A1). The patent’s inventive scope using a mobile device comprising a display, communication circuitry, processor, memory and an acceleration sensor (corresponding to a impact sensor), wherein the mobile device is configured to detect acceleration data to determine impact conditions which causes the mobile device to transmit messages to an external device for designating an emergency service for the detected impact conditions. While, the patent does not disclose that the emergency service involves a SOS dispatch. Campman discloses, in ¶¶23, 55-61 with reference to Fig. 1, the concept of providing location tracking with corresponding motion triggering circuitry to enable emergency distress (corresponding to SOS) call transmission to a monitoring base unit. Amis discloses, in ¶¶21-25 with reference to Fig. 1, the concept of providing distress signals transmitted from a monitoring device to emergency call centers and first responders. Cristoforo discloses, in ¶27, the concept of enabling a location tracking service provider with the ability to provide dispatching of emergency personnel to assist with distress call conditions. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enabling a location tracking service provider with the ability to provide dispatching of emergency personnel to assist with distress call conditions, with the motivation to enhance the safety response features of the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8-11 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campman in view of Amis and Cristoforo. 1) Regarding claims 2 and 16, Campman discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1 & 4: personal transceiver device 114) comprising: an impact detector (Campman: ¶61 with regard to the lack-of-motion sensor including an accelerometer, which are known to produce acceleration values indicative of impact, as indicated by Amis, ¶¶10, 32-34, claim 1. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate detecting impact condition indicative of motion, with the motivation to enhance motion evaluating features of the system); a display (Campman: ¶61; Fig. 4: display 440); communication circuitry (Campman: ¶61; Fig. 4: transceiver 448); and a processor (Campman: Fig. 4: microprocessor 446), wherein the processor is configured to: receive an impact data from the impact detector (Campman: ¶61; Amis: ¶32-34); and based on the impact data indicating an impact with a level exceeding a threshold level, transmit, via the communication circuitry, location information to an external electronic device (Campman: ¶61; Amis: ¶32-34). As per the limitation wherein the external electronic device is configured to receive the location information for calling SOS dispatch. Campman discloses, in ¶¶23, 55-61 with reference to Fig. 1, the concept of providing location tracking with corresponding motion triggering circuitry to enable emergency distress (corresponding to SOS) call transmission to a monitoring base unit. Amis discloses, in ¶¶21-25 with reference to Fig. 1, the concept of providing distress signals transmitted from a monitoring device to emergency call centers and first responders. Cristoforo discloses, in ¶27, the concept of enabling a location tracking service provider with the ability to provide dispatching of emergency personnel to assist with distress call conditions. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of enabling a location tracking service provider with the ability to provide dispatching of emergency personnel to assist with distress call conditions, with the motivation to enhance the safety response features of the system. 2) Regarding claim 9, Campman, Amis and Cristoforo with the same motivation to combine as presented in the rejection of claims 2 and 16, teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (Amis discloses the use of a memory device, see ¶60. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a memory device to enable to the microprocessor of Campman to be programmed as intended, with the motivation to enhance processing features of the system), wherein the instructions, when executed by an electronic device including an impact detector (see analysis of the rejection of claims 2 and 16), a display (see analysis of the rejection of claims 2 and 16), and communication circuitry (see analysis of the rejection of claims 2 and 16), cause the electronic device to: receive an impact data from the impact detector (see analysis of the rejection of claims 2 and 16); and based on the impact data indicating an impact with a level exceeding a threshold level, transmit, via the communication circuitry, location information to an external electronic device (see analysis of the rejection of claims 2 and 16), wherein the external electronic device is configured to receive the location information for calling SOS dispatch (see analysis of the rejection of claims 2 and 16). 3) Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, wherein the processor is configured to: transmit, via the communication circuitry, a message for notifying emergency situation (Campman: ¶¶, 23, 55-61; Fig. 1; Amis: abstract; ¶¶10-11, 21-26). 4) Regarding claims 8 and 15, wherein the processor is configured to: display, based on the impact data indicating the impact with the level exceeding the threshold level, a personal information of a user of the electronic device, via the display (Amis: ¶41).
Claim(s) 4, 11 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campman in view of Amis and Cristoforo, and in further view of Kwon (US 20080194238 A1, IDS). 1) Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, wherein the processor is configured to: transmit the message to a user registered as a guardian of a user of the electronic device. Amis discloses, in ¶26 with reference to Fig. 1, the concept of providing distress condition notifications to friends and family via a communication network which suggest that the friends and family (guardian/protector entity) have a device to enable reception of the notification. Kwon discloses, in ¶71 with reference to Figs. 1, 9-13, the concept of providing emergency messages to devices of registered protectors (corresponding to a guardian) of a monitored user. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing emergency messages to devices of registered protectors of a monitored user, with the motivation to enhance the notification features of the system.
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campman in view of Amis and Cristoforo, and in further view of Gray (US 20090233573 A1, IDS). 1) Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, wherein the location information is used to display, on a display of the external electronic device, a location of the electronic device since the time of the impact. Gray discloses, in claim 1, the concept of transmitting distress signals that enables a receiving device to display the current location of a user of the transmitting device. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of transmitting distress signals that enables a receiving device to display the current location of a user of the transmitting device, with the motivation to enhance the location monitoring features of the system. 2) Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, wherein the location information is used to obtain a route in which a location of the external electronic device is a departure location, and the location of the electronic device is a destination location (Gray discloses, in ¶¶9-10, claims 1 & 6, providing dispatch service concerning the location of a transmitting device).
Claim(s) 7, 14 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campman in view of Amis and Cristoforo, and in further view of Trela et al. (“Trela”, US 7257420 B2, IDS). 1) Regarding claims 7, 14 and 21, wherein the processor is configured to: display, on the display of the electronic device, a screen for providing an outgoing call for the SOS dispatch. Trela discloses, in ¶44, the concept of displaying an active rescue operation in real-time. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of displaying an active rescue operation in real-time, with the motivation to enhance the rescue operation and display features of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20050073408 A1, portable device providing SOS messaging to an external device/system.
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685