DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits based on the 19/247,751 application filed on 06/24/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-9, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first angled foot holder" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first angled foot holder" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first angled foot holder" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first and second angled foot holder" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first and second angled foot holder" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first and second angled foot holder" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first angled foot holder" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mason (US Patent No. 7,104,901; DP: 09/12/2006).
Regarding claim 1, Mason discloses a foot positioning device (hockey training system 10; Figure 4; i.e., a user is positioning their feet on the hockey device) for sports players, comprising: a frame (Base 20; Figure 4) comprising a first end (i.e., the left end of the base 20) and a second end (i.e., the right end of the base 20); a second angled foot holder (Right platform 30; Figure 4) coupled to the second end of the frame.
Regarding claim 2, Mason discloses the frame is rectangular (i.e., the base 20 is a rectangular as seen above).
Regarding claim 3, Mason disclose a distance between the first angled foot holder (Left platform 30; Figure 4) and the second angled foot holder is adjustable (i.e., the left ends of each of the angled foot holders 30 are adjusted to be closer to each other as seen in Figure 2) .
Regarding claim 4, Mason disclose at least one of the first angled foot holder and second angled foot holder is adjustable between a plurality of angles (i.e., the first angle is seen in Figure 2 and the second angle is seen in Figure 4 of each of the angled foot holders/platforms 30).
Regarding claim 5, Mason disclose both of the first angled foot holder and the second angled foot holder is adjustable between a plurality of angles (i.e., the first angle is seen in Figure 2 and the second angle is seen in Figure 4 of each of the angled foot holders/platforms 30).
Regarding claim 6, Mason disclose each of the first and second angled foot holders may be secured to the frame at a fixed angle (i.e., the first fixed angle is seen in Figure 2 and the second fixed angle is seen in Figure 4 of each of the angled foot holders/platforms 30).
Regarding claim 7, Mason disclose each of the first and second angled foot holders comprises two angled plates coupled to a foot holder (i.e., see the annotated structures seen in Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 8, Mason disclose each of the first and second angled foot holders is coupled to the frame by a plurality of pins (Pins 34; Figure 2; i.e., the pins couple the frame 20 to the foot holders/platforms 30 as seen in Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 9, Mason disclose a first pin assembly (Pins 34; Figures 2 and 4) coupled to the first end of the frame (i.e., the left end of the frame 30); and a second pin assembly (Pins 34; Figures 2 and 4) coupled to the second end of the frame (i.e., the right end of the frame 30), wherein the first angled foot holder is coupled to the first pin assembly and the second angled foot holder is coupled to the second pin assembly (i.e., the left platform and right platform 30 are connected to the respective pin assemblies 34 as seen in Figures 2 and 4).
Conclusion
/ANDREW M KOBYLARZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3784