Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 07/24/24. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2024-0098182 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 10 and 20 the Office has not identified any prior art, which alone, or in combination, that would provide a teaching, a suggestion or a motivation that could be found either in the art or within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify or combine the prior art to disclose the cited claim limitations , more specifically, “causes the electronic apparatus to: identify pixel pitches of the plurality of display devices based on the resolution information and the size information of the plurality of display devices; downsample remaining partial images, excluding a partial image corresponding to a display device having a maximum pixel pitch, among the plurality of partial images, based on a pixel pitch difference of the pixel pitches” of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al., KR patent (KR 20110024273 A), hereinafter “Jang”
Regarding claim 1 Jang teaches an electronic apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of display devices, a broadcast receiving apparatus 200 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention may be connected to a plurality of broadcast transmitting apparatuses [Jang para 0029] the electronic apparatus comprising: a communication device comprising a plurality of first communication interfaces at different positions on the electronic apparatus the three broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx3 among the plurality of broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6 are displayed in a group with a high received signal strength RSSI and the two broadcast transmission devices Tx4 and Tx5 And the remaining one broadcast transmitting apparatus Tx6 may be displayed as a group having a low received signal strength RSSI. [Jang para 0029]; memory storing at least one instruction The computer readable recording medium may be a ROM, A RAM, a CD-ROM, a magnetic tape, a floppy disk, an optical data storage device, and the like, as well as a carrier wave (for example, transmission via the Internet). [Jang para 0100]; and at least one processor configured to execute the at least one instruction, wherein the at least one instruction, the broadcast transmission apparatus may be embodied as a computer-readable recording medium on which a program for execution by a computer is recorded [Jang para 0008] when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, a broadcast receiving unit for receiving and processing [Jang para 0002] causes the electronic device to: control the plurality of first communication interfaces to acquire distance information between the plurality of first communication interfaces and the plurality of display devices The distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the broadcast receiving apparatus 200 and the distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the measured received signal strength RSSI for each of the plurality of broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6, Direction can be estimated. That is, the distance between the broadcast receiving apparatus 200 and the broadcast transmitting apparatus 100 may be proportional to the RSSI of the signal received from the broadcast transmitting apparatus 100. [Jang para 0061 & 0062]; and acquire arrangement information of the plurality of display devices based on the distance information. Referring to FIG. 7, according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 2 Jang teaches claim 1 in addition Jang teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to acquire position information of the plurality of display devices based on the distance information. Referring to FIG. 7, according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 3 Jang teaches claim 2 in addition Jang teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to: control the plurality of first communication interfaces to acquire distance information between the plurality of first communication interfaces and a plurality of second communication interfaces respectively in the plurality of display devices For example, when the RSSI of the second broadcast transmission apparatus Tx2 is 238 as shown in FIG. 5, the output power adjustment unit 240 adjusts the output power of the second broadcast transmission apparatus Tx2, Can be reduced. [Jang para 0088] ; and acquire position information of the plurality of second communication interfaces based on the distance information. according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 4 Jang teaches claim 3 in addition Jang teaches wherein the position information comprises coordinate values, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to: calculate the coordinate values based on the distance information; and acquire difference values of the coordinate values by comparing the coordinate values. The distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the broadcast receiving apparatus 200 and the distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the measured received signal strength RSSI for each of the plurality of broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6, Direction can be estimated. [Jang para 0061] Referring to FIG. 7, according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 5 Jang teaches claim 4 in addition Jang teaches wherein the memory further stores mount information comprising positions of the second communication interfaces in the plurality of display devices, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to acquire whether the plurality of display devices are adjacent to or spaced apart from at least one neighboring display device based on the mount information and the difference values. Figures 8A to 8C, the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 is calculated using the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI) It is also possible to display the location by space. [Jang para 0069]
Regarding claim 6 Jang teaches claim 5 in addition Jang teaches wherein the memory further stores size information of the plurality of display devices, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to acquire whether the plurality of display devices is adjacent to or spaced apart from the at least one neighboring display device based on the mount information, the size information, and the difference values. Figures 8A to 8C, the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 is calculated using the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI) It is also possible to display the location by space. [Jang para 0069]
Regarding claim 11 Jang teaches a method of controlling an electronic apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of display devices, a broadcast receiving apparatus 200 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention may be connected to a plurality of broadcast transmitting apparatuses [Jang para 0029] the method comprising: controlling a plurality of first communication interfaces at different positions on the electronic apparatus to acquire distance information between the plurality of first communication interfaces and the plurality of display devices The distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the broadcast receiving apparatus 200 and the distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the measured received signal strength RSSI for each of the plurality of broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6, Direction can be estimated. That is, the distance between the broadcast receiving apparatus 200 and the broadcast transmitting apparatus 100 may be proportional to the RSSI of the signal received from the broadcast transmitting apparatus 100. [Jang para 0061 & 0062]; and acquiring arrangement information of the plurality of display devices based on the distance information. Referring to FIG. 7, according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 12 Jang teaches claim 11 in addition Jang teaches wherein the acquiring the arrangement information of the plurality of display devices comprises acquiring position information of the plurality of display devices based on the distance information. Referring to FIG. 7, according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 13 Jang teaches claim 12 in addition Jang teaches in which the electronic apparatus includes the plurality of first communication interfaces at the different positions on the electronic device, wherein the controlling of the plurality of first communication interfaces comprises controlling the plurality of first communication interfaces to acquire distance information between the plurality of first communication interfaces and a plurality of second communication interfaces respectively included in the plurality of display devices For example, when the RSSI of the second broadcast transmission apparatus Tx2 is 238 as shown in FIG. 5, the output power adjustment unit 240 adjusts the output power of the second broadcast transmission apparatus Tx2, Can be reduced. [Jang para 0088] and wherein the acquiring the position information comprises acquiring the position information of the plurality of second communication interfaces based on the distance information. according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 14 Jang teaches claim 13 in addition Jang teaches wherein the position information comprises coordinate values, wherein the acquiring the position information of the plurality of second communication interfaces comprises: calculating the coordinate values based on the distance information; and acquiring difference values of the coordinate values by comparing the coordinate values. The distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the broadcast receiving apparatus 200 and the distance between each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 based on the measured received signal strength RSSI for each of the plurality of broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6, Direction can be estimated. [Jang para 0061] Referring to FIG. 7, according to the distance and direction of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI), the broadcast receiving apparatus 200, for example, Can be used to display the approximate position of each of the broadcast transmission devices Tx1 to Tx6. [Jang para 0067]
Regarding claim 15 Jang teaches claim 14 in addition Jang teaches wherein the acquiring the position information of the plurality of second communication interfaces comprises acquiring whether the plurality of display devices are adjacent to or spaced apart from at least one neighboring display device based on mount information comprising positions of the second communication interfaces in the plurality of display devices, and the difference values. Figures 8A to 8C, the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 is calculated using the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI) It is also possible to display the location by space. [Jang para 0069]
Regarding claim 16 Jang teaches claim 15 in addition Jang teaches wherein the acquiring whether the plurality of display devices are adjacent to or spaced apart from at least one neighboring display device comprises acquiring whether the plurality of display devices is adjacent to or spaced apart from the at least one neighboring display device based on the mount information, size information of the plurality of display devices, and the difference values. Figures 8A to 8C, the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 is calculated using the position information of each of the broadcast transmitting apparatuses Tx1 to Tx6 estimated using the received signal strength (RSSI) It is also possible to display the location by space. [Jang para 0069]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and further in view of So et al., KR patent (KR 20160131851 A), hereinafter “So”
Regarding claim 7 Jang teaches claim 1 in addition Jang does not each but So teaches wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to provide the arrangement information to the plurality of display devices via the communication device. A display unit connected to the strap and displaying location information of a communication target; A plurality of antennas spaced apart from each other to receive a communication signal; A signal comparison unit comparing a phase or an intensity between a communication signal received by a portion of the plurality of antennas and a communication signal received by another portion; And a calculation unit configured to calculate location information of the communication target from the communication signal and transmit the location information to the display unit based on a comparison result of the signal comparison unit [So para 0009]
Jang discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting/receiving a broadcast signal using wireless communication. A display device is constituted by a broadcast receiving unit for receiving and processing a broadcast signal from an airwave, a cable and other external devices (VCR, DVD, etc.), and a display unit for displaying an image of the processed broadcast signal on the screen. The broadcast receiving unit and the display unit can be separately configured separately, with a wireless communication method using a separate broadcast receiving apparatus and transmitting the received broadcast signal to a display device using wireless communication and displaying the same.
So discloses display unit connected to the strap and displaying location information of a communication target; A plurality of antennas spaced apart from each other to receive a communication signal; A signal comparison unit comparing a phase or an intensity between a communication signal received by a portion of the plurality of antennas and a communication signal received by another portion; And a calculation unit configured to calculate location information of the communication target from the communication signal and transmit the location information to the display unit based on a comparison result of the signal comparison unit. It may include.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Jang and So in the art of transmitting/receiving a broadcast signal using wireless communication and operating the same, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. So improves Jang’s systems, methods and/or apparatus by using a calculation unit configured to calculate location information of the communication target from the communication signal and transmit the location information to the display unit based on a comparison result of the signal comparison which allows the user to determine where other interfaces are located
Regarding claim 8 Jang teaches claim 1 in addition Jang does not each but So teaches wherein the memory further stores content comprising an image, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to provide a signal corresponding to the image, along with the arrangement information, to the plurality of display devices. For example, a difference (+ D, -D) of the distance may be derived based on a phase difference (D), and is equal to a side of the length corresponding to the difference (+ D, -D) and the constant constant. A triangle consisting of sides of the corresponding length is a right triangle. By knowing the lengths of the hypotenuses and bases in the right triangle, the angle can be computed correctly according to the sin or cos function. Accordingly, the calculator 40 can calculate the angle accurately. [So para 0036]
Regarding claim 17 Jang teaches claim 11 in addition Jang does not each but So teaches further comprising: providing the arrangement information to the plurality of display devices. A display unit connected to the strap and displaying location information of a communication target; A plurality of antennas spaced apart from each other to receive a communication signal; A signal comparison unit comparing a phase or an intensity between a communication signal received by a portion of the plurality of antennas and a communication signal received by another portion; And a calculation unit configured to calculate location information of the communication target from the communication signal and transmit the location information to the display unit based on a comparison result of the signal comparison unit [So para 0009]
Regarding claim 18 Jang teaches claim 11 in addition Jang does not each but So teaches further comprising: providing a signal corresponding to an image, along with the arrangement information, to the plurality of display devices. For example, a difference (+ D, -D) of the distance may be derived based on a phase difference (D), and is equal to a side of the length corresponding to the difference (+ D, -D) and the constant constant. A triangle consisting of sides of the corresponding length is a right triangle. By knowing the lengths of the hypotenuses and bases in the right triangle, the angle can be computed correctly according to the sin or cos function. Accordingly, the calculator 40 can calculate the angle accurately. [So para 0036]
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and further in view of Son US Patent Application (20200348898), hereinafter “Son”
Regarding claim 9 Jang teaches claim 1 in addition Jang does not each but Son teaches wherein the memory further stores the image, and wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to: identify a plurality of partial images respectively corresponding to the plurality of display devices from the image based on the arrangement information; and provide signals corresponding to the plurality of partial images to the plurality of display devices via the communication device. In order for a screen output from the plurality of display apparatuses 10-1 to 10-9 to form one image, the multivision system 1 must operate in a video wall mode. In addition, an image provided from an external source device may be divided into nine images in an array of 3×3, and the divided images should be distributed to the plurality of display apparatuses 10-1 to 10-9, respectively. The distribution of the divided images may be performed based on a position of each of display apparatuses 10 in the multivision system 1. [Son para `0050]
Jang discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting/receiving a broadcast signal using wireless communication. A display device is constituted by a broadcast receiving unit for receiving and processing a broadcast signal from an airwave, a cable and other external devices (VCR, DVD, etc.), and a display unit for displaying an image of the processed broadcast signal on the screen. The broadcast receiving unit and the display unit can be separately configured separately, with a wireless communication method using a separate broadcast receiving apparatus and transmitting the received broadcast signal to a display device using wireless communication and displaying the same.
Son discloses an electronic apparatus may include an image processor configured to recognize each of IDs displayed on a plurality of display apparatuses in an image in which the plurality of display apparatuses displaying the respective IDs are captured and determine an array of the plurality of display apparatuses, and to determine positions of the plurality of display apparatuses based on the recognized respective IDs and the determined array of the plurality of display apparatuses; and a setter configured to generate video wall setting information for each of the plurality of display apparatuses based on the determined positions of the plurality of display apparatuses
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Jang and Son in the art of transmitting/receiving a broadcast signal using wireless communication and operating the same, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Son improves Jang’s systems, methods and/or apparatus by using an image processor which can identify and determine the positions of display interface and combine said interfaces to build an image in a video wall.
Regarding claim 19 Jang teaches claim 11 in addition Jang does not each but So teaches further comprising: identifying a plurality of partial images respectively corresponding to the plurality of display devices from an image based on the arrangement information; and providing signals corresponding to the plurality of partial images to the plurality of display devices. In order for a screen output from the plurality of display apparatuses 10-1 to 10-9 to form one image, the multivision system 1 must operate in a video wall mode. In addition, an image provided from an external source device may be divided into nine images in an array of 3×3, and the divided images should be distributed to the plurality of display apparatuses 10-1 to 10-9, respectively. The distribution of the divided images may be performed based on a position of each of display apparatuses 10 in the multivision system 1. [Son para `0050]
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622