DETAILED ACTION
This Office action has been issued in response to amendment filed July 15, 2026.
Claims 1,2,5, 7-9, 11, 12, 15 and 17-19 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending. Applicant’s arguments are carefully and respectfully considered and some are persuasive, while others are not. Accordingly, rejections have been removed where arguments were persuasive, but rejections have been maintained where arguments were not persuasive. Also, a new rejection based on the newly added amendments have been set forth. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected and this action has been made FINAL, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and arguments directed to 35 USC 103 rejection, presented on 07/15/26 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection presented in this office action.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blumstein et al. (US 2021/0390458 A1), hereinafter Blumstein in view of Brown et al. (US 2008/0059540 A1), hereinafter Brown.
As for claim 1, Blumstein teaches a computer-implemented method for performing a spatial join operation between geospatial datasets, the computer-implement method comprising: analyzing each geospatial dataset to extract spatial metadata (see [0006], data analytics techniques for spatial data, abstract, e.g., location include geometric properties join treatment of distinct location coordinate feature),
wherein analyzing comprises: performing a one-pass scan of each geospatial dataset to collect spatial metadata and sample geometry envelopes; wherein each sampled geometry envelop represents a bounding box of a respective spatial object…..of a size of each geospatial dataset; applying a heuristic-based method to identify an optimal number of partitions for each geospatial dataset (see [0009], e.g., respective spatial object include one or more locations of one or more geometric elements of the respective spatial object, [0069], e.g., process of analyzing data to discover information, draw conclusions, and/or support decision-making, predictive analytics and prescriptive analytics (processes for determining or suggesting a course of action, [0166], e.g., a bounding box (e.g., a minimum bounding box) that circumscribes the representative locations of all the spatial objects corresponding to the spatial observations of the dataset may be determined, [0194], e.g., use smart heuristics to initialize the hyperparameter values such that evaluation of relational spatial feature candidates begins in a region of the feature candidate space that is likely to provide useful feature candidates, [0198], e.g.,
smallest rectangle or rectangular prism circumscribing the object/element and derives features such as it dimensions, perimeters and area, [0087], e.g., perform statistical property of a dataset);
and applying a hybrid sampling strategy comprising….sampling and….sampling for each partition to collect the samples geometry envelopes (see [0011], e.g., data partitioning tasks includes spatially partitioning the plurality of spatial observations based on spatial relationships between the location features of respective pairs of the spatial observations, [0070], e.g., sample and validation data organized as sets of records (e.g., “observations” or “data samples”), with each record indicating values of specified data fields (e.g., “independent variables,” “inputs,” “features,” or “predictors”) and corresponding values of other data fields (e.g., “dependent variables,” “outputs,” or “targets”). Presented with other data (e.g., “inference data”) similar to or related to the sample data, such models accurately infer the unknown values of the target(s) of the inference dataset, [0090], e.g., representing geometric properties and/or spatial statistics associated with individual spatial observations);
generating spatial partitions based on the spatial metadata and the sampled geometry envelops, wherein generating the spatial partitions comprises: computing an intersection of spatial extents of the geospatial datasets and subdividing the intersection to generate a common spatial partition grid; shuffling collected samples to reduce spatial bias (see [0090], e.g., geometric properties and/or spatial statistics associated with individual spatial observations. determining the feature importance of location features, determining feature importance. A techniques for automatically partitioning spatial datasets, develop more accurate spatial models,
[0075], e.g., connected set of points. Each polygon comprises a connected set of lines that form a closed shape, spatial objects are represented by values (e.g., pixel values) assigned to cells (e.g., pixels) arranged in a regular pattern (e.g., a grid or matrix), each cell represents a spatial region, and the value assigned to the cell applies to the represented spatial region, [0167] e.g., a tessellation of a spatial region is a partitioning of the region into spatial units (“blocks”) of a consistent size and shape (e.g., blocks of the same size and same regular shape), partitioning a spatial dataset, a spatial observation representing a residential property in California, the spatial region circumscribing the spatial observations has been tessellated into regular hexagons of the same size, [0180], e.g., permuting (e.g., randomly shuffling) the values of the feature across the observations within the dataset);
increasing the number of samples to generate uniform and balanced spatial partition grids; and mixing samples from all geospatial datasets such that the common spatial grid is based on the sampled geometry envelops from each geospatial dataset (see [0007], data partitioning tasks on one or more datasets, makes spatial relationships between the location features of respective pairs of the spatial observations, [0081], e.g., data samples in a chronologically-ordered time-series dataset makes substantially uniform, [0175], e.g., increases the amount of spatial dependence structure leakage in the dataset, claim 10, e.g., performing spatial autocorrelation analysis on the spatial observations, generating a tessellation of the spatial region, respective instance of the spatial block in which the coordinates of the location feature of the spatial observation are located; and partitioning the spatial observations among a plurality of data partitions, determined based on which instance of the spatial block is associated with the respective spatial observation);
and performing a spatial join operation comprising: dynamically selecting a spatial index structure to execute local joins within each partition; and executing an adaptive per-partition local join execution plan by estimating which geospatial dataset is smaller and designating the smaller geospatial dataset as a build side (see abstract, e.g., location include geometric properties join treatment of distinct location coordinate feature, [0007], e.g., spatial data representing a plurality of spatial objects, the extracted location data indicating one or more sets of coordinates of one or more locations associated with each of the spatial objects, [0098], e.g., deriving values of a small fraction of the relational spatial feature candidates for a dataset.[0171], e.g., data partition being identified by an integer index between 1 and 10. Each block is associated with the data partition having the index shown within the block, and all the observations located within a block are assigned to the block's data partition).
Blumstein teaches the claimed invention including the limitations of a size of each geospatial dataset or sampling ([0087], [0204]), but does not explicitly teach the limitations of without prior knowledge of a size of each geospatial dataset; Reservoir sampling and Bernoulli sampling. Although, Blumstein teaches autocorrelation, a probability that the local spatial pattern of the values of that feature is random ([0208], claim 10). However, in the same field of endeavor Brown teaches the limitations of without prior knowledge of a size of each geospatial dataset; Reservoir sampling and Bernoulli sampling; Reservoir sampling and Bernoulli sampling (see [0007], e.g., the variability of the sample size grows without bound as the population size increases. Not knowing the size of the population makes the selection, [0055], e.g., reservoir sampling with reservoir size of n.sub.F. The sample is still uniform, but it is a simple random sample (without replacement) rather than a bernoulli sample).
Blumstein and Brown both references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are from the same field of endeavor, such as data store or data sets, statistical property of the dataset, probability of the datasets, calculating and determining the value or score for the features of the dataset and generating data analytics model.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brown’s teaching to Blumstein system for a sampling one of the partitioned subsets in an independent and parallel manner to output uniform random samples. Thus, allows the sampling system to provide flexible and scalable sampling of the data set. An independent and parallel sampling provide compact, uniform, bounded footprint, and flexibility in combining/merging (see Brown, [0017]).
As for claim 11,
The limitations therein have substantially the same scope as claim 1 because claim 11 is a computing apparatus claim for implementing those steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brown’s teaching to Blumstein system for a sampling one of the partitioned subsets in an independent and parallel manner to output uniform random samples. Thus, allows the sampling system to provide flexible and scalable sampling of the data set. An independent and parallel sampling provide compact, uniform, bounded footprint, and flexibility in combining/merging (see Brow, [0017]).
As to claim 2, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein analyzing further comprises executing the one pass-scan on all geospatial datasets concurrently (see Blumstein, [0009], [0070]).
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein each geospatial dataset has unknown size (see Blumstein, [0023]).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein applying the hybrid sampling strategy comprises: applying the Reservoir sampling to maintain a fixed-size uniform sample from a sampled geospatial dataset; and applying the Bernoulli sampling to probabilistically include each record based on a predefined sampling rate (see Blumstein, [0009], [0258]; Also see, Brown, [0007]).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein applying the hybrid sampling strategy further comprises: initiating an envelope collection when a number of observed records k is less than a minimum number of samples N.sub.min; performing a small Reservoir sampling when k is greater than or equal to N.sub.min and less than a threshold value NminR; performing the Bernoulli sampling when k is greater than or equal to NminR and a size of a set of sampled envelopes ∥S∥ is less than a maximum number of samples N.sub.max; and performing a large Reservoir sampling when ∥S∥ is equal to N.sub.max. (see Blumstein, [0077], [0122]; Also see, Brown, [0060]).
As to claim 6, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein the spatial index structure comprises Quad trees and Sort-Tile-Recursive (STR) trees (see Blumstein, [0134], [0203]).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein dynamically selecting the spatial index structure comprises selecting the spatial index structure based on a spatial index score S (see Blumstein, [0015], [0171]).
As to claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein an absolute value of the spatial index score S indicates a goodness of the spatial index (see Blumstein, [0124], [0171]).
As to claim 9, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein performing the spatial join operation further comprises preprocessing geometric data into prepared geometry data structures used in evaluating a spatial predicate (see Blumstein, [0080], [0090]).
As to claim 10, this claim is rejected based on the same reason as above to reject the claim above and are similarly rejected including the following:
Blumstein and Brown teach:
wherein executing an adaptive per-partition local join execution plan comprises selecting an execution strategy based on a specified execution mode, the specified execution mode comprising any of PREPARE_BUILD, PREPARE_STREAM, and PREPARE_NONE (see Blumstein, [0070], [0093], [0106]).
Claims 12-20 are corresponds in scope to claims 2-10 and is similarly rejected.
Prior Arts
7. US 2006/0265197 A1 teaches a spatial data retrieval system can be realized, a digital globe visualization system can be realized, an online spatial data discovery and file sharing tool can be realized, a spatial data browser can be realized, a spatial data analyzer can be realized and a geospatial model building system can be realized ([0036]).
US 2024/0061842 A1 teaches collecting statistics about spatial distribution information of geometric objects according to the multi-tree spatial indexes, and obtaining global spatial distribution information of the first resilient distributed dataset and determining an intersecting spatial partition of the first resilient distributed dataset and the second resilient distributed dataset ([0004]).
WO2022192738A1 teaches frequency content, maximum, minimum, average values, plurality of time series data. A set of prediction data can provided to the plurality of predictive models, and the models can be used to make forecasts based on the prediction data ([0003]).
Also see, US 20210390458, US 20230316137, US 20250209378, US 20220292308, US 12417386, US 1630826, US 20230350901, US 12386839, US 20250150092, US 11436429, US 20100223276, US 7543006, these reference also read the claim recited limitation. These references are state of the art at the time of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
8. The examiner suggests, in response to this Office action, support being shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application (see 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1), 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(f)).
9. The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action (see MPEP § 7.96). Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Boris Gorney can be reached on (571) 270-5626. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or processing is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from the either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANIEL A KUDDUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154
09/18/26