DETAILED ACTION
The claim set, filed on 6/24/2025, is acknowledged and considered.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are independent claims. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/29/2025 and 6/30/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the claims on 6/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12368600. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Both current application 19247855 and US Patent 12368600 include similar features of providing fraud detection signals, receiving device integrity token comprising a verdict that indicates a level of trustworthiness of the client device based on the fraud detection signals related to the client device, generating an attestation token comprising a set of data comprising a token creation time that indicates a time at which the attestation token was created, the device integrity token, and a payload that includes data specific to a request and a digital signature generated using a private key wherein sending the request with the attestation token to a recipient. Thus, the elements of claims 1-20 of the current application 19247855 contains similar elements of claims 1-19 of US Patent 12368600. Claims 1-19 of the current application 19247855 is anticipated by claims 1-19 of US Patent 12368600.
This is a non-provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasundaram, et al. [US 20150112870] in view of Neve de Mevergnies, et al. [US 20190007212].
As per claim 1: Nagasundaram, et al. teaches a computer-implement method comprising:
providing, by a client device and to a device integrity system, fraud detection signals related to the client device; [Nagasundaram: para 0047; The contextual information may be utilized to verify the validity of a token and prevent further processing of the token if there is any indication of fraud or misuse. See also para 0096]
receiving, by the client device and from the device integrity system, a device integrity token comprising a verdict that indicates a level of trustworthiness of the client device based on the fraud detection signals; [Nagasundaram: para 0132; the merchant have a predefined set of authentication processes and fraud rules regarding the risk levels that are appropriate for tokens. The fraud rules define a high risk level and indicate that a high risk level indicates that a token should not be validated. The transaction token associated with the payment network "A" indicating a high risk level would not be validated based on designated fraud rule indicators or settings provided by the merchant. The token verifier computer indicate this validation decision in the token verification response message. Thus, the message associated to the validation based on risk levels and rules prompts a level of trustworthiness which is based on the fraud detection signals. See also para 0139]
generating, by the client device, an attestation token comprising: [Nagasundaram: para 0007, 0010-0011]
a set of data comprising (i) a token creation time that indicates a time at which the attestation token was created, (ii) the device integrity token, and (iii) a payload that includes data specific to a request; and [Nagasundaram: para 0010; a transaction token include a token format that may include 64 bits of financial institution information (e.g., an issuer identifier, a data type, transmission channel information, token purpose information, etc.) and 64 bits of consumer/product information (e.g., a token verifier, geo-location information, device fingerprinting information, token payload information, etc.). Accordingly, any entity in the transaction flow may understand the context (who issued the token, when it was generated (i.e. token creation time), when it will expire, etc.) surrounding a token at any time. Further, the contextual information may be verified or validated by a token verifier or token issuer at any time to ensure that the transaction token is valid. The transaction token or a token that is verified or validated suggest “an attestation token”. Para 0026; The transaction token include any suitable type of information or format. For example, the transaction token include a format that comprise data elements including a system identifier, an account issuer identifier, a data type identifier, a channel identifier, a token purpose identifier, a token verifier identifier, information about the channel properties associated with the transaction token, and a token payload or account substitute. Para 0107; The contextual information comprise identification of entities involved in the transaction such as the token requestor device and token issuer computer. The contextual information may further comprise any information surrounding or related to the transaction token and entities involved in the transaction, such as, for example, a time associated with the token request, expiration of the token, purpose of the token, transaction channel to be utilized for the token, and geo-location of the token requestor device. The token verifier identifier suggest the “the device integrity token”, as this is associated to a verifier computer, see also para 0121. The token payload information suggest “payload that includes data specific to a request” as the payload applies to the specific transaction and request. Para 0109; the transaction token format include information identifying a token issuer, token purpose, generation or request time, expiration date or time, geo-location of the token subscriber, consumer, or token requestor, one or more usable transaction channels, any other conditions or limitations, and any other information that may be useful to entities handling the transaction token. The generation time suggest “a token creation time”]
**a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device; and [**rejected under the secondary reference, discussion below]
sending, by the client device, the request with the attestation token to one or more recipients. [Nagasundaram: para 0144; sending the transaction information including the transaction token to a payment processing network for processing. More examples on para 0152]
Nagasundaram suggest a set of data comprising (i) a token creation time that indicates a time at which the attestation token was created, (ii) the device integrity token, and (iii) a payload that includes data specific to a request [Nagasundaram: para 0010, 0026, 0107-0109]. However, Nagasundaram does not clearly include “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device”
Neve de Mevergnies discloses signing server is configured with token signing engine which includes an algorithm used to sign a token. The token signing engine uses a digital signing process involving an asymmetric key pair that includes a private key and an associated public key. The token signing engine applies a one-way hash function to at least some of the contents of the token to produce a hash value. Then, a cryptographic algorithm uses the private key of the key pair to sign (or encrypt) the hash value to create a signature. The signature can then be inserted into the token header of the token. The token signing engine also inserts the public key of the key pair into the token header. The signature created by the private key can be reverted (or decrypted) to the data that was signed (e.g., the hash value) by using the public key of the key pair. The private key could be a symmetric key, in which the signature created by the private key can be inverted (or decrypted) to the pre-signed data by using the same private key [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086]. Neve de Mevergnies further discusses the signature of the token can be generated by signing server using data in token properties, token payload, and/or first segment of token header. Token properties contains information related to the token and to the particular device that was used to create the token. Information related to the token can include, for example, the token payload type, token payload size, and an expiration parameter (e.g., expiration seconds, minutes, hours, etc.). Information related to the particular device that was used to create the token can include, for example, device ID, a nonce, and a timestamp. [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0097-0098]. As such, one would be motivated to include “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device”, for verification process ensures that the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity (based on a hash of its contents), device specific (based on its device ID), and expiration (based on a nonce and/or time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Neve de Mevergnies with Nagasundaram to teach “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device” for the reason to ensure the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity, device specific, and expiration [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0122].
Claim 2: Nagasundaram: para 0101 in view of Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086 [suggesting “a public key corresponding to the private key”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the set of data comprises a public key corresponding to the private key.
Claim 3: Nagasundaram: para 0012, 0098 [token payload is associated with the consumer account]; discussing the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the request comprises a request to manage user data of a user of the client device and the payload comprises data specifying an operation to perform on the user data.
Claim 4: Nagasundaram: para 0059, 0126; discussing the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the request comprises a request for a digital component and the payload comprises data for use in selecting the digital component.
Claim 5: Nagasundaram: para 0010, 0085; discussing the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the payload comprises information about a resource with which the digital component will be presented.
Claim 6: Nagasundaram: para 0040 in view of Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086, 0122 [suggesting “a digital signature of a second set of data…second private key”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the device integrity token comprises a digital signature of a second set of data included in the device integrity token; and the digital signature of the second set of data is generated using a second private key of the device integrity system.
Claim 7: Nagasundaram: para 0101 in view of Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086 [suggesting “a public key corresponding to the private key”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the second set of data comprises a public key corresponding to the private key of the client device.
Claim 8: Nagasundaram: para 0010, 0030 [generation time of the token, includes secondary tokens]; discussing the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the second set of data comprises a second token creation time that indicates a time at which the device integrity token was created.
As per claim 9: Nagasundaram, et al. teaches a system, comprising:
one or more processors of a client device; and [Nagasundaram: para 0012]
one or more memories having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors [Nagasundaram: para 0012], cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
providing, by the client device and to a device integrity system, fraud detection signals related to the client device; [Nagasundaram: para 0047; The contextual information may be utilized to verify the validity of a token and prevent further processing of the token if there is any indication of fraud or misuse. See also para 0096]
receiving, by the client device and from the device integrity system, a device integrity token comprising a verdict that indicates a level of trustworthiness of the client device based on the fraud detection signals; [Nagasundaram: para 0132; the merchant have a predefined set of authentication processes and fraud rules regarding the risk levels that are appropriate for tokens. The fraud rules define a high risk level and indicate that a high risk level indicates that a token should not be validated. The transaction token associated with the payment network "A" indicating a high risk level would not be validated based on designated fraud rule indicators or settings provided by the merchant. The token verifier computer indicate this validation decision in the token verification response message. Thus, the message associated to the validation based on risk levels and rules prompts a level of trustworthiness which is based on the fraud detection signals. See also para 0139]
generating, by the client device, an attestation token comprising: [Nagasundaram: para 0007, 0010-0011]
a set of data comprising (i) a token creation time that indicates a time at which the attestation token was created, (ii) the device integrity token, and (iii) a payload that includes data specific to a request; and [Nagasundaram: para 0010; a transaction token include a token format that may include 64 bits of financial institution information (e.g., an issuer identifier, a data type, transmission channel information, token purpose information, etc.) and 64 bits of consumer/product information (e.g., a token verifier, geo-location information, device fingerprinting information, token payload information, etc.). Accordingly, any entity in the transaction flow may understand the context (who issued the token, when it was generated (i.e. token creation time), when it will expire, etc.) surrounding a token at any time. Further, the contextual information may be verified or validated by a token verifier or token issuer at any time to ensure that the transaction token is valid. The transaction token or a token that is verified or validated suggest “an attestation token”. Para 0026; The transaction token include any suitable type of information or format. For example, the transaction token include a format that comprise data elements including a system identifier, an account issuer identifier, a data type identifier, a channel identifier, a token purpose identifier, a token verifier identifier, information about the channel properties associated with the transaction token, and a token payload or account substitute. Para 0107; The contextual information comprise identification of entities involved in the transaction such as the token requestor device and token issuer computer. The contextual information may further comprise any information surrounding or related to the transaction token and entities involved in the transaction, such as, for example, a time associated with the token request, expiration of the token, purpose of the token, transaction channel to be utilized for the token, and geo-location of the token requestor device. The token verifier identifier suggest the “the device integrity token”, as this is associated to a verifier computer, see also para 0121. The token payload information suggest “payload that includes data specific to a request” as the payload applies to the specific transaction and request. Para 0109; the transaction token format include information identifying a token issuer, token purpose, generation or request time, expiration date or time, geo-location of the token subscriber, consumer, or token requestor, one or more usable transaction channels, any other conditions or limitations, and any other information that may be useful to entities handling the transaction token. The generation time suggest “a token creation time”]
**a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device; and [**rejected under the secondary reference, discussion below]
sending, by the client device, the request with the attestation token to one or more recipients. [Nagasundaram: para 0144; sending the transaction information including the transaction token to a payment processing network for processing. More examples on para 0152]
Nagasundaram suggest a set of data comprising (i) a token creation time that indicates a time at which the attestation token was created, (ii) the device integrity token, and (iii) a payload that includes data specific to a request [Nagasundaram: para 0010, 0026, 0107-0109]. However, Nagasundaram does not clearly include “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device”
Neve de Mevergnies discloses signing server is configured with token signing engine which includes an algorithm used to sign a token. The token signing engine uses a digital signing process involving an asymmetric key pair that includes a private key and an associated public key. The token signing engine applies a one-way hash function to at least some of the contents of the token to produce a hash value. Then, a cryptographic algorithm uses the private key of the key pair to sign (or encrypt) the hash value to create a signature. The signature can then be inserted into the token header of the token. The token signing engine also inserts the public key of the key pair into the token header. The signature created by the private key can be reverted (or decrypted) to the data that was signed (e.g., the hash value) by using the public key of the key pair. The private key could be a symmetric key, in which the signature created by the private key can be inverted (or decrypted) to the pre-signed data by using the same private key [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086]. Neve de Mevergnies further discusses the signature of the token can be generated by signing server using data in token properties, token payload, and/or first segment of token header. Token properties contains information related to the token and to the particular device that was used to create the token. Information related to the token can include, for example, the token payload type, token payload size, and an expiration parameter (e.g., expiration seconds, minutes, hours, etc.). Information related to the particular device that was used to create the token can include, for example, device ID, a nonce, and a timestamp. [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0097-0098]. As such, one would be motivated to include “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device”, for verification process ensures that the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity (based on a hash of its contents), device specific (based on its device ID), and expiration (based on a nonce and/or time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Neve de Mevergnies with Nagasundaram to teach “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device” for the reason to ensure the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity, device specific, and expiration [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0122].
Claim 10: Nagasundaram: para 0101 in view of Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086 [suggesting “a public key corresponding to the private key”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the system of claim 9, wherein the set of data comprises a public key corresponding to the private key.
Claim 11: Nagasundaram: para 0012, 0098 [token payload is associated with the consumer account]; discussing the system of claim 9, wherein the request comprises a request to manage user data of a user of the client device and the payload comprises data specifying an operation to perform on the user data.
Claim 12: Nagasundaram: para 0059, 0126; discussing the system of claim 9, wherein the request comprises a request for a digital component and the payload comprises data for use in selecting the digital component.
Claim 13: Nagasundaram: para 0010, 0085; discussing the system of claim 12, wherein the payload comprises information about a resource with which the digital component will be presented.
Claim 14: Nagasundaram: para 0040 in view of Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086, 0122 [suggesting “a digital signature of a second set of data…second private key”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the system of claim 9, wherein: the device integrity token comprises a digital signature of a second set of data included in the device integrity token; and the digital signature of the second set of data is generated using a second private key of the device integrity system.
Claim 15: Nagasundaram: para 0101 in view of Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086 [suggesting “a public key corresponding to the private key”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the system of claim 14, wherein the second set of data comprises a public key corresponding to the private key of the client device.
Claim 16: Nagasundaram: para 0010, 0030 [generation time of the token, includes secondary tokens]; discussing the system of claim 14, wherein the second set of data comprises a second token creation time that indicates a time at which the device integrity token was created.
As per claim 17: Nagasundaram, et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that upon execution by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
providing, by a client device and to a device integrity system, fraud detection signals related to the client device; [Nagasundaram: para 0047; The contextual information may be utilized to verify the validity of a token and prevent further processing of the token if there is any indication of fraud or misuse. See also para 0096]
receiving, by the client device and from the device integrity system, a device integrity token comprising a verdict that indicates a level of trustworthiness of the client device based on the fraud detection signals; [Nagasundaram: para 0132; the merchant have a predefined set of authentication processes and fraud rules regarding the risk levels that are appropriate for tokens. The fraud rules define a high risk level and indicate that a high risk level indicates that a token should not be validated. The transaction token associated with the payment network "A" indicating a high risk level would not be validated based on designated fraud rule indicators or settings provided by the merchant. The token verifier computer indicate this validation decision in the token verification response message. Thus, the message associated to the validation based on risk levels and rules prompts a level of trustworthiness which is based on the fraud detection signals. See also para 0139]
generating, by the client device, an attestation token comprising: [Nagasundaram: para 0007, 0010-0011]
a set of data comprising (i) a token creation time that indicates a time at which the attestation token was created, (ii) the device integrity token, and (iii) a payload that includes data specific to a request; and [Nagasundaram: para 0010; a transaction token include a token format that may include 64 bits of financial institution information (e.g., an issuer identifier, a data type, transmission channel information, token purpose information, etc.) and 64 bits of consumer/product information (e.g., a token verifier, geo-location information, device fingerprinting information, token payload information, etc.). Accordingly, any entity in the transaction flow may understand the context (who issued the token, when it was generated (i.e. token creation time), when it will expire, etc.) surrounding a token at any time. Further, the contextual information may be verified or validated by a token verifier or token issuer at any time to ensure that the transaction token is valid. The transaction token or a token that is verified or validated suggest “an attestation token”. Para 0026; The transaction token include any suitable type of information or format. For example, the transaction token include a format that comprise data elements including a system identifier, an account issuer identifier, a data type identifier, a channel identifier, a token purpose identifier, a token verifier identifier, information about the channel properties associated with the transaction token, and a token payload or account substitute. Para 0107; The contextual information comprise identification of entities involved in the transaction such as the token requestor device and token issuer computer. The contextual information may further comprise any information surrounding or related to the transaction token and entities involved in the transaction, such as, for example, a time associated with the token request, expiration of the token, purpose of the token, transaction channel to be utilized for the token, and geo-location of the token requestor device. The token verifier identifier suggest the “the device integrity token”, as this is associated to a verifier computer, see also para 0121. The token payload information suggest “payload that includes data specific to a request” as the payload applies to the specific transaction and request. Para 0109; the transaction token format include information identifying a token issuer, token purpose, generation or request time, expiration date or time, geo-location of the token subscriber, consumer, or token requestor, one or more usable transaction channels, any other conditions or limitations, and any other information that may be useful to entities handling the transaction token. The generation time suggest “a token creation time”]
**a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device; and [**rejected under the secondary reference, discussion below]
sending, by the client device, the request with the attestation token to one ormore recipients. [Nagasundaram: para 0144; sending the transaction information including the transaction token to a payment processing network for processing. More examples on para 0152]
Nagasundaram suggest a set of data comprising (i) a token creation time that indicates a time at which the attestation token was created, (ii) the device integrity token, and (iii) a payload that includes data specific to a request [Nagasundaram: para 0010, 0026, 0107-0109]. However, Nagasundaram does not clearly include “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device”
Neve de Mevergnies discloses signing server is configured with token signing engine which includes an algorithm used to sign a token. The token signing engine uses a digital signing process involving an asymmetric key pair that includes a private key and an associated public key. The token signing engine applies a one-way hash function to at least some of the contents of the token to produce a hash value. Then, a cryptographic algorithm uses the private key of the key pair to sign (or encrypt) the hash value to create a signature. The signature can then be inserted into the token header of the token. The token signing engine also inserts the public key of the key pair into the token header. The signature created by the private key can be reverted (or decrypted) to the data that was signed (e.g., the hash value) by using the public key of the key pair. The private key could be a symmetric key, in which the signature created by the private key can be inverted (or decrypted) to the pre-signed data by using the same private key [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086]. Neve de Mevergnies further discusses the signature of the token can be generated by signing server using data in token properties, token payload, and/or first segment of token header. Token properties contains information related to the token and to the particular device that was used to create the token. Information related to the token can include, for example, the token payload type, token payload size, and an expiration parameter (e.g., expiration seconds, minutes, hours, etc.). Information related to the particular device that was used to create the token can include, for example, device ID, a nonce, and a timestamp. [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0097-0098]. As such, one would be motivated to include “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device”, for verification process ensures that the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity (based on a hash of its contents), device specific (based on its device ID), and expiration (based on a nonce and/or time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Neve de Mevergnies with Nagasundaram to teach “a digital signature of the set of data, wherein the digital signature is generated using a private key of the client device” for the reason to ensure the signed token is verified for authenticity (based on its signature), integrity, device specific, and expiration [Neve de Mevergnies: para 0122].
Claim 18: Nagasundaram: para 0101 in view of Neve de Mevergnies: para 0086 [suggesting “a public key corresponding to the private key”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the set of data comprises a public key corresponding to the private key.
Claim 19: Nagasundaram: para 0012, 0098 [token payload is associated with the consumer account]; discussing the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the request comprises a request to manage user data of a user of the client device and the payload comprises data specifying an operation to perform on the user data.
Claim 20: Nagasundaram: para 0059, 0126; discussing the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the request comprises a request for a digital component and the payload comprises data for use in selecting the digital component.
Conclusion
Leynna Truvan
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/L.TT/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435