Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa (US 11040773 B2). Furukawa discloses:
1. An unmanned aerial vehicle comprising:
a plurality of rotors (96);
a main body (88+90) supporting the plurality of rotors;
a tank (106) that accommodates agricultural materials; and
a conveyor (86) provided on the tank to transport the agricultural materials toward the tank; wherein the conveyor has elasticity and flexibility (same as the other hoses “agent line 44 is a hose that possesses appropriate flexibility and rigidity”; Col 5 Line 62).
3. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to Claim 1, wherein the tank is provided above or below (below, See Fig. 5) the main body.
4. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to Claim 1, further comprising a suction mechanism (104) to draw up the agricultural materials from the supply station to the tank through the conveyor.
5. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to Claim 1, wherein the conveyor includes a nozzle (118).
6. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to Claim 1, further comprising a housing (90) that houses the conveyor so that the conveyor is not visible from the outside (see rolled hose around 122 in Fig. 5).
7. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to Claim 1, further comprising a controller (98) configured or programmed to control operation of the plurality of rotors; wherein when the conveyor is transporting the agricultural materials toward the tank, the controller is configured or programmed to control the operation of the plurality of rotors so that the main body hovers (“levitating force”; Col 12 Line 1).
8. The unmanned aerial vehicle according to Claim 1, further comprising a controller (98) configured or programmed to control operation of the plurality of rotors; wherein:
the conveyor includes a nozzle (118); and
when supplying the agricultural materials to the tank, the controller is configured or programmed to control the operation of the plurality of rotors so that the nozzle is positioned (“properly position the station 12, the first drone 14A, and the second drone 14B”; Col 17 Line 22) at or adjacent to the agricultural materials to be supplied.
Claim 9 (new): The unmanned aerial vehicle according to Claim 6, wherein the housing (90) is visible from the outside (see Fig. 5, 90 is a big box on the bottom of the UAV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 119503126 A).
Furukawa discloses the The unmanned aerial vehicle wherein the tank includes an upper portion and a lower portion (inherent) ; and the conveyor is connected to the upper portion (see Fig. 5, the tank is below the hose and hose reel), but is silent on the lower portion has a tapered shape. Li teaches a tank (2) with a tapered shape (See Fig. 4). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the tank of Furukawa with a tapered shape in view of the teaching of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a more aerodynamic shape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Furukawa fails to disclose a hose that has both elasticity and flexibility. A hose, especially the hose that is shown in Furukawa inherently has both elasticity and flexibility. This is evidenced by the fact that the elements must wind up around a spool and stretch between multiple UAVs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 119174561 A discloses a very similar device with a nozzle (32) at the end of a hose (30) which is used for conveying water. The end product is paint, but the water portion could be considered an agricultural product.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN M O'HARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642